DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination
Previous Rejections
Applicants' arguments, filed 03/02/2026, have been fully considered. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being as being obvious over Charmot et al. (WO 2005/027862 A1).
Regarding claim 22, Charmot discloses an oral composition comprising a polymer which is delivered to oral surfaces during toothbrushing for the treatment or prevention of oral care related conditions such as caries or tartar [pg. 1, lines 3-12]. The polymer is obtainable by copolymerizing a mixture of comonomers including anionic monomers, where the monomers are selected from N-vinylpyrrolidone, vinyl phosphonic acid, and mixtures thereof [Abstract]. Charmot teaches vinyl phosphonic acid is present in an amount from 40-90 mol% and the remainder is monomers such as N-vinyl pyrrolidone [pg. 6, lines 8-16]. The composition also includes a carrier [pg. 12, line 21]. The composition further comprises fluoride [pg. 11, line 15].
Charmot is not believed to be anticipatory because Charmot could be construed as not clearly and unequivocally disclosing the claimed invention or directing those skilled in the art to the claimed invention without any need for picking, choosing and combining various disclosures not directly related to each other by the teachings of the cited reference. Namely, one skilled in the art would need to choose vinyl phosphonic acid and N-vinylpyrrolidone [abstract] [pg. 6, lines 8-16], a carrier [pg. 12, line 21], and fluoride [pg. 11, line 15] to formulate the composition.
Nevertheless, it is prima facie obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods, to yield predictable results. In the instant case, all the claimed elements (i.e., N-vinylpyrrolidone, vinyl phosphonic acid, a carrier, fluoride) were known in the prior art (i.e., Charmot) and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielding nothing more than predictable results (e.g., a method of inhibiting demineralization of a tooth) to one of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP 2143.A.
In regards to the ratio of n-vinyl pyrrolidone to vinyl phosphonic acid, in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. See MPEP 2144.05 A. Additionally, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A). In this case, the general conditions of the amount of n-vinyl pyrrolidone and vinyl phosphonic acid have been taught by the prior art; as such, it would not have been inventive for the skilled artisan to have discovered the optimum ratio via routine experimentation.
Further regarding claim 22, while “inhibiting demineralization of a tooth” is not explicitly disclosed by Charmot, Charmot does teach that the composition is delivered to oral surfaces during toothbrushing for the treatment or prevention of oral care related conditions such as caries or tartar [pg. 1, lines 3-12] and would be reasonably be expected to inhibit demineralization of a tooth (a cause of caries). Furthermore, a chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. See MPEP 2112.01 II. Therefore, because the prior art teaches an oral composition with the same components (e.g., N-vinylpyrrolidone, vinyl phosphonic acid, and fluoride – the last species already being known known in the art to prevent demineralization; see instant specification pg. 1, bottom paragraph), the properties the applicant discloses and/or claims would reasonably be expected to be necessarily present.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/02/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues at pg. 7 that Charmot does not teach or suggest the specific method of the present invention, as amended, namely, a composition comprising an anionic copolymer in which “the ratio of repeat units derived from n-vinyl pyrrolidone to repeat units derived from anionic monomers containing phosphorus is from 30:50 to 30:60”.
The Examiner disagrees. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. See MPEP 2144.05 A. Additionally, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A). In this case, the general conditions of the amount of n-vinyl pyrrolidone and vinyl phosphonic acid have been taught by the prior art (Charmot at pg. 6, lines 8-16); as such, it would not have been inventive for the skilled artisan to have discovered the optimum ratio via routine experimentation.
Applicant argues at pg. 7 that the Office has not provided a showing that a person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to use Charmot’s polymer containing oral care composition in a manner that satisfies all of the specific limitations of the presently claimed method.
The Examiner disagrees. Charmot discloses that the composition is delivered to oral surfaces during toothbrushing for the treatment or prevention of oral care related conditions such as caries or tartar [pg. 1, lines 3-12]. Therefore, Charmot meets the limitation of “contacting a tooth surface”, as claimed.
Claims 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being as being obvious over Charmot et al. (WO 2005/027862 A1) and further in view of Deckner et al. (US 8,221,723 B2).
The 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection over Charmot was previously discussed.
Regarding claim 23, Charmot does not disclose the composition includes at least one essential oil, such as menthol.
Deckner discloses an oral care composition [Abstract] with the essential oil, menthol. Deckner teaches that essential oils provide antiseptic activity and act as flavoring agents [Col 22, lines 7-15].
Since Charmot generally teaches an oral care composition, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include an essential oil, such as menthol, within the teachings of Charmot, because Deckner teaches essential oils such as menthol in an oral care composition. An ordinarily skilled artisan would be motivated to use an essential oil, such as menthol, because Deckner teaches that essential oils provide antiseptic activity and act as flavoring agents [Col 22, lines 7-15].
Claim 24 is rendered prima facie obvious because Charmot discloses the composition includes fluoride [pg. 11, line 15].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/02/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Deckner does not cure the deficiencies of Charmot.
The Examiner disagrees because Charmot is not deficient expect where Deckner teaches menthol.
Double Patenting
Claims 22-24 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-23 of U.S. Patent No. 18/114,950 in view of Charmot et al. (WO 2005/027862 A1).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. The copending claims recite all of the features instantly recited for the composition except for an anionic monomer compound containing phosphorous or phosphonate functional groups.
Charmot discloses an oral composition comprising a polymer where the polymer is obtainable by copolymerizing a mixture of comonomers including anionic monomers, where the monomers are selected from N-vinylpyrrolidone, vinyl phosphonic acid, and mixtures thereof [Abstract]. Charmot teaches vinyl phosphonic acid is present in an amount from 40-90 mol% and the remainder is monomers such as N-vinyl pyrrolidone [pg. 6, lines 8-16].
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include an anionic monomer compound containing phosphorous or phosphonate functional groups, within the copending claims. The ordinarily skilled artisan would have been motivated to formulate the composition, as taught by Charmot [Abstract] [pg. 6, lines 8-16].
The ratio of the monomers, as recited in the instant claims, would be achieved by one of ordinary skill in the art through routine optimization. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
/ASHLEE E WERTZ/Examiner, Art Unit 1612
/SAHANA S KAUP/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612