DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claim 1-54 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-63 of copending Application No. 18/113,376 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both these inventions relate to a male plug connector with a ferrule and corresponding nosepiece with two cantilevered arms and a connector keyway and associated adapters with what appear to be common variations of structural locking or addition of connector elements.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements received have been placed in the application file, and the information referred to therein has been considered as to the merits. See the attached forms PTO-1449s.
The numerous references and materials listed on the submitted 158 sheets of the IDS's make it difficult to determine whether or not any of the references, or parts of the references, are material to applicants' claimed invention. It is noted that applicants, in their several IDS submissions, do not indicate any particular reference or parts of references which they deem "material" to the patentability of the pending claims under 37 CFR 1.56(b).
Applicants are reminded of the standard set forth in the leading inequitable conduct case of J.P. Stevens & Co. v. Lex Tex Ltd., 747 F.2d 1553, 223 USPQ 1089 (Nov. 9, 1984), cert. denied, 106 S.Ct. 73 (1985): Where none of the prior art cited during prosecution teaches a key element of the claim(s) and where a reference known to the applicants does, the applicants should know that reference is material. Thus, if applicants are aware of any cited reference from among the information disclosure(s) that are "material," applicants should make that reference known to the examiner.
It is also noted that a "misrepresentation is material if it makes it impossible for the Patent Office fairly to assess [the patent] application against the prevailing statutory criteria." In re Multidistrict-Litig. Involving Forst Patent, 540 F.2d 601, 604, 191 USPQ 241, 243 (3d Cir. 1976); see also Monsanto Co. v. Rohm & Haas Co., 456 F.2d 592, 600, 172 USPQ 323, 329 (3d Cir.), ce.rt. denied, 40'7 U.S. 934, 174 USPQ 129 (1972). And, the submission of voluminous documents in the instant information disclosure statements (here, in excess of 1450 documents) make it difficult, and likely impossible, for the Patent Office to fairly assess applicants' application against the prevailing statutory criteria.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, 45-46 and 48 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 9,541,711 to Raven et al.
Raven discloses in figure 5, a multi-fiber optical connector comprising:
A ferrule (46) comprising a plurality of bores for receiving one or more optical fibers (“multi-fiber cable”; paragraph 51);
A nosepiece (5) comprising a front and rear portion with a passageway (65) extending from a front to rear end, and the rear portion comprises at least one cantilevered arm (53) and a ferrule back stop (the sidewalls are arranged to support the ferrule which is stopped within. Unlabeled interior of figure 7);
A connector (19 or 23) with a female key disposed on an outer surface (adapter tab portions 27 in figure 3 would need a corresponding, unlabeled female key portion on the connector to latch).
As to claim 2, there are two arms (figure 5).
As to claim 3, the connector has integrated keys and locking portions (corresponding slot for tabs 31 and key 37).
Claim 4 is similar to the above but discloses features together in independent form and that the nosepiece comprises a pocket for a male key (the tabs 31 of the prior art would need a pocket to secure the projections).
As to claim 5, the openings receive the cantilevered arm extensions (figure 2).
Claims 6-8 is a combination of the above disclosed features.
Claims 45-46 and 48 relate to method claims for using the above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-44, 47, 49-54 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raven in view of US 10,359,577 to Dannoux et al.
Raven discloses the invention as claimed except for certain securing features and combination of these features with sizes or locations of locking members with a cylindrically-shaped connector. These all appear to be common variations of securing features to either the connector or nosepiece portions.
Dannoux discloses such features of ramps, locking members and respective tabs and slots arranged on a cylindrical connector (figures 14-15).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to rearrange locking portions, provide multiple ferrules or size connectors as taught by Dannoux in Raven to properly secure the connector to a nosepiece or adapter.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 9,933,582 (cantilever arm portions for multi-fiber ferrule; figure 1).
US 9,684,138 (figure 7).
ERIC K. WONG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2874
/Eric Wong/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874