DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The following is in reply to the applicant’s submission (e.g. amendment, remarks, etc.) filed on February 20, 2026.
Claim Objections
The claim objections in the previous office action1 have been withdrawn in light of the amendment to Claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10 through 14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In Claim 10, “the inner side wall” (line 9) lacks positive antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 10 through 14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Publication 2009/0035976 to Matsunaga (hereinafter “Matsunaga”)2.
Claim 10: Matsunaga discloses a method for assembling a seal spring (e.g. 18, Fig. 4) in a connector assembly (e.g. ¶ [0002]) , comprising:
inserting the seal spring into an inner cavity of a housing (e.g. 10, Fig. 4);
pushing the seal spring into the inner cavity of the housing (e.g. ¶ [0038]);
thereafter, pushing the seal spring into the housing so as to position the seal spring against a tab (e.g. 25) within the inner cavity of the housing, the tab having an angled lead (e.g. annotated in partial view of Fig. 6) which makes contact with the seal spring when in use (e.g. Fig. 7, ¶ [0038]);
resting, in its entirety, at least the angled lead of the tab onto an angled portion of an inner side wall of the seal spring [annotated in partial view of Fig. 7) upon assembling the seal spring in the connector assembly (e.g. Fig. 8);
thereafter inserting a second outer housing (e.g. 30) into the inner cavity of the housing (e.g. Figs. 9 to 10); and,
thereafter, providing a spring force (e.g. compression) to the tab (e.g. at 36, ¶ [0064]).
Claim 11: Matsunaga discloses the method according to claim 10, wherein the method for assembling the seal spring in the connector assembly, the seal spring presses against a forward stop (e.g. 13) of the housing (e.g. 10) after the step of providing the spring force to the seal spring (e.g. Fig. 7).
Claim 12: Matsunaga discloses the method according to claim 10, wherein the method for assembling the seal spring in the connector assembly, the seal spring contacts the second outer housing (e.g. at 37 of 30), the second outer housing (e.g. at 42) inserts into an inner aperture of the seal spring,
after the step of providing the spring force to the seal spring (e.g. Fig. 10).
Claim 13: Matsunaga discloses the method according to claim 10, wherein the seal spring seals against the inner cavity of the housing (e.g. ¶ [0049]).
Claim 14: Matsunaga discloses the method according to claim 10, wherein the method for assembling the seal spring in the connector assembly, the seal spring contacts the second outer housing (e.g. at 37 of 30), the second outer housing (e.g. at 42) inserted into an inner aperture of the seal spring, after the step of providing the spring force to the seal spring, wherein the seal spring seals against the second outer housing (e.g. Fig. 10).
Claim 16: Matsunaga discloses the method according to claim 10, wherein at least a side wall (e.g. 21), first and second faces (e.g. each 22), an inner aperture (e.g. not labeled, inside of 18), an outer sealing portion (e.g. 20), the side wall, and an inner sealing portion (e.g. inner surface of aperture of 18) form the seal spring that is, substantially, in its entirety, a contiguous and continuous single construction (e.g. Fig. 4).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed as part of the submission [pages 6 to 10] have been fully considered, but have not been deemed to be found as persuasive.
In regards to the merits of Matsunaga, applicant asserts that Matsunaga cannot be applied to the claims for at least the following reasons.
The first is that Matsunaga’s tab 25 is not that of an outer housing, but is a member or element that extends from an inner housing. Whether or not this is true, this recitation is not claimed. Nothing in Claim 10 recites that the tab has to be part of an outer housing. Claim 10 only recites that the tab be “within said inner cavity of said housing” (line 6), and Figures 4 and 7 of Matsunaga clearly show the tab 25 to be within an inner cavity of housing 10.
Secondly, applicant urges that Matsunaga’s tab 25 sits onto an outer surface of the seal spring. The examiner disagrees. As previously illustrated in the partial view of Figure 7, an inner side wall of the seal spring is read as an inner diameter surface of the seal spring 18, which contacts an outer curved, or top surface, of tab 25, i.e. angled lead of tab.
Third, applicant believes that the amended portion of Claim 10, e.g. “resting, in its entirety,…said connector assembly” (at lines 8-10) is now not met by Matsunaga. The examiner disagrees for all of the preceding reasons, as well as the annotated illustrations above of Figures 6 and 7 of Matsunaga.
The applicant’s remaining arguments with respect to Claims 11 through 14 and 16, stand or fall together with Claim 10.
It appears that further limitations in Claim 10 are needed, particularly with respect to the tab, in order for the claim to be distinguished over Matsunaga. Under the applicants remarks as to the significance of the applicant’s tabs [pages 7 to 8 of submission], perhaps some of these structural features of the tabs can be recited in Claim 10. Or perhaps more specific locations of the tabs relative to the housing, or portions of the housing, should be recited in Claim 10. The examiner invites applicants to a telephone interview to discuss such an amendment that would overcome Matsunaga.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment filed as part of their submission has necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A. DEXTER TUGBANG/Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2896
1 Non-Final action, mailed on February 4, 2026.
2 Elements emphasized (in italics) have been annotated in a partial view of Matsunaga’s Figure 6.