DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species B (Fig. 3) in the reply filed on 2025 September 29 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that – all the claims each depend from claim 1, such that all the claims should be examined in the present application.
This is not found persuasive. The fact that all claims depend from claim 1 is immaterial because dependent claims can be directed to various species. Even if every claim currently presented was generic, the election requirement would still be proper because a complete search is drawn to the application/species as a whole, not just what is claimed.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 9,968,003 B2 (herein “Sakamoto”).
Regarding claim 1. Sakamoto discloses a phase-change heat dissipater (Figs. 1 and 2, oriented such that the X direction is the vertical direction), comprising at least two evaporators (400, 410), at least one condenser (700, 710) and at least two sets of heat transfer pipelines (500, 600, 510, 610), wherein the at least two evaporators and at least one condenser form at least two circulating heat dissipation circuits (first loop between 400 and 700, second loop between 410 and 710) through the at least two sets of heat transfer pipelines, and a phase-change medium (fluid in the loops that evaporates and condenses) is filled in the at least two circulating heat dissipation circuits;
wherein the at least two evaporators are arranged sequentially along a vertical direction (the heat dissipater can be oriented such that the X direction is the vertical direction and 400 and 410 are arranged along the vertical direction).
Regarding claim 2. Sakamoto discloses the phase-change heat dissipater according to claim 1, wherein at least two condensers are provided (700, 710), and the at least two condensers are in communication with the at least two evaporators respectively through the at least two circulating heat dissipation circuits (via 500 and 600, via 510 and 610).
Regarding claim 3. Sakamoto discloses the phase-change heat dissipater according to claim 2, wherein a condensing air duct (through 300) is provided outside the at least two condensers, and the at least two condensers are arranged sequentially along an extending direction of the condensing air duct (shown in Figs. 1 and 2 – along the vertical X direction).
Regarding claim 4. Sakamoto discloses the phase-change heat dissipater according to claim 3, wherein the condensing air duct extends along the vertical direction (shown in Figs. 1 and 2 – along the vertical X direction).
Regarding claim 5. Sakamoto discloses the phase-change heat dissipater according to claim 1, wherein a spacing is reserved between two adjacent evaporators (Fig. 1 – 400 and 410 are spaced apart).
Regarding claim 6. Sakamoto discloses a power module (Fig. 1 – 1000), comprising a heat source (220, 230) and the phase-change heat dissipater according to claim 1, wherein the heat source is arranged in contact with the at least two evaporators of the phase-change heat dissipater (220 and 230 in contact with 400 and 410).
Regarding claim 7. Sakamoto discloses the power module according to claim 6, wherein the power module further comprises a housing (300), the heat source and the phase-change heat dissipater are arranged in the housing (shown in Figs. 1 and 2), a condensing air duct is formed in the housing (Fig. 2 – wall of 300 form duct for fan 800), and the at least one condenser of the phase-change heat dissipater is located in the condensing air duct (shown in Figs. 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 8. Sakamoto discloses the power module according to claim 7, wherein at least two condensers are provided (700, 710), and the at least two condensers are in communication with the at least two evaporators respectively through the at least two circulating heat dissipation circuits (via 500 and 600, via 510 and 610);
the at least two condensers are arranged sequentially or side by side along an extending direction of the condensing air duct (700 and 710 arranged sequentially in the vertical direction X).
Regarding claim 9. Sakamoto discloses the power module according to claim 8, wherein the condensing air duct extends along the vertical direction (shown in Figs. 1 and 2 – the vertical X direction).
Regarding claim 10. Sakamoto discloses the power module according to claim 6, wherein the heat source can be an IGBT power module and/or an IGCT power module (col. 5, ll. 10-19).
Conclusion
/JON T. SCHERMERHORN JR./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763