00DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
A mean spacing of profile elements, Rms, in the range of 110 micrometers to 150 micrometers is supported in the provisional application dated Feb. 28, 2022. However, the Examiner notes the range of mean spacing of profile elements, Rms, in the range of 110 micrometers to 190 micrometers is supported in the as-filed application dated Feb. 27, 2023. Accordingly, the amended range of mean spacing profile elements, Rms, in the range of 151 micrometers to 190 micrometers has a priority date of Feb. 27, 2023.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Species D (claims 1-2, 6, and 9-11) in the reply filed on Aug. 11, 2025 is acknowledged. Claims 3-5, 7-8, and 12-16 have been withdrawn.
Claim Interpretation
In claims 1 and 9, the preamble recites a method of producing a portable electronic device cover glass. The Examiner interprets the use of the glass recited in the preamble as “intended use”, and is broadly interpreting the term “glass”.
In lines 6-7 of claim 1, Applicant recites “said surface is provided with a roughness that simulates a surface of paper in terms of reading and writing experience”. Since there is no “standard” of roughness that simulates a surface of paper in terms of reading and writing experience, the Examiner interprets that any type of roughness will meet the limitations of the claim as long as all other claim limitations are met, such as the claimed mean spacing of profile elements, Rms in the range of 151 micrometers to 190 micrometers.
In claims 6 and 11, line 2, Applicant references “the glass preform”, the Examiner interprets “the glass preform” as referencing “the portable electronic device cover glass preform”.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) rejected in the prior art rejection dated Feb. 11, 2026 have been considered, but are moot due to new grounds of rejection, with a new reference Chen et al. (US2024/0158290A1) necessitated by the amendment filed May 8, 2026. As noted above, mean spacing profile elements, Rms, in the range of 151 micrometers to 190 micrometers has a priority date of Feb. 27, 2023.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 6, and 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US2024/0158290A1 – hereinafter Chen) in view of Cleary et al. (US 2019/0248124 – hereinafter Cleary).
Regarding claims 1-2, Chen (abstract and [0002]) discloses textured glass for display applications having a duel-texture including a plurality of first features (i.e. protrusions). Chen ([0042] discloses incorporating the dual-textured article in a consumer electronic device 300 and ([0003]) teaches electronic devices, such as portable electronic devices, smartphones, tablets, etc. using glass-based devices. Chen ([0018]) teaches the dual-textured article provides for a paper-like tactile experience and ([0029] and Fig. 1A) discloses first features (210) (corresponding to profile elements) give the use a tactile experience using a pen or pencil on paper when using a stylus on the dual-textured surface. Based on the disclosures by Chen above, the dual-textured glass article corresponds to a portable electronic device cover glass. Chen ([0051]-[0059], Figs. 1A, 1B, and 3B,3C, and Examples) teaches methods for texturing glass articles described herein with first features (610,210 – corresponding to profile elements) including etching and abrading the surface of glass articles, such as Corning Gorilla Glass, (corresponding to a portable electronic device cover glass preform). Accordingly, based on the disclosures by Chen above, Chen provides for a method of providing a portable electronic cover glass preform (i.e. glass article) and texturing a surface of the portable electronic device glass preform, such that the surface is provided with a roughness that simulates a surface of paper in terms of reading and writing experience.
Regarding the mean spacing of profile elements (Rms) on the surface, Chen ([0029]) also teaches a distance between first features (profile elements) on the surface ranging from 50 to 1500 microns, 50 to 950 microns, 50 to 800 microns, from 50 to 650 microns, from 50 to 500 microns, from 50 to 350 microns, and 50 to 200 microns and discloses any sub-range formed between the various endpoints disclosed. Chen ([0068]) teaches dots can be placed at the desired distance to provide for the distance (i.e. spacing) between first features (corresponding to profile elements) and ([0069]-Table 1) teaches specific spacing (i.e. dot distance). Accordingly, based on the teachings of Chen, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, the profile elements can be placed at any desired distance, such as between 50 to 200 microns, and therefore Chen teaches a mean spacing of profile elements (Rms) spaced at distances between 50 to 200 microns, which can provide a mean spacing of profile elements, Rms, that is within Applicant’s claimed range of 151 to 190 microns, as claimed.
As discussed above, Chen discloses in the Examples Corning Gorilla Glass for texturing, but Chen fails to disclose the glass preform thickness having a maximum thickness of 600 microns, as claimed in claim 1, or has a maximum thickness in the range of 10 to 600 microns, as claimed in claim 2. However, Cleary teaches cover glass articles with Corning Gorilla glass having a thickness ranging from 0.3 mm to 0.7 mm (300 to 700 microns). Accordingly, since Chen teaches Corning Gorilla Glass for texturing and Clearly teaches Corning Gorilla glass having a thickness ranging from 300 to 700 microns, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, in the method of Chen, glass thicknesses ranging from 300 to 700 microns, which overlaps Applicant’s claimed range of a thickness having a maximum thickness of 600 microns, as claimed in claim 1, and a maximum thickness in the range of 10 microns to 600 microns, as claimed in claim 2.
Regarding claim 6, as discussed in the rejection of claims 1-2 above, Chen discloses texturing the surface of a cover glass for preform comprising abrading the glass preform. Chen ([0053]) also discloses the abrasion process for texturing through media blasting. Accordingly, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, the method of Chen in view of Cleary in claims 1-2 above, wherein the texturing of the glass preform is through media blasting, as claimed.
Regarding claims 9-10, Chen (abstract and [0002]) discloses textured glass for display applications having a dual-texture including a plurality of first features (i.e. protrusions). Chen ([0042] discloses incorporating the dual-textured article in a consumer electronic device 300 and ([0003]) teaches electronic devices, such as portable electronic devices, smartphones, tablets, etc. using glass-based devices. Chen ([0018]) teaches the dual-textured article provides for a paper-like tactile experience and ([0029] and Fig. 1A) discloses first features (210) (corresponding to profile elements) give the use a tactile experience using a pen or pencil on paper when using a stylus on the dual-textured surface. Based on the disclosures by Chen above, the dual-textured glass article corresponds to a portable electronic device cover glass. Chen ([0051]-[0059], Figs. 1A, 1B, and 3B,3C, and Examples) teaches methods for texturing glass articles described herein with first features (610,210) including etching and abrading the surface glass articles, such as Corning Gorilla Glass, (corresponding to a portable electronic device cover glass preform). Accordingly, based on the disclosures by Chen above, Chen provides for a method of providing a portable electronic cover glass preform and texturing a surface of the portable electronic device glass preform, such that the surface is provided with a roughness that simulates a surface of paper in terms of reading and writing experience.
Regarding the mean spacing of profile elements (Rms) on the surface, Chen ([0029]) also teaches a distance between first features (profile elements) on the surface ranging from 50 to 1500 microns, 50 to 950 microns, 50 to 800 microns, from 50 to 650 microns, from 50 to 500 microns, from 50 to 350 microns, and 50 to 200 microns and discloses any sub-range formed between the various endpoints disclosed. Chen ([0068]) teaches dots can be placed at the desired distance to provide for the distance (i.e. spacing) between first features (corresponding to profile elements) and ([0069]-Table 1) teaches specific spacing (i.e. dot distance). Accordingly, based on the teachings of Chen, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, the profile elements can be placed at any desired distance, such as between 50 to 200 microns, and therefore Chen teaches a mean spacing of profile elements (Rms) spaced at distances between 50 to 200 microns, which can provide a mean spacing of profile elements, Rms, that is within Applicant’s claimed range of 151 to 190 microns, as claimed.
Regarding a mean roughness, Ra, Chen ([0034]) discloses a surface roughness ranging from 0.1 to 1.5 microns, and other ranges, such as 0.9 microns to 1.5 microns, 1.1 microns to 1.5 microns, 1.3 microns to 1.5 microns, or any sub-range formed from the disclosed endpoints. Accordingly, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, the surface roughness taught including sub-ranges and endpoints by Chen can provide for a mean roughness, Ra that is within Applicant’s claimed range of 0.8 micrometers to 1.5 micrometers.
Regarding an average profile peak height, Rp, Chen ([0028]) discloses the profile elements (i.e. first features 210) may have heights ranging from 0.1 microns to 10 microns, and other ranges such as 2 to 10 microns, 3 to 10 microns, 4 to 10 microns, or any sub-range formed from the disclosed endpoints. Accordingly, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with the height ranges encompassing sub-ranges with disclosed endpoints, Chen can provide an average profile peak height, Rp, that is within Applicant’s claimed range of 3.3 microns to 4.6 microns.
As discussed above, Chen discloses in the Examples Corning Gorilla Glass for texturing, but Chen fails to disclose the glass preform thickness having a maximum thickness of 600 microns, as claimed in claim 1, or has a maximum thickness in the range of 10 to 600 microns, as claimed in claim 2. However, Cleary teaches cover glass articles with Corning Gorilla glass having a thickness ranging from 0.3 mm to 0.7 mm (300 to 700 microns). Accordingly, since Chen teaches Corning Gorilla Glass for texturing and Clearly teaches Corning Gorilla glass having a thickness ranging from 300 to 700 microns, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, in the method of Chen, glass thicknesses ranging from 300 to 700 microns, which overlaps Applicant’s claimed range of a thickness having a maximum thickness of 600 microns, as claimed in claim 9, and a maximum thickness in the range of 10 microns to 600 microns, as claimed in claim 10.
Regarding claim 11, as discussed in the rejection of claims 9-10 above, Chen discloses texturing the surface of a cover glass for preform comprising abrading the glass preform. Chen ([0053]) also discloses the abrasion process for texturing through media blasting. Accordingly, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, the method of Chen in view of Cleary in claims 9-10 above, wherein the texturing of the glass preform is through media blasting, as claimed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Shannon et al. (US 12,177,999) discloses textured glass (claim 4) where the mean pitch between peaks ranges from 5 microns to 20 microns.
US2024/0351942 ([0048]) discloses a thickness of a glass substrate greater than ranging from 1-20 mm and a RSM roughness parameter (corresponding to Rms) at most 155 microns. The reference fails to disclose a thickness having a maximum thickness of 600 micrometers.
/LISA L HERRING/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1741