DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 and 4-12 are pending, and claims 1 and 4-6 are currently under review.
Claims 2-3 are cancelled.
Claims 7-12 are withdrawn.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 12/15/2025 has been entered. Claims 1 and 4-12 remain(s) pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the Claims have overcome each and every 112(b) rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 9/16/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo et al. (KR20190001493, US 2021/0147955 referred to as English translation) alone or alternatively further in view of Hayashi et al. (JP2005068548, machine translation referred to herein).
Regarding claim 1, Yoo et al. discloses a steel for hot stamping having a composition as seen in table 1 below [abstract, 0006]. The examiner notes that the overlap between the composition of Yoo et al. and that as claimed is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.05(I). Yoo et al. further teaches that the Ti forms precipitates of carbonitrides [0053]. Although Yoo et al. does not disclose that the precipitates serve to trap hydrogen, the examiner submits that this feature would naturally flow from the prior art because one of ordinary skill would understand that Ti precipitates would naturally be able to trap hydrogen.
Alternatively, Yoo et al. does not expressly teach that the precipitates are fine and trap hydrogen as claimed. However, the examiner submits that a similar, overlapping precipitate size and function would have naturally flowed from the disclosure of Yoo et al. See MPEP 2112 & MPEP 2144.05(I). The instant specification discloses obtaining the claimed steel by following process steps as seen in table 1 below. Yoo et al. also discloses an overlapping processing method as shown in table 1 below. One of ordinary skill would understand that steel microstructure, including precipitate parameters, are directly influenced by steel composition and processing. Since Yoo et al. discloses an overlapping steel composition and method of manufacture, a substantially similar, overlapping precipitate size and capability of trapping hydrogen would have naturally flowed absent concrete evidence to the contrary. See MPEP 2112 & MPEP 2144.05(I).
Alternatively, Yoo et al. does not teach that the precipitates are fine and trap hydrogen as claimed. Hayashi et al. discloses that precipitates of elements such as Ti are known to act as hydrogen trapping sites, and Hayashi et al. further discloses that it is known to control precipitates sizes to be 0.001 to 5 micrometers to achieve desirable properties and trapping effects [0015-0016]. The examiner submits that the aforementioned size of Hayashi et al. meets the limitation of “fine” according to broadest reasonable interpretation.
Hayashi et al. further teaches controlling precipitate parameters to have a size of 0.001 to 5 micrometers and a density of 100 to 10^13 per square millimeter (or approximately 0.0001 to 10^7 per square micrometer) to achieve desirable properties [0015-0017]. Hayashi et al. further discloses a narrow standard deviation overlapping with the claimed range (ie. includes all 100% of the particles meeting the aforementioned parameter) [0018]. The examiner notes that the above parameters overlap with those as claimed. See MPEP 2144.05(I). Hayashi et al. does not expressly teach an amount of activated hydrogen as claimed; however, this feature is met by the disclosure of Yoo et al. below.
Alternatively, Yoo et al. does not teach further precipitate parameters of number density or diameter; and Yoo et al. does not expressly teach an amount of activated hydrogen as claimed. However, as stated above, since Yoo et al. discloses an overlapping steel composition and method of manufacture, substantially similar, overlapping precipitate parameters of number density, diameter, and interparticle distance would have naturally flowed absent concrete evidence to the contrary. See MPEP 2112 & MPEP 2144.05(I). The examiner’s position is further bolstered by the similar mechanical properties of tensile strength above 1400 MPa and bendability of up to approximately 60 degrees achieved by Yoo et al. [0012, table4], which is substantially similar to the mechanical properties achieved by the instant application and expressly disclosed to be directly affected by the claimed features of precipitate number density, diameter, and activated hydrogen amount [table3 instant spec.].
Table 1.
Element (wt.%)
Claim 1 (wt.%)
Yoo et al. (wt.%)
C
0.28 – 0.5
0.2 – 0.5
Si
0.15 – 0.7
0.05 – 1
Mn
0.5 – 2
0.1 – 2.5
P
0 – 0.05
0 – 0.015
S
0 – 0.01
0 – 0.005
Cr
0.1 – 0.5
0.05 – 1
B
0.001 – 0.005
0.001 – 0.009
Ti, Nb, and/or V
0 – 0.1
Ti: 0.01 – 0.09
Fe & Impurities
Balance
Balance
Processing Parameters
Instant spec. [0076-0087]
Yoo et al. [0060-0072]
Slab heating at 1180 to 1280 degrees C
Slab heating at 1200 to 1250 degrees C
Hot rolling and finish rolling at 830 to 930 degrees C
Hot rolling and finish rolling at 880 to 950 degrees C
Cooling and coiling at 700 to 780 degrees C
Cooling and coiling at 680 to 800 degrees C
Optional cold rolling at 30 to 70% reduction
Cold rolling at 60 to 80% reduction
Annealing at 700 degrees C or higher
Annealing at 740 to 820 degrees C
Optional hot dip galvanizing at 650 to 700 degrees C
Hot dip galvanizing at 650 to 660 degrees C
Regarding claims 4-6, Yoo et al. discloses the steel of claim 1 (see previous). Yoo et al. does not teach further precipitate parameters of number density, diameter, and interparticle distance as claimed. However, as stated above, since Yoo et al. discloses an overlapping steel composition and method of manufacture, substantially similar, overlapping precipitate parameters of number density, diameter, and interparticle distance would have naturally flowed absent concrete evidence to the contrary. See MPEP 2112 & MPEP 2144.05(I).
Alternatively, regarding claims 4-5, Hayashi et al. further teaches controlling precipitate parameters to have a size of 0.001 to 5 micrometers and a density of 100 to 10^13 per square millimeter (or approximately 0.0001 to 10^7 per square micrometer) to achieve desirable properties [0015-0017]. Hayashi et al. further discloses a narrow standard deviation overlapping with the claimed range (ie. includes all 100% of the particles meeting the aforementioned parameter) [0018]. The examiner notes that the above parameters overlap with those as claimed. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo et al. (KR20190001493, US 2021/0147955 referred to as English translation) alone or alternatively further in view of Hayashi et al. (JP2005068548, machine translation referred to herein) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kikuchi et al. (JP2006063360, machine translation referred to herein).
Regarding claim 6, the aforementioned prior art discloses the steel of claim 1 (see previous). The aforementioned prior art does not expressly teach an interparticle spacing as claimed. Kikuchi et al. discloses that it is known to control the distance between fine Ti precipitates in steel to be 30 to 300 nanometers to improve properties such as strength [0056-0057]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify the steel of the aforementioned prior art by controlling a distance between Ti precipitates to be 30 to 300 nanometers for the aforementioned benefit disclosed by Kikuchi et al., which overlaps with the claimed range. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 4-5 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 3-8 of copending Application No. 18/718,328 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the overlap between the limitations of the instant claims and the copending claims is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/15/2025 regarding the rejections over Yoo et al. have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Yoo et al. is silent regarding the claimed precipitate features and further argues that the claimed ranges achieve critical and unexpected results of good mechanical properties after hot stamping in view of specimens K-T in the instant specification. The examiner cannot concur. Firstly, as stated above, although Yoo et al. is indeed silent regarding the claimed features, since Yoo et al. discloses a substantially similar steel (as explained above), overlapping substantially similar precipitate properties and activated hydrogen amounts would have naturally flowed. Secondly, the examiner cannot consider the claimed features to achieve unexpected and critical results because the purported benefits of improved mechanical properties are entirely disclosed by Yoo et al. See MPEP 716.02(c). Specifically, as stated above, Yoo et al. discloses mechanical properties of tensile strength above 1400 MPa and bendability of up to approximately 60 degrees [0012, table4], which is substantially similar to the properties purported to be unexpected and significant by applicant [table3 instant spec.]. In other words, the beneficial results of controlling precipitate parameters and activated hydrogen amounts as claimed are entirely expected rather than unexpected as they are expressly disclosed by Yoo et al.
Applicant then argues that the claims further recite a particular cooling temperature to control precipitate parameters. The examiner cannot concur. The instant claims under review do not recite any limitation of cooling behaviors. Even if the claims did recite cooling parameters, the examiner notes that the instant claims are directed to a product, not a process, wherein the patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. See MPEP 2113.
Applicant's arguments filed 12/15/2025 regarding the double patenting rejections have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant requests the double patenting rejections be held in abeyance. This is not proper. Double patenting rejections may be overcome through substantial amendment or filing of a terminal disclaimer. See MPEP 804. Accordingly, the double patenting rejections still stand.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICHOLAS A WANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734