DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2/27/2023, 12/2/2023, 9/9/2024, and 11/24/2024 is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, line 15, “preprogmmed” should be –preprogrammed--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “muscle stimulating element” and “programmable controller configured and operable to activate…frequencies” in claims 1, 25, and 26; and “cooling device” in claim 22.
Based on Applicant’s specification, “muscle stimulating element” are EMS coils (see pages 7), “programmable controller configured and operable to activate…frequencies” is some type of computer hardware and/or software (structure not explicit in specification or drawings but wording in the specification suggests that the controller is either computer hardware, software, or a combination of both); and “cooling device” includes one or more of Peltier elements, fan devices, or circulating liquid cooling devices (see page 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 14 and 25, the phrase "pad-like" renders the claim(s) indefinite because the claim(s) include(s) elements not actually disclosed (those encompassed by "-like"), thereby rendering the scope of the claim(s) unascertainable. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the first side" and “the second side” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. These should read as –a first side of the two sides—and –a second side of the two sides--.
Claim 14 recites the limitation “it” in line 4. It is not clear what the pronoun refers to.
Claims 15-28 inherit the deficiencies of claim 14 or 25 and are likewise rejected.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the skin" in lines 2-3, “the form” in lines 3-4 and “the surface of the electrode” in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 16 recites the limitation “in the form of a thin film or retina layer” in lines 3-4. Due to the parentheses, it is not clear if this limitation is supposed to be part of the claim or is meant to show an example.
Claim 16 recites the limitation “an outer layer of conductive gel adhesive may be applied…skin tissue” in lines 4-5. This makes the limitation unclear as it cannot be determined if the conductive gel adhesive is being claimed due to its optional nature.
Claims 17-18 inherit the deficiencies of claim 16 and are likewise rejected.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the formation" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the muscle fibers" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 21 recites the limitation "the level" in line 2 and “the desired level” in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 23 recites the limitation “the treatment regime” in lines 3-4. It is not clear which regime is being referred to as there can be more than one treatment regime.
Claim 24 recites the limitation “the treatment regime” in lines 3-4. It is not clear which regime is being referred to as there can be more than one treatment regime.
Claim 25 recites the limitation “according to claim 1” in line 2. This is unclear because it refers to a claim that has been cancelled.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 25 recites the broad recitation “a pad-like structure or applicator or pad”, and the claim also recites “the pad” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claims 26-28 inherit the deficiencies of claim 25 and are likewise rejected.
Claim 28 recites the limitation "the muscle fibers" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Section 33(a) of the America Invents Act reads as follows:
Notwithstanding any other provision of law, no patent may issue on a claim directed to or encompassing a human organism.
Claim 16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 and section 33(a) of the America Invents Act as being directed to or encompassing a human organism. See also Animals - Patentability, 1077 Off. Gaz. Pat. Office 24 (April 21, 1987) (indicating that human organisms are excluded from the scope of patentable subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101). Claim 16 recites the limitation “a layer of adhesive gel contacts the skin” in lines 2-3, which is a positive recitation to a human organism. Amending the claim to --a layer of adhesive gel configured to contact the skin-- would overcome the rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 25, 27, and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2018/0001107 (Schwarz et al., hereinafter Schwarz).
In regards to claim 25, Schwarz discloses an applicator that uses magnetic fields to treat a patient (title and abstract; paragraphs 10-133). Schwarz describes providing an applicator to a patient’s skin (paragraphs 58) with a coil/muscle stimulating element attached in a case that stimulates the muscles (abstract; paragraphs 11, 31-34, 39, 58, 72-91), thus making it operable to generate a signal that stimulates muscles in vicinity of the skin tissue. Paragraphs 12, 60, 64-69, and 76 suggest combining radiofrequency and magnetic treatment where the applicator would include an electrode to apply RF energy and the activation of the RF electrode and the muscle stimulating element at a frequency to provide a treatment regime that includes skin tightening, skin rejuvenation, and fat reduction.
In regards to claims 27 and 28, Schwarz discloses the limitations of claim 25. In addition, Schwarz discloses that electric current is induced by the pulsed magnetic treatment (paragraph 53), which makes the muscle stimulating element configured to generate an electrical signal that stimulates a motor neuron that innervates one or more muscles, thus meeting the limitations of claim 27. Schwarz further states the intensity of the magnetic fields being applied in paragraph 50, which falls within the range considered as high-intensity in Applicant’s specification, thus meeting the limitations of claim 28.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2018/0001107 (Schwarz et al., hereinafter Schwarz) as applied to claim 25 above, and further in view of US 2016/0346561 (Ron Edoute et al., hereinafter Edoute).
In regards to claim 26, Schwarz discloses the elements of claim 25 and further shows application of treatment regimens to the skin tissue via the activation of the muscle stimulating element and the RF electrode (paragraphs 12, 60, 64-69, and 76). While Schwarz suggests a control unit, Schwarz does not disclose the presence of a programmable controller to activate the electrodes and the muscle stimulating elements. In a related area, Edoute discloses a device used for skin rejuvenation that uses a combination of RF diathermy using electrodes and electromagnetic pulses using stimulation coils (title; abstract; paragraphs 14-593; in particular figures 1, 2, 6, and 7). Edoute describes a control system in paragraphs 31, 43, 60-62, 81, 115, 126, 134, 138, 148, 178, 202, 208, 279-283 that controls the pulses for electromagnetic frequency generation and RF tissue diathermy for simultaneous, sequential, or combination applications. Paragraph 54 and 337 states a medical equipment standard for programmable medical systems so that the device controller is programmable. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device of Schwarz to use a programmable controller as taught by Edoute in order to allow for control of the RF and electromagnetic therapies for simultaneous, sequential, or combination applications.
Conclusion
The examiner notes that, though no art has been applied against claims 14-24 at this time, they are not presently allowable. The question of prior art will be revisited upon resolution of the numerous issues noted above.
/JOSHUA DARYL D LANNU/Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/CARRIE R DORNA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791