DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-6, 15-16 and 20-21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 15-16 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada (US 2020/0,136,659) in view of Kim et al (US 2019/0,089,396; hereinafter Kim).
Regarding claim 1, Yamada disclose a communication circuit (Figs. 9A, 9B, 11A, 11B) comprising:
a first radio frequency (RF) chain (13A, 4A) configured to output and/or receive a signal of a first frequency band (Band A) through an antenna port (antenna port connected to antenna 2) (paras. [0102], [0105]);
a second RF chain (13B, 4B) configured to output and/or receive a signal of a second frequency band (Band B) through the antenna port (antenna port connected to antenna 2) (paras. [0102], [0105]); and
a switch (12) comprising a first terminal (12c) electrically connected (via 12s1) to the first RF chain (13A, 4A), a second terminal (12s2) electrically connected to the second RF chain (13B, 4B), and a third terminal (12s3) electrically connected (via capacitor 31) to a ground (ground) (Fig. 11A, 11B), wherein the switch is configured to operate in a first operation mode (CA mode) or a second operation mode (non-CA mode in second connection state), wherein in the first operation mode (CA mode), the first terminal (12c) is electrically connected to the second terminal (12s2) (fig. 11B; paras. [0176]-[0178], [0170]-[0171], [0106]; note: ¶ [0106] is cited to make up for the omitted description of the same or similar points of switch module 1F, 1G in Figs. 9B, 11B as those of the switch module 1B according to example 2 of Fig. 4B]), and
wherein in the second operation mode (non-CA mode in the first connection state of the switch module 12), the first terminal (12c) is electrically connected to the third terminal (12s3) (fig. 11A; paras. [0176]-[0178], [0170]-[0171], [0105]; note: ¶ [0105] is cited to make up for the omitted description of the same or similar points of switch module 1F, 1G in Figs. 9A, 11A as those of the switch module 1B according to example 2 of Fig. 4A). Yamada do not disclose a matching circuit connected between the first RF chain and the first terminal, and wherein the first matching circuit is configured so as to prevent a signal to be transmitted or received through the second RF chain from being transferred to the first terminal. In the same field of endeavor, Kim disclose a matching circuit (225c) connected between the first RF chain (TX2 path) and the first terminal (first terminal of switch 223a), and wherein the first matching circuit (225c) is configured so as to prevent a signal (TX1) to be transmitted or received through the second RF chain (TX1 path) from being transferred to the first terminal (first terminal of switch 223a) (Figs. 10A-10C; paras. [0095]-[0098]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to do so in order to avoid interference of the first transmit signal TX1 of the second RF chain in the second transmission mode with the second transmit signal TX2 of the first RF chain in the first transmission mode.
Regarding claim 2, Yamada and Kim disclose the communication circuit of claim 1, wherein the first operation mode (CA mode or second connection state; Yamada, Fig. 11B) is an operation mode where the signal of the first frequency band and the signal of the second frequency band can be simultaneously transmitted or received (Yamada; paras. [0106], [0102]; the connection of the terminal (12c) to at least both of terminal (12s1) and (12s2) at the same time means simultaneous reception in band A and band B).
Regarding claim 3, Yamada and Kim disclose the communication circuit of claim 1, wherein the second operation mode (non-CA mode or first connection state; Yamada, Fig. 11A) is an operation mode where the signal of the first frequency band (band A) can be transmitted or received and the signal of the second frequency band (Band B) cannot be transmitted or received (12s2 is not connected to first terminal 12c, thus band B cannot be transmitted or received; Yamada, paras. [0105], [0170]-[0171], [0177]; Fig. 9A, 11A).
Regarding claim 4, Yamada and Kim disclose the communication circuit of claim 1, further comprising a third matching circuit (MN 30; Yamada, Figs. 9A, 11A) electrically connected between the third terminal (12s3) and the ground (ground) (paras. [0178], [0171], [0173]), the third matching circuit (30) being configured so as to prevent a signal to be transmitted or received through the first RF chain (13A, 4A) from being transferred to the second terminal (12s2) or the third terminal (12s3) in the first operation mode (Yamada; Fig. 9A, 11A; paras. [0173], [0178], [0171]).
Regarding claim 5, Yamada and Kim disclose the communication circuit of claim 1, further comprising a first filter (13A) configured to block a signal of the second frequency band (band B), the first filter (13A) being electrically connected between the first RF chain (4A) and the antenna port (port connected to antenna 2) (e.g. filter 13A only pass signals in the first frequency band between 2110MHz and 2170MHz and block or filter out second frequency band signals between 1805MHz and 1880 MHz; Yamada, Fig. 11A, paras. [0099]-[0100]).
Regarding claim 6, Yamada and Kim disclose the communication circuit of claim 1, further comprising a second filter (13B) configured to block a signal of the first frequency band (band A), the second filter being electrically connected between the second RF chain (4B) and the switch (12) (e.g. filter 13B only pass second frequency band signals between 1805MHz and 1880 MHz and block or eliminate signals of the first frequency band between 2110MHz and 2170MHz; Yamada, Fig. 11A, paras. [0099]-[0100]).
Regarding claim 15, Yamada disclose an electronic device (Figs. 8, 9, 11) comprising:
a communication processor (signal processing circuit 3, switch controller) (paras. [0024], [0061], [0083]);
a transceiver (23At, 23Ar, 23Bt, 23Br, 24Zt, 24Zr) (¶ [0028]); and
a communication circuit (4A, 4B, 4Y, 13A, 13B, 14Y) wherein the communication circuit comprises:
a first radio frequency (RF) chain (13A, 4A) configured to output and/or receive a signal of a first frequency band (Band A) through an antenna port (antenna port connected to antenna 2) (paras. [0102], [0105]);
a second RF chain (13B, 4B) configured to output and/or receive a signal of a second frequency band (Band B) through the antenna port (antenna port connected to antenna 2) (paras. [0102], [0105]); and
a switch (12) comprising a first terminal (12c) electrically connected (via 12s1) to the first RF chain (13A, 4A), a second terminal (12s2) electrically connected to the second RF chain (13B, 4B), and a third terminal (12s3) electrically connected (via capacitor 31) to a ground (ground) (Fig. 11A, 11B),
wherein the communication processor (switch controller; ¶ [0028]) is configured to: control the switch to connect the first terminal (12c) to the second terminal (12s2) in a first operation mode (CA mode) where the signal of the first frequency band (Band A) and the signal of the second frequency band (Band B) can be simultaneously transmitted or received (fig. 11B; paras. [0176]-[0178], [0170]-[0171], [0106]; note: paragraph [0106] is cited to make up for the omitted description of the same or similar points of switch module 1F, 1G in Figs. 9B, 11B as those of the switch module 1B according to example 2 of Fig. 4B]), and control the switch to electrically connect the first terminal (12c) to the third terminal (12s3) in a second operation mode (non-CA mode in the first connection state of the switch module 12) where the signal of the first frequency band (Band A) can be transmitted or received and the signal of the second frequency band (Band B) cannot be transmitted or received (Fig. 11A; paras. [0176]-[0178], [0170]-[0171], [0105]; note: paragraph [0105] is cited to make up for the omitted description of the same or similar points of switch module 1F, 1G in Figs. 9A, 11A as those of the switch module 1B according to example 2 of Fig. 4A). Yamada do not disclose a matching circuit connected between the first RF chain and the first terminal, and wherein the first matching circuit is configured so as to prevent a signal to be transmitted or received through the second RF chain from being transferred to the first terminal. In the same field of endeavor, Kim disclose a matching circuit (225c) connected between the first RF chain (TX2 path) and the first terminal (first terminal of switch 223a), and wherein the first matching circuit (225c) is configured so as to prevent a signal (TX1) to be transmitted or received through the second RF chain (TX1 path) from being transferred to the first terminal (first terminal of switch 223a) (Figs. 10A-10C; paras. [0095]-[0098]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to do so in order to avoid interference of the first transmit signal TX1 of the second RF chain in the second transmission mode with the second transmit signal TX2 of the first RF chain in the first transmission mode.
Regarding claim 16 and 20, Yamada and Kim disclose the communication circuit and electronic device of claim 1 and 15 respectively, wherein in the first operation mode (e.g. CA mode; Yamada, Fig. 11B) the first terminal (12c) is not electrically connected to the third terminal (12s3), and wherein in the second operation mode (e.g. non-CA mode; Yamada, Fig. 11A), the first terminal (12c) is not electrically connected to the second terminal (12s2).
Regarding claim 21, Yamada disclose a communication circuit (Figs. 9A, 9B, 11A, 11B) comprising:
a first radio frequency (RF) chain (13A, 4A) configured to output and/or receive a signal of a first frequency band (Band A) through an antenna port (antenna port connected to antenna 2) (paras. [0102], [0105]);
a second RF chain (13B, 4B) configured to output and/or receive a signal of a second frequency band (Band B) through the antenna port (antenna port connected to antenna 2) (paras. [0102], [0105]); and
a switch (12) comprising a first terminal (12c) electrically connected (via 12s1) to the first RF chain (13A, 4A), a second terminal (12s2) electrically connected to the second RF chain (13B, 4B), and a third terminal (12s3) electrically connected (via capacitor 31) to a ground (ground) (Fig. 11A, 11B), wherein the switch is configured to:
while the switch is in a first operation mode (CA mode or second connection state; Fig. 11B), connect between the first terminal (12c) and the second terminal (12s2) (fig. 11B; paras. [0176]-[0178], [0170]-[0171], [0106]; note: ¶ [0106] is cited to make up for the omitted description of the same or similar points of switch module 1F, 1G in Figs. 9B, 11B as those of the switch module 1B according to example 2 of Fig. 4B])I, wherein the first operation mode is an operation mode where the signal of the first frequency band and the signal of the second frequency band can be simultaneously transmitted or received (paras. [0106], [0102]; the connection of the terminal (12c) to at least both of terminal (12s1) and (12s2) at the same time means simultaneous reception in band A and band B), and
while the switch operates in the second operation mode (non-CA mode or first connection state of the switch module 12; Fig. 11A),, connect between the first terminal (12c) and the third terminal (12s3) (fig. 11A; paras. [0176]-[0178], [0170]-[0171], [0105]; note: ¶ [0105] is cited to make up for the omitted description of the same or similar points of switch module 1F, 1G in Figs. 9A, 11A as those of the switch module 1B according to example 2 of Fig. 4A); wherein the second operation mode is an operation mode in which the signal of the first frequency band (band A) can be transmitted or received, and transmitting and/or receiving the signal of the second frequency band (Band B) is refrained (12s2 is not connected to first terminal 12c, thus band B cannot be transmitted or received; paras. [0105], [0170]-[0171], [0177]; Fig. 9A, 11A). Yamada do not disclose a matching circuit connected between the first RF chain and the first terminal, and wherein the first matching circuit is configured so as to prevent a signal to be transmitted or received through the second RF chain from being transferred to the first terminal. In the same field of endeavor, Kim disclose a matching circuit (225c) connected between the first RF chain (TX2 path) and the first terminal (first terminal of switch 223a), and wherein the first matching circuit (225c) is configured so as to prevent a signal (TX1) to be transmitted or received through the second RF chain (TX1 path) from being transferred to the first terminal (first terminal of switch 223a) (Figs. 10A-10C; paras. [0095]-[0098]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to do so in order to avoid interference of the first transmit signal TX1 of the second RF chain in the second transmission mode with the second transmit signal TX2 of the first RF chain in the first transmission mode.
Conclusion
/LANA N LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648