Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The previous rejection of claims 3, 6, 9 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, has been withdrawn in light of the amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-7, 9 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakurai et al. (US 20190044118).
Regarding claims 1, 3-5, Sakurai discloses a nonaqueous electrolyte secondary battery porous layer ([0059] heat-resistant adhesive porous layer) including: a resin containing an amide bond ([0061] para-aromatic polyamide); and a filler ([0094]) , the nonaqueous electrolyte secondary battery porous layer having a porosity of not less than 75% ([0107] 80%), wherein the filler contains a filler A having an average particle diameter of not more than 0.04 µm, and a filler B having an average particle diameter of not less than 0.1 µm ([0096] filler is a combination of two or more kinds thereof; [0095] average particle size is 0.01 µm-5 µm which overlaps with the claimed range). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05
Regarding claim 6, Sakurai discloses wherein the filler containing the filler A and the filler B contains a filler having a spherical shape ([0098]).
Regarding claim 7, Sakurai discloses a nonaqueous electrolyte secondary battery separator (abstract) comprising: a porous film containing a polyolefin-based resin as a main component ([0039]); and the nonaqueous electrolyte secondary battery porous layer according to claim 1 formed on one surface or both surfaces of the porous film (abstract).
Regarding claim 9, Sakurai discloses a nonaqueous electrolyte secondary battery member comprising: a positive electrode ([0154]); the nonaqueous electrolyte secondary battery separator according to claim 7 (abstract); and a negative electrode ([0154]); the positive electrode, the nonaqueous electrolyte secondary battery separator, and the negative electrode being disposed in this order ([0154]).
Regarding claim 11, Sakurai discloses a nonaqueous electrolyte secondary battery ([0154]) comprising the nonaqueous electrolyte secondary battery separator according to claim 7 ([0154]).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakurai et al. (US 20190044118) as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Hayakawa et al. (US20120258349).
Regarding claim 2, Sakurai discloses where the filler is a combination of two or more kinds there of ([0096]) but does not explicitly disclose where the filler A is contained in an amount of not less than 10% by weight and the filler B is contained in an amount of not less than 30% by weight with respect to a total weight of the nonaqueous electrolyte secondary battery porous layer.
Hayakawa discloses a separator for a non-aqueous electrolyte battery ([0002]). Hayakawa further discloses where the porosity of the layer is controlled by the pore diameter and or the weight ratio of the inorganic particles to the binder ([0031]).
As the porosity and efficiency of operation are variables that can be modified, among others, by adjusting said filler amount of the heat-resistant porous layer, with said porosity and operating efficiency both changing as the ratio of the filler with respect to the total weight is changed, the precise amount of filler A and filler B would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed filler A and filler B amount cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have optimized, by routine experimentation, amount of filler A and filler B in the heat-resistant porous layer of Sakurai to obtain the desired balance between the porosity and the operation efficiency (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/16/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant traverses the rejection on the grounds that the present claims incorporate a combination of both small and large-particle sized filler and exhibits a high porosity. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., combination of both small and large-particle sized filler and exhibits a high porosity) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). The claims currently only require the difference in particle size which has been addressed in the previous Office Action and above. The arguments pertaining to both the particle sizes and high porosity (not less than 75%) will be considered when the limitations are present in the claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SUSAN D LEONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1754