DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim 1 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Howard (US 2007/0295027 – previously cited) in view of Tada (US 2007/0266726 – previously cited).
Regarding claim 1, Howard teaches a planar element for forming, in combination with other planar elements (see Title, Abstract) assembled in a stack, a heat exchanger (see Fig. 3, paragraph [0028]), said planar element comprising:
an inlet region at a first edge of the planar element and an outlet region at a second edge of the planar edge opposed to the first edge;
a first array of mutually spaced enhanced counter flow heat exchange (ECFHE) protrusions downstream of said inlet region of said planar element (inlet 16, Fig. 3, outlets 84, 85, with array of protrusions 70/72 at the inlet); and
a second array of mutually spaced enhanced counter flow heat exchange (ECFHE) protrusions upstream of said outlet region of said planar element (76, 78, Fig. 3, paragraph [0028]).
Howard does not specifically teach a first air flow guiding protrusion at the inlet region and a second air flow guiding protrusion at the outlet region.
Tada teaches an air conditioning unit (Tada, Title) which features a heat exchanger (Tada, 15, Fig. 4) and a first air flow guiding protrusion at the inlet region (Tada, 27, Fig. 4) and a second air flow guiding protrusion at the outlet region (Tada, either 31 or 33 read on the limitation, see Fig. 4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing, to provide Howard with the first and second air flow guiding protrusion at the inlet/outlet, as taught by Tada, in order to control the amount of air supplied to the heat exchanger for conditioning.
Claims 2-5 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Howard in view of Tada, further in view of Elder (US 2012/0114467 – previously cited).
Regarding claim 2, Howard as modified teaches the planar element according to claim 1, but does not teach that each of said mutually spaced protrusions of said first array and/or of said second array has a inlet end and an outlet end that are tapered from a surface of the planar element to an upper surface thereof.
Elder teaches a heat exchanger with tapered fins (Elder, Title) wherein the fins (Elder, Fig. 4, see paragraph [0020]) taper from a surface (Elder, 46, Fig. 4) to an upper surface (see Fig. 4, which show the leading edges 74 and 76 taper upward). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to provide Howard with tapered inlet and outlet ends for the first and/or second array of protrusions, as taught by Elder, in order to improve air flow through the fins (Elder, paragraph [0021]).
Regarding claim 3, Howard as modified teaches the planar element according to claim 1, but does not teach that the first air flow guiding protrusion creates a narrower opening at the inlet region than inside the inlet region. Elder teaches a heat exchanger with tapered fins (Elder, Title) wherein the fins (Elder, Fig. 4, see paragraph [0020]) taper from a surface (Elder, 46, Fig. 4) to an upper surface (see Fig. 4, which show the leading edges 74 and 76 taper upward). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to provide Howard with tapered inlet and outlet ends for the first and/or second array of protrusions, as taught by Elder, in order to improve air flow through the fins (Elder, paragraph [0021]).
Regarding claim 4, Howard as modified teaches the planar element according to claim 1, but does not teach that the second air flow guiding protrusion creates a narrower opening at the outlet region than inside the outlet region. Elder teaches a heat exchanger with tapered fins (Elder, Title) wherein the fins (Elder, Fig. 4, see paragraph [0020]) taper from a surface (Elder, 46, Fig. 4) to an upper surface (see Fig. 4, which show the leading edges 74 and 76 taper upward). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to provide Howard with tapered inlet and outlet ends for the first and/or second array of protrusions, as taught by Elder, in order to improve air flow through the fins (Elder, paragraph [0021]).
Regarding claim 5, Howard as modified teaches the planar element according to claim 2, wherein each of the tapered inlet ends and tapered outlet ends of the protrusions has a plane of tapering that intersects with a plain of the planar element (met through the combination).
Claim 6 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Howard in view of Tada, further in view of Yamanaka (US 4,742,866 – previously cited).
Regarding claim 6, Howard as modified teaches the planar element according to claim 1, comprising a planar core element, said planar core element forming, in combination with other planar core elements assembled in a stack (see Howard, paragraph [0009]), but does not teach a cut out region between the first array of mutually spaced ECFHE protrusions and the second array of mutually spaced ECFHE protrusions, said cut out region configured to accommodate a planar core element, said planar core element forming, in combination with other planar core elements assembled in a stack, each corresponding to a respective planar element, a cooling core.
Yamanaka teaches a planar element (Yamanaka, col. 1, lines 36-40, Fig. 1C) and a cut out region (Yamanaka, 14, Fig. 1, 7, see col. 6, lines 15-20) between arrays of protrusions (see Fig. 8, 1m, etc), wherein the cutout region accommodates planar elements (Yamanaka, Fig. 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to provide Howard as modified with a cutout region with a cooling core, as taught by Yamanaka, in order to provide greater contact surface to increase the rate of heat transfer in the heat exchanger with the cooling core.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/15/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments are directed to the 35 USC 103 rejection made in the previous office action with regard to claim 1. Applicant firstly argues that Howard is monolithic cryogenic heat exchanger, not a stackable planar element. Applicant asserts that Howard’s cryogenic exchanger would not be a starting point for modification, mainly supporting the argument by the device of Howard is fabricated as a unitary block by vacuum brazing and fuses all internal layers permanently into a single structure. See Applicant Remarks, pgs. 5-6. The Examiner has considered this argument and respectfully disagrees, as claim 1 plainly states “planar elements assembled in a stack” which is clearly taught by Howard in at least paragraph [0027]. As the claim does not elaborate further on the fabrication, or how the stack operates/holds together that would dissuade one from crossing off Howard as a logical starting point. Applicant further argues that Howard disclaims Counter-flow as a design requirement, citing paragraph [0036] which notes the inventive concept of Howard is an arrangement being co-current. The Examiner disagrees, as paragraph [0036] begins by noting there are counter current flows in the heat exchanger, therefore making the assertion that Howard does not regard counter current as important or desirable unfounded by the very paragraph cited.
Applicant further argues the mapping of Howard to claim 1, stating that the cited inlet and outlet, opposite edges of the layer do not read on the claim. Stating that claim 1 requires a single inlet region at a first edge and single outlet region at a second edge. The Examiner disagrees with the statement that the claim requires a single outlet, as the claim recites an “outlet region” which does not preclude multiple outlets within the outlet region. Further, the edges recited in the claim are not defined on a planar level to make the inlet and outlet regions of Howard not read on the claim, as they suffice under the broadest reasonable interpretation as they are diametrically opposed to each other directionally.
Applicant further argues that the combination with Tada should be withdrawn as the elements at macroscopic HVAC duct dampers not air flow guiding protrusions, noting that the elements cited of Tada are dampers, further stating there is no technical rational for how they would be incorporated into the heat exchanger. Applicant also asserts the claimed single inlet/outlet architecture of the claim, the Examiner reiterates that the claim does not explicitly recite single inlets and outlets, but merely a single region of each. That said, the Examiner respectfully disagrees, as Tada teaches protrusions which clearly meet the function of the claim and due to the broadness of the limitation, also suffices as the protrusions are recited to be in the inlet/outlet regions, thereby making the placement ambiguous and broad.
Applicant finally argues the motivation to combine is absent and unsupported, asserting there is no technical reason why a person would combine two disparate systems to arrive at the claimed invention. The Examiner respectfully disagrees, as the two references are in the same field of endeavor thereby making the combination under 103 proper, and further the motivation is stated and obvious as the addition of protrusions to guide airflow clearly has an obvious motivation to combine as noted in the rejection.
Applicant further argues the rejection of claims 2-5 in view of Elder, arguing that orientation and geometry of Elder is different from the claimed feature. The Examiner has considered the argument and finds it unpersuasive as the airflow direction and how the airflow interacts with the tapered protrusions is not recited in claim. Regarding the assertion that there is no motivation to combine Elder with Howard in view of Tada, in response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Applicant asserts the rejection of claim 6 in view of Yamanaka, arguing the cutout region is configured to accommodate the planar core element, arguing the mechanisms by which the cooling core is fastened to the cutout region. The Examiner respectfully disagrees, as Yamanaka clearly depicts a through-hole which is analogous to the cutout region, how the core of Yamanaka is accommodated is not applicable to the claim as the claim does not recite any further limitation to limit how the cutout region accommodates the core. Regarding Applicant’s final argument which how the disparate references cannot be combined to constitute a reasoned analysis under KSR, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. As outlined above, the arguments which respect to the claims and the references are directed to features that are not claimed and also address parts of the references that are not utilized in the rejection. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). The Examiner maintains the resultant structure of the combinations read on the claims under the broadest reasonable interpretation thereof.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NAEL N BABAA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763