Claim Objections
Claims 17-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In line 3, “the first one or more battery cells” and the “second one or more battery cells” are missing articles (i.e., “a first one or more battery cells” or “a second one or more battery cells)
In lines 6 and 7, “proximal to plurality of battery cells” should read “proximal to the plurality of battery cells”.
Appropriate correction is required. Claims 18-20 are objected to due to dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 10-12, 14, and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khozikov (US 20220115878 A1) in view of Hettrich (US 20200168959 A1, cited in the 9/24/2024 IDS).
Regarding Claim 1, Khozikov teaches a battery assembly (Fig. 3, 0012 – battery pack) comprising first plurality of battery cells, a second plurality of battery cells, and a switch between the first and second plurality of battery cells (Fig. 3 – parts 4 and 48). The pluralities of battery cells and the switch are connected in series to a load (Fig. 1 – part 30; Fig. 3 – parts 38a and 38b).
The battery assembly also comprises a controller configured to open the switch and disconnect the first plurality of battery cells from the second plurality of battery cells (0061, 0063 – the SMDU 28 includes a smart controller/disconnect system for implementing battery and electrical protection/isolation of the battery string in case of failure).
Khozikov teaches that the controller determines a failure and opens the switch based on a signals from monitoring units that measure the state of each battery module and a mid-point current sensor (0012, 0061, 0063, Fig. 3 – parts 6a and 6b) but does not teach that the monitoring units and sensors measure the air pressure proximal to the first and second pluralities of battery cells and that the controller opens the switch based off the air pressure proximal to the first and second pluralities of battery cells falling below a threshold level.
Hettrich teaches that a battery with excessive or insufficient pressure can damage electrochemical cells(s) and result in a reduction in capacity, an increase in impedance, or a safety event (0003). A battery module that comprises a housing (Fig. 1, part 114), a plurality of battery cells within the housing (Fig. 1, part 116), and a pressure sensor within the housing (Fig. 1, part 108). When a sensor measures that the pressure is too low or too high, based on comparing the measured value with a predetermined value, the battery can be shut down by opening contactors/switches (0174; Table 3).
Although the pressure values provided by Hettrich are directed towards a battery in an electric car (0174), Hettrich teaches that this system can also be used in batteries for airplanes (0078) and it would be within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the shutdown values/pressure thresholds depending on the application.
Khozikov and Hettrich are considered analogous to the claimed invention as they relate to the same field of endeavor, namely safety systems for batteries.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the monitoring units and sensors of Khozikov to include pressure sensors and to have modified the controller to include low pressure as a failure mode as Hettrich teaches that low pressure can damage electrochemical cells and/or create a safety event.
Regarding Claim 2, modified Khozikov teaches the assembly of Claim 1. The assembly comprises sensors configured to monitor the air pressure proximal to the first and second pluralities of battery cells and to output a sense signal (Hettrich: 0065, Fig. 1, parts 108 and 114 – sensors can be used to monitor the pressure inside a battery housing; Khozikov: 0061, 0063 – monitoring units/sensors measure the state of each battery module and output a sense signal through to the controller through data buses 7a and 7b).
The controller is configured to open the switch and disconnect the first plurality of battery cells from the second plurality of battery cells, based at least in part on the sense signal (Khozikov: 0015, 0063 – the SMDU/controller opens the switch in case of failure, which is determined at least in part from the signals received by the monitoring units and mid-point sensor; Hettrich: 0174, Table 3: when a sensor measures that the pressure is too low or too high, based on comparing the measured value with a predetermined value, the battery can be shut down by opening contactors/switches).
Regarding Claim 4, modified Khozikov teaches the assembly of Claim 1. The switch is a first switch and the battery assembly further comprises a second switch between the first plurality of battery cells and a first load terminal configured to be connected to the load (Khozikov: Fig. 3 – parts 4, 8, and 38a), and a third switch between the second plurality of battery cells and a second load terminal configured to be connected to the load (Khozikov: Fig. 3 – parts 4, 8, and 38b), such that the second switch, the first plurality of battery cells, the first switch, the second plurality of battery cells, and the third switch are connected in series between the first and second load terminals (Khozikov: Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 5, modified Khozikov teaches the assembly of Claim 1. Modified Khozikov teaches that the controller opens the first switch based at least in part on the air pressure proximal to the first and second pluralities of battery cells (Khozikov: 0015, 0063 – the SMDU/controller opens the switch in case of failure, which is determined at least in part from the signals received by the monitoring units; Hettrich: 0174, Table 3: when a sensor measures that the pressure is too low or too high, the battery can be shut down by opening contactors/switches). Modified Khozikov further teaches that the controller can also open the second and third switches in case of a failure such as low air pressure proximal to the first and second pluralities of battery cells (Khozikov: 0016 – the string contactors 8, which are the second and third switches, can be opened after opening the mid-point disconnect, which is the first switch; 0081 – the string contactors are opened based on the signals received by the SMDU/controller; Hettrich: 0174, Table 3: when a sensor measures that the pressure is too low or too high, based on comparing the measured value with a predetermined value, the battery can be shut down by opening contactors/switches).
Regarding Claim 10, modified Khozikov teaches the battery assembly of Claim 1, which comprises a first plurality of battery cells, a second plurality of battery cells, a first switch between the first and second pluralities of battery cells, a second switch between the first plurality of battery cells and the load, and a third switch between the second plurality of battery cells and the load (Khozikov: Fig. 3).
The assembly also comprises sensors configured to monitor the air pressure proximal to the first and second pluralities of battery cells and to output a sense signal (Hettrich: 0065, Fig. 1, parts 108 and 114 – sensors can be used to monitor the pressure inside a battery housing; Khozikov: 0061, 0063 – monitoring units/sensors measure the state of each battery module and output a sense signal through to the controller through data buses 7a and 7b) and a controller is configured to open the switch and disconnect the first plurality of battery cells from the second plurality of battery cells, based at least in part on the sense signal (Khozikov: 0015, 0063 – the SMDU/controller opens the switch in case of failure, which is determined at least in part from the signals received by the monitoring units and mid-point sensor; Hettrich: 0174, Table 3: when a sensor measures that the pressure is too low or too high, based on comparing the measured value with a predetermined value, the battery can be shut down by opening contactors/switches).
Modified Khozikov also teaches a method operating the battery assembly, comprising supplying power from a first plurality of battery cells and a second plurality of battery cells to a load (Khozikov: 0050, Fig. 1 – the battery pack/assembly supplies power to a motor), wherein a first switch is between the first plurality of battery cells and the second plurality of battery cells, wherein a second switch is between the first plurality of battery cells and the load, and wherein a third switch is between the second plurality of battery cells and the load (Khozikov: Fig. 3),
monitoring one or more sense signals output by corresponding one or more sensors, the one of more sense signals indicative of air pressure proximate to the battery assembly (Hettrich: Fig. 1, part 114 – sensors can be used to monitor the pressure inside a battery housing; Khozikov: 0061, 0063 – monitoring units/sensors measure the state of each battery module and output a sense signal through to the controller through data buses 7a and 7b),
and controlling the first, second, and third switches based at least in part on the one or more sense signals (Khozikov: 0015, 0016, 0063 – the string contactors 8, which are the second and third switches, can be opened after opening the mid-point disconnect, which is the first switch; 0081 – the string contactors are opened based on the signals received by the SMDU/controller; Hettrich: 0174, Table 3: when a sensor measures that the pressure is too low or too high, based on comparing the measured value with a predetermined value, the battery can be shut down by opening contactors/switches).
Regarding Claim 11, modified Khozikov teaches the method of Claim 10. Modified Khozikov teaches that controlling the first, second, and third switches comprises opening one or more of the first, second, and third switches in response to the measured air pressure being less than a threshold pressure value (Khozikov: 0015, 0016, 0063 – the string contactors 8, which are the second and third switches, can be opened after opening the mid-point disconnect, which is the first switch; 0081 – the string contactors are opened based on the signals received by the SMDU/controller; Hettrich: 0174, Table 3: when a sensor measures that the pressure is too low or too high, based on comparing the measured value with a predetermined value, the battery can be shut down by opening contactors/switches).
Regarding Claim 12, modified Khozikov teaches the method of Claim 10. Modified Khozikov teaches that the battery pack/assembly is located within an aircraft (Khozikov: 0008). The one or more sensors are configured to output the one or more sense signals indicative of a pressure event when the air pressure is outside of a predetermined range (Hettrich: 0065, Fig. 1, parts 108 and 114 – sensors can be used to monitor the pressure inside a battery housing; Khozikov: 0061, 0063 – monitoring units/sensors measure the state of each battery module and output a sense signal through to the controller through data buses 7a and 7b; Hettrich: 0174, Table 3: when a sensor measures that the pressure is too low or too high, based on comparing the measured value with a predetermined value, the battery can be shut down by opening contactors/switches).
Regarding Claim 14, modified Khozikov teaches the method of Claim 10. Modified Khozikov teaches that a first number of battery cells in the first plurality of battery cells and a second number of battery cells in the second plurality of battery cells are equal (Khozikov: Fig. 3 – both the first and second pluralities of battery cells include four battery modules 4; 0058, Fig. 2A – each battery module comprises the same number of individual cells).
Regarding Claim 17, modified Khozikov teaches the battery assembly of Claim 1 which can be used in an aircraft (Khozikov: 0008).
Therefore, modified Khozikov teaches a system comprising an aircraft (Khozikov: 0008),
a plurality of battery cells comprising a first group of one or more battery cells and a second group of one or more battery cells (Figs. 2A and 3 – battery modules 4), wherein the aircraft is fully or at least partially powered by the plurality of battery cells (Khozikov: 0008 – battery packs can be used for airborne electric propulsion systems),
a sensor configured to output a sense signal that is indicative of air pressure proximal to the plurality of battery cells (Hettrich: 0065, Fig. 1, parts 108 and 114 – sensors can be used to monitor the pressure inside a battery housing; Khozikov: 0061, 0063 – monitoring units/sensors measure the state of each battery module and output a sense signal through to the controller through data buses 7a and 7b),
and a controller configured to, in response to the sense signal indicative of the air pressure being less than a threshold value, disconnect the first one or more battery cells from the second one or more battery cells (Khozikov: 0061, 0063, Fig. 3 – the SMDU 28 includes a smart controller/disconnect system that disconnects the first group of battery cells from the second group of battery cells in case of failure by opening a contactor between the two groups; Hettrich: 0174, Table 3: when a sensor measures that the pressure is too low or too high, based on comparing the measured value with a predetermined value, the battery can be shut down by opening contactors/switches)
Regarding Claim 18, modified Khozikov teaches the system of Claim 17. The system comprises a switch between the first one or more battery cells and the second one or more battery cells (Khozikov: Fig. 3 – part 48), wherein to disconnect the first one or more battery cells from the second one or more battery cells, the controller is configured to issue a control signal that causes the switch to transition to an open state (Khozikov: 0063 – the SMDU/controller performs a protection function that opens the switch. Performing the protection function would necessarily involve issuing a control signal from the controller).
Regarding Claim 19, modified Khozikov teaches the system of Claim 17. The system further comprises a first switch and a second switch, and a first load terminal and a second load terminal, wherein the plurality of battery cells is coupled to the first and second load terminals through the first switch and the second switch, respectively (Khozikov: Fig. 3 – bus bars 38a and 38b, which can be viewed as load terminals, are coupled to the plurality of battery cells through the switches 8).
The controller is further configured to, in response to the sense signal indicative of the air pressure being less than the threshold value, issue one or more control signals that cause the first and second switch to transition to an open state (Khozikov: 0015, 0016, 0063 – the string contactors 8, which are the first and second switches, can be opened after opening the mid-point disconnec; 0081 – the string contactors are opened based on the signals received by the SMDU/controller. Opening the contactors would necessarily involve issuing one or more control signals from the controller; Hettrich: 0174, Table 3: when a sensor measures that the pressure is too low or too high, based on comparing the measured value with a predetermined value, the battery can be shut down by opening contactors/switches)
Claim(s) 6-9, 15, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khozikov and Hettrich as applied to claims 1, 10, and 17 above, and further in view of Hartmann (US 20160226114 A1).
Regarding Claim 6, modified Khozikov teaches the assembly of Claim 1. Modified Khozikov teaches that the battery string is contained within a battery pack (0012) but does not explicitly disclose that the battery pack comprises an enclosure.
Hartmann teaches that a battery pack for a vehicle such as an airplane (0006) can comprise an external housing (enclosure) in order to protect the battery pack from impact and separation (0105).
Hartmann is considered analogous to the claimed invention as it relates to the same field of endeavor, namely batteries.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery pack of modified Khozikov to be contained within an enclosure in order to protect it from impact and separation.
The battery pack, which comprises the first and second pluralities of battery cells can then be viewed as being contained within an enclosure, wherein the enclosure includes one or more load terminals configured for coupling with the load (Khozikov: 0012, 0052, Fig. 1 – the battery pack is connected to positive and negative busbars which couple to a load).
Regarding Claim 7, modified Khozikov teaches the battery assembly of Claim 6. Modified Khozikov teaches that the controller (smart mid-point disconnect unit) is located within the battery pack (Khozikov: 0012, Fig. 3) and would therefore be located in the enclosure.
Regarding Claims 8 and 9, modified Khozikov teaches the battery assembly of Claim 6. Modified Khozikov teaches that the assembly comprises sensors configured to monitor the air pressure proximal to the first and second pluralities of battery cells and to output a sense signal (Hettrich: 0065, Fig. 1, parts 108 and 114 – sensors can be used to monitor the pressure inside a battery housing; Khozikov: 0061, 0063 – monitoring units/sensors measure the state of each battery module and output a sense signal through to the controller through data buses 7a and 7b). The sensors are located within the battery pack (Fig. 3) and would therefore be within the enclosure (Claim 8). As the sensors are located within the enclosure, their air pressure readings (air pressure proximal to the first and second pluralities of battery cells) would have to be an air pressure within the enclosure (Claim 9).
Regarding Claim 15, modified Khozikov teaches the method of Claim 10. Modified Khozikov teaches that monitoring the one or more sense signals comprises sensing, by a pressure sensor of the one or more sensors, the air pressure within the enclosure (Hettrich: 0065, Fig. 1, parts 108 and 114 – sensors can be used to monitor the pressure inside a battery housing; Khozikov: 0061, 0063 – monitoring units/sensors measure the state of each battery module and output a sense signal through to the controller through data buses 7a and 7b), and monitoring a sense signal output by the pressure sensors (Khozikov: 0061: the SMDU/controller receives electrical signals from the sensors representing the state of the batteries; Hettrich: 0174, Table 3: when a sensor measures that the pressure is too low or too high, based on comparing the measured value with a predetermined value, the battery can be shut down by opening contactors/switches).
Modified Khozikov teaches that the battery pack/assembly is within an aircraft (Khozikov: 0008) but does not teach that the first plurality and the second plurality of battery cells are within an enclosure.
Hartmann teaches that a battery pack for a vehicle such as an airplane (0006) can comprise an external housing (enclosure) in order to protect the battery pack from impact and separation (0105).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery pack of modified Khozikov, which contains the first and second pluralities of battery cells, to be contained within an enclosure in order to protect it from impact and separation.
Regarding Claim 20, modified Khozikov teaches the system of Claim 17. Modified Khozikov teaches that the battery pack/assembly is within an aircraft (Khozikov: 0008) but does not teach that the plurality of battery cells and the sensor are within an enclosure within the aircraft.
Hartmann teaches that a battery pack for a vehicle such as an airplane (0006) can comprise an external housing (enclosure) in order to protect the battery pack from impact and separation (0105).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery pack of modified Khozikov, which contains the first and second pluralities of battery cells, to be contained within an enclosure in order to protect it from impact and separation.
As the sensor measure the air pressure proximal to the battery cells and the battery cells are within an enclosure, the sensor would measure and output a sense signal that is indicative of the air pressure within the enclosure.
Claim(s) 3 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khozikov and Hettrich as applied to claims 1 and 10 above, and further in view of Hartmann (US 20160226114 A1), Brooks (US 20200354078 A1), and Liu (CN 109738805 A, machine translation provided).
Regarding Claim 3, modified Khozikov teaches the assembly of Claim 1. The assembly comprises sensors configured to monitor the air pressure proximal to the first and second pluralities of battery cells and to output a sense signal (Hettrich: 0065, Fig. 1, parts 108 and 114 – sensors can be used to monitor the pressure inside a battery housing; Khozikov: 0061, 0063 – monitoring units/sensors measure the state of each battery module and output a sense signal through to the controller through data buses 7a and 7b).
The controller is configured to open the switch and disconnect the first plurality of battery cells from the second plurality of battery cells, based at least in part on the sense signal (Khozikov: 0015, 0063 – the SMDU/controller opens the switch in case of failure, which is determined at least in part from the signals received by the monitoring units and mid-point sensor; Hettrich: 0174, Table 3: when a sensor measures that the pressure is too low or too high, based on comparing the measured value with a predetermined value, the battery can be shut down by opening contactors/switches).
Modified Khozikov does not teach that the sensors output a signal indicative of an altitude of the battery assembly based on the air pressure or that the controller is configured to open the switch based at least in part on the sense signal being indicative of the sensed altitude being higher than a threshold altitude.
Brooks teaches that air pressure can be used to determine altitude and that a pressure detector measuring air pressure also measures the altitude (Abstract, 0068). Similarly, Liu teaches that air pressure is inversely correlated to altitude (Table 1). Brooks further teaches that a controller can be configured to open or close a switch between a power supply and a load based on if a measured altitude exceeds a pre-set altitude or not (Brooks: Abstract).
Brooks and Liu are considered analogous to the claimed invention as they relate to the same field of endeavor, namely batteries at high altitudes.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the sensors of modified Khozikov to output a signal indicative of an altitude based on the air pressure as Brooks and Liu teach that air pressure can be directly converted to altitude and to modify the controller of modified Khozikov to open the switch based on if the sensed altitude is higher than a threshold/pre-set altitude as Brooks and Liu teach that air pressure can be directly converted to altitude and that a controller that opens a switch can base the opening on if a measured altitude exceeds a pre-set altitude or not. Doing so would provide nothing more than the predictable results of a controller that opens a switch based on if a measured altitude is too high rather than if a measure air pressure is too low. The combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results (see MPEP 2143 A).
Regarding Claim 16, modified Khozikov teaches the method of Claim 10. Modified Khozikov teaches sensing an air pressure within the enclosure (Hettrich: Fig. 1, part 114 – sensors can be used to monitor the pressure inside a battery housing; Khozikov: 0061, 0063 – monitoring units/sensors measure the state of each battery module and output a sense signal through to the controller through data buses 7a and 7b) and monitoring a sense signal output by the sensor (Khozikov: 0081 – signals received by the SMDU/controller determine if a switch is opened). Modified Khozikov does not teach that the first plurality of battery cells and the second plurality of battery cells are within an enclosure within the aircraft or that the sensor senses an altitude of the enclosure based on the air pressure within the enclosure.
Hartmann teaches that a battery pack for a vehicle such as an airplane (0006) can comprise an external housing (enclosure) in order to protect the battery pack from impact and separation (0105).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery pack/assembly of the method of modified Khozikov, which contains the first and second pluralities of battery cells, to be contained within an enclosure in order to protect it from impact and separation.
Modified Khozikov teaches that the sensors of the one or more sensors senses the air pressure within the enclosure (the sensors are located within the battery pack which are within the enclosure and would therefore sense the pressure in the enclosure) but does not teach that the sensors sense an altitude of the enclosure based on the air pressure.
Brooks teaches that air pressure can be used to determine altitude and that a pressure detector measuring air pressure also measures the altitude (Abstract, 0068). Similarly, Liu teaches that air pressure is inversely correlated to altitude (Table 1). Brooks further teaches that a controller can be configured to open or close a switch between a power supply and a load based on if a measured altitude exceeds a pre-set altitude or not (Brooks: Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the sensors of the one or more sensors of modified Khozikov to sense altitude based on air pressure as Brooks and Liu teach that air pressure can be used to determine altitude and to have modified the controller of modified Khozikov to open a switch based on if the sensed altitude is higher than a threshold/pre-set altitude as Brooks and Liu teach that air pressure can be directly converted to altitude and that a controller that opens a switch can base the opening on if a measured altitude exceeds a pre-set altitude or not.. This would provide nothing more than the predictable results of a sensor that senses air pressure and outputs the altitude based on the air pressure and a controller than monitors the sensed altitude rather than the sensed air pressure. The combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results (see MPEP 2143 A).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khozikov and Hettrich as applied to claims 10 above, and further in view of Ing (US 20190033164 A1).
Regarding Claim 13, modified Khozikov teaches the method of Claim 10. The battery assembly is used to at least partially power the aircraft (Khozikov: 0008) and would necessarily be installed in some section of the aircraft. Modified Khozikov does not teach regulating the air pressure within that section of the aircraft.
Ing teaches a battery that can be used in a vehicle such as an airplane (0073) and a method of detecting leakage and other issues with the battery housing (Abstract). The method involves using a compressor and/or vacuum pump to alter the air pressure within the battery housing.
Ing is considered analogous to the claimed invention as it relates to the same field of endeavor, namely safety measures for batteries.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the method of operating a battery assembly of modified Khozikov to further include the method taught by Ing in order to be able to detect leakage and other issues with the battery housing.
The altering of the air pressure can be viewed as regulating the pressure in the section of the aircraft.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khozikov and Hettrich as applied to claims 10 above, and further in view of Huang (US 20230093863 A1).
Regarding Claim 13, modified Khozikov teaches the method of Claim 10. The battery assembly is used to at least partially power the aircraft (Khozikov: 0008) and would necessarily be installed in some section of the aircraft. Modified Khozikov does not teach regulating the air pressure within that section of the aircraft.
Huang teaches battery cells with pressure relief mechanisms (Abstract). The pressure relief mechanism opens when an air pressure or temperature inside a battery is increased to some extent and allows for the release of internal gas to prevent the battery from exploding (0004). The batteries that include pressure relief mechanisms can be used inside airplanes (0080).
Huang is considered analogous to the claimed invention as it relates to the same field of endeavor, namely pressure safety measures for batteries.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery cells of modified Khozikov to include pressure relief mechanisms as taught by Huang in order to prevent the batteries from exploding.
The pressure relief mechanisms would be considered a form of regulating pressure within that section of the aircraft.
Conclusion
/ZIHENG LU/Examiner, Art Unit 1752
/NICHOLAS A SMITH/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752