DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(sin the prior office action have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of US 2018/0356600 to Takano et al.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, 45-46 and 48 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2018/0356600 to Takano et al.
Takano discloses in figures 10a-10b, a multi-fiber optical connector comprising:
A ferrule (200) comprising a plurality of bores (figure 4) for receiving one or more optical fibers;
A nosepiece (730) comprising a front and rear portion along with a passageway extending front to rear where the rear has at least one cantilevered arm (731a) and a ferrule backstop (inner front end surface) “for limiting travel of the ferrule in a Z-direction” (it is noted that the “use” of the back stop is not a positive limitation in this instance since no additional structure is recited as to what defines the back stop. Certainly, the inner surfaces of Takano’s nosepiece would prevent movement of the ferrule when assembled).
As to claim 2, there is a second cantilevered arm (731b).
As to claim 3, paragraph 36 discloses indentations for locking the nosepiece. This claim provides no detail as to the makeup of the locking feature other than one is present.
Claim 4 is similar to the above but discloses a female key on an outer surface of a connector housing. As noted for claim 3 above, numerous indentation features would serve this feature and are “female”.
As to claim 5, the front of the connector has cutout portions to receive the cantilevered arms (figures 10b and 11b).
As to claim 6, this claim differs in that a “pocket” is recited. While the claim recites a “male key”, the claim does not define this male key, nor its location. The prior art has a male key portion in the connector portion in figure 8a-8b. Applicant defines both the pocket as being a cutout portion in figure 41 and a slot in figure 40. The claim does not require this pocket to be a part of the cantilevered arms. Therefore. the prior art’s arms having sides that are open still meet this language.
Claims 7-8 are combinations of the above.
Claims 45-46 and 48 relate to method claims for using the above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-44, 47, 49-54 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takano in view of US 10,359,577 to Dannoux et al.
Takano discloses the invention as claimed except for certain securing features and combination of these features with sizes or locations of locking members with a cylindrically-shaped connector. These all appear to be common variations of securing features to either the connector or nosepiece portions. Takano discloses multiple attachment features in paragraph 36 from interlocking through-holes to indentations.
Dannoux discloses such features of ramps, locking members and respective tabs and slots arranged on a cylindrical connector (figures 14-15).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to rearrange locking portions, provide multiple ferrules or size connectors as taught by Dannoux in Takano to properly secure the connector to a nosepiece or adapter.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ERIC K. WONG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2874
/Eric Wong/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874