DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE et al. (US 2018/0277804 A1, hereinafter LEE) in view of FUNABIKI et al. (US 2020/0180044 A1, hereinafter FUNABIKI).
Regarding claims 1 and 16 (claim 1 is considered representative for limitation matching purposes), LEE discloses a rechargeable battery assembly for a kitchen appliance, comprising:
a charging base (See Figs.2-3, Item#40, disclose a charging base), comprising:
a plug according to a standardized connection specification (See Figs.2-3, Item#46 disclose a USB port and a USB cable 60, the combination of the USB port and the USB cable comprising the USB plug [output end of the wire 60 comprising an output plug which connects to the battery 20); and
a battery (See Figs.2-3, Item#20), comprising:
a receptacle according to the standardized connection specification and configured to mate with the plug to selectively engage the battery with the charging base (See Figs.2-3, Item#26 disclose a USB port [receptacle] for receiving the plug of the charging base [connected wire 60]);
a plurality of battery terminals (See Fig.1, Item#24 and Par.31, disclose a battery physical interface comprising battery terminals to couple the battery 20 to a charger of similar configuration via charger physical interface [Fig.1, Item#44]).
However, LEE does not explicitly disclose the charging base comprising:
a body having a pair of notches disposed adjacent a perimeter thereof; and
the battery comprising:
a plurality of tabs configured to move inwardly by initial engagement with corresponding notches in the charging base and to move outward behind the corresponding notches when the battery is fully received in the charging base, thereby defining a charging position; and
first and second buttons associated with respective ones of the plurality of tabs, the first and second buttons each being configured to move the respective tabs inward for release from the notches to remove the battery from the charging position.
FUNABIKI discloses a body having a pair of notches disposed adjacent a perimeter thereof (See Fig.3, Item#16 and Par.48, disclose engaging grooves. The examiner explains that even though FUNABIKI does not explicitly disclose that the notches are placed on a charger, it is well known the locking receiving mechanism placed on a power tool is also placed on the charger to attach the battery to a battery powered device and a charging device as evidenced by KONDO, US 2019/0280501 A1. Par.70, discloses the battery comprising a hook 38 to attach the battery to a power tool and to the charger);
a battery (See Fig.4, Item#20a, discloses a battery pack) comprising:
a plurality of tabs configured to move inwardly by initial engagement with corresponding notches in the charging base (See Fig.4, Items#28 and Pars.48 and 53, disclose claws which engage with engaging grooves [i.e. notches] 16 on a complementary body of a power supply section 11c) and to move outward behind the corresponding notches when the battery is fully received in the charging base, thereby defining a charging position (See Par.48, discloses the claws 28 engage with the grooves 16. The examiner explains that even though FUNABIKI does not explicitly disclose that the battery claws engage a charger, it is well known the locking claws [attachment mechanism] of the battery is used to attach the battery to a battery powered device and a charging device as evidenced by KONDO, US 2019/0280501 A1. Par.70, discloses the battery comprising a hook 38 to attach the battery to a power tool and to the charger);
first and second buttons associated with respective ones of the plurality of tabs, the first and second buttons each being configured to move the respective tabs inward for release from the notches to remove the battery from the charging position (See Fig.4, and Par.48, disclose push buttons 27 which control claws 28 to engage and disengage from a corresponding device; that device being a power tool or a charger).
LEE and FUNABIKI are analogous art since they both deal with battery packs.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by LEE with the teachings of FUNABIKI by adding the disclosed plurality of tabs and buttons to the battery and the plurality of notches structure [i.e. charger and power tool] for the benefit of securing the battery to the charger and the electronic device.
The examiner further explains that even though LEE and FUNABIKI do not disclose the rechargeable battery assembly is for a kitchen appliance, the examiner explains that a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. The examiner argues that the disclosed battery pack is capable of providing power to a kitchen appliance instead of a power tool as long as the power tool comprises a compatible battery attachment mechanism.
Regarding claim 2, LEE and FUNABIKI disclose the rechargeable battery assembly for a kitchen appliance of claim 1, wherein the battery terminals are configured to align with terminals of a battery-receiving cavity of an appliance for electrical connection therewith (See LEE, Pars.16 and 40, disclose the battery pack is for attachment powering a power tool, the alignment of the terminals of the battery pack terminals and the power tool is inherent for the battery pack to provide power to the power tool. FUNABIKI further provides evidence that the battery pack terminals are aligned with the power tool terminals to provide power to the power tool [See Par.49 and Figs.1-3]).
Regarding claim 3, LEE and FUNABIKI disclose the rechargeable battery assembly for a kitchen appliance of claim 2 as discussed above, wherein the charging base further comprises:
a recess defined in the body and sized to passively receive the plurality of battery terminals (See LEE, Fig.2 discloses the charger comprising a physical interface 44 comprising a recess in which the battery pack 20 [Fig.1] fits to be charged).
Regarding claim 4, LEE and FUNABIKI disclose the rechargeable battery assembly for a kitchen appliance of claim 1 as discussed above, However, LEE and FUBNABIKI as applied to claim 1 do not disclose wherein the pair of notches are on opposing sides of the body of the charging base.
FUNABIKI further discloses the pair of notches are on opposing sides of the body of the receiving device (See Fig.2B, Items#16, disclose a pair of groove son opposite sides for receiving the hooks [Fig.4, Items#28] on both sides of the battery pack).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by LEE with the further teachings of FUNABIKI by placing the notches on opposite sides of the body of the charging base of LEE for the benefit of matching the disclosed tabs and locking and securing the battery pack to the charging base.
Regarding claim 5, LEE and FUNABIKI disclose the rechargeable battery assembly for a kitchen appliance of claim 1 as discussed above, However, LEE and FUNABIKI do not disclose wherein the pair of notches include indentations having ramped portions to engage and retain the battery.
FUNABIKI further discloses wherein the pair of notches include indentations having ramped portions to engage and retain the battery (See Fig.3, Items#16, disclose the indentation comprising an inclined portion to receive the hooks 28).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by LEE and FUNABIKI with the further teachings of FUNABIKI such that the pair of notches include indentations having ramped portions for the benefit of engaging and retaining the battery pack until the user actuates the buttons to manipulate the tabs to disengage the notches.
Regarding claim 8, LEE and FUNABIKI disclose the rechargeable battery assembly for a kitchen appliance of claim 1, wherein the standardized connection specification is a USB-C connection (See LEE, Fig.2, Item#46 and Par.22, disclose a USB Type-C interface).
Regarding claim 9, LEE discloses FUNABIKI disclose the rechargeable battery assembly for a kitchen appliance of claim 8 as discussed above, wherein the battery is configured for a 12 V operation (See LEE, Par.23, discloses battery USB interface is designed for operation voltage 12V).
Regarding claim 10, LEE discloses a rechargeable battery assembly for a kitchen appliance, comprising:
a charging base (See Fig2 [annotated above], Item#40, disclose a charging base), comprising:
a body defining a perimeter edge (See annotated Fig.2, discloses a body defining a perimeter edge) and a recess therein (See annotated Fig.2, discloses the perimeter edge surrounds a recess in which the battery is received); and
a battery (See Figs.2-3, Item#20), comprising:
a plurality of battery terminals disposed within the recess of the charging base (See Fig.1, Item#24 and Par.31, disclose a battery physical interface comprising battery terminals to couple the battery 20 to a charger of similar configuration via charger physical interface [Fig.1, Item#44]. The battery terminals are in the charger recess when the battery is coupled to the charging base) and
a receptacle configured to mate with the charging base when the battery is fully received in the charging base, thereby defining a charging position (See LEE, Fig.1, discloses the battery 20 physical interface comprising a receptacle area to receive the physical charging interface 44 of the charger 40).
However, LEE does not disclose a pair of notches disposed adjacent the perimeter edge and that the battery assembly is for a kitchen assembly.
FUNABIKI discloses a body having a pair of notches disposed adjacent a perimeter thereof (See Fig.3, Item#16 and Par.48, disclose engaging grooves. The examiner explains that even though FUNABIKI does not explicitly disclose that the notches are placed on a charger, it is well known the locking receiving mechanism placed on a power tool is also placed on the charger to attach the battery to a battery powered device and a charging device as evidenced by KONDO, US 2019/0280501 A1. Par.70 discloses the battery comprising a hook 38 to attach the battery to a power tool and to the charger).
LEE and FUNABIKI are analogous art since with since they both deal with battery packs.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by LEE with the teachings of FUNABIKI by adding the plurality of tabs and buttons to the battery and the plurality of notches structure [i.e. charger and power tool] for the benefit of securing the battery to the charger and the electronic device.
The examiner further explains that even though LEE and FUNABIKI do not disclose the rechargeable battery assembly is for a kitchen appliance, the examiner explains that a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. The examiner argues that the disclosed battery pack is capable of providing power to a kitchen appliance instead of a power tool as long as the power tool comprises a compatible battery attachment mechanism.
Regarding claim 11, LEE and FUNABIKI disclose the rechargeable battery assembly for a kitchen appliance of claim 10 as discussed above, wherein the battery is configured in a snap-fit arrangement with the charging base (See LEE, Figs.1-2, disclose the battery 20 is configured for snap with charger 40 via physical interfaces 24 and 44 to snap fit).
Regarding claim 12, LEE and FUNABIKI disclose the rechargeable battery assembly for a kitchen appliance of claim 10, wherein the battery is configured for a 12 V operation (See LEE, Par.23, discloses battery USB interface is designed for operation voltage 12V).
Regarding claims 13-14, LEE and FUNABIKI disclose the rechargeable battery assembly for a kitchen appliance of claim 10 as discussed above, However, LEE and FUNABIKI do not disclose wherein the battery further comprises:
a pair of flexible tabs; and
a pair of buttons associated with the tabs, the pair of buttons configured to move the tabs inward for release from the charging base;
a pair of notches, the pair of notches disposed adjacent the perimeter, the pair of notches configured to retain the pair of flexible tabs on the battery in the charging position.
FUNABIKI further discloses the battery comprising:
a pair of flexible tabs (See Fig.4, Items#28 and Pars.48 and 53, disclose the battery claws which engage with engaging grooves [i.e. notches] 16 on a complementary body of a power supply section 11c); and
a pair of buttons associated with the tabs, the pair of buttons configured to move the tabs inward for release from the charging base (See Fig.4, and Par.48, disclose push buttons 27 which control claws 28 to engage and disengage from a corresponding device; that device being a power tool or a charger),
a pair of notches, the pair of notches disposed adjacent the perimeter, the pair of notches configured to retain the pair of flexible tabs on the battery in the charging position (See Fig.3, Item#16 and Par.48, disclose engaging grooves. Fig.4, and Par.48, disclose push buttons 27 which control claws 28 to engage and disengage from a corresponding device grooves 16. The device being a power tool or a charger. Claim 10 as evidenced by KONDO, discloses the battery pack reception device may be a power tool or a charger).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the at before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed LEE and FUNABIKI as applied to claim 10 with the further teachings of FUNABIKI by adding the plurality of notches to the charging base and the tabs and buttons to the battery for the benefit of securing the battery to the charger and the electronic device and releasing the battery from the charging base when.
Regarding claim 15, LEE and FUNABIKI disclose the rechargeable battery assembly for a kitchen appliance of claim 10 as discussed above, However, LEE and FUNABIKI as applied to claim 10 do not disclose further comprising:
a first pair of tabs spaced from a second pair of tabs on the battery; and
a first pair of notches spaced from a second pair of notches on the charging base, wherein the first pair of tabs engage with the first pair of notches and the second pair of tabs engage with the second pair of notches to retain the battery in the charging position.
FUNABIKI further discloses the battery comprising:
a first tab spaced from a second tab on the battery (See Fig.4, Items#28 and Pars.48 and 53, disclose the battery claws which engage with engaging grooves [i.e. notches] 16 on a complementary body of a power supply section 11c. The tabs “claws” are on opposite sides of the battery); and
a first notch spaced from a second notch on the charging base, wherein the first pair of tabs engage with the first pair of notches and the second pair of tabs engage with the second pair of notches to retain the battery in the charging position (See Fig.3, Item#16 and Par.48, disclose engaging grooves. Fig.4, and Par.48, disclose push buttons 27 which control claws 28 to engage and disengage from a corresponding device grooves 16. The device being a power tool or a charger. Claim 10 as evidenced by KONDO, discloses the battery pack reception device may be a power tool or a charger).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the at before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed LEE and FUNABIKI as applied to claim 10 with the further teachings of FUNABIKI by adding the plurality of notches to the charging base and the tabs to the battery for the benefit of securing the battery to the charger and the power tool.
However, LEE and FUNABIKI do not disclose using two pairs of spaced apart tabs on the battery and two pairs of spaced apart notches on the charging base instead of a single pair.
However, the examiner explains that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by LEE and FUNUBAKI by increasing the number of tabs and notches from 2 (1 pair) to 4 (2 pair) for the benefit of increasing the holding security between the battery pack and the charging base.
Regarding claim 17, LEE and FUNABIKI disclose the rechargeable battery assembly for a kitchen appliance of claim 16 as discussed above, wherein the battery terminals are configured to align with terminals of a power-receiving cavity of an appliance for electrical connection therewith (See FUNABIKI, Figs.3 and 4 and Par.49, disclose a battery pack receiving device 10c and a battery pack 20a. The battery pack receiving device comprising device side terminals 17 and the battery pack comprising a plurality of slits 29 and a power supply side terminal 30. The device side terminals align with the slits 29 including the power supply side terminal).
Regarding claim 18, disclose the rechargeable battery assembly for a kitchen appliance of claim 16, wherein the charging base further comprises:
a recess defined in the body and sized to passively receive the plurality of battery terminals (See LEE, Fig.2, Item#44, discloses a physical interface which receives battery terminals in physical interface 24 in order to provide charging power to charge the battery).
Regarding claim 20, LEE and FUNABIKI disclose the rechargeable battery assembly for a kitchen appliance of claim 16, wherein the standardized connection specification is a USB-C connection (See LEE, Fig.2, Item#46 and Par.22, disclose a USB Type-C interface).
Claim(s) 6-7 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE et al. in view of FUNABIKI and in further view of PATRICK et al. (US 2009/0289805 A1, hereinafter PATRICK).
Regarding claims 6-7 and 19 (claim 6 is considered representative for limitation matching purposes), LEE and FUNABIKI disclose the rechargeable battery assembly for a kitchen appliance of claim 1 as discussed above, However, LEE and FUNABKI do not disclose wherein the battery further comprises:
a plurality of light sources; and
control circuitry, wherein the control circuitry is in electrical communication with at least one of the buttons and the control circuitry is configured to selectively activate the plurality of light sources upon receipt of a predetermined input from the at least one of the buttons.
PATRICK discloses a battery pack comprising:
a plurality of light sources (See Figs.4-5, Items#50 and 50’ and Pars.16 and 22-23 disclose a fuel gauge comprising a plurality of light sources); and
control circuitry (See Fig.5 and Par.3, disclose a controller 58), wherein the control circuitry is in electrical communication with at least one of the buttons and the control circuitry is configured to selectively activate the plurality of light sources upon receipt of a predetermined input from the at least one of the buttons (See Par.22 and Fig.4, disclose that when the button 44’ is actuated, the fuel gauge 50’ displays the state of charge of the battery. Par.13 discloses the button 44 is used for latching and unlatching a latch 42 to couple and uncouple battery pack. Therefore, the input is deflection of tabs as required by claim 7).
LEE, FUNABIKI and PATRICK are analogous art since they all deal with battery packs.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by LEE and FUNABIKI with the teachings of PATRICK by adding the status indicating circuit comprising a plurality of light sources and the controller to display the battery state of charge when at least one of the buttons is pressed for the benefit of notifying the user of the battery state of charge while making use of existing buttons used for coupling and releasing the battery pack.
Conclusion
/AHMED H OMAR/ Examiner, Art Unit 2859