DETAILED ACTION
This non-final Office action is in response to Applicant’s patent application number 18/114,364 filed on 2/27/2023.
Currently, claims 1-4 are pending and examined.
Drawings
Color photographs and color drawings are not accepted in utility applications unless a petition filed under 37 CFR 1.84(a)(2) is granted. Any such petition must be accompanied by the appropriate fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(h), one set of color drawings or color photographs, as appropriate, if submitted via the USPTO patent electronic filing system or three sets of color drawings or color photographs, as appropriate, if not submitted via the via USPTO patent electronic filing system, and, unless already present, an amendment to include the following language as the first paragraph of the brief description of the drawings section of the specification:
The patent or application file contains at least one drawing executed in color. Copies of this patent or patent application publication with color drawing(s) will be provided by the Office upon request and payment of the necessary fee.
Color photographs will be accepted if the conditions for accepting color drawings and black and white photographs have been satisfied. See 37 CFR 1.84(b)(2).
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: “EPDM” should be spelled out once in the claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US No. 6,943,320 to Bavett.
Re claim 1: Bavett discloses a system for providing a non-corrosive surface, comprising: a concrete surface (see Abstract, col. 2, lines 46-56, Fig. 9); a metal substrate 26 coupled to the concrete surface; and a non-corrosive coating, e.g. rubber applied directly to at least one of (i) the concrete surface and (ii) the metal substrate 26, the non-corrosive coating comprising: a chemically inert polymer (i.e. rubber, col. 2, lines 9-10); and an additive (i.e. inhomogeneity 0.5-1.5, col. 4, lines 60-63)
Re claim 4: further comprising a heating element 12 electrically coupled to the metal substrate 26 (Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US No. 6,943,320 to Bavett.
Re claim 2: Bavett discloses basic structures of the claimed invention as stated above and further discloses wherein the chemically inert polymer comprises rubber (col. 2, lines 9-10) but does not disclose expressly the rubber comprises EPDM. However, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to choose different types of rubber, e.g. EPDM rubber in order to optimize the outcome result, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
Re claim 3 Bavett discloses basic structures of the claimed invention as stated above but does not disclose expressly the non-corrosive coating comprises about 50% by volume of the additive. However, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have different ratios for the additive in order to maximize the desirable result, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure (see attached PTO-892).
Contact Information
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communication from the examiner should be directed to CHI Q. NGUYEN whose telephone number is (571) 272-6847. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday from 7AM-5PM or email: chi.nguyen@uspto.gov. If attempt to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Brian Mattei can be reached at (571) 270-3238. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pairdirect.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at (866) 217-9197.
/CHI Q NGUYEN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3635
