DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Endoh (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/02101059) in view of Lee (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2002/0101234).
Regarding claim 1.
Endoh discloses:
A spot welding monitoring method configured to monitor a state of spot welding that holds a work comprising metal plates stacked([0114]) on each other, between electrodes in a pair(abstract 303 304), and supplies electricity between the electrodes([0114]), the spot welding monitoring method comprising:
by a converter (205)disposed in a vicinity of a weld zone of the work, detecting a change in magnetic flux density(Fig. 20b, and [0184] c101) of a magnetic field generated around the weld zone by the supplying of the electricity between the electrodes([0185]), and converting the change in the magnetic flux density into a current([0185],[0186]); and
calculating three-dimensional data on a melting zone of the work, based on a temporal change in a value of the current([0215]).
Endoh discloses does not disclose:
calculating three-dimensional data on a melting zone of the work
Endoh discloses that the device may include a magnetic field measuring unit, and that the unit provides data on the melting zone of the work.
However, Endoh discloses that the data analysis unit 103 shown in fig. 1 takes the collected data, including the magnetic data, and uses it to analysis the data, using machine learning, and uses other classification techniques. It further determines if welding conditions are normal or abnormal, see [0070], and outputs detailed inspection instructions, and creates one-dimensional data at [0027]-[0029] [0150]-[0151] [0256].
Further, in related art, Lee discloses amplifying the magnetic flux density, to make three dimensional data for the benefit of displaying the magnetic flux to display internal properties[0053]. It would have been obvious to use the amplifying of the Magnetic flux density for the obvious benefit of viewing a defect of the melting zone of Endoh.
Thus, It would have been obvious to use the data to calculate three-dimensional data as taught by Lee in the device of Endoh, for the benefit of using the data to create detailed inspection instructions, and non-destructive views of the melting zone. As such, the features of claim 1 would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 2.
Endoh discloses all of the features of claim 1.
Endoh does not disclose:
The spot welding monitoring method according to claim 1, wherein the detecting and converting of the change in the magnetic flux density comprises amplifying the magnetic flux density of the magnetic field generated around the weld zone, by a magnetic field generator disposed in a vicinity of the weld zone.
In related art, Lee discloses:
The spot welding monitoring method according to claim 1, wherein the detecting and converting of the change in the magnetic flux density comprises amplifying the magnetic flux density of the magnetic field generated around the weld zone, by a magnetic field generator disposed in a vicinity of the weld zone. [0053], disclosing amplifying magnetic flux density data for non-destructive testing..
IT would have been obvious to use the amplifying of the Magnetic flux density for the obvious benefit of viewing a defect of the melting zone of Endoh.
Thus, It would have been obvious to use the data to calculate three-dimensional data as taught by Lee in the device of Endoh, for the benefit of using the data to create detailed instructions and providing inspection of the melting zone properties. As such, the features of claim 2 would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 3.
Endoh discloses
The spot welding monitoring method according to claim 1, further comprising determining whether quality of the weld zone is favorable or unfavorable, by comparing the calculated three-dimensional data and preset weld zone reference data. (see [0261]-[0262], unit 106 determines if it is normal or abnormal by comparing the obtained data to reference data)
Regarding claim 4.
Endoh discloses
The spot welding monitoring method according to claim 2, further comprising determining whether quality of the weld zone is favorable or unfavorable, by comparing the calculated three-dimensional data and preset weld zone reference data. (see [0261]-[0262], unit 106 determines if it is normal or abnormal by comparing the obtained data to reference data)
Regarding claim 5.
Endoh discloses:
A spot welding monitoring system configured to monitor a state of spot welding that holds a work comprising metal plates stacked ([0114]) on each other, between electrodes in a pair(abstract 303 304),, and supplies electricity between the electrodes([0114]),, the spot welding monitoring system comprising:
calculating three-dimensional data on a melting zone of the work, based on a temporal change in a value of the current
Endoh discloses does not disclose:
a converter (205)configured to be disposed in a vicinity of a weld zone of the work, and to detect a change in magnetic flux density(Fig. 20b, and [0184] c101) of a magnetic field generated around the weld zone by the supplying of the electricity between the electrodes([0185]),, and convert the change in the magnetic flux density into a current([0185],[0186]);; and
a calculation device configured to calculate three-dimensional data on a melting zone of the work, based on a temporal change in a value of the current acquired by the converter. ([0215]).
Endoh discloses that the device may include a magnetic field measuring unit, and that the unit provides data on the melting zone of the work.
However, Endoh discloses that the data analysis unit 103 shown in fig. 1 takes the collected data, including the magnetic data, and uses it to analysis the data, using machine learning, and uses other classification techniques. It further determines if welding conditions are normal or abnormal, see [0070], and outputs detailed inspection instructions, and creates one-dimensional data at [0027]-[0029] [0150]-[0151] [0256].
Further, in related art, Lee discloses amplifying the magnetic flux density, to make three dimensional data for the benefit of displaying the magnetic flux to display internal properties[0053]. IT would have been obvious to use the amplifying of the Magnetic flux density for the obvious benefit of viewing a defect of the melting zone of Endoh.
Thus, It would have been obvious to use the data to calculate three-dimensional data as taught by Lee in the device of Endoh, for the benefit of using the data to create detailed inspection instructions, and views of the melting zone structure. As such, the features of claim 5 would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 6.
Endoh discloses all of the features of claim 5.
Endoh does not disclose:
The spot welding monitoring system according to claim 5, further comprising a magnetic field generator configured to be disposed in a vicinity of the weld zone, and to amplify magnetic flux generated around the weld zone.
In related art, Lee discloses:
The spot welding monitoring system according to claim 5, further comprising a magnetic field generator configured to be disposed in a vicinity of the weld zone, and to amplify magnetic flux generated around the weld zone. [0053], disclosing amplifying magnetic flux density data for non-destructive testing.
IT would have been obvious to use the amplifying of the Magnetic flux density for the obvious benefit of viewing a defect of the melting zone of Endoh.
Thus, It would have been obvious to use the data to calculate three-dimensional data as taught by Lee in the device of Endoh, for the benefit of using the data to create detailed instructions and providing inspection of the melting zone properties. As such, the features of claim 6 would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art.
Conclusion
/ROBERT G BACHNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898