DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Invention I, Species 2 in the reply filed on 3 December 2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the regions in the other species are analogous to those in Species 2. This is not found persuasive because while the regions in the other Species may be analogous, they are not the same, they are alternatives.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 19, the claim recites “studying particle behavior in at least one of the [regions]”. The metes and bounds of the phrase are unclear thus rendering the claim indefinite. Does studying include a scientist developing theory with pen and paper? Or is it limited to some kind of physical measurement? Are mental steps permitted?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 9 and 18 - 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gupta, N. K., & Gianchandani, Y. B. (2010, January). A high-flow Knudsen pump using a polymer membrane: Performance at and below atmospheric pressures. In 2010 IEEE 23rd International Conference on Micro Electro Mechanical Systems (MEMS) (pp. 1095-1098). IEEE.
Regarding Claim 1, Gupta discloses a system, in at least Figure 3a, comprising: a first region (in brass base) configured to retain particles (gas molecules) and having a first characteristic dimension (mean free path) (Page 1095 – 1096); and a second region (region between and including the nanoporous polymer and the insulating top) (Figure 3a) communicatively coupled with the first region such that the particles can travel between the first region and the second region (Figure 3a) (Page 1095 – 1096), the second region having a second characteristic dimension of not larger than twice a characteristic length for the particles (transitional flow includes Knudsen numbers which have a second characteristic dimension of not larger than twice the mean free path) (Page 1095 – 1096); wherein the second region includes a barrier to the travel of the particles from or to the first region (nanoporous polymer) (Figure 3a).
Regarding Claim 2, Gupta discloses the characteristic length is selected from a particle mean free path and a particle size (particle mean free path) (Page 1095 – 1096).
Regarding Claim 3, Gupta discloses the first region and the second region are communicatively coupled such that at least one of mass or energy is transferable between the first region and the second region (mass and/or thermal energy) (Page 1095 – 1096).
Regarding Claim 4, Gupta discloses the barrier is selected from an energy barrier (thermal and/or gravitational barrier) and an asymmetric physical barrier (Page 1095 – 1096) (Figures 2, 3a).
Regarding Claim 5, Gupta discloses the energy barrier where the limitations of Claim 5 further limit the alternative. As such, Claim 5 has been taught under broadest reasonable interpretation.
Regarding Claim 6, Gupta discloses the energy barrier includes at least one of an electric field for the particles including charged particles or a gravitational field (gravitational field as the regions are vertically one over the other) (Figures 3a, 3b).
Regarding Claim 7, Gupta discloses a third region (outlet) communicatively coupled with at least the second region (Figure 3a).
Regarding Claim 8, Gupta discloses the third region is communicatively coupled with the first region such that the particles can travel at least one of between the first region and the second region, between the second region and the third region, or between the third region and the first region (Figure 3a).
Regarding Claim 9, Gupta discloses the third region is communicatively coupled with the first region through the second region (Figure 3a).
Regarding Claim 18, Gupta discloses a method, comprising: providing an apparatus including a first region (in brass base) and a second region (region between and including the nanoporous polymer and the insulating top) (Figure 3a), the first region being configured to retain particles (gas molecules) and having a first characteristic dimension (mean free path) (Page 1095 – 1096), the second region being communicatively coupled with the first region (Figure 3a) such that the particles can travel between the first region and the second region (Page 1095 – 1096) and having a second characteristic dimension of not larger than twice a characteristic length for the particles (transitional flow includes Knudsen numbers which have a second characteristic dimension of not larger than twice the mean free path) (Page 1095 – 1096); and providing the particles in the apparatus (Page 1095 – 1096).
Regarding Claim 19, Gupta discloses studying particle behavior in at least one of the first region or the second region (Pages 1096 – 1097).
Regarding Claim 20, Gupta discloses providing a third region (outlet) communicatively coupled with the first region and the second region (Figure 3a) such that the particles can travel at least one of between the first region and the second region, between the second region and the third region, or between the third region and the first region (Figure 3a).
Conclusion
ALEXANDER A. MERCADO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2855
/ALEXANDER A MERCADO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855