DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The present application is being examined under the claims filed 02/27/2023.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/13/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/12/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 for containing an abstract idea without significantly more.
Regarding Claim 1:
Step 1 – Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter?
Yes, the claim is to a process.
Step 2A – Prong 1 – Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
Yes, the claim recites the abstract ideas of:
decoding, by the scanner device, a first barcode represented in the first image data — This limitation is directed to the abstract idea of a mental process (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion) which can be performed by the human mind, or by a human using pen and paper (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) III. C.). The limitation is directed to a mental process because a barcode can be decoded in the human mind or by a human using pen and paper as a tool.
determining a first item template associated with the first barcode, the first item template comprising first identifier data identifying the first item from among other items and first region- of-interest data specifying a first region-of-interest of the first item — This limitation is directed to the abstract idea of a mental process (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion) which can be performed by the human mind, or by a human using pen and paper (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) III. C.). The limitation is directed to a mental process because it amounts to performing a judgement of items belonging in a template which could be performed in the human mind or by a human using pen and paper.
determining, by a first machine learning model, that the second image data corresponds to the first identifier data identifying the first item — This limitation is directed to the abstract idea of a mental process (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion) which can be performed by the human mind, or by a human using pen and paper (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) III. C.). The limitation is directed to a mental process because it amounts to evaluating input data using a set of known rules.
and generating first data indicating that the first barcode is matched with the first item — This limitation is directed to the abstract idea of a mental process (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion) which can be performed by the human mind, or by a human using pen and paper (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) III. C.). The limitation is directed to a mental process because it amounts to performing a judgement of matched data to determine data field parameters.
Step 2A – Prong 2 – Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
No, the claim does not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The additional elements:
A method comprising: capturing, by a scanner device comprising an image sensor, first image data representing at least a portion of a first item — This limitation is directed to mere data gathering and outputting which has been recognized by the courts (as per Ultramercial, 772 F.3d at 715, 112 USPQ2d at 1754) as insignificant extra-solution activity (see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
generating second image data comprising the first region-of-interest of the first image data — This limitation is directed to mere instructions to apply a judicial exception. Using image generation to apply a judicial exception (see MPEP 2106.05(f)) is insufficient to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Even if the image generation is implemented on a generic computer (see MPEP 2106.05(f)(2), 2106.04(d)), the limitation does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2B – Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself?
No, the claim does not recite additional elements which amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. The additional elements as identified in step 2A prong 2:
A method comprising: capturing, by a scanner device comprising an image sensor, first image data representing at least a portion of a first item — This limitation is recited at a high level of generality and amounts to mere data gathering of electronically scanning or extracting data from a physical document, which is well-understood, routine, and conventional activity (see MPEP 2106.05(d) II.), which cannot amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
generating second image data comprising the first region-of-interest of the first image data — Mere instructions to apply a judicial exception (see MPEP 2106.05(f)) and using a generic computer as a tool (see MPEP 2106.05(f)(2), 2106.05(d)) cannot amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself.
Regarding Claim 2
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim is dependent on claim 1 which included an abstract idea (see rejection for claim 1). The claim recites the additional limitations:
Step 2A Prong 2:
wherein the first machine learning model comprises a convolutional neural network classifier or visual transformer classifier trained to classify a given item based on an image of a predefined region-of-interest of the given item — This limitation is directed to merely limiting a judicial exception to a particular field of use (see MPEP 2106.05(h)) as it merely limits the field of the machine learning model to a particular kind of model.
Thus, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.04(d) I.), failing step 2A prong 2.
Step 2B:
The additional elements as identified in step 2A prong 2:
wherein the first machine learning model comprises a convolutional neural network classifier or visual transformer classifier trained to classify a given item based on an image of a predefined region-of-interest of the given item — Merely limiting a judicial exception to a particular field of use (see MPEP 2106.05(h)) cannot amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Thus, the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception under step 2B.
Regarding Claim 3
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim is dependent on claim 1 which included an abstract idea (see rejection for claim 1). The claim recites the additional limitations:
Step 2A Prong 1:
further comprising: generating, by the first machine learning model, a first vector representing the second image data — This limitation is directed to the abstract idea of a mental process (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion) which can be performed by the human mind, or by a human using pen and paper (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) III. C.). The limitation is directed to a mental process because it amounts to evaluating data using known rules to come up with a list of numbers.
comparing the first vector to a plurality of item vectors stored in a data store — This limitation is directed to the abstract idea of a mental process (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion) which can be performed by the human mind, or by a human using pen and paper (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) III. C.). The limitation is directed to a mental process because it amounts to judging data against other data to make comparisons.
determining a second vector among the plurality of item vectors based at least in part on a first distance metric used to determine a distance between the first vector and the second vector
and determining that the second vector is associated with the first identifier data in the first item template, wherein the determination that the second image data corresponds to the first identifier data is made based at least in part on the second vector being associated with the first identifier data — This limitation is directed to the abstract idea of a mental process (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion) which can be performed by the human mind, or by a human using pen and paper (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) III. C.). The limitation is directed to a mental process because it amounts to judging data against other data to make comparisons.
Thus, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.04(d) I.), failing step 2A prong 2. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception under step 2B.
Regarding Claim 4
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim is dependent on claim 1 which included an abstract idea (see rejection for claim 1). The claim recites the additional limitations:
Step 2A Prong 1:
determining, using an object detector, a first bounding box around the first barcode in the first image data — This limitation is directed to the abstract idea of a mental process (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion) which can be performed by the human mind, or by a human using pen and paper (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) III. C.). The limitation is directed to a mental process because it amounts to evaluating an image to visually determine where a barcode is located in the image (e.g. by drawing a box around the barcode using pen and paper as a tool).
determining a first size of the first bounding box — This limitation is directed to the abstract idea of a mental process (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion) which can be performed by the human mind, or by a human using pen and paper (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) III. C.). The limitation is directed to a mental process because it amounts to judging the size of a bounding box (e.g. calculating an area of a rectangle).
determining a first orientation of the first bounding box — This limitation is directed to the abstract idea of a mental process (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion) which can be performed by the human mind, or by a human using pen and paper (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) III. C.). The limitation is directed to a mental process because it amounts to judging a rectangle’s orientation to come up with an orientation angle (e.g. looking at a rectangle to determine it is oriented at a 45 degree angle).
determining a second size of a second barcode associated with the first region-of-interest data of the first item template — This limitation is directed to the abstract idea of a mental process (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion) which can be performed by the human mind, or by a human using pen and paper (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) III. C.). The limitation is directed to a mental process because it amounts to judging the size of a bounding box (e.g. calculating an area of a rectangle).
and determining a ratio between the first size and the second size — This limitation is directed to the abstract idea of a mathematical process, and mathematical calculations in particular (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) I. C.). The claim describes the mathematical calculation of dividing two numbers in words.
Thus, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.04(d) I.), failing step 2A prong 2. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception under step 2B.
Regarding Claim 5
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim is dependent on claim 4 which included an abstract idea (see rejection for claim 4). The claim recites the additional limitations:
Step 2A Prong 1:
further comprising determining the first region-of-interest of the first image data based at least in part by: resizing a second bounding box corresponding to the first region-of-interest of the first item in the first item template using the ratio — This limitation is directed to the abstract idea of a mental process (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion) which can be performed by the human mind, or by a human using pen and paper (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) III. C.). The limitation is directed to a mental process because it amounts to evaluating a bounding box based on a calculated ratio to determine a new size.
and applying the re-sized second bounding box to the first image data — This limitation is directed to the abstract idea of a mental process (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion) which can be performed by the human mind, or by a human using pen and paper (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) III. C.). The limitation is directed to a mental process because it amounts to judging where a new bounding box should be placed on an image (e.g. drawing a new bounding box on a picture using pen/paper).
Thus, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.04(d) I.), failing step 2A prong 2. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception under step 2B.
Regarding Claim 6
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim is dependent on claim 1 which included an abstract idea (see rejection for claim 1). The claim recites the additional limitations:
Step 2A Prong 1:
decoding, by the scanner device, a second barcode represented in the third image data — This limitation is directed to the abstract idea of a mental process (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion) which can be performed by the human mind, or by a human using pen and paper (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) III. C.). The limitation is directed to a mental process because a barcode can be decoded in the human mind or by a human using pen and paper as a tool.
determining a second item template associated with the second barcode, the second item template comprising second identifier data identifying the second item from among other items and second region-of-interest data specifying a second region-of-interest of the second item that includes the second barcode and a second non-barcode portion of the second item — This limitation is directed to the abstract idea of a mental process (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion) which can be performed by the human mind, or by a human using pen and paper (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) III. C.). The limitation is directed to a mental process because it amounts to performing a judgement of items belonging in a template which could be performed in the human mind or by a human using pen and paper.
determining, by the first machine learning model, that the fourth image data is mismatched with respect to the second barcode — This limitation is directed to the abstract idea of a mental process (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion) which can be performed by the human mind, or by a human using pen and paper (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) III. C.). The limitation is directed to a mental process because it amounts to evaluating input data using a set of known rules.
and generating first output data indicating that the second barcode is mismatched with respect to the second item — This limitation is directed to the abstract idea of a mental process (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion) which can be performed by the human mind, or by a human using pen and paper (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) III. C.). The limitation is directed to a mental process because it amounts to performing a judgement of mismatched data to determine data field parameters.
Step 2A Prong 2:
capturing, by the scanner device, third image data representing at least a portion of a second item — This limitation is directed to mere data gathering and outputting which has been recognized by the courts (as per Ultramercial, 772 F.3d at 715, 112 USPQ2d at 1754) as insignificant extra-solution activity (see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
generating fourth image data comprising the second region-of-interest of the third image data — This limitation is directed to mere instructions to apply a judicial exception. Using image generation to apply a judicial exception (see MPEP 2106.05(f)) is insufficient to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Even if the image generation is implemented on a generic computer (see MPEP 2106.05(f)(2), 2106.04(d)), the limitation does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Thus, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.04(d) I.), failing step 2A prong 2.
Step 2B:
The additional elements as identified in step 2A prong 2:
capturing, by the scanner device, third image data representing at least a portion of a second item — This limitation is recited at a high level of generality and amounts to mere data gathering of electronically scanning or extracting data from a physical document, which is well-understood, routine, and conventional activity (see MPEP 2106.05(d) II.), which cannot amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
generating fourth image data comprising the second region-of-interest of the third image data — Mere instructions to apply a judicial exception (see MPEP 2106.05(f)) and using a generic computer as a tool (see MPEP 2106.05(f)(2), 2106.05(d)) cannot amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself.
Thus, the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception under step 2B.
Regarding Claim 7
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim is dependent on claim 1 which included an abstract idea (see rejection for claim 1). The claim recites the additional limitations:
Step 2A Prong 1:
generating second identifier data identifying the second item from among other items — This limitation is directed to the abstract idea of a mental process (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion) which can be performed by the human mind, or by a human using pen and paper (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) III. C.). The limitation is directed to a mental process because it amounts to an evaluation of data.
Step 2A Prong 2:
generating third image data representing a second region-of-interest of a second item, the second region-of-interest representing a second barcode of the second item and at least a second non-barcode portion of the second item — This limitation is directed to mere instructions to apply a judicial exception. Using generic image processing to apply a judicial exception (see MPEP 2106.05(f)) is insufficient to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Even if the generic image processing is implemented on a generic computer (see MPEP 2106.05(f)(2), 2106.04(d)), the limitation does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
generating a first training instance comprising the third image data and the second identifier data — This limitation is directed to mere instructions to apply a judicial exception. Using generic data structures to apply a judicial exception (see MPEP 2106.05(f)) is insufficient to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Even if the generic data structures are implemented on a generic computer (see MPEP 2106.05(f)(2), 2106.04(d)), the limitation does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
and training the first machine learning model to classify items using a training dataset comprising the first training instance — This limitation is directed to mere instructions to apply a judicial exception. Using generic machine learning training to apply a judicial exception (see MPEP 2106.05(f)) is insufficient to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Even if the generic machine learning training is implemented on a generic computer (see MPEP 2106.05(f)(2), 2106.04(d)), the limitation does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Thus, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.04(d) I.), failing step 2A prong 2.
Step 2B:
The additional elements as identified in step 2A prong 2:
generating third image data representing a second region-of-interest of a second item, the second region-of-interest representing a second barcode of the second item and at least a second non-barcode portion of the second item — Mere instructions to apply a judicial exception (see MPEP 2106.05(f)) and using a generic computer as a tool (see MPEP 2106.05(f)(2), 2106.05(d)) cannot amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself.
generating a first training instance comprising the third image data and the second identifier data — Mere instructions to apply a judicial exception (see MPEP 2106.05(f)) and using a generic computer as a tool (see MPEP 2106.05(f)(2), 2106.05(d)) cannot amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself.
and training the first machine learning model to classify items using a training dataset comprising the first training instance — Mere instructions to apply a judicial exception (see MPEP 2106.05(f)) and using a generic computer as a tool (see MPEP 2106.05(f)(2), 2106.05(d)) cannot amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself.
Thus, the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception under step 2B.
Regarding Claim 8
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim is dependent on claim 1 which included an abstract idea (see rejection for claim 1). The claim recites the additional limitations:
Step 2A Prong 2:
wherein the first region-of-interest of the first item includes the first barcode and a non-barcode portion of the first item — This limitation is directed to merely limiting a judicial exception to a particular field of use (see MPEP 2106.05(h)) as it merely limits the field of what the region of interest contains.
Thus, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.04(d) I.), failing step 2A prong 2.
Step 2B:
The additional elements as identified in step 2A prong 2:
wherein the first region-of-interest of the first item includes the first barcode and a non-barcode portion of the first item — Merely limiting a judicial exception to a particular field of use (see MPEP 2106.05(h)) cannot amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Thus, the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception under step 2B.
Regarding Claim 9
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim is dependent on claim 1 which included an abstract idea (see rejection for claim 1). The claim recites the additional limitations:
Step 2A Prong 2:
wherein the first item template represents at least one of a contextual or a geometric relationship between the first barcode and the first region-of-interest of the first item — This limitation is directed to merely limiting a judicial exception to a particular field of use (see MPEP 2106.05(h)) as it merely limits the field of the item template.
Thus, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.04(d) I.), failing step 2A prong 2.
Step 2B:
The additional elements as identified in step 2A prong 2:
wherein the first item template represents at least one of a contextual or a geometric relationship between the first barcode and the first region-of-interest of the first item —Merely limiting a judicial exception to a particular field of use (see MPEP 2106.05(h)) cannot amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Thus, the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception under step 2B.
Regarding Claim 10
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim is dependent on claim 1 which included an abstract idea (see rejection for claim 1). The claim recites the additional limitations:
Step 2A Prong 2:
wherein the first item template further comprises data representing a barcode type of the first barcode — This limitation is directed to merely limiting a judicial exception to a particular field of use (see MPEP 2106.05(h)) as it merely limits the field of the first item template.
Thus, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.04(d) I.), failing step 2A prong 2.
Step 2B:
The additional elements as identified in step 2A prong 2:
wherein the first item template further comprises data representing a barcode type of the first barcode — Merely limiting a judicial exception to a particular field of use (see MPEP 2106.05(h)) cannot amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Thus, the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception under step 2B.
Regarding Claim 11
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim is dependent on claim 1 which included an abstract idea (see rejection for claim 1). The claim recites the additional limitations:
Step 2A Prong 2:
wherein the first item template further comprises: a template image of the first region-of-interest of the first item; and at least one of coordinate data representing a location in the template image of the first barcode, orientation data representing an orientation in the template image of the first barcode, or size data representing a size of the first barcode in the template image —This limitation is directed to merely limiting a judicial exception to a particular field of use (see MPEP 2106.05(h)) as it merely limits the field of the first item template.
Thus, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.04(d) I.), failing step 2A prong 2.
Step 2B:
The additional elements as identified in step 2A prong 2:
wherein the first item template further comprises: a template image of the first region-of-interest of the first item; and at least one of coordinate data representing a location in the template image of the first barcode, orientation data representing an orientation in the template image of the first barcode, or size data representing a size of the first barcode in the template image —Merely limiting a judicial exception to a particular field of use (see MPEP 2106.05(h)) cannot amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Thus, the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception under step 2B.
Regarding Claim 12
Independent claim 12 is a computer system claim corresponding to method claim 1, which was directed to an abstract idea, therefore the same rejection and rationale applies. The only differences are that claim 12 does not include the scanner device and recites the following additional elements treated under step 2A prong 2 and step 2B:
Step 2A Prong 2:
A system comprising: an image sensor; at least one processor; and non-transitory computer-readable memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, are effective to — This limitation is directed to merely applying an abstract idea using a generic computer as a tool (see MPEP 2106.05(f)(2), 2106.04(d)).
Thus, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.04(d) I.), failing step 2A prong 2.
Step 2B:
A system comprising: an image sensor; at least one processor; and non-transitory computer-readable memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, are effective to — Using a generic computer as a tool (see MPEP 2106.05(f)(2), 2106.05(d)) cannot amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself.
Thus, the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception under step 2B.
Regarding Claim 13
Dependent claim 13 is a computer system claim corresponding to method claim 2, which was directed to an abstract idea, therefore the same rejection and rationale applies.
Regarding Claim 14
Dependent claim 14 is a computer system claim corresponding to method claim 3, which was directed to an abstract idea, therefore the same rejection and rationale applies.
Regarding Claim 15
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim is dependent on claim 12 which included an abstract idea (see rejection for claim 12). The claim recites the additional limitations:
Step 2A Prong 1:
the non-transitory computer-readable memory storing further instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, are further effective to: determine, using an object detector, a first bounding box around the first barcode in the first image data — This limitation is directed to the abstract idea of a mental process (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion) which can be performed by the human mind, or by a human using pen and paper (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) III. C.). The limitation is directed to a mental process because it amounts to evaluating an image to visually determine where a barcode is located in the image (e.g. by drawing a box around the barcode using pen and paper as a tool).
determine a first orientation of the first bounding box — This limitation is directed to the abstract idea of a mental process (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion) which can be performed by the human mind, or by a human using pen and paper (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) III. C.). The limitation is directed to a mental process because it amounts to judging a rectangle’s orientation to come up with an orientation angle (e.g. looking at a rectangle to determine it is oriented at a 45 degree angle).
determine a second orientation of the barcode associated with the first region-of-interest data of the first item template — This limitation is directed to the abstract idea of a mental process (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion) which can be performed by the human mind, or by a human using pen and paper (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) III. C.). The limitation is directed to a mental process because it amounts to judging a rectangle’s orientation to come up with an orientation angle (e.g. looking at a rectangle to determine it is oriented at a 45 degree angle).
and determine an amount of rotation between the first orientation and the second orientation — This limitation is directed to the abstract idea of a mental process (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion) which can be performed by the human mind, or by a human using pen and paper (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) III. C.). The limitation is directed to a mental process because it amounts to judging a first and second value by making comparisons.
Thus, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.04(d) I.), failing step 2A prong 2. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception under step 2B.
Regarding Claim 16
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim is dependent on claim 15 which included an abstract idea (see rejection for claim 15). The claim recites the additional limitations:
Step 2A Prong 1:
the non-transitory computer-readable memory storing further instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, are further effective to: re-orient a second bounding box corresponding to the first region-of-interest of the first item in the first item template based on the amount of rotation — This limitation is directed to the abstract idea of a mental process (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion) which can be performed by the human mind, or by a human using pen and paper (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) III. C.). The limitation is directed to a mental process because it amounts to evaluating a bounding box to determine a new orientation based on an amount of rotation.
and apply the re-oriented second bounding box to the first image data — This limitation is directed to the abstract idea of a mental process (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion) which can be performed by the human mind, or by a human using pen and paper (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) III. C.). The limitation is directed to a mental process because it amounts to judging where a new bounding box should be placed on an image (e.g. drawing a new bounding box on a picture using pen/paper).
Thus, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.04(d) I.), failing step 2A prong 2. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception under step 2B.
Regarding Claim 17
Dependent claim 17 is a computer system claim corresponding to method claim 6, which was directed to an abstract idea, therefore the same rejection and rationale applies.
Regarding Claim 18
Dependent claim 18 is a computer system claim corresponding to method claim 7, which was directed to an abstract idea, therefore the same rejection and rationale applies.
Regarding Claim 19
Independent claim 19 is a method claim corresponding to method claim 1, which was directed to an abstract idea, therefore the same rejection and rationale applies. The only difference is that claim 19 recites receiving first image data instead of capturing, by a scanner device comprising an image sensor. The same rejection and rationale apply.
Regarding Claim 20
Dependent claim 20 is a method claim corresponding to method claim 3, which was directed to an abstract idea, therefore the same rejection and rationale applies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-6, 8-10, 12, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Deshmukh et al. (PGPUB no. US20210217129A1) herein referred to as Deshmukh.
Regarding Claim 1
Deshmukh teaches:
A method comprising: capturing, by a scanner device comprising an image sensor, first image data representing at least a portion of a first item;
(paragraph [0057]) “During the scanning operation, the POS scanning application software obtains the output of the scanner, which is comprised of the recognized codes, e.g., GTIN, price change code, or like code.”; (paragraph [0059]) “During check out at the POS terminal, the scanner executes recognition operations on image frames captured while a product package or packages move through its field of view.”
decoding, by the scanner device, a first barcode represented in the first image data;
(paragraph [0058]) “It receives each code from the scanner, in response to the scanner decoding UPC and Digimarc Barcode data carrier during check-out. A processor in the scanner executes firmware instructions loaded from memory to perform these decoding operations.”
determining a first item template associated with the first barcode, the first item template comprising first identifier data identifying the first item from among other items and first region- of-interest data specifying a first region-of-interest of the first item;
(paragraph [0201]) “The scanner may also include a recognition unit that implements an image recognition method for identifying a product in a store's inventory as well as product labels, such as price change labels. In such a system, reference image feature sets of each product are stored in a database[*Examiner notes: first template] of the scanner's memory and linked to an item identifier for a product and/or particular label (e.g., price change label). The recognition unit extracts corresponding features from an image frame and matches them against the reference feature sets to detect a likely match. If the match criteria are satisfied, the recognition unit returns an item identifier[*Examiner notes: identifier data] to the controller. The recognition unit may also return spatial information, such as position, bounding box[*Examiner notes: region of interest data], shape or other geometric parameters for a recognized item to enable the controller to detect whether a code from another recognition unit is from the same object”; Figure 15
generating second image data comprising the first region-of-interest of the first image data;
(paragraph [0099]) "FIG. 6 is diagram illustrating a software modules 160, 162 that operate on a sequence of image frames 164 to detect and extract digital payloads from images of objects within the frames."; (paragraph [0201]) “The recognition unit may also return spatial information, such as position, bounding box, shape or other geometric parameters for a recognized item to enable the controller to detect whether a code from another recognition unit is from the same object.”
determining, by a first machine learning model, that the second image data corresponds to the first identifier data identifying the first item;
(paragraph [0201]) “The scanner may also include a recognition unit that implements an image recognition method for identifying a product in a store's inventory as well as product labels, such as price change labels. In such a system, reference image feature sets of each product are stored in a database of the scanner's memory and linked to an item identifier for a product and/or particular label (e.g., price change label). The recognition unit extracts corresponding features from an image frame and matches them against the reference feature sets to detect a likely match […] The recognition unit may also return spatial information, such as position, bounding box, shape or other geometric parameters for a recognized item to enable the controller to detect whether a code from another recognition unit is from the same object.”
and generating first data indicating that the first barcode is matched with the first item.
(paragraph [0201]) “The recognition unit extracts corresponding features from an image frame and matches them against the reference feature sets to detect a likely match. If the match criteria are satisfied, the recognition unit returns an item identifier to the controller[*Examiner notes: first data indicating match].”
Regarding Claim 4
Deshmukh teaches:
The method of claim 1
(see rejection of claim 1)
further comprising: determining, using an object detector, a first bounding box around the first barcode in the first image data;
(paragraph [0057]) “During the scanning operation, the POS scanning application software obtains the output of the scanner, which is comprised of the recognized codes, e.g., GTIN, price change code, or like code.”
determining a first size of the first bounding box
(paragraph [0258]) "A portion of image data 500 is extracted or obtained 561 that corresponds to the area bounded by the minimum bounding box. For example, the corresponding pixels that are within the area (e.g., the corresponding spatial locations) identified by the minimum bounding box are obtained for further evaluation."
determining a first orientation of the first bounding box; determining a second size of a second barcode associated with the first region-of-interest data of the first item template;
(para [0248]) "For example, the bounding box (and its image contents) can be rotated such that one of its edges is horizontal to an image plane. And the image data within the candidate contour can be resized, e.g., according to the sizing of previously stored templates."
and determining a ratio between the first size and the second size
[*Examiner notes: The broadest reasonable interpretation of a ratio is any comparison between numbers, including the ranking comparisons taught by Deshmukh]; (paragraph [0257]) "For example, if a target icon has an aspect ratio near 1, candidate contours can be ranked according to their determined aspect ratios, with the closest aspect ratio to 1 being evaluated first, and the second closest being evaluated next, and then so on. In another example, the candidate contours are ranked according to their minimum bounding box area (or an area calculated for the closed contour), with the largest area first, and the smallest area last."; see also para [0248] and [0258]).
Regarding Claim 5
Deshmukh teaches:
The method of claim 4
(see rejection of claim 4)
further comprising determining the first region-of-interest of the first image data based at least in part by: resizing a second bounding box corresponding to the first region-of-interest of the first item in the first item template using the ratio; and applying the re-sized second bounding box to the first image data.
[*Examiner notes: The block is resized from its original size to the template size and applied to the extracted image data. This involves the ratio between the original size and the template size. ](paragraph [0258]) “This orientation process helps the icon matching be more rotation invariant relative to an un-rotated block. The block can then be resized 563 to match or approximate the size of the template(s).”
Regarding Claim 6
Deshmukh teaches:
The method of claim 1
(see rejection claim 1)
further comprising: capturing, by the scanner device, third image data representing at least a portion of a second item
(paragraph [0068]) "Fixed scanners are designed to be integrated within a check-out station, at which the operator or a conveyor moves items in the field of the scanner's image capture system."; (see also paragraph [0057) and [0059])
decoding, by the scanner device, a second barcode represented in the third image data
(paragraph [0058]) “It receives each code from the scanner, in response to the scanner decoding UPC and Digimarc Barcode data carrier during check-out. A processor in the scanner executes firmware instructions loaded from memory to perform these decoding operations.”
determining a second item template associated with the second barcode, the second item template comprising second identifier data identifying the second item from among other items and second region-of-interest data specifying a second region-of-interest of the second item that includes the second barcode and a second non-barcode portion of the second item
(paragraph [0201]) “The scanner may also include a recognition unit that implements an image recognition method for identifying a product in a store's inventory as well as product labels, such as price change labels. In such a system, reference image feature sets of each product are stored in a database of the scanner's memory and linked to an item identifier for a product and/or particular label (e.g., price change label). The recognition unit extracts corresponding features from an image frame and matches them against the reference feature sets to detect a likely match. If the match criteria are satisfied, the recognition unit returns an item identifier to the controller. The recognition unit may also return spatial information, such as position, bounding box, shape or other geometric parameters for a recognized item to enable the controller to detect whether a code from another recognition unit is from the same object”; () “Consider FIG. 15, where an object (e.g., representing one face of a retail package) includes artwork, text, and various machine-readable symbologies. In the illustrated example, the artwork includes castles, sundial, shields, knight/horse, scenery, etc. The text includes “VALIANT”, “For the courage to get deep down clean”, “ICON Label”, etc. And a 1D barcode and a 2D barcode.”; Figure 15
generating fourth image data comprising the second region-of-interest of the third image data
(paragraph [0099]) "FIG. 6 is diagram illustrating a software modules 160, 162 that operate on a sequence of image frames 164 to detect and extract digital payloads from images of objects within the frames."; (paragraph [0201]) “The recognition unit may also return spatial information, such as position, bounding box, shape or other geometric parameters for a recognized item to enable the controller to detect whether a code from another recognition unit is from the same object.”
determining, by the first machine learning model, that the fourth image data is mismatched with respect to the second barcode
(para [0265]) - "If the number of remaining objects is equal to (or greater than) m, flow moves on to template correlation 566 and comparison with threshold 567 as discussed above with reference to FIG. 20C. If not, it is determined that the candidate does not match the target icon."; (see also paragraph [0072] and [0201]);
and generating first output data indicating that the second barcode is mismatched with respect to the second item
(paragraph [0215]) "To avoid false positives, a "no match" output is produced if the distance score for the best match is close- e.g., 25 %-to the distance score for the next-best match.”
Regarding Claim 8
Deshmukh teaches:
The method of claim 1
(see rejection of claim 1)
wherein the first region-of-interest of the first item includes the first barcode and a non-barcode portion of the first item.
(paragraph [0201]) “The scanner may also include a recognition unit that implements an image recognition method for identifying a product in a store's inventory as well as product labels, such as price change labels. In such a system, reference image feature sets of each product are stored in a database of the scanner's memory and linked to an item identifier for a product and/or particular label (e.g., price change label). The recognition unit extracts corresponding features from an image frame and matches them against the reference feature sets to detect a likely match. If the match criteria are satisfied, the recognition unit returns an item identifier to the controller. The recognition unit may also return spatial information, such as position, bounding box, shape or other geometric parameters for a recognized item to enable the controller to detect whether a code from another recognition unit is from the same object”; () “Consider FIG. 15, where an object (e.g., representing one face of a retail package) includes artwork, text, and various machine-readable symbologies. In the illustrated example, the artwork includes castles, sundial, shields, knight/horse, scenery, etc. The text includes “VALIANT”, “For the courage to get deep down clean”, “ICON Label”, etc. And a 1D barcode and a 2D barcode.”; Figure 15
Regarding Claim 9
Deshmukh teaches:
The method of claim 1
(see rejection of claim 1)
wherein the first item template represents at least one of a contextual or a geometric relationship between the first barcode and the first region-of-interest of the first item.
(paragraph [0096]) "Attributes of the item include color (e.g., color histogram) or geometry, such as position, shape, bounding region or other geometric attributes). The attributes may be further submitted to a classifier to classify an item type."; (paragraph [0201) "The recognition unit may also return spatial information, such as position, bounding box, shape or other geometric parameters for a recognized item to enable the controller to detect whether a code from another recognition unit is from the same object."
Regarding Claim 10
Deshmukh teaches:
The method of claim 1
(see rejection of claim 1)
wherein