DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “powder coat” and “bonded portions” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Figures 5 and 8-10 are objected to for containing improper sectional views and/or sectional view references. The plane upon which a sectional view is taken should be indicated on the view from which the sec-tion is cut by a broken line. The ends of the broken line should be designated by Arabic or Roman numerals corresponding to the view number of the sectional view, and should have arrows to indicate the direction of sight. Hatching must be used to indicate section portions of an object, and must be made by regularly spaced oblique parallel lines spaced sufficiently apart to enable the lines to be distinguished without difficulty, and hatching of juxtaposed different elements must be angled in a different way. Refer to 37 C.F.R. 1.84(h)(3)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 and 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parks et al. (US 9,136,147) in view of Mauck et al. (US 9,387,709).
Parks discloses;
Claim 1. A transfer chamber (2200), disposed between a buffer unit (2100) providing a space where wafers stay before being transferred and process chambers (4000) each providing a space where a wafer processing process is performed, for transferring the wafers, the transfer chamber comprising: a main robot (2210) for transferring the wafers between the buffer unit and the process chambers, or between the process chambers; a guide rail (2220) connected to the main robot to move the main robot; and a frame (structure housing the main robot and guide rail) defining an inner space where the main robot and the guide rail of the transfer chamber operate (Col. 5-6 and Fig. 2).
Claim 14. A wafer processing module comprising: a buffer unit (2100); a transfer chamber (2200) coupled to the buffer unit; and process chambers (4000) coupled to the transfer chamber, wherein the buffer unit provides a space where wafers stay before being transferred from an outside of the transfer chamber into the transfer chamber or from the transfer chamber to the outside of the transfer chamber, wherein the transfer chamber is disposed between the buffer unit and the process chambers to transfer the wafers between the buffer unit and the process chambers, or between the process chambers, wherein in the process chambers, the wafers are processed, and wherein the transfer chamber comprises: a main robot (2210) for transferring the wafers between the buffer unit and the process chambers, or between the process chambers; a guide rail (2220) connected to the main robot to move the main robot; and a frame (structure housing the main robot and guide rail) defining an inner space where the main robot and the guide rail of the transfer chamber operate (Col. 5-6 and Fig. 2).
Claim 20. A wafer processing module comprising: a buffer unit (2100); a transfer chamber (2200); process chambers (4000), wherein the buffer unit provides a space where wafers stay before being transferred from an outside of the transfer chamber into the transfer chamber or from the transfer chamber to the outside of the transfer chamber, wherein the transfer chamber is disposed between the buffer unit and the process chambers to transfer the wafers between the buffer unit and the process chambers, or between the process chambers, wherein in the process chambers, the wafers are processed, and wherein the transfer chamber comprises: a main robot (2210) for transferring the wafers between the buffer unit and the process chambers, or between the process chambers; a guide rail (2220) connected to the main robot to move the main robot; a frame (structure housing the main robot and guide rail) defining an inner space where the main robot and the guide rail of the transfer chamber operate, a first connection opening serving as a passage for connecting the buffer unit to the transfer chamber (implicitly disclosed in that there must be an opening for the main robot to retrieve/deliver wafers from/to the buffer); and second connection openings (4110) serving as passages for connecting the process chambers to the transfer chamber, and shutters (4150) for opening or closing wafer paths (path through 4110) of the process chambers (Col. 5-6 and 9, and Fig. 2 and 10).
Claims 3 and 16. The transfer chamber of claims 1 and 14 respectively, a first connection opening serving as a passage for connecting the buffer unit to the transfer chamber (implicitly disclosed in that there must be an opening for the main robot to retrieve/deliver wafers from/to the buffer); and second connection openings (4110) serving as passages for connecting the process chambers to the transfer chamber (Col. 9 and Fig. 10).
Claims 4 and 17. The transfer chamber of respective claims 3 and 16, further comprising a door (4150) mounted to be vertically movable on a side surface (surface housing 4110) to open or close an opening (4110) (Col. 8 and Fig. 10-11).
Claim 6. The transfer chamber of claim 3, wherein the second connection openings are provided to face shutters (4150) for opening or closing wafer paths of the process chambers (Col. 8 and Fig. 10-11).
Claim 7. The transfer chamber of claim 1, wherein each closer of the plurality of closers comprises: a supporter (12) mounted along an edge of a corresponding opening (region bordered by 12) of the plurality of openings formed by the frame; and a cover (110) connected to the supporter (Col. 23 and Fig. 11A-11B).
Claim 8. The transfer chamber of claim 7, wherein a gasket (38) is interposed between the supporter and the cover (Col. 23 and Fig. 11A).
Claim 16. The wafer processing module of claim 14, second connection openings (4110) serving as passages for connecting the process chambers to the transfer chamber (Col. 9 and Fig. 10).
Claim 18. The wafer processing module of claim 16, wherein the second connection openings are provided to face shutters (4150) for opening or closing wafer paths (4110) of the process chambers.
Parks is silent to;
Claims 1 and 14. The frame provided with a plurality of openings connected to the inner space; and
a plurality of closers connected to the frame and covering the plurality of openings such that the plurality of closers close the plurality of openings of the frame.
Claim 20. The frame provided with a plurality of openings connected to the inner space; and a plurality of closers connected to the frame and covering the plurality of openings such that the plurality of closers close the plurality of openings of the frame, except for a first connection opening serving as a passage for connecting the buffer unit to the transfer chamber, and second connection openings serving as passages for connecting the process chambers to the transfer chamber; and a buffer door mounted to be vertically movable on a side surface connected to the buffer unit to open or close the first connection opening, wherein the second connection openings are provided to face, and wherein, in an emergency situation, the buffer door closes the first connection opening, the shutters close the second connection openings, and the closers close the plurality of openings, thereby preventing leakage of a gas to the outside of the transfer chamber.
Claim 2. The transfer chamber of claim 1, wherein the frame comprises: a plurality of first frame bodies extending in a first direction; a plurality of second frame bodies extending in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction; and a plurality of third frame bodies extending in a third direction perpendicular to a horizontal plane formed by the first and second directions, and wherein the plurality of first frame bodies, the plurality of second frame bodies, and the plurality of third frame bodies are connected with each other to form the plurality of openings.
Claims 4, 17, and 20. The door is a buffer door connected to the buffer unit to open or close the first connection opening.
Claim 5. The transfer chamber of claim 4, further comprising a gas sensor for sensing a gas leaking from an inside of the transfer chamber through the first connection opening.
Claim 8. The gasket is an O-ring.
Claim 9. The closers are bonded to the frame by interposing a molding adhesive therebetween.
Claim 10. The transfer chamber of claim 9, wherein a powder coat is further formed on bonded portions between the frame and the closers.
Claim 11. Airflow suppliers are mounted on the transfer chamber to form downward airflows in an inner space of the transfer chamber.
Claim 15. The frame comprises: a plurality of first frame bodies extending in a first direction; a plurality of second frame bodies extending in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction; and a plurality of third frame bodies extending in a third direction perpendicular to a horizontal plane formed by the first and second directions, and wherein the plurality of first frame bodies, the plurality of second frame bodies, and the plurality of third frame bodies are connected with each other to form the plurality of openings.
Claim 16. A first connection opening serving as a passage for connecting the buffer unit to the transfer chamber.
Claim 17. A buffer door mounted to be vertically movable on a side surface connected to the buffer unit to open or close the first connection opening.
Claim 19. The wafer processing module of claim 16, wherein airflow suppliers are mounted on the transfer chamber to form downward airflows in an inner space of the transfer chamber, and wherein exhaust pipes for expelling the downward airflows to an outside are provided under the transfer chamber.
However, Mauck discloses a gas enclosure assembly (2000) comprising a frame (comprised of 210, 220, 230, 240, and 250) and defining an inner space to provide ready access to the interior for maintenance with minimal downtime, and further teaches;
Claims 1 and 14. The frame is provided with a plurality of openings (regions with outer parameter defined by fame members); and a plurality of closers (210’, 220’, 230’, 240’, and 250’) connected to the frame and covering the plurality of openings such that the plurality of closers close the plurality of openings of the frame (Col. 13-14 and Fig. 3).
Claim 20. The frame is provided with a plurality of openings (regions with outer parameter defined by fame members) connected to the inner space; and a plurality of closers (210’, 220’, 230’, 240’, and 250’) connected to the frame and covering the plurality of openings such that the plurality of closers close the plurality of openings of the frame (Col. 13-14 and Fig. 3).
Claim 2. The frame comprises: a plurality of first frame bodies (frame bodies in the “X” direction) extending in a first direction (X); a plurality of second frame bodies (frame bodies in the “Y” direction) extending in a second direction (Y) perpendicular to the first direction; and a plurality of third frame bodies (frame bodies in the “Z” direction) extending in a third direction (Z) perpendicular to a horizontal plane formed by the first and second directions, and wherein the plurality of first frame bodies, the plurality of second frame bodies, and the plurality of third frame bodies are connected with each other to form the plurality of openings (Fig. 14A).
Claim 5. A gas sensor (Col. 51, Ln. 1-3) which is capable of sensing a gas leaking from an inside of the transfer chamber through the first connection opening.
Claim 6. The transfer chamber of claim 3, wherein the second connection openings are provided to face shutters (4150) for opening or closing wafer paths of the process chambers (Col. 14 and Fig. 10).
Claim 7. The transfer chamber of claim 1, wherein each closer of the plurality of closers comprises: a supporter (161) mounted along an edge of a corresponding opening of the plurality of openings formed by the frame; and a cover (150) connected to the supporter (Col. 18 and Fig. 7B).
Claim 8. The transfer chamber of claim 7, wherein an O-ring (169) is interposed between the supporter and the cover (Col. 18 and Fig. 7B).
Claim 9. Mauck teaches the use of adhesive for assembly to avoid creating leak paths through the frame members (Col. 6 Ln. 1-5).
Claim 11. The transfer chamber of claim 1, wherein airflow suppliers (2152 and 2154) are mounted on the transfer chamber to form downward airflows in an inner space of the transfer chamber (Col. 54 and Fig. 35).
Claim 15. The wafer processing module of claim 14, wherein the frame comprises: a plurality of first frame bodies extending in a first direction (frame bodies in the “X” direction); a plurality of second frame bodies extending in a second direction (frame bodies in the “Y” direction) perpendicular to the first direction; and a plurality of third frame bodies extending in a third direction (frame bodies in the “Z” direction) perpendicular to a horizontal plane formed by the first and second directions, and wherein the plurality of first frame bodies, the plurality of second frame bodies, and the plurality of third frame bodies are connected with each other to form the plurality of openings (Fig. 14A).
Therefore, in view of Mauck’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Park’s disclosure to include the cited teachings of Mauck with a reasonable expectation of success to provide ready access to the interior for maintenance with minimal downtime.
Claims 4, 17, and 20. Parks teaches vertically movable shutters (or doors) on a vertical surface of the process chambers.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Park’s disclosure to include a vertically moving buffer door on a side surface of the buffer chamber with a reasonable expectation of success to isolate the buffer chamber from the transfer chamber during times of no wafer transfer between the two chambers to minimize any particle transfer into the buffer chamber from the transport chamber.
Claims 12-13 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parks in view of Mauck, and further in view of Reuter et al. (US 11,189,511).
Parks discloses a gas inlet and outlets for the process chamber (Col. 10 and Fig. 9), but is silent to;
Claim 12. The transfer chamber of claim 11, wherein exhaust pipes for expelling the downward airflows to an outside of the transfer chamber are provided under the transfer chamber.
Claim 13. The transfer chamber of claim 12, wherein exhaust holes connected to the exhaust pipes are provided in a closer disposed on a bottom surface of the transfer chamber.
Claim 19. The wafer processing module of claim 16, wherein airflow suppliers are mounted on the transfer chamber to form downward airflows in an inner space of the transfer chamber, and wherein exhaust pipes for expelling the downward airflows to an outside are provided under the transfer chamber.
However, Reuter discloses a transfer chamber (114) having a main robot (117) (Col. 3-4 and Fig. 2), and further teaches; airflow suppliers (118A and 205A) mounted on the transfer chamber to form downward airflows in an inner space (114C) of the transfer chamber, and wherein exhaust pipes (128 and 214) having exhaust holes (illustrated in Fig. 2) provided in a closer (walls and floor inclosing 216) disposed on a bottom surface of the transfer chamber (illustrated in Fig. 2) for expelling the downward airflows to an outside (outside of 114C) are provided under the transfer chamber to provide recirculated gas that is free of certain gases (Col. 2, Ln. 28-33) (Col. 2 and 5-6 and Fig. 2).
Therefore, in view of Reuter’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Park’s disclosure to include the cited teachings of Mauck with a reasonable expectation of success to provide recirculated gas that is free of certain gases.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parks in view of Mauck, and further in view of Schauer (US 2004/0026580).
Claim 10. Neither Parks nor Mauck disclose a powder coat is further formed on bonded portions between the frame and the closers.
However, Schauer discloses a semiconductor device having adjustable legs (11), and further teaches the use of powder-coating parts to reduce “particle contamination of a semiconductor
fabrication facility therefore is reduced” (Par. 0093).
Therefore, in view of Schauer’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Park’s disclosure to include powder coating parts with a reasonable expectation of success to reduce particle contamination of a semiconductor fabrication facility.
Conclusion
/RONALD P JARRETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3652