Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-10, in the reply filed on March 11th, 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 11-20 are withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
1) PCR chip configured to store a PCR sample as in cl. 1
2) Light source part configured to generate laser light…as in cl. 1.
3) Code generator…configured to transmit an orthogonal code…as in cl. 1
1) A sample holder, and equivalents thereof, as seen in pars.[0039,0043,0052], fig. 5 of Applicant’s pre-grant publication US 2023/0408410)
2) At least one laser light source or LED source*** and equivalents thereof (see pars.[0006,0010,0039,0058]), however, clarification is required with respect to the choice of LED source.
3) Those elements and equivalents thereof as seen through pars.[0005,0039,0048,0050].
Further, with regard to the preamble of the claims drawn to “A PCR diagnosis apparatus,” no patentable weight is attributed to the preamble as the body of the claim is absent both PCR and diagnostic equipment therewith, and thus the preamble merely presents a statement of intended use. MPEP 2111.02 II.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As discussed above, the recitation “light source part configured to generate laser light…” as in claim 1 is interpreted under 35 USC 112 F/6th. The disclosure as in pars.[0006,0010,0039,0058] discusses constituent structure as at least one laser source or LED, however, the provision to an LED is not clearly understood.
The functionality provided to the light source part is a configuration to generate laser light, wherein an LED’s providing of laser light renders the metes and bounds unclear. Does Applicant intend to recite that the light source part is configured to generate light, and subsequently in a dependent claim limit this light to laser light?
For purposes of Examination at this time, both lasers and LEDs will be said to meet the recitation of the “light source part configured to generate laser light…”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Treptow et al. (US 2010/0324834), hereafter Treptow.
With regard to claim 1, Treptow discloses a device and method for radiometric measurement of a plurality of samples (abstract). With regard to claim 1, Treptow discloses a PCR diagnosis apparatus comprising a PCR chip 5 [Examiner notes that ‘PCR’ is drawn to a nominal designation of the chip, wherein the chip itself does not provide any functionality besides holding and no particular PCR assay functionality] including receptacles 50/51 (i.e. the PCR chip is a well plate), a light source part configured to generate a laser light to be provided to the PCR sample (i.e. comprised of a plurality of LEDs 31, 32, 33, 37; and wherein a plurality of lasers are also applicable as in par.[0067,0143]), an optical modulator 34 (circuitry substrate to activate the LEDs), a sensor 6 (and including elements 60-63) configured to detect fluorescent light generated in the PCR sample by the laser light, and a code generator 2 connected between the optical modulator and the sensor and configured to transmit an orthogonal code to the optical modulator and the sensor (the sample radiations from all samples are distinguishable from each other by utilizing multiplexing techniques in implementing at least one of FDMA, CDMA, TDMA, WDMA or phase multiplexing methods and the control device is adapted to use a spread-spectrum code to generate the modulation signals and modulated by a specific code sequence taken from a set of orthogonal code sequences such as Hadamard code and the like (pars.[0124,0179,0229-0230,0266,0342-0346,0350,0367], figs. 1-3, 14, for example). Examiner further notes that Treptow discloses the chip holder 5 can comprise the thermoblock of a thermocycles which can be used for PCR (pars.[0110,0179]).
With regard to claim 2, Treptow discloses that the light source part comprises a first laser source configured to generate a first laser light and a second laser source connected (i.e. by common mounting) to the first laser light source and configured to generate second laser light having a longer wavelength than a wavelength of the first laser light(i.e. several light sources of different spectra are mounted in parallel to provide a broad spectrum in that from relatively short/high energy to relatively long/low energy wavelengths, and Treptow discloses modulation provided by WDMA to modulate the radiation sources at different wavelengths; pars.[0073,0074,0235,0261].
With regard to claim 10, Treptow discloses wherein the light source part comprises a plurality of laser diodes or light emitting diodes (pars.[0067,0143]), and further comprises optical fibers between the laser diodes or the light emitting diodes and the optical modulator and an optical fiber coupler (which is implicit given the discussion to optical fibers connected to the laser diodes/LEDs 31, 32, 33, 37 in order for the interfacing thereof such that radiation is input and passed therethrough) between the optical fibers and the optical modulator (par.[0373,0374], figs. 1, 16, wherein the radiation that is emitted by the laser diodes/LEDs is input to and directed by means of a respective optical fiber to thereby interrogate the sample containers 205, thus providing optical fibers between the modulator 34 (which is upstream of the emitters) and the laser diodes/LEDs 31,32,33,37.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 3-9 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record, namely Treptow, Muendel, Seo, Lee, Chandra, Christel, Ostuka (see further discussion below within the ‘Conclusion’ section to the cited prior art), does not teach or fairly suggest the apparatus as in claim 3 (and those further elements recited in combination therewith as by related dependent claims 4-9) to that of a semiconductor saturable absorber mirror connected to one side of the first optical fiber and a volume Bragg grating provided to another side of the first optical fiber.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Muendel et al. (US 2020/0412081) discloses a fiber-coupled laser light source with a semiconductor saturable mirror absorber, a pump light source and connected fiber optics, as well as a volume Bragg grating that enables pulse stretching contemporaneous with outcoupling that is pertinent to the missing features of the cited art of Treptow above and those additional prior art cited herein below, but whose disclosure is not analogous in nature to the cited prior art and those herein below and in which motivation to modify the cited prior art is not found.
Seo et al. (US 2022/0064702) discloses an apparatus and method for PCR diagnosis based on a multi-wavelength light source and utilizing a code generator to modulate the light source to particularly control and optically investigate the DNA sample, which is relevant to Applicant’s field of endeavor.
Lee et al. (US 2020/0011734) discloses a spectroscopic apparatus and method thereof using orthogonal codes to particularly modulate different light source channels to spectroscopically investigate a sample, which is relevant to Applicant’s field of endeavor.
Chandra (US 2013/0101983) discloses a non-contact real time micro PCR system with a chip comprising a reaction chamber for holding a sample and an embedded heater therebelow, as well as an optical unit comprising an LED driver and photodetector to detect fluorescence emission from the sample in the reaction chamber, and wherein the heater is provided with a signal condition to regulate power to the induction heater based on feedback from an infrared temperature sensor, which is considered relevant to Applicant’s field of endeavor.
Christel et al. (USPN 6,369,893) discloses a multi-channel optical detection system that includes a plurality of LEDs for investigating a DNA sample and fluorescence therefrom at a corresponding plurality of emission detectors in connection with PCR in which control logic is configured to adjust the brightness of the LEDs during operation, which is relevant to Applicant’s field of endeavor.
Otsuka et al. (JP 2010078559) discloses a fluorescence analyzer that modulates light by different modulation modes, as in by provided orthogonal codes, that are capable of separating fluorescence signals from a plurality of interrogated samples within a holder and including first and second laser sources configured to provide a first relatively shorter wavelength and a second relatively longer wavelength, respectively, and wherein the modulated excitation light is conducted through an optical fiber and coupling portion, which is relevant to Applicant’s field of endeavor.
/NEIL N TURK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1798