DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 34 is objected to because of the following informalities: the phrase “the bellows to actuated the bellows” grammatically incorrect. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 36 is objected to because of the following informalities: the phrase “a spring” in Line 3 should read “the spring” since the spring was amended into Line 2. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, 7, 17, 22-25, 28, 32 and 34-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haugs US 5568957 (hereinafter Haugs) in view of Corson US 10013062 (hereinafter Corson).
Re. Cl. 1, Haugs discloses: A finger for a robotic gripper (Fig. 6-10), the finger comprising: a flexible actuation bellows (21b”’, Fig. 6) having a proximal end, a distal end disposed opposite the proximal end (see Fig. 6, top and bottom ends), a first side (right side of 26’’’ Fig. 6), and a second side (left side of 26’’’ Fig. 6) disposed opposite the first side (see Fig. 6); a flexible backbone (28, Fig. 6) coupled to the flexible actuation bellows and disposed along the first side of the flexible actuation bellows (see Fig. 6); a rigid constraint frame (27, Fig. 6-10; the frame 27 is rigid as discussed in Col. 9, Lines 52-54) coupled to the flexible actuation bellows and disposed along the second side of the flexible actuation bellows (see Fig. 6-10).
Re. Cl. 3, Haugs discloses: the flexible actuation bellows comprises: an actuator base defining the first side of the flexible actuation bellows (see annotated figure 6); and a plurality of actuator segments each extending from the base to the second side of the flexible actuation bellows (see annotated figure 6).
Re. Cl. 4, Haugs discloses: the actuator segments are arranged in series along the base in a direction from the proximal end to the distal end of the flexible actuation bellows (see annotated figure 6).
Re. Cl. 5, Haugs discloses: the flexible actuation bellows further comprises a plurality of internal pockets defined therein (see Fig. 6), and wherein one of the internal pockets is defined within each of the actuator segments (see annotated figure 6, internal areas of the segments).
Re. Cl. 7, Haugs discloses: the flexible actuation bellows further comprises a plurality of channels defined therein (see Fig. 6, portions of 21b””’ between the pockets of the segments), and wherein one or more of the channels extends between the internal pockets of each adjacent pair of actuator segments (see Fig. 6).
Re. Cl. 22, Haugs discloses: a first air tube coupled to an air inlet of the flexible actuation bellows and in fluid communication with a plurality of internal pockets of the flexible actuation bellows (see Fig. 1, 24), wherein the first air tube is configured to deliver air to and withdraw air from the plurality of internal pockets to actuate the flexible actuation bellows (see Fig. 1).
Re. Cl. 24, Haugs discloses: a pressurized air source in fluid communication with the first air tube (10, Fig. 1).
Re. Cl. 25, Haugs discloses: the flexible actuation bellows is configured to be actuated between a first curved configuration (Fig. 9) and a second straight configuration (Col. 10, Lines 10-14).
Re. Cl. 28, Haugs discloses: an actuation spring (31, Fig. 9-11) coupled to the flexible actuation bellows and configured to bias the flexible actuation bellows toward the first a curved configuration (see Fig. 9).
Re. Cl. 31, Haugs discloses: the flexible actuator is configured to be actuated from the first a curved configuration (Fig. 9) toward the second a straight configuration when a positive pressure is generated within the flexible actuator (Col. 9, Lines 28-35 in the pumping effect, positive pressure would bias towards a straight configuration).
Re. Cl. 34, Haugs discloses: A robotic gripper (Fig. 9-10) comprising: a bellows (21b””’, Fig. 9); a spring (31, Fig. 10-11) coupled to the bellows and biasing the bellows toward a curved configuration (see Fig. 9); an air inlet coupled to the bellows (24, Fig. 1) and configured to provide positive bellows pressure to the bellows to actuated the bellows toward a straight configuration against the bias of the spring (see Fig. 1 and Col. 10, Lines 10-14).
Re. Cl. 35, Haugs discloses: the robotic gripper is arranged in a soft curved configuration when the air inlet is not pressurized (see Fig. 9), wherein the robotic gripper is arranged in a stiff curved configuration when the air inlet is not pressurized (see Fig. 9), wherein the robotic gripper is arranged in a soft straight configuration when the air inlet provides the positive bellows pressure to the bellows (Col. 10, Lines 10-14).
Re. Cl. 36, Haugs discloses: A method of operating a robotic gripper (see Fig. 9-10), the method comprising: extending a spring (31, Fig. 9) to bias the robotic gripper toward a curved configuration with a spring (see Fig. 9-10, Col. 10, Lines 10-14); retracting the spring to remove the bias (by inflating 30 as discussed in Col. 10, Lines 10-14); providing positive bellows pressure to a bellows (30, Fig. 10) to actuate the robotic gripper toward a straight configuration against the bias of the spring (Col. 10, Lines 10-14).
Re. Cls. 1, 17, 23-24, and 34-36 Haugs does not disclose a plurality of jamming layers coupled to the flexible actuation bellows and disposed at least partially within the rigid constraint frame; and a jamming bag disposed at least partially within the rigid constraint frame, the jamming bag configured to apply a compressive force to the jamming layers when a positive pressure is generated within the jamming bag; wherein the plurality of jamming layers are separate from the jamming bag and positioned at least partially within the rigid constraint frame, and wherein the plurality of jamming layers are positioned between the jamming bag and the second side of the flexible actuation bellows (Cl. 1), the jamming layers are disposed between the jamming bag and the actuator (Cl. 17), a second air tube coupled to the air inlet of the jamming bag and in fluid communication with an internal space of the jamming bag, wherein the second air tube is configured to deliver air to and withdraw air from the internal space to expand and contract the jamming bag (Cl. 23), a jamming bag coupled to and fluidly isolated from the bellows, and configured to provide a first stiffness of the robotic gripper at a first pressure and a second stiffness of the robotic gripper at a second pressure, wherein the jamming bag is positioned between the spring and the bellows (Cl. 34), and the first pressure is provided to the jamming bag, and the second pressure is provided to the jamming bag (Cl. 35) or and provide positive jamming pressure to a jamming bag to stiffen the robotic gripper (Cl. 36). Corson discloses a finger gripping device (Fig. 1) which includes a rigid constraint frame (140 with 110B, Fig. 1) which includes a jamming structure (see 110B, Fig. 1). Re. Cl. 1, Corson discloses a plurality of jamming layers (120a, 120b Fig. 2) coupled to the flexible actuation device (Finger 150, Fig. 2) and disposed at least partially within the rigid constraint frame (see Fig. 1); and a jamming bag (210, Fig. 2) disposed at least partially within the rigid constraint frame (see Fig. 1), the jamming bag configured to apply a compressive force to the jamming layers when a positive pressure is generated within the jamming bag (see Fig. 2); wherein the plurality of jamming layers are separate from the jamming bag (see Fig. 2) and positioned at least partially within the rigid constraint frame (see Fig. 1), and wherein the plurality of jamming layers are positioned between the jamming bag and the second side of the flexible actuation device (see Fig. 1). Re. Cl. 17, Corson discloses the jamming layers are disposed between the jamming bag and the flexible actuation bellows (see Fig. 1, the layers 120a, 120b is between the lower bag 210 and the actuator or finger 150). Re. Cl. 23, Corson discloses a second air tube coupled to the air inlet of the jamming bag and in fluid communication with an internal space of the jamming bag (Col. 4, Lines 28-34), wherein the second air tube is configured to deliver air to and withdraw air from the internal space to expand and contract the jamming bag (see Fig. 2 and Col. 4, Lines 28-34). Re. Cl. 34, Corson discloses a jamming bag (210, Fig. 2) coupled to and fluidly isolated from the bellows (see Fig. 1-2, fluidly isolated from the actuator or finger 150 as discussed in Col. 4, Lines 28-34), and configured to provide a first stiffness of the robotic gripper at a first pressure and a second stiffness of the robotic gripper at a second pressure (see Fig. 2, being locked vs. not being locked), wherein the jamming bag is positioned between the spring and the bellows (see Fig. 1, the jamming bag is located in the glove 140, which would position the bag as claimed). Re. Cl. 35, Corson discloses the first pressure is provided to the jamming bag, and the second pressure is provided to the jamming bag (see Fig. 2, being locked vs not being locked). Re. Cl. 36, Corson discloses provide positive jamming pressure to a jamming bag to stiffen the robotic gripper (see Fig. 2, by pressurizing bags 210).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Haugs device to include the jamming structure of Corson with reasonable expectation of success since Corson states that such a modification provides a jammed position which restricts movement of the finger providing a haptic movement restriction effect (Col. 6, Lines 45-50). Such a modification would keep the gripper in an open position which would make initially grabbing the object easier.
Re. Cl. 32, the combination of Haugs in view of Corson does not explicitly disclose the flexible actuator and the jamming bag are formed of at least one of a thermoplastic elastomer and a thermoplastic polyurethane, and wherein the flexible backbone and the rigid constraint frame are formed of at least one of a thermoplastic polyester and a polyethylene terephthalate glycol. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the combined Haugs in view of Corson device to be made out of the material claimed, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. Please note that in the instant application, Applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11, 14 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 34 and 36 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Arrichiello US 6484601, Biagtan US 6146339, and Lessing US 2017/0036355 disclose other known grippers presented to the applicant for their consideration.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER GARFT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3632