DETAILED ACTION
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claims status: amended claims: 1, 9, 11-13; the rest is unchanged.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. A new secondary reference, Tung et al., is currently being used the present rejection. Tung et al. teach: acquiring biometric data of an object to be detected based on a detection value acquired by coupling the optical sensors in parallel in the selected partial detection areas as shown in the rejection below.
EXAMINER’S AMENDMENT
Authorization for this examiner’s amendment was given in an interview with Nolan R. Hubbard (62,327) on 01/26/2026.
Claim 1 (currently amended): A detection device comprising: a sensor unit that has a detection area divided into a plurality of partial detection areas and that includes a plurality of optical sensors provided in the respective partial detection areas; a control circuit that has a first mode of acquiring data for each of the partial detection areas based on a detection value acquired from the partial detection area and a second mode of selecting the partial detection areas in which a signal strength of the data acquired in the first mode is relatively higher among the partial detection areas, and acquiring biometric data of an object to be detected based on a detection value acquired by coupling the optical sensors in parallel in the selected partial detection areas; and an amplifying circuit configured to receive the detection value acquired in the second mode.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (CN111610921A; pub. Sep. 1, 2020) in view of Tung et al. (US 2022/0050991 A1; pub. Feb. 17, 2022) and further in view of Azumi et al. (US 2020/0310618 A1; pub. Oct. 1, 2020).
Regarding claim 1, Liu discloses: a detection device comprising: a sensor unit that has a detection area divided into a plurality of partial detection areas and that includes a plurality of optical sensors provided in the respective partial detection areas; (para. [0102]-[0103], [0188]); a control circuit that has a first mode of acquiring data for each of the partial detection areas based on a detection value acquired from the partial detection area (para. [0102]-[0103]) and a second mode of selecting the partial detection areas in which a signal strength of the data acquired in the first mode is relatively higher among the partial detection areas (para. [0102]-[0103]).
Liu is silent about: acquiring biometric data of an object to be detected based on a detection value acquired by coupling the optical sensors in parallel in the selected partial detection areas, an amplifying circuit configured to receive the detection value acquired in the second mode.
In a similar field of endeavor Tung et al. disclose: acquiring biometric data of an object to be detected based on a detection value acquired by coupling the optical sensors in parallel in the selected partial detection areas (para, [0047]-[0048]) motivated by the benefits for a fingerprint detector with improved performance (Tung et al. para. [0005]).
In light of the benefits for a fingerprint detector with improved performance as taught by Tung et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Liu with the teachings of Tung et al.
Tung et al. are silent about: an amplifying circuit configured to receive the detection value acquired in the second mode.
In a similar field of endeavor, Azumi et al. disclose: an amplifying circuit configured to receive the detection value acquired in the second mode (para. [0046]-[0047]) motivated by the benefits for a device that can perform fingerprint detection at a freely-selected position (Azumi et al. para. [0005]).
In light of the benefits for a device that can perform fingerprint detection at a freely-selected position as taught by Azumi et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the amplifying circuit of Azumi et al. in the apparatus of Lui and Tung et al.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Liu, Tung et al. and Azumi et al. disclose: the control circuit is configured to sequentially acquire the detection value for each of the partial detection areas in the first mode (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 1, especially see para. [0006], [0087] of Azumi et al.).
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (CN111610921A; pub. Sep. 1, 2020) in view of Tung et al. (US 2022/0050991 A1; pub. Feb. 17, 2022) in view of Azumi et al. (US 2020/0310618 A1; pub. Oct. 1, 2020) and further in view of Tank et al. (US 2022/0211286 A1; pub. Jul. 7, 2022).
Regarding claim 2, the combined references are silent about: the control circuit is configured to select the partial detection areas in which a ratio of an alternating-current component to a direct-current component of the data acquired in the first mode is equal to or higher than a predetermined value in the second mode.
In a similar field of endeavor, Tank et al. disclose: the control circuit is configured to select the partial detection areas in which a ratio of an alternating-current component to a direct-current component of the data acquired in the first mode is equal to or higher than a predetermined value in the second mode (para. [0080]) motivated by the benefits for high signal to noise ratio (Tank et al. para. [0080]).
In light of the benefits for high signal to noise ratio as taught by Tank et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify the combined apparatus of Liu, Tung et al. and Azumi et al. with the teachings of Tank et al.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Liu, Tung et al., Azumi et al. and Tank et al. disclose: the control circuit is configured to select the partial detection areas in which a ratio of an alternating-current component to a direct-current component of the data acquired in the first mode is included in a predetermined number of highest-ranked ratios among the partial detection areas in the second mode (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 2).
Claims 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (CN111610921A; pub. Sep. 1, 2020) in view of Tung et al. (US 2022/0050991 A1; pub. Feb. 17, 2022) in view of Azumi et al. (US 2020/0310618 A1; pub. Oct. 1, 2020) and further in view of Shi et al. (US 2013/0287274 A1; pub. Oct. 31, 2014).
Regarding claim 5, the combined references are silent about: the sensor unit comprises a shift register circuit in which flip-flop circuits provided in the respective partial detection areas are coupled in a cascade arrangement, and
the control circuit is configured to write a set value indicating a selection state in the second mode to each of the flip-flop circuits.
In a similar field of endeavor, Shi et al. disclose: the sensor unit comprises a shift register circuit in which flip-flop circuits provided in the respective partial detection areas are coupled in a cascade arrangement (para. [0032], [0088]), and
the control circuit is configured to write a set value indicating a selection state in the second mode to each of the flip-flop circuits (para. [0032], [0088]) motivated by the benefits for precise synchronous timing.
In light of the benefits for precise synchronous timing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify the combined apparatus of Liu, Tung et al. and Azumi et al. with the teachings of Shi et al.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Liu, Tung et al., Azumi et al. and Shi et al. disclose: the partial detection areas are provided in a matrix having a row-column configuration in the detection area,
the sensor unit comprises a storage circuit provided in each of the partial detection areas, and
the control circuit is configured to write a set value indicating a selection state in the second mode to the storage circuit (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 5).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Liu, Tung et al., Azumi et al. and Shi et al. disclose: the sensor unit comprises:
a first drive circuit comprising a shift register circuit in which a plurality of flip-flop circuits arranged in a row direction are coupled in a cascade arrangement; and
a second drive circuit comprising a shift register circuit in which a plurality of flip-flop circuits arranged in a column direction are coupled in a cascade arrangement,
the flip-flop circuits of the first drive circuit are coupled to the respective storage circuits provided in the partial detection areas arranged in the column direction,
the flip-flop circuits of the second drive circuit are coupled to the respective storage circuits provided in the partial detection areas arranged in the row direction, and
the control circuit is configured to write the set value indicating the selection state in the second mode to the storage circuit in the partial detection area selected by the second drive circuit via the first drive circuit (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 6).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Liu, Tung et al., Azumi et al. and Shi et al. disclose: the detection area is divided into a plurality of data acquisition areas, in each of which the partial detection areas are arranged in a row direction, and
a plurality of the amplifying circuits are provided correspondingly to the data acquisition areas (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 6, especially see para. [0049], fig.1 item 4100 of Shi et al.).
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (CN111610921A; pub. Sep. 1, 2020) in view of Tung et al. (US 2022/0050991 A1; pub. Feb. 17, 2022) in view of Azumi et al. (US 2020/0310618 A1; pub. Oct. 1, 2020) and further in view of Wu et al. (US 2016/0037095 A1; pub. Feb. 4, 2016).
Regarding claim 9, the combined references are silent about: a light source configured to emit light to the detection area, wherein the control circuit has a reset period to apply a reference potential to the optical sensors, an exposure period to expose the optical sensors to the light, and a read period to read electric charges that have charged the optical sensors.
In a similar field of endeavor, Wu et al. disclose: a light source configured to emit light to the detection area, wherein the control circuit has a reset period to apply a reference potential to the optical sensors, an exposure period to expose the optical sensors to the light, and a read period to read electric charges that have charged the optical sensors (para. [0029]) motivated by the benefits for high-resolution fingerprint recognition (Wu et al. para. [0043]).
In light of the benefits for high-resolution fingerprint recognition as taught by Wu et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify the combined apparatus of Liu, Tung et al. and Azumi et al. with the teachings of Wu et al.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Liu, Tung et al., Azumi et al. and Wu et al. disclose: the control circuit is configured to apply the reference potential to the optical sensors in the partial detection areas that are not selected in the second mode (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 9).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (CN111610921A; pub. Sep. 1, 2020) in view of Tung et al. (US 2022/0050991 A1; pub. Feb. 17, 2022) in view of Azumi et al. (US 2020/0310618 A1; pub. Oct. 1, 2020) in view of Wu et al. (US 2016/0037095 A1; pub. Feb. 4, 2016) and further in view of Lee (US 2017/0046555 A1; pub. Feb. 16, 2017).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Liu, Tung et al. and Azumi et al. disclose: parallelly coupled optical sensors (see rejection of claim 1). The combined references are silent about: the control circuit is capable of changing a negative feedback capacitor of the amplifying circuit according to a number of the partial detection areas in which the optical sensors are parallelly coupled in the second mode.
In a similar field of endeavor, Lee discloses: the control circuit is capable of changing a negative feedback capacitor of the amplifying circuit according to a number of the partial detection areas in which the optical sensors (para. [0049]-[0050], [0056]) motivated by the benefits for increased fingerprint sensor performance (Lee para. [0104]).
In light of the benefits for increased fingerprint sensor performance as taught by Lee, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify the combined apparatus of Liu, Tung et al., Azumi et al. and Wu et al. with the teachings of Lee.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (CN111610921A; pub. Sep. 1, 2020) in view of Tung et al. (US 2022/0050991 A1; pub. Feb. 17, 2022) in view of Azumi et al. (US 2020/0310618 A1; pub. Oct. 1, 2020) in view of Wu et al. (US 2016/0037095 A1; pub. Feb. 4, 2016) and further in view of Qiu et al. (US 2020/0110919 A1; pub. Apr. 9, 2020).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Liu, Tung et al. and Azumi et al. disclose: parallelly coupled optical sensors (see rejection of claim 1). The combination references are silent about: capable of changing an amount of light of the light source according to a number of the partial detection areas in which the optical sensors are parallelly coupled in the second mode.
In a similar field of endeavor, Qiu et al. disclose: capable of changing an amount of light of the light source according to a number of the partial detection areas (para. [0066]-[0067]) motivated by the benefits for improved fingerprint identification (Qiu et al. para. [0066]).
In light of the benefits for improved fingerprint identification as taught by Qiu et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify the combined apparatus of Liu, Tung et al., Azumi et al. and Wu et al. with the teachings of Qiu et al.
Claims 13- 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (CN111610921A; pub. Sep. 1, 2020) in view of Tung et al. (US 2022/0050991 A1; pub. Feb. 17, 2022) in view of Azumi et al. (US 2020/0310618 A1; pub. Oct. 1, 2020) in view of Wu et al. (US 2016/0037095 A1; pub. Feb. 4, 2016) and further in view of Yu et al. (CN114047833 A; pub. Feb. 2, 2022).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Liu, Tung et al. and Azumi et al. disclose: parallelly coupled optical sensors (see rejection of claim 1). The combination references are silent about: the control circuit is capable of changing the exposure period according to a number of the partial detection areas in which the optical sensors are parallelly coupled in the second mode.
In a similar field of endeavor, Yu et al. disclose: the control circuit is capable of changing the exposure period according to a number of the partial detection areas (para. [0166]) motivated by the benefits for a fingerprint sensor with optimized performance (Yu et al. para. [0019]).
In light of the benefits for a fingerprint sensor with optimized performance as taught by Yu et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify the combined apparatus of Liu, Tung et al., Azumi et al. and Wu et al. with the teachings of Yu et al.
Regarding claim 14, the combination references are silent about: the light source comprises: a first light source configured to emit first light to the detection area; and a second light source configured to emit second light having a different wavelength from that of the first light to the detection area, and the detection value acquired in the second mode comprises: a first detection value acquired by the emission of the first light; and a second detection value acquired by the emission of the second light.
In a similar field of endeavor, Yu et al. disclose: the light source comprises: a first light source configured to emit first light to the detection area; and a second light source configured to emit second light having a different wavelength from that of the first light to the detection area, and the detection value acquired in the second mode comprises: a first detection value acquired by the emission of the first light; and a second detection value acquired by the emission of the second light (para. [0166]) motivated by the benefits for a fingerprint sensor with optimized performance (Yu et al. para. [0019]).
In light of the benefits for a fingerprint sensor with optimized performance as taught by Yu et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify the combined apparatus of Liu, Tung et al., Azumi et al. and Wu et al. with the teachings of Yu et al.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Liu, Tung et al., Azumi et al., Wu et al. and Yu et al. disclose: one of the first light and the second light is infrared light (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 14).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Liu, Tung et al., Azumi et al., Wu et al. and Yu et al. disclose: one of the first light and the second light is red light (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 14).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Liu, Tung et al., Azumi et al., Wu et al. and Yu et al. disclose: the control circuit is configured to calculate a blood oxygen saturation level based on the first detection value and the second detection value that have been acquired in the second mode (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 14).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (CN111610921A; pub. Sep. 1, 2020) in view of Tung et al. (US 2022/0050991 A1; pub. Feb. 17, 2022) in view of Azumi et al. (US 2020/0310618 A1; pub. Oct. 1, 2020) in view of Wu et al. (US 2016/0037095 A1; pub. Feb. 4, 2016) and further in view of Hai et al. (US 2021/0019491 A1; pub. Jan. 21, 2021).
Regarding claim 18, the combination references are silent about: optical sensors are organic photodiodes.
In a similar field of endeavor, Hai et al. disclose: optical sensors are organic photodiodes (para. [0251]) motivated by the benefits for a low-cost sensor with tune-able spectral response.
In light of the benefits for a low-cost sensor with tune-able spectral response, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify the combined apparatus of Liu, Tung et al., Azumi et al., and Wu et al. with the teachings of Hai et al.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MAMADOU FAYE/Examiner, Art Unit 2884
/UZMA ALAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2884