DETAILED ACTION
The Applicant's amendment filed on December 17, 2025 was received. Claims 1 was amended. No claim was canceled. Claim 11 was added.
The text of those sections of Title 35. U.S.C. code not included in this action can be found in the prior Office Action Issued June 17, 2025.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
The claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Horton (US20110177358) on claims 1-2, 9 and 11 are withdrawn, because the claims have been amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horton (US20110177358) as applied to claims 1-2, 9 and 11, on claims 3-6 and 8 are withdrawn, because the claims have been amended.
The claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horton (US20110177358) as applied to claims 1-6, 8-9 and 11, and further in view of Keyvani (Anodic behavior of Al-Zn-In sacrificial anodes at different concentration of zinc and indium), on claims 7 and 10 are withdrawn, because the claims have been amended.
Claims 1-6, 8-9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horton (US20110177358) in view of Shi (KR20160012940).
Regarding claim 1, Horton teaches a method for cathodic protection of a metal substrate (abstract, paragraphs 0002, 0005 and 0010). Horton teaches to apply a inner coating to the surface of the substrate by a first deposition method (paragraphs 0011, 0024 and 0061), wherein the inner coating (first layer coating) composed of a first metal that is anodic in comparison to the substate (paragraph 0025) and the substrate is metal (paragraphs 0021-0022). Horton teaches to apply an intermediate coating over the first layer coating by a second deposition method, wherein the intermediate coating comprises a third metal which similar to the first metal (including aluminum, zinc or alloy) (paragraphs 0040-0041 and 0061). Thus, the third metal have a different composition from the first metallic layer. Horton teaches the third metal function as a sacrificial anode to the metallic substrate and/or inner coating (metallic first-layer coating) (paragraph 0040).
Horton does not explicitly teach the sacrificial anode have an open circuit potential equal to the metallic first layer coating. However, Shi teaches a chemical mechanical polishing composition for the cobalt or a cobalt containing substate (abstract), wherein two different metals (Co and Cu) are in direct contact with each other (example). Shi teaches the open circuit potential of the two different metal films are identical to eliminate possible galvanic corrosion reaction at the two metal layers interface (example 7). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to choose similar/same open circuit potential materials for two adjacent metal layers (the first metallic layer and the sacrificial anode layer) as suggested by Shi in the method of Horton because Shi teaches the identical open circuit potential eliminate possible galvanic corrosion reaction at the two metal layers interface (example 7), which is desired by Horton (see abstract, paragraphs 0001-0005).
Regarding claim 2, Horton teaches the first and second depositions are selected from hot dip galvanizing, metal thermal spraying such as flame spraying, plasma spraying, arc spraying etc, or cold spraying (paragraph 0061).
Regarding claims 3-4, Horton teaches the first and second depositions are selected from hot dip galvanizing, metal thermal spraying such as flame spraying, plasma spraying, arc spraying etc, or cold spraying (paragraph 0061), but does not explicitly teach if the first and second depositions are the same or different. However, it is obvious to choose from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success (MPEP 2143 I E). In this case, there are only two identified, predictable solutions: using the same or different method for the first and second deposition. Since Horton teaches both depositions are selected from the same group of deposition techniques (paragraph 0061), there will be a reasonable expectation of success to use the same or different techniques for the two depositions. It will be obvious to use the same or different techniques for the first and second depositions in light of the teaching of Horton.
Regarding claim 5, Horton teaches the metallic first layer coating is essentially pure metallic aluminum or aluminum alloy (paragraph 0025). Horton teaches the thickness of the coating governs the cost/weight and durability/longevity (paragraph 0024). Therefore, it would have been within the skill of the ordinary artisan to adjust and optimize the thickness of the metallic first coating layer in the process to yield the desired cost/weight and durability/longevity of the coating. Discovery of optimum value of result effective variable in known process is ordinarily within skill of art. In re Boesch, CCPA 1980, 617 F. 2d 272, 205 USPQ215.
Regarding claim 6, Horton teaches the metallic second layer coating is aluminum alloy that is anodic to aluminum (paragraphs 0040-0041). Horton teaches the thickness of the coating governs the weight and durability (paragraph 0048). Therefore, it would have been within the skill of the ordinary artisan to adjust and optimize the thickness of the metallic first coating layer in the process to yield the desired weight and durability the coating. Discovery of optimum value of result effective variable in known process is ordinarily within skill of art. In re Boesch, CCPA 1980, 617 F. 2d 272, 205 USPQ215.
Regarding claim 8, Horton teaches the metallic first layer is an aluminum and magnesium alloy, wherein the coating comprises at least about 90% aluminum (paragraph 0025), which overlaps with the claimed range of 5% magnesium. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exist. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Geisler,116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997). See MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 9, For the purposes of searching for and applying prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103, absent a clear indication in the specification or claims of what the basic and novel characteristics actually are, "consisting essentially of" will be construed as equivalent to "comprising’ (MPEP 2111.03 III). Horton teaches the metallic first-layer consists essentially of pure aluminum (paragraph 0025).
Regarding claim 11, Horton teaches Horton teaches the first and second depositions are selected metal thermal spraying such as flame spraying, plasma spraying, arc spraying etc, or cold spraying (paragraph 0061).
Claims 7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horton (US20110177358) in view of Shi (KR20160012940) as applied to claims 1-6, 8-9 and 11 above, and further in view of Keyvani (Anodic behavior of Al-Zn-In sacrificial anodes at different concentration of zinc and indium).
Regarding claim 7, Horton in view of Shi teaches the second metallic layer coating comprises an aluminum and zinc alloy and is a sacrificial anode to the metallic first coating and/or the metallic substrate, and same metal as first metallic layer (paragraphs 0040-0041), wherein Horton teaches the first metallic coating comprising aluminum, zinc and indium (paragraph 0025). Horton further teaches the second metallic layer coating is formed by metal thermal spraying or cold spraying (paragraph 0061), which is known to operate by feeding the coating material feedstock to the spray to forming the coating. Thus, Horton teaches all the limitations of this claim, including the second coating comprising indium. Nevertheless, Keyvani teaches an Al-Zn-In sacrificial anodes material (abstract, page 1533) and discloses such sacrificial anodes coating has more active anode potential than aluminum and better current capacity than Al anodes (page 1537). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Al-Zn-In as the sacrificial anodes (metallic second layer coating) as suggested by Keyvani in the method of Horton in view of Shi because Keyvani teaches such layer is more anodic than aluminum (the metallic first layer coating) and has good current capacity compared to just Al-Zn (page 1537), which is desired by Horton (paragraph 0040).
Regarding claim 10, Horton in view of Shi teaches the second metallic layer coating comprises an aluminum, indium and zinc alloy (paragraphs 0040-0041 and 0025). Horton teaches the thickness of the coating governs the weight and durability of the coating (paragraph 0048). Therefore, it would have been within the skill of the ordinary artisan to adjust and optimize the thickness of the metallic first coating layer in the process to yield the desired weight and durability the coating. Discovery of optimum value of result effective variable in known process is ordinarily within skill of art. In re Boesch, CCPA 1980, 617 F. 2d 272, 205 USPQ215. Thus, Horton teaches all the limitations of this claim, except the coating composition of Al-Zn-In. However, Keyvani teaches an Al-Zn-In sacrificial anodes material with 5 wt % of Zn, 0.02 wt% indium and the balance of aluminum (abstract, pages 1533 and 1537) and discloses such sacrificial anodes coating has more active anode potential than aluminum and better current capacity than Al anodes (page 1537). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Al-Zn-In as the sacrificial anodes (metallic second layer coating) as suggested by Keyvani in the method of Horton in view if Shi because Keyvani teaches such layer is more anodic than aluminum and has good current capacity compared to just Al-Zn (page 1537), which is desired by Horton (paragraph 0040).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Howells (CN105593391A, Example 2, Zn content in aluminum alloy governs the level of open circuit potential)
/NGA LEUNG V LAW/Examiner, Art Unit 1717