DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5 and 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by KR-20170122382 to Han in view of USPN. 9,829,146 to Han, hereinafter referred to as Han-146.
Regarding Claims 1-3, 5 and 9-11
Han teaches a headliner for an automobile comprising a base layer, a hot melt layer laminated on the base layer and a vacuum insulator layer laminated on the hot melt layer (Han, abstract, fig. 1-5). Han teaches that the base layer comprises a nonwoven layer, reinforcing layer, multilayer polyurethane, second reinforcing layer and second nonwoven layer, laminated in that order (Id., detailed description, fig. 2). Han teaches that the vacuum insulator layer includes a core material pat formed by laminating a plurality of thin glass fiber sheets horizontally arranged and an outer covering material part for vacuum packing the core material part (Id., fig. 3). Han teaches that the glass fiber length is between 1000 and 1500 micrometers (Id., description, experiment and evaluation of insulation performance). Han teaches the glass fiber may be flame-processed and formed from a wet manufacturing method (Id.). Han teaches that the vacuum insulator layer has a thickness of 3 mm or less (Id.). Han teaches the vacuum insulator layer may further comprise silica powder (Id.).
Han does not teach that the fiber diameters are between 10 and 13 micrometers. However, Han-146 teaches a method of manufacturing vacuum insulation using glass fibers comprising a core layer formed by laminating a plurality of thin glass fiber sheets in which glass fibers are horizontally arranged (Han-146, abstract, column 1, lines 12-23). Han-146 teaches that the diameter of the fibers is greater than 7 micrometers which overlaps the claimed range of between 10 and 13 micrometers (Id., column 4, lines 1-8). Han-146 teaches that utilizing these glass fibers results in improved insulating effect and performance, decreased cost of production, weight and pollution and without being a danger to respiratory organs. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to form the composite of Han and to include within the vacuum insulation layer, the glass fiber sheets of Han-146 motivated by the desire to form a conventional insulation layer having improved performance and decreased costs and hazards.
The prior art combination does not specify the weight per unit area of the glass fibers in each of the glass fiber sheets. However, it should be noted that weight per unit area is a result effective variable. As weight per unit area of glass fibers increases, the material exhibits increased strength at the expense of porosity, cost and weight. Absent unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to optimize the weight per unit area of glass fibers since it has been held that where general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955). In the present invention one would have been motivated to optimize the weight per unit area in order to provide a balance between weight, cost, strength and insulative properties.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VINCENT TATESURE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786