Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to the amendments filed May 4, 2026. Claims 1, 13, and 20 are amended. Claims 1-20 are pending and addressed below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 under 35 USC 102(a)(1) have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Seo fails to teach every feature recited in claim 1, where the missing feature is to “receive, from a wearable device, target motion information of the wearable device, the target motion information corresponding to a motion performed by a user during a target period in a state in which the user is wearing the wearable device”. Applicant specifically states that the first torque pattern of Seo refers to a stored walking condition (page 11). However, examiner states that Seo discloses receiving from the wearable device an unstored torque pattern (see at least [0146-0147] and Fig. 12 of Seo). Specifically, operation 1210 stores a received pattern, where the walking aid apparatus 230 is disclosed to transmit a “state of operation according to a set torque pattern to the torque pattern adjustment apparatus 220” (Seo, [0076]), where “the state of operation” is the target motion information corresponding to the torque pattern and the “torque pattern” is the target motion information corresponding to a motion performed by a user received from a wearable device. There exists a feedback loop of receiving from and transmitting to a wearable device target motion information (see at least Fig. 2 of Seo). For at least these reasons, examiner maintains that Seo anticipates the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6, 9-15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Seo (US20160058646A1 from the IDS).
Regarding claims 1 and 13, Seo discloses an electronic device and a method of generating a motion control model for controlling a wearable device, performed by an electronic device, the device and method comprising:
a communication module, comprising communication circuitry, configured to exchange data with an external device; and
[0067] of Seo, “The transmitter 150 may transmit the second torque pattern generated in the generator 120 to an external apparatus.”
at least one processor comprising processing circuitry and configured to control the electronic device,
[0016] of Seo, “According to an example embodiment, a torque pattern adjustment method includes displaying a first torque pattern corresponding to a gait cycle, receiving, through an input device, an input instructing an adjustment of the first torque pattern, and generating, using a processor, a second torque pattern by adjusting at least a portion of the first torque pattern based on the received input.”
wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
receive, from a wearable device, target motion information of the wearable device, the target motion information corresponding to a motion performed by a user during a target period in a state in which the user is wearing the wearable device,
Seo discloses receiving, from a wearable device ([0076]), target motion information of the wearable device, the target motion information corresponding to a motion performed by a user ([0064], “first torque pattern corresponding to a gait cycle”) during a target period ([0092], “the first torque pattern may be indicated as a waveform of a torque that corresponds to each point in time of the gait cycle.”, see also Figs. 5 and 6 for exemplary gait cycles) in a state in which a user is wearing the wearable device, ([0074], “The user 210 adjusting the torque pattern through the torque pattern adjustment apparatus 220 may be a third party, who is not wearing a walking aid apparatus, and/or a user wearing the walking aid apparatus. The third party may be, for example, a medical expert, a rehabilitation expert, and an assistant assisting the user wearing the walking aid apparatus.”)
provide the user the target motion information of the wearable device based on the target period and basic torque information mapped to at least the target motion information,
[0064] of Seo, “The display 110 may display a first torque pattern corresponding to a gait cycle. The gait cycle may be set based on a single step of a user as a reference, and the first torque pattern may be set to correspond to each point in time of the gait cycle.” See Figs. 5 and 6 for exemplary gait cycles, where a display shows torque information of a gait with respect to time of the gait.
receive an input for modifying at least a portion of the basic torque information from the user,
[0059] of Seo, “The user may intuitively perform the adjustment of the first torque pattern displayed on the display 110, using an input from an input device.”
generate modified torque information based on the basic torque information and the input, and
[0057] of Seo, “The generator 120 may adjust the first torque pattern displayed on the display 110, based on the input instructing the adjustment of the first torque pattern, thereby generating the second torque pattern appropriate for the user.”
generate a motion control model for controlling the wearable device based on the target motion information and the modified torque information,
[0075] of Seo, “The torque pattern adjusted in the torque pattern adjustment apparatus 220 may be transmitted to a walking aid apparatus 230. The walking aid apparatus 230 may receive the adjusted torque pattern and apply the adjusted torque pattern to a walking condition corresponding to the adjusted torque pattern.”
wherein an operation of the wearable device is to be controlled based on the motion control model.
[0075] of Seo, “Thus, a user may be provided with an efficient walking aid by applying the adjusted or optimized torque pattern.”
Regarding claim 2, with all of the limitations of claim 1, the device further comprises:
a display configured to output the target motion information and the basic torque information to the user.
[0048] of Seo, “The display 110 may display a first torque pattern corresponding to a gait cycle. The gait cycle may be set based on a single step of a user as a reference, and the first torque pattern may be set to correspond to each point in time of the gait cycle. The first torque pattern may be applied to a joint of the user participating a walking.”
Regarding claims 3 and 14, with all of the limitations of claims 2 and 13, the device and method further comprise:
as at least part of the input, a drag input of the user with respect to the basic torque information output to a display in the form of a trajectory.
[0082] of Seo, “When the user provides the input 320, selects the arrow 330, and drags the arrow 330 in a same direction to the direction indicated by the arrow 330, intensity of a torque corresponding to the direction in which the lower limb moves backward may increase. In contrast, when the user provide the input 320, select the arrow 330, and drags the arrow 330 in an opposite direction to the direction indicated by the arrow 330, the intensity of the torque corresponding to the direction in which the lower limb moves backward may decrease.” See Figs. 3-6 as an example.
Regarding claims 4 and 15, with all of the limitations of claims 2 and 13, the device and method further comprise:
from the user as at least part of the input, a first torque value with respect to a first time within the target period and/or a first motion within target motion mapped to the first time.
[0089] of Seo, “Although the descriptions of FIGS. 3 and 4 is provided based on the torque pattern applied to the hip joint of the user for ease of description, the torque pattern is not limited thereto. It would be obvious to those skilled in the art that the user may adjust a torque pattern applied to, for example, a knee joint and an ankle joint used for a walking motion.”, where the adjustable system would also be able to adjust a first motion within the target motion mapped to the first time.
Regarding claims 6 and 17, with all of the limitations of claims 1 and 13, the device and method further comprise:
when the user performs target motion corresponding to the target motion information while wearing the wearable device, the wearable device is to output a torque based on the modified torque information during the target motion.
[0076-0077] of Seo, “Also, the walking aid apparatus 230 may transmit a state of operation according to a set torque pattern to the torque pattern adjustment apparatus 220. Based on the state received from the walking aid apparatus 230, the torque pattern adjustment apparatus 220 may verify whether the currently set torque pattern is appropriate for the user, and/or adjust the torque pattern based on a result of the verification. The torque pattern adjustment apparatus 220 may remotely adjust the torque pattern and transmit the adjusted torque pattern to the walking aid apparatus 230 such that the adjusted torque pattern is applied. Thus, the torque pattern adjustment apparatus 220 may set a torque pattern appropriate for the user in real time, and provide the torque pattern to the walking aid apparatus 230.
Regarding claims 9 and 18, with all of the limitations of claims 1 and 13, the device and method further comprise:
receive first torque information with respect to the first time within the target period from the user, and
[0076] of Seo, “Also, the walking aid apparatus 230 may transmit a state of operation according to a set torque pattern to the torque pattern adjustment apparatus 220. Based on the state received from the walking aid apparatus 230, the torque pattern adjustment apparatus 220 may verify whether the currently set torque pattern is appropriate for the user, and/or adjust the torque pattern based on a result of the verification.”
generate the basic torque information based on the first torque information
See Figs. 3-8 of Seo. The figures show a torque pattern adjustment apparatus that displays the basic torque information of the period of torque.
Regarding claims 10 and 19, with all of the limitations of claims 9 and 18, the device and method further comprise:
wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
determine a second time within the target period,
See Figs. 5 and 6 of Seo. Two times are shown in the target period, where the second time corresponding to a second torque pattern 550 is shown below.
generate second torque information with respect to the second time based on the first time and the first torque information, and
[0098] of Seo, “Further, the torque pattern adjustment apparatus 510 may provide a second torque pattern 550 generated by adjusting, for example, the intensity and the position of the peak 530 and the position of the base 540 in the first torque pattern based on the input 520, to the user, virtually in real time.”
generate the basic torque information based on the first torque information and the second torque information.
See Figs. 5 and 6 of Seo. Both first torque information and second torque information, where the second torque information is formed from adjusting a first time of a first torque information.
Regarding claim 11, with all of the limitations of claim 9, the device further comprises:
wherein the first torque information comprises at least one of direction information or magnitude information of a torque output at the first time.
See Fig. 4 of Seo. The first torque information is shown to have direction information and magnitude of the torque information ([0086]).
Regarding claim 12, with all of the limitations of claim 9, the device further comprises:
a microphone configured to receive an utterance of the user, wherein the at least one processor is con figured to generate the first torque information based on the utterance.
[0150] of Seo, “The units and/or modules described herein may be implemented using hardware components and software components. For example, the hardware components may include microphones, amplifiers, band-pass filters, audio to digital convertors, and processing devices.”
Regarding claim 20, Seo discloses an electronic device, comprising:
a communication module, comprising communication circuitry, configured to exchange data with an external device; and
See the rationale of claims 1 and 13.
at least one processor configured to control the electronic device, wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
See the rationales of claim 1 and 13.
Receive, from a wearable device, target motion information of the wearable device, the target motion information corresponding to a motion performed by a user during a target period in a state in which the user is wearing the wearable device,
See Fig. 2 of Seo, where the torque pattern is sent to display 220 for a user 210 to adjust the pattern.
receive first torque information with respect to a first time within the target period from the user,
See Fig. 5 of Seo, where display 510 is an embodiment that shows a torque pattern as a waveform of torque of a gait cycle received from the wearable device ([0092]).
generate basic torque information based on the first torque information, and
See Fig. 5 of Seo, the waveform of torque displayed is based on the gait of the wearable device.
generate a motion control model for controlling the wearable device based on the target motion information and the basic torque information.
See Fig. 2 of Seo, where the display 220 is used by a user 210 to send control commands to adjust the torque of the walking aid apparatus 230 ([0075]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo (US20160058646A1 from the IDS).
Regarding claim 7, with all of the limitations of claim 1, the device further comprises:
wherein the torque is to be output and/or generated by at least a motor disposed in a joint of the wearable device.
While Seo does not explicitly disclose that the torque is output and/or generated by at least a motor disposed in a joint of the wearable device, Seo discloses that the present disclosure may be applicable to a walking aid apparatus that supports an entire lower limb ([0070]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious, prior to the applicant’s effective filing date, that a system aimed to assist walking through providing support would be one that has a rotatable joint rotatable by the motion of a user’s leg, where the rotatable joint would provide assistance through the use of a motor.
Regarding claim 8, with all of the limitations of claim 1, the device further comprises:
wherein the motion control model comprises a first model for a left leg of the wearable device and a second model for a right leg of the wearable device.
[0070] of Seo, “The present disclosure may be applicable to a walking aid apparatus that supports an entire lower limb, or a walking aid apparatus that supports a portion of a lower limb.”
One of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious that each leg would require its own control model.
Claims 5 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo (US20160058646A1 from the IDS) in view of Choi (“Angel-suit: a Modularized Lower-limb Wearable Robot for Assistance of People with Partially Impaired Walking Ability” from the IDS).
Regarding claims 5 and 16, with all of the limitations of claims 4 and 15, the device and method further comprise:
determine an interpolation torque value with respect to at least a portion of the target motion for which a torque value is not designated, based on the first torque value, and
While Seo does not explicitly disclose the limitation above, from a similar field of endeavor, Choi discloses an assistive wearable robot system that aids people with partially impaired walking ability (Abstract). Specifically, Choi discloses a system that allows a user to adjust the instances and magnitudes of peak torques, where the remaining torque parts are automatically interpolated to prevent any discontinuity or impulse.
One of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious, prior to the applicant’s effective filing date, to include the system of Choi to the system of Seo as discontinuous regions or large impulse values could cause harm to a user of the device described by Seo. The inclusion of Choi would reduce the amount of user harm without extra effort needed through tuning.
generate the modified torque information based on the first torque value and the interpolation torque value.
In light of the rationale above regarding the limitation of “determine an interpolation torque value with respect to at least a portion of the target motion …”, Choi discloses that the adjustments are to the instances and magnitudes of peak torque, where the new torque information would be comprised of the instances of new torque value based off the first torque value and the interpolated torque value adjusted in response to the new torque values.
Conclusion
/J.J./Examiner, Art Unit 3656
/WADE MILES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3656