DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Species D (claims 1-2, 6, and 9-11) in the reply filed on Aug. 11, 2025 is acknowledged. Claims 3-5, 7-8, and 12-16 have been withdrawn.
Specification
The amendment to the specification filed Dec. 3, 2025 is sufficient for the Examiner to withdraw the objection to the abstract of the disclosure and the objection to PGPUB paragraphs [0005] and [0006].
Claim Interpretation
In claims 1 and 9, the preamble recites a method of producing a portable electronic device cover glass. The Examiner interprets the use of the glass recited in the preamble as “intended use”, and is broadly interpreting the term “glass”.
In lines 6-7 of claim 1, Applicant recites “said surface is provided with a roughness that simulates a surface of paper in terms of reading and writing experience”. Since there is no “standard” of roughness that simulates a surface of paper in terms of reading and writing experience, the Examiner interprets that any type of roughness will meet the limitations of the claim as long as all other claim limitations are met, such as the claimed mean spacing of profile elements, Rms in the range of 131 micrometers to 190 micrometers.
In claims 6 and 11, line 2, Applicant references “the glass preform”, the Examiner interprets “the glass preform” as referencing “the portable electronic device cover glass preform”.
Claim Objections
The amendment to the claims filed Dec. 3, 2025 is sufficient for the Examiner to withdraw the objection to claims 1 and 9
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The amendment to the claims filed Dec. 3, 2025 is sufficient for the Examiner to withdraw the rejection of claims 1-2 and 6 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) rejected in the prior art rejection dated Sept. 3, 2025 have been considered, but are moot due to new grounds of rejection, with a new reference Nippon (JP5874803B2), necessitated by the amendment filed Dec. 3, 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 6, and 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nippon (JP5874803B2).
Regarding claims 1-2, Nippon ([0001]) discloses a method for manufacturing a touch panel glass mounted on portable terminals (corresponding to a portable electronic device cover glass). Nippon ([0008]) discloses the method includes a surface roughening step of the glass surface and ([0070]) discloses the glass substrate for the touch panel (corresponding to a portable electronic device cover glass preform) having a thickness of 0.5 mm or less. These disclosures by Nippon provide for a step of providing a portable electronic device cover glass preform with a thickness having a maximum thickness within Applicants claimed range of 600 micrometers, as claimed in claim 1, and overlapping maximum thickness range of 10 micrometers to 600 micrometers, as claimed in claim 2.
As discussed above, Nippon discloses a surface roughening step (corresponding to texturing a surface) of the glass preform. Additionally, Nippon ([0029]) teaches surface roughness having an interval of unevenness (corresponding to profile elements) and teaches if the surface roughness is larger than 150 microns it becomes difficult to smoothly slide the glass surface with a finger or the like. While Nippon fails to explicitly state this interval is a mean spacing, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, a mean spacing of 150 microns or less would also be included, and therefore, the range taught by Nippon would include a mean spacing of unevenness (i.e. profile elements), Rms of 150 microns or less, which within Applicant’s claimed range of 131 micrometers to 190 micrometers, as claimed. Nippon fails to explicitly state the roughness (i.e. texturing) provides a roughness that simulates a surface of paper in terms of reading and writing experience. However, as stated in the claim interpretation section above, since Nippon provides for texturing (i.e. roughness) and provides for obviousness of the mean spacing of the profile elements, Rms range, that overlaps Applicant’s claimed range, the roughness disclosed by Nippon provides for the claimed roughness that simulates a surface of paper in terms of reading and writing experience.
Regarding claim 6, in addition to the rejection of claim 1 above, Nippon ([0032]) discloses the texturing (i.e. roughening) step comprises sandblasting (corresponding to media blasting). Accordingly, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, the method of Nippon wherein the texturing of the surface of the glass preform comprising texturing of the glass preform through media blasting (i.e. sandblasting).
Regarding claims 9-10, Nippon ([0001]) discloses a method for manufacturing a touch panel glass mounted on portable terminals (corresponding to a portable electronic device cover glass). Nippon ([0008]) discloses the method includes a surface roughening step of the glass surface and ([0070]) discloses the glass substrate for the touch panel (corresponding to a portable electronic device cover glass preform) having a thickness of 0.5 mm (500 microns) or less. These disclosures by Nippon provide for a step of providing a portable electronic device cover glass preform with a thickness having a maximum thickness within Applicants claimed range of 600 micrometers, as claimed in claim 1, and overlapping maximum thickness range of 10 micrometers to 600 micrometers, as claimed in claim 10.
As discussed above, Nippon discloses a surface roughening step (corresponding to texturing a surface) of the glass preform. Additionally, Nippon ([0023]) discloses the surface roughening step to provides for a surface roughness Ra (corresponding to mean roughness, Ra) including a range of 500 (0.5 8000 angstroms (0.8 microns) and 16000 angstroms (1.6 microns) or less. Accordingly, Nippon teaches a range significantly overlapping Applicant’s claimed range of 0.8 microns to 1.5 microns.
Nippon ([0029]) also teaches surface roughness having an interval of unevenness (corresponding to profile elements) and teaches if the surface roughness is larger than 150 microns it becomes difficult to smoothly slide the glass surface with a finger or the like. While Nippon fails to explicitly state this interval is a mean spacing, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, a mean spacing of 150 microns or less would also be included, and therefore, the range taught by Nippon would include a mean spacing of unevenness (i.e. profile elements), Rms of 150 microns or less, which within Applicant’s claimed range of 131 micrometers to 190 micrometers, as claimed.
Additionally, Nippon ([0027]) teaches a height (corresponding to peak height) of the unevenness affects the operation feeling of the glass surface and coefficient of friction. Nippon teaches the surface roughness range of Rp (i.e. profile peak height) of 20,000 angstroms (2 microns) or more and 50,000 angstroms (5 microns) or 40,000 angstroms (4 microns) or less. While Nippon fails to explicitly state Rp is an average profile peak height, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, an average profile peak height in the range of 2 microns to 4 microns or 5 microns would also be included, and therefore, the range taught by Nippon would include an average profile peak height in the range of 2 microns to 4 microns or 5 microns, which encompasses and/or overlaps Applicant’s claimed range of 3.3 microns to 4.6 microns.
Regarding claim 11, in addition to the rejection of claim 9 above, Nippon ([0032]) discloses the texturing (i.e. roughening) step comprises sandblasting (corresponding to media blasting). Accordingly, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, the method of Nippon wherein the texturing of the surface of the glass preform comprising texturing of the glass preform through media blasting (i.e. sandblasting).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LISA L HERRING/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1741