DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination
Previous Rejections
Applicant’s arguments, filed January 12, 2026, have been fully considered. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being as being obvious over Musa et al. (US 2011/0293540 A1) in view of Sharma et al. (US 2009/0317339 A1).
Regarding claim 21, Musa disclose the use of compositions with cationic copolymers that include N-vinyl pyrrolidone and N-vinyl formamide [0031] [0046]-[0047] [0159]-[0176], and repeating units therefore [0036], for oral care, such as to reduce and/or prevent the adherence of oral bacteria to the tooth enamel [0029] [0088]-[0089]. Musa discloses the compositions are contacted with a tooth surface [0041] [0138]-[0139]. The compositions also include an orally acceptable carrier [0107] and fluoride [0126] [0140].
Musa does not disclose the composition is contacted with a tooth surface for thirty seconds or more.
Sharma discloses an oral care device configured to contact teeth with a polymeric material, such as vinyl pyrrolidone copolymers [abstract; claim 8]. Sharma teaches that the oral device is contacted with the teeth for greater than 30 seconds and that this is a sufficient period of time for treating teeth (i.e., mineralizing the teeth) [0026]. Sharma also teaches that the optimal duration and frequency of application will depend on the desired effect, the severity of any condition being treated, the health and age of the user and like considerations and that the greater the contact time, the greater the potential to mineralize teeth [0026].
Since Musa generally teaches vinyl pyrrolidone copolymers to be contacted with teeth, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to contact the teeth with the copolymer for greater than 30 seconds because Sharma teaches that the oral device (with a polymeric material such as vinyl pyrrolidone copolymers) is contacted with the teeth for greater than 30 seconds and that this is a sufficient period of time for treating teeth (i.e., mineralizing the teeth) [0026].
Furthermore, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A). In this case, the general conditions of contacting a tooth with copolymers that include monomers such as N-vinyl pyrrolidone and N-vinyl formamide have been taught by the prior art (i.e., Musa) and the time of contact is known in the art (i.e., Sharma) as such, it would not have been inventive for the skilled artisan to have discovered the optimum contact time via routine experimentation, especially as Sharma teaches that the optimal duration and frequency of application will depend on the desired effect, the severity of any condition being treated, the health and age of the user and like considerations and that the greater the contact time, the greater the potential to mineralize teeth [0026].
Further regarding claim 21, while “inhibiting demineralization of a tooth” is not explicitly disclosed by Musa, Musa does disclose that the compositions are used to reduce and/or prevent the adherence of oral bacteria to the tooth enamel [0029] [0088]-[0089]. The compositions would therefore be expected to inhibit demineralization of a tooth because bacteria are known to cause tooth demineralization.
Furthermore, a chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. See MPEP 2112.01 II. Therefore, because the prior art teaches oral compositions with the same components (e.g., cationic N-vinyl pyrrolidone copolymers and fluoride; the latter of which is already known in the art to prevent demineralization – see the instant specification pg. 1, bottom paragraph), the properties the applicant discloses and/or claims would reasonably be expected to be necessarily present.
Claim 22 is rendered prima facie obvious because Musa further discloses the composition includes the essential oil, eucalyptol [0130].
Claim 23 is rendered prima facie obvious because Musa discloses the composition includes fluoride [0126] [0140].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive, and will be addressed insofar as they apply the new ground of rejection.
Applicant argues that Musa does not teach or suggest the specific method of the present invention, as amended. For example, Musa nowhere teaches or suggests the timeframe during which the composition of the methods of the present invention, as amended, is required to contact a tooth surface.
The Examiner disagrees. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See. MPEP 2145. In the instant case, the contact time is taught by Sharma.
Applicant' s further arguments with respect to claims 21-23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection (Musa in view of Sharma) does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument (Musa in view of Morgan).
Double Patenting
Claims 21-23 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-24 of U.S. Patent Application No. 18/114,937 in view of Musa et al. (US 2011/0293540 A1).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. The copending claims recite all of the features instantly recited expect for a cationic copolymer having repeat units derived from monomers containing amines or guanidine.
Musa disclose the use of compositions with cationic copolymers that include N-vinyl formamide [0031] [0046]-[0047] [0159]-[0176] for oral care [0088].
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include N-vinyl formamide, within the copending claims. The ordinarily skilled artisan would have been motivated to formulate the composition, as taught by Musa [0031] [0046]-[0047] [0159]-[0176].
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
/ASHLEE E WERTZ/Examiner , Art Unit 1612
/SAHANA S KAUP/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612