Response to Amendment
Regarding applicant’s amendment filed 8/6/2026, previous 112 rejection has been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/6/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Specifically, regarding the amendment “generating for output at the user device of the second user, using control circuitry and based on determining the particular interest, a user notification indicating a presence of the first user”, Balsam discloses this limitation in col. 8, lines 5-24, where other users being alerted about first user’s presence, which means second user is alerted (receives an alert/notification) about the presence of the first user, thus reads on “generating for output at the user device of the second user…”. Additionally, in col. 8 line 52-col. 9 line 3 where Balsam discloses that the second user received a call (a form of notification) from first user in response to the familiarity level breaching a threshold and the call may include a visual indicator of where the other person is located also reads on “generating for output at the user device of the second user, using control circuitry and based on determining the particular interest, a user notification indicating a presence of the first user”.
Regarding applicant’s arguments that the combination of prior art does not disclose “determining, using control circuitry, a particular interest of the first user based on the biometric response of the first user”, examiner respectfully disagrees. Balsam discloses in col. 8 lines 5-24, “Discovery enabling module 308 may be configured to enable a discovery setting by a first user wearing a first artificial reality device. The discovery setting may allow for other users to discover the first user. Discovering the first user may include being alerted as to the first user's nearby presence. In some implementations, the artificial reality device may include an artificial reality headset. The artificial reality headset may be configured to allow the user to access an artificial reality environment (e.g., augmented reality, mixed reality, virtual reality, etc.). The user may interact with the artificial reality environment through one or more of gestures, voice commands, biometric responses, and/or other interactions. In some implementations, by way of non-limiting example, the artificial reality device may be connected to a wireless network through at least one of Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, or cellular data. It is understood that the artificial reality headset includes the class of audio only glasses (e.g., AMAZON ECHOFRAMES, BOSE FRAMES, etc.) as well as standard artificial reality headsets (e.g., OCULUS, etc.), and the like.” This means that Balsam’s users discover each other’s presence and familiarity based on gestures, voice, biometric responses and other interactions. Chein specifically discloses interest. Therefore the combination of Balsam and Chein discloses “determining, using control circuitry, a particular interest of the first user based on the biometric response of the first user”.
Therefore, the 103 rejections are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 10, 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Balsam et al. (US 11736535 B1, hereinafter Balsam) in view of Chein et al. (US 9756458, hereinafter Chein).
As to claims 1 and 13, Balsam teaches, A method of controlling a user device, the method comprising:
obtaining, via an extended reality (XR) headset, a biometric response of a first user. [Col. 8 line 5-24, Discovery enabling module 308 may be configured to enable a discovery setting by a first user wearing a first artificial reality device. The discovery setting may allow for other users to discover the first user. Discovering the first user may include being alerted as to the first user's nearby presence. In some implementations, the artificial reality device may include an artificial reality headset. The artificial reality headset may be configured to allow the user to access an artificial reality environment (e.g., augmented reality, mixed reality, virtual reality, etc.). The user may interact with the artificial reality environment through one or more of gestures, voice commands, biometric responses, and/or other interactions.]
determining, based on obtained location data, a location of the first user; [col. 9 line 35-40, Location and/or speed detection module 324 may be configured to detect a location and/or speed of the user. The location and/or speed of the user may be used to determine whether the first user is travelling by foot, by car, by boat, by train, by plane, and/or other mode of travel.]
obtaining, via the user device associated with a second user, a location of the second user; [col. 8 line 25-35, Presence detection module 310 may be configured to detect a presence of at least a second user wearing a second artificial reality device. The presence may be within a range of the first user. By way of non-limiting example, the range may be within 10 meters, 25 meters, 50 meters, 100 meters, 200 meters, or 400 meters between the first user and the second user. The range can be controlled by the user. Different methods may be utilized for physically locating other users relative to the user based on a distance of individual ones of the other users to the user.]
determining, using control circuitry, that the first user and the second user are co-located based on the location of the first user and the location of the second user; [col. 8 line 25-35, Presence detection module 310 may be configured to detect a presence of at least a second user wearing a second artificial reality device. The presence may be within a range of the first user. By way of non-limiting example, the range may be within 10 meters, 25 meters, 50 meters, 100 meters, 200 meters, or 400 meters between the first user and the second user. The range can be controlled by the user. Different methods may be utilized for physically locating other users relative to the user based on a distance of individual ones of the other users to the user.]
responsive to determining the first user and the second user are co-located, determining, using control circuitry, a particular familiarity level of the first user based on the biometric response of the first user (col 8, line 5-24, nearby…biometric responses…also see col. 8 line 25-34, range and detect presence; also see col 8, line 52- col. 9 line 3);
generating for output at the user device of the second user, using control circuitry and based on determining the particular familiarity level, a user notification indicating a presence of the first user (see col. 8, lines 5-24, col. 8 line 52-col. 9 line 3; NOTE: other users being alerted about first user’s presence reads on “generating for output at the user device of the second user…”. Additionally, the second user received a call (a form of notification) from first user in response to the familiarity level breaching a threshold, and the call may include a visual indicator of where the other person is located also reads on “generating for output at the user device of the second user…”).
Balsam discloses a particular familiarity level but does not specifically disclose a particular interest.
However, in a similar endeavor, Chein discloses a particular interest of the users (see col. 4, line 51-65).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant's claimed invention to modify Balsam with Chein, in order to facilitate users to interact with each other when they share common interests, thus promoting direct communication among users based on common interest and location. (see col. 4, line 51-65).
As to claim 2 and 14, Balsam teaches, wherein the location of the first user and the location of the second user each comprise GPS data and/or wireless network data. [col. 8, line 5-25, In some implementations, by way of non-limiting example, the artificial reality device may be connected to a wireless network through at least one of Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, or cellular data.]
and wherein determining that the first user and second user are co-located comprises: comparing, using control circuitry, the location of the second user to the location of the first user; [col. 8 line 25-25, Presence detection module 310 may be configured to detect a presence of at least a second user wearing a second artificial reality device. The presence may be within a range of the first user. By way of non-limiting example, the range may be within 10 meters, 25 meters, 50 meters, 100 meters, 200 meters, or 400 meters between the first user and the second user. The range can be controlled by the user. Different methods may be utilized for physically locating other users relative to the user based on a distance of individual ones of the other users to the user.]
and verifying, using control circuitry, that the first user and the second user are co- located when the location of the second user and the location of the first user substantially correspond. [col. 8 line 25-25, Presence detection module 310 may be configured to detect a presence of at least a second user wearing a second artificial reality device. The presence may be within a range of the first user. By way of non-limiting example, the range may be within 10 meters, 25 meters, 50 meters, 100 meters, 200 meters, or 400 meters between the first user and the second user. The range can be controlled by the user. Different methods may be utilized for physically locating other users relative to the user based on a distance of individual ones of the other users to the user.]
As to claims 3 and 15, Balsam teaches, wherein the location of the first user and the location of the second user each comprise auditory data and/or photographic data, [¶ 70, according to an aspect, the process 400 further includes adjusting an audio output of the first artificial reality device to reflect a direction of approach to and/or retreat from the first user by the second user.]
and wherein determining that the first user and second user are co-located comprises: comparing, using control circuitry, the location of the second user to the location of the first user; [ col. 8 line 25-25, Presence detection module 310 may be configured to detect a presence of at least a second user wearing a second artificial reality device. The presence may be within a range of the first user. By way of non-limiting example, the range may be within 10 meters, 25 meters, 50 meters, 100 meters, 200 meters, or 400 meters between the first user and the second user. The range can be controlled by the user. Different methods may be utilized for physically locating other users relative to the user based on a distance of individual ones of the other users to the user.]
and verifying, using control circuitry, that the first user and the second user are co- located when the location of the second user and the location of the first user substantially correspond. [ col. 8 line 25-25, Presence detection module 310 may be configured to detect a presence of at least a second user wearing a second artificial reality device. The presence may be within a range of the first user. By way of non-limiting example, the range may be within 10 meters, 25 meters, 50 meters, 100 meters, 200 meters, or 400 meters between the first user and the second user. The range can be controlled by the user. Different methods may be utilized for physically locating other users relative to the user based on a distance of individual ones of the other users to the user.]
As to claims 4 and 16, Balsam in view of Chein teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: obtaining other profile data associated with another user of a corresponding other user device, wherein: the other profile data comprises a location of the other user, and the other user is a different user to the first user and the second user; comparing, using control circuitry, the location of the other user to the location of the first user and the location of the second user to determine that the location of the other user substantially corresponds to the location of the first user and the location of the second user and that the other user is co-located with the first and second users; and verifying, using control circuitry, that the first user and the second user are co- located in response to determining that the other user is co-located with the first and second users. (see Balsam, col. 8 lines 5-34)
As to claims 5 and 17, Balsam teaches, wherein the method further comprises: obtaining profile data associated with the second user, the profile data comprising the location of the second user. [col. 8 line 25-25, Presence detection module 310 may be configured to detect a presence of at least a second user wearing a second artificial reality device. The presence may be within a range of the first user. By way of non-limiting example, the range may be within 10 meters, 25 meters, 50 meters, 100 meters, 200 meters, or 400 meters between the first user and the second user. The range can be controlled by the user. Different methods may be utilized for physically locating other users relative to the user based on a distance of individual ones of the other users to the user.]
As to claims 6 and 18, Balsam in view of Chein teaches wherein the profile data associated with the second user further comprises identification data associated with the second user.(see Chein, col. 6, lines 33-53)
As to claims 7 and 19, Balsam in view of Chein teaches wherein the identification data associated with the second user and/or the situational data each comprise at least one of: biometric data, wireless network data, auditory data, or photographic data. (see Chein, col. 20 lines 5-26)
As to claims 8 and 20, Balsam in view of Chein teaches wherein the method further comprises: obtaining other profile data associated with another user of a corresponding other user device, wherein: the other profile data comprises identification data associated with the other user, and the other user is a different user to the first user and the second user. (see Chein, fig. 1. Other users; col. 6, lines 33-53)
As to claim 10, Balsam teaches, wherein the method further comprises: determining, using control circuitry, a distance between the first user and the second user based on the location of the first user and the location of the second user; [col. 8 line 5-25, Presence detection module 310 may be configured to detect a presence of at least a second user wearing a second artificial reality device. The presence may be within a range of the first user. By way of non-limiting example, the range may be within 10 meters, 25 meters, 50 meters, 100 meters, 200 meters, or 400 meters between the first user and the second user. The range can be controlled by the user. Different methods may be utilized for physically locating other users relative to the user based on a distance of individual ones of the other users to the user.]
determining, using the control circuitry, if the first user is within a predetermined distance of the second user based on the determined distance; [col. 8 line 5-25, Presence detection module 310 may be configured to detect a presence of at least a second user wearing a second artificial reality device. The presence may be within a range of the first user. By way of non-limiting example, the range may be within 10 meters, 25 meters, 50 meters, 100 meters, 200 meters, or 400 meters between the first user and the second user. The range can be controlled by the user. Different methods may be utilized for physically locating other users relative to the user based on a distance of individual ones of the other users to the user.]
and only upon determining the first user is located within a predetermined distance of the second user, determining, using control circuitry, the particular interest of the first user. [col. 8 line 5-25, Familiarity level determination module 312 may be configured to determine a familiarity level of the first user with the second user. By way of non-limiting example, the familiarity level may be based on one or more of social media, contacts, or message history. The familiarity threshold may be based on a number of interactions between the first user and the second user. By way of non-limiting example, the number of interactions may be based on one or more of a frequency and/or recency of past messages and/or calls, a frequency and/or recency of real-world contacts, a relationship closeness and/or category, a number and/or closeness of common social connections, a sentiment analysis of past interactions, or a duration of past interactions.]
As to claim 12, Balsam in view of Chein teaches, wherein the method further comprises: transmitting to the user device associated with the second user, using control circuitry, the user notification indicating the presence of the first user and indicating the first user is attracted to the second user. (see Chein, col 20, lines 27-45)
Claims 9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Balsam in view of Chein, and further in view of Purves et al. (US 20150073907, hereinafter Purves).
As to claim 9, Balsam in view of Chein fails to teach wherein determining the particular interest of the first user comprises: comparing, using control circuitry, the biometric response of the first user to a threshold; and identifying, using control circuitry, the particular interest if the biometric response meets the threshold.
However, in a similar endeavor, Purves discloses a biometric meets a threshold and determines the user is interested in something if user’s biometric meets a threshold ([0171]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant's claimed invention to modify Balsam in view of Chein, in order to gauge users interest level based on biometric responses meeting a certain threshold, thus creating an additional way to assess users’ interest. (see Purves [0171]).
As to claim 11, Balsam in view of Chein and Purves teaches wherein: the particular interest of the first user indicates the first user is attracted to the second user based on the biometric response of the first user (see Purves [0171] consumer is interested/attracted to something based on biometric meeting a threshold).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KATHY W WANG-HURST/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2644