DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s response and amendment dated 10/3/25 are acknowledged and entered. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McKirdy (US 2021/0350923, previously cited) in view of Kwan (US 2009/0140051).1 Regarding claims 1, 8 and 15, McKirdy teaches a client device, method, and non-transitory computer readable medium associated with a user for receiving information associated with an optical code, the client device comprising: a memory (paragraph 0130); and a processor configured to execute one or more instructions stored on the memory to cause the client device to (paragraph 0130): activate an optical device to cause the optical device to initiate a scan of the optical code (paragraph 0022) associated with a sensing device that is associated with the user (paragraph 0023); receive, from the optical device, information associated with the optical code provided or generated by the sensing device, wherein the optical code represents at least data associated with the user of the sensing device as sensed from the sensing device (paragraph 0023, see also paragraph 0065); convert the information to a format for display on a display device, wherein the converting is based on one or more factors comprising a type of optical code (paragraph 0067); and display the converted information at the display device (paragraph 0060). McKirdy does not explicitly teach sending an instruction to an optical device to perform a scan of the optical code associated with a sensing device that is associated with a user. Kwan teaches sending an instruction to an optical device to perform a scan of the optical code associated with a sensing device that is associated with a user (paragraph 0010: sending updates to the stored instructions). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to combine the teachings of McKirdy and Kwan, because such a combination aids in improving the operation of the optical device (paragraph 0010 of Kwan). Regarding claims 2, 9 and 16, McKirdy further teaches the client device comprises the optical device, and wherein the optical device comprises a camera (paragraph 0025). Regarding claims 3, 10 and 17, McKirkdy further teaches displaying the converted information at the display device comprises displaying the converted information at a size larger than that provided at the sensing device (paragraph 0060). Regarding claims 4 and 11, McKirdy further teaches the display device is a remote display device (paragraph 0060). Regarding claims 5, 12 and 18, McKirdy further teaches the processor is further configured to execute the one or more instructions to further cause the client device to: send the converted information to a network resource so as to cause the network resource to store the converted information at the network resource accessible by one or more other client devices (paragraph 0038). Regarding claims 6, 13, and 19, McKirdy further teaches the optical code is associated with biometric data associated with the user of the sensing device (paragraph 0031). Regarding claims 7, 14 and 20, McKirdy further teaches the client device comprises a remote control (paragraph 0030).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. New reference Kwan has been used to teach the newly added limitations. See above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action.
/MATTHEW MIKELS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876
1 In addition to the cited portions of each reference, please see also the associated figures.
2 The Examiner can also be reached at matthew.mikels@uspto.gov.