DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s reply filed 4/11/26. Claims 1-3, 10, 11 and 17 are amended. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “module” in claims 1-20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Claim 1 recites a method for extending the functionality of an interactive exercise platform. The limitation of coupling a tracker module to a console as a secondary console, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting “tracker module” and “the console,” nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind. For example, but for the “tracker module” and “the console,” language, “coupling” in the context of this claim encompasses the user manually checking a tracking device. Similarly, the limitations of: communicating are processes that, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. The same interpretation is applied to the remaining steps in claim 1. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim only recites a few additional elements - “tracker module” and “the console”. The “tracker module” and “the console” is recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor implementing a step) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of using “tracker module” and “the console,” amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible. Similar reasoning is applied to claims 2-20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 10-14, 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Publication No. 2022/0062706 A1 to Case, Jr. (hereinafter “Case, Jr.”).
Concerning claim 1, Case, Jr. discloses a method for extending functionality of an interactive exercise platform (paragraphs [0074]-[0080]), the method comprising:
coupling a tracker module to a console as a secondary console and establishing an electrical communication between the tracker module and the console, the tracker module comprising an associated tracker (paragraphs [0033], [0039], [0053], [0057], [0073]-[0075]- a user could use the article of clothing 600 with multiple modules 102 simultaneously mounted in the multiple module securing elements (e.g., 620(a), 620(b), etc.) without departing from the invention. In such a situation, the physical, physiological data, and/or other data produced by the sensing devices or other electronic devices associated with the modules 102 may be displayed to the user on one or more display devices in any desired manner, e.g., on individual display devices dedicated to each module 102, on a single display device according to a predetermined algorithm (e.g., in a repeated, changing manner), on a single display device based on user demand, etc. Alternatively, if desired, a clothing system 600 may be designed so as to permit operation of or with only one module 102 at a given time);
performing, by the console, an authentication of the tracker module (paragraphs [0005], [0006], [0018], [0075]-[0080] – authenticating/ on/off switching between the electronic module (Fig. 7, 102) and the display device (Fig. 7, 110) is established and used to start the tracking of the equipment); and
in response to the authentication being successful, communicating a result of the authentication to a display device to unlock one or more features associated with the tracker module or the display device (paragraphs [0030], [0039]);
receiving, at the console, user related data from the associated tracker in the module (paragraphs [0033], [0039], [0053], [0057], [0073]-[0075] – data is presented on the console based on different data collected from the associated trackers).
Concerning claim 2, Case, Jr. discloses further comprising: using the user-related data to determine a metric associated with a motion; using the metric to generate a set of user instructions; and communicating the set of user instructions to the display device (paragraphs [0016], [0035], [0053], [0054], [0056], [0080], [0084]).
Concerning claims 3 and 11, Case, Jr. discloses wherein the associated tracker in the tracker module comprises a heart rate sensor (paragraphs [0014], [0072], [0073]).
Concerning claims 4, 12, and 18, Case, Jr. discloses further comprising comparing the user-related data to existing data to determine whether the metric satisfies a condition (paragraph [0084]).
Concerning claims 5, 13, and 18, Case, Jr. discloses wherein the metric is associated with at least one of acceleration information or orientation information associated with at least one user (paragraphs [0038], [0072]).
Concerning claims 6, 14, and 19, Case, Jr. discloses, further comprising communicating the user-related data to a server to update one or more instructions in the set of user instructions and communicate the one or more instructions to the console (paragraphs [0051]).
Concerning claim 10, Case, Jr. discloses a console for interactive exercise and gaming (paragraphs [0074]-[0080]), the console comprising:
a set of tracker charging slots to receive a set of trackers; a first communication interface to communicate with the set of trackers; a receptacle to receive a tracker module comprising an associated tracker (paragraphs [0022], [0023], [0039], [0048], [0049], [0051], [0073]); and
a second communication interface to communicate with a display device. a processor (Fig. 7, paragraph [0051]); and
a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions that, when executed by the processor (Fig. 3, cause steps to be performed, the steps comprising:
in response to the tracker module being coupled to the receptacle, establishing an electrical communication with the tracker module; performing an authentication of the tracker module (paragraphs [0005], [0006], [0018], [0075]-[0080] – authenticating/ on/off switching between the electronic module (Fig. 7, 102) and the display device (Fig. 7, 110) is established and used to start the tracking of the equipment);
in response to the authentication being successful, communicating a result of the authentication to the display device to unlock one or more features associated with the tracker module (paragraphs [0030], [0039]);
in response to receiving user-related data from the tracker module, determining a metric associated with a motion to generate a set of user instructions; and communicating the set of user instructions to the display device (paragraphs [0016], [0035], [0053], [0054], [0056], [0080], [0084]).
Concerning claim 17, see the rejection of claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-9, 15, 16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Case, Jr. in view of US Publication No. 2023/0005591 A1 to Balakrishnan et al. (hereinafter “Balakrishnan”).
Concerning claims 7 and 15, Case, Jr. discloses wherein the console comprises a set of recesses that each, in response to a tracker being magnetically attached to the recess (paragraphs [0021], [0022], [0032], [0039], [0052],[ 0067]), however, lacks specifically disclosing, and Balakrishnan discloses inductively charges the tracker (paragraph [0094]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate inductive charging as disclosed by Balakrishnan in the system of Case, Jr. in order to improve durability by reducing wear and tear on device charging ports.
Concerning claim 8, Case, Jr. discloses wherein the console comprises a ferromagnetic material (paragraph [0021]).
Concerning claims 9 and 16, Case, Jr. discloses wherein the ferromagnetic material is least one of a permanent magnet or a magnetically conductive surface layer to magnetically couple to the tracker (paragraphs [0021], [0067]).
Concerning claim 20, Case, Jr. discloses wherein the console comprises a set of recesses that each, in response to a tracker being magnetically attached to the recess, the console further comprising a ferromagnetic material that is least one of a permanent magnet or a magnetically conductive surface layer to magnetically couple to the tracker (paragraphs [0021], [0022], [0032], [0039], [0052],[ 0067]), however, lacks specifically disclosing, and Balakrishnan discloses inductively charges the tracker (paragraph [0094]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate inductive charging as disclosed by Balakrishnan in the system of Case, Jr. in order to improve durability by reducing wear and tear on device charging ports.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/11/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. With respect to the 35 USC 101 rejection, Applicant argues the claims are not an abstract idea and are integrated into a practical application. However, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Other than reciting “tracker module” and “the console,” nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. These additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. Thus, the claims are not patent eligible.
With respect to the 35 USC 102 and 103 rejections, additional citations and explanations have been provided in the Office Action above to explain interpretation with respect to newly amended claims.
Conclusion
MALINA D. BLAISE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3715
/MALINA D. BLAISE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715