DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the applicant’s filing on August 07, 2025. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Amendment and Arguments
In respond to applicant's arguments based on the filed amendment with respect to 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections of said previous office action have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The claim recite “a remote vehicle comprising a corresponding battery”. It unclear whether the claim remote vehicle is a second remote vehicle that is different from “a remote vehicle..” in the preamble.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 10-17, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al. US2017/0104353 (“Zhao”) in view of Abramov et al. US2019/0063881 (“Abramov”).
Regarding claim(s) 1, 10. Zhao discloses a system comprising:
a processor; a memory coupled to the processor; a long-life battery; a receiver coupled to the processor and the memory (abstract, Systems, methods, and devices of managing a battery assembly used to power an object are provided to discharge a battery assembly for a safe and long-term storage);
a launch vehicle; the processor configured to execute instructions stored in memory (para. 171, the processing unit 904 can be configured to execute instructions causing one or more processors of the processing unit 904 to analyze sensing data produced by the sensing module. The memory units can store sensing data from the sensing module to be processed by the processing unit 904. In some embodiments, the memory units of the non-transitory computer readable medium 906 can be used to store the processing results produced by the processing unit 904.), the instructions comprising:
entering into a low-power state after boot, wherein the low-power state allows the long-life battery to maintain charge for at least five years (para. 14, The threshold voltage is configured to enable safe long-term storage of the battery assembly. In some embodiments, the one or more processors individually or collectively may be further configured to generate a signal that enters the battery assembly into a hibernation mode subsequent to terminating the controlled self-discharge of the battery assembly.);
Zhao does not explicitly disclose:
monitoring periodically for a deployment message; and launching the remote vehicle in the area of operation in response to receiving the employment message.
Abramov teaches another UAV system and method that monitoring periodically for a deployment message (para. 141-para. 142, For example, the C-RAM C2 system 110 may identify the two or more defensive UAVs 102 for deployment within a predetermined distance of the threat's current location, or along the threat's trajectory. At step 718, the C-RAM C2 system 110 sends (e.g., transmits) a launch command message to the one or more defensive UAVs 102 identified in step 716. The launch command message includes the target location and trajectory. At step 720, in response to the launch command message, the one or more defensive UAVs 102 respond with an acknowledgment (confirmation) message.); and launching the remote vehicle in the area of operation in response to receiving the employment message (para. 130-133, 142-144, The UAV storage systems 106 may be positioned at high points surrounding an area of interest, such as an encampment. The UAV controller 108 and one or more UAV storage systems 106 may be co-located or remotely situation and communicatively coupled wirelessly or via cables.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system and method of Zhao by incorporating the applied teaching of Abramov to enable a launch message to be received by a remote vehicle from a command center and the claimed invention is merely a combination of old, well known elements of UAV/drone deployment and as such and one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the results of the combination would have been predictable.
Regarding claim(s) 2. Zhao in view of Abramov further teaches wherein the system comprises a waterproof container (Zhao: para. 62, methods disclosed herein in the context of aerial motion (e.g., flight) may also be applied in the context of other types of motion, such as movement on the ground or on water, underwater motion, or motion in space.)
Regarding claim(s) 3, 12. Zhao in view of Abramov further teaches polling periodically a state of charge of the long-life battery; determining that the state of charge of the long-life battery has dropped below a predetermined value; and transmitting, in response to the determination, a message to a server indicating that the state of charge of the long-life battery has dropped below the predetermined value (Zhao: para. 107-para. 108, The threshold voltage value may have a value falling within a range between any two of the values described herein. In some embodiments, the threshold voltage value may be about 50% of the nominal voltage of the battery assembly. For instances, the threshold voltage value may be about 38 V for a 10-cell battery assembly, each cell having a nominal voltage of 7.6 V. The term “nominal voltage” may be referred herein to indicate the reported or reference voltage of the cell or battery.)
Regarding claim(s) 4, 13. Zhao in view of Abramov further teaches wherein the deployment message is encrypted (Abramov: para. 136, UAV controller 108 may flag the defensive UAV 102 as a threat and/or alert an operator via the HMI device 114 before exiting the authentication process at step 712. If the defensive UAV 102 is deemed a threat, the C-RAM C2 system 110 may command another defensive UAV 102 to destroy the unauthenticated defensive UAV 102 (e.g., using the protocol of FIG. 7b).)
Regarding claim(s) 5, 14. Zhao in view of Abramov further teaches wherein the memory comprises a preprogrammed map of a target area (Abramov: abstract)
Regarding claim(s) 6, 15. Zhao in view of Abramov further teaches wherein the receiver is a high-bandwidth receiver (Zhao: para. 166, The communication system 810 enables communication with terminal 812 having a communication system 814 via wireless signals 816. The communication systems 810, 814 may include any number of transmitters, receivers, and/or transceivers suitable for wireless communication. The communication may be one-way communication, such that data can be transmitted in only one direction.).
Regarding claim(s) 7, 16. Zhao in view of Abramov further teaches wherein the system comprises a weather sensor (Zhao: para. 165, such as weather conditions, proximity to potential obstacles, location of geographical features, location of manmade structures, and the like.).
Regarding claim(s) 8, 17. Zhao in view of Abramov further teaches store, by the processor in a memory of the launch vehicle, a message corresponding to data read from the weather sensor (Zhao: para. 171, The processing unit 904 can have one or more processors, such as a programmable processor (e.g., a central processing unit (CPU)). The processing unit 904 can be operatively coupled to a non-transitory computer readable medium 906. The non-transitory computer readable medium 906 can store logic, code, and/or program instructions executable by the processing unit 904 for performing one or more steps. The non-transitory computer readable medium can include one or more memory units (e.g., removable media or external storage such as an SD card or random access memory (RAM)). In some embodiments, data from the sensing module 902 can be directly conveyed to and stored within the memory units of the non-transitory computer readable medium 906.).
Regarding claim(s) 19. Zhao in view of Abramov further teaches resetting, by the processor, a state of a UAV from a deployed state to a ready state in response to receiving a new UAV in a location where a previous UAV was launched (Abramov: para. 125, In a recover routine, the defensive UAV(s) 102 may return to a base (home) or to another designated recover point. In a loiter routine, the defensive UAV(s) 102 may decline to engage the current target and wait until the next command from the C-RAM C2 system 110. In a ground loiter routine, the defensive UAV(s) 102 may land at designated location (observe) and hold for new target. ).
Regarding claim(s) 20. Zhao in view of Abramov further teaches reentering, by the processor, the low-power state after launching the one or more vehicles (Abramov: para. 128, The UAV location may further provide operational parameters of the defensive UAV(s) 102, such as the fuel/battery charge level, altitude, speed, and/or heading. The icons of the main screen 620 may be accessed from the various screens via a pull tab icon 626.).
Claims 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al. US2017/0104353 (“Zhao”) in view of Abramov et al. US2019/0063881 (“Abramov”) further in view of Fisher et al. US2018/0335779 (“Fisher”).
Regarding claim(s) 9, 18. Zhao in view of Abramov is silent to adjust, by the processor, a launch angle of the launch vehicle in response to data read from the weather sensor.
Fisher teaches another UAV system that adjust, by the processor, a launch angle of the launch vehicle in response to data read from the weather sensor (para. 44, A wider angle for the weight release may cause the effector to go a shorter distance from the deployment device 120 before opening up as compared to having a narrower angle, as shown in FIG. 11B. In some embodiments, the interceptor UAV may carry different deployment devices 120 with different sized effectors, different sized tethers, different weight release angles, and/or different effector deployment forces. Having different deployment devices 120 may allow an operator 106 of the GCS 114 to select the deployment device 120 to employ based on the target UAV 104 size, characteristics, distance from the interceptor UAV 102, wind, weather conditions, and the like.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the combination of Zhao in view of Abramov with Fisher’s teaching above to improve UAV deployment controls based on wind/weather condition. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination would have been predictable with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Inquiry
/TRUC M DO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3658