DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgement is made of application #18/113,987 filed on 02/24/2023 in which claims 1-20 have been presented for prosecution in a first action on the merits.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 02/24/2023 and 10/11/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner and placed of record. Initialed copies are attached herewith.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: The limitations of, “a charger island disposed to the charger” should and would read for examination purpose and with consistency to claim 13 -- a charger island disposed to the charger--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5,11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Samardjiza et al., (Samardjiza) US 2023/0037029 A1(also cited by Applicants).
Regarding claim 1: Samardjiza discloses and shows in Fig. 17: A charger for a smart ring(12)(see Fig. 17 and ¶[0065]), the charger comprising: a charger(80); a charger island(construed as coil 82 for smart ring to go on; see Fig. 17 and ¶[0065]) disposed on the charger(NFC charger 80), wherein the charger island has a substantially circular shape and is configured to receive the smart ring(12); and a plurality of transmit antennas(26,28)(see ¶[0052],¶[0056],¶[0065]-¶[0066]) located in association with the charger island, wherein an active transmit antenna of the plurality of transmit antennas is configured to couple with a receive antenna on the smart ring for charging thereof(note-based on electromagnetic inductance the charger 80 induces currents in the antenna components 26 and 28; charging the NFC antenna component’s magnetic field is configured to couple with the ring’s magnetic field ¶[0066]).
Regarding claim 2, Samardjiza discloses al the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 1. Samardjiza further discloses, wherein the active transmit antenna is based on an orientation of the smart ring(12) on the charger island(82), such that the charging is performed regardless of alignment between the ring and the charger island(NFC charger 80 is configured for charging the smart ring 12 when place in proximity thereto; since the smart ring 12 may be rotationally independent and can be placed in any rotational or up/down position; see ¶[0065]-¶[0066]).
Regarding claim 3, Samardjiza discloses al the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 1. Samardjiza discloses, further comprising: a conductive sheet(ferrite sheets 74,76 can be placed on one or more of the first and second antenna components 26,28; see Fig. 16 and ¶[0064]) between the plurality of transmit antennas(26,28) and an interior of the charger island, to isolate the plurality of transmit antennas from one another.
Regarding claim 4, Samardjiza discloses al the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 1. Samardjiza discloses, further comprising: a ferrite sheet(74,76) having antenna pattern lines thereon for the plurality of transmit antennas(26,28)(in order to increased NFC antenna efficiency, one or more ferrite sheets 74, 76 can be placed on one or more of the first and second antenna components 26, 28; see ¶[0064]).
Regarding claim 5, Samardjiza discloses al the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 1. Samardjiza discloses, further comprising: a Near Field Communications circuit coupled to the plurality of transmit antennas(26,28) and configured to detect which of the plurality of transmit antennas should be the active transmit antenna(note-when smart ring 12 is placed over the post, NFC charger80 is configured to cause coil 82 to generate a magnetic field; see ¶[0065]).
Regarding claim 11, Samardjiza discloses al the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 1. Samardjiza discloses, wherein at least a portion of the plurality of transmit antennas(26,28) are located in the charger island(see Figs. 16 and 17)(note-the antenna in the coil comprises base member ¶[0065]).
Regarding claim 12, Samardjiza discloses al the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 1. Samardjiza discloses, wherein at least a portion of the plurality of transmit antennas are located on the charger island(see Fig. 18; note- the antennas 26 and 28 are part of the smart ring system 12 which are surrounding the charger island 82).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Samardjiza et al., (Samardjiza) US 2023/0037029 A1 in view of US 2020/0388914 A1 to KE(same as CN112054313A)(both also cited by Applicants).
Regarding claim 6, Samardjiza discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 1 but fails to expressly teach the limitations of, “further comprising: a Near Field Communications circuit coupled to the plurality of transmit antennas via one or more switches, wherein the active transmit antenna is based on settings of the one or more switches”.
However, KE discloses factual evidence of a Near Field Communications circuit coupled to the plurality of transmit antennas via one or more switches(3)(RF switches are part of the Near Field Communication module; see ¶[0043]]-¶[0044],¶[0046] &¶[0047])), wherein the active transmit antenna is based on settings of the one or more switches(¶[0067] states that the antenna configuration is based on the RF switch).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine KE with the Near field charger of Samardjiza to include further comprising: a Near Field Communications circuit coupled to the plurality of transmit antennas via one or more switches, wherein the active transmit antenna is based on settings of the one or more switches, as recited, in order to transmit and/or receive signals by the desired antennae, as per the teachings of KE(see ¶[0067]).
Regarding claim 7, Samardjiza in view of KE discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 6. Samardjiza fails to expressly disclose, wherein the one or more switches are a dual pole X throw (DPXT) switch where X is a number of the plurality of antennas.
However, KE teaches factual evidence of, wherein the one or more switches are a dual pole X throw (DPXT) switch where X is a number of the plurality of antennas(note-RF switch may include a multi-pole multi-throw switch which is configured for each antenna of the array; ¶[0056] and ¶[0063]; Figs. 1-5).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to avail of the teachings of KE by having, wherein the one or more switches are a dual pole X throw (DPXT) switch where X is a number of the plurality of antennas, as recited, in order to minimize electronics components thereby reducing production cost but at the same time being able to include complex control over the antennae, as per the teachings of KE(¶[0046]).
Claim(s) 6,8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Samardjiza et al., (Samardjiza) US 2023/0037029 A1 in view of Chen et al., (Chen) CN 107706548A (all cited by applicants)
Regarding claim 6, Samardjiza discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 1 but fails to expressly teach the limitations of, “further comprising: a Near Field Communications circuit coupled to the plurality of transmit antennas via one or more switches, wherein the active transmit antenna is based on settings of the one or more switches”.
However, Chen discloses factual evidence of a Near Field Communications circuit coupled to the plurality of transmit antennas via one or more switches, wherein the active transmit antenna is based on settings of the one or more switches(NFC chip connected to first antenna 2 and second antenna 3; see ¶[0039]-¶[0057] and Figs. 1-3).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the charge of Samardjiza with the teachings of Chen to further comprising: a Near Field Communications circuit coupled to the plurality of transmit antennas via one or more switches, wherein the active transmit antenna is based on settings of the one or more switches, as recited, in order to enable transmission and reception of signals by the desired antennae for frequency selection, as per the teachings of Chen (see ¶[0041]).
Regarding claim 8, Samardjiza discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 6 but fails to expressly teach the limitations of, “wherein the one or more switches are a plurality of single pole double throw (SPDT) switches, each configured to switch between coupling lines of the plurality of antennas”.
However, Chen discloses factual evidence of, wherein the one or more switches are a plurality of single pole double throw (SPDT) switches, each configured to switch between coupling lines of the plurality of antennas(the first switch 4 is a single-pole double-throw switch. Furthermore the switch 4 switches between first antenna 2 and second antenna 3; [0039]-[0041]; see Figs. 1-3). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charger of Samardjiza by Chen by having, wherein the one or more switches are a plurality of single pole double throw (SPDT) switches, each configured to switch between coupling lines of the plurality of antennas, as cited, in order to enable transmission and reception of signals by the desired antennae for frequency selection, as per the teachings of Chen (see ¶[0041]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 9, patentability exists at least in part with the claimed limitations of, switches are connected to the antennas through a via in a ferrite sheet.
Regarding claim 10, the prior art of record fails to teach or reasonably suggest, among other patentable features, further comprising: a ferrite sheet having antenna pattern lines thereon for the plurality of transmit antennas, wherein the one or more switches are a plurality of single pole double throw (SPDT) switches, configured to switch between corresponding antenna pattern lines.
Claims 13-20 are allowed the prior art of record. The prior art of record either taken alone or in combination thereof fails to teach or reasonably suggest, among other patentable steps, detecting placement of a smart ring on a charger island of a charging device, the detection comprising detecting, via a Near Field Communication (NFC) chip associated with the charging device, a receive antenna associated with the smart ring; executing, via the NFC chip, a sweep of a plurality of transmit antennas associated with the charging device, the executed sweep comprising determining an available load associated with each of the plurality of transmit antennas; determining, based on the available load for each transmit antenna, a first transmit antenna from the plurality of transmit antennas to activate; and activating the first transmit antenna.
The aforementioned limitations in combination with all remaining limitations of the respective claims are believed to render the aforementioned indicated claim and any dependent claims thereof patentable over the art of record.
Citation of Prior art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
USPAT 8,818,297 to Merlin discloses an NFC device for contactless communication.
USPAT 8,688,043 to Lewin discloses a mobile wireless communications device including NFC antenna scanning switch and related methods.
USPAT 11,984,742 to Sanchez discloses a smart ring power and charging.
US 2017/0250563 to Davison et al., (Davison) discloses a wireless charging apparatus.
EP 4,224,668 to Wang discloses a wireless charger and wireless charging system used for wearable apparatus.
Conclusion
M'BAYE DIAO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2859
/M BAYE DIAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859 November 24, 2025