DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 3, line 2, it is thought that “further including said chassis includes” should be changed to --said chassis includes--.
In claim 6, line 3, it is thought that –a—should be added before “compartment”.
In claims 11 and 21, lines 2-3, it is thought that “exterior panels comprising a floor, and interior components, sides, a front, a back, and a roof” should be changed to --exterior panels comprising a floor, sides, a front, a back, and a roof and interior components”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 9, line 2, “interior components” lacks clear antecedent basis. For the purpose of examination, the term “interior compartments” is being interpreted as “interior panel” as originally set forth in parent claim 1.
In claim 17, “first exterior panel” lacks clear antecedent basis. For the purpose of examination, the term “first exterior panel” is being interpreted as “front exterior panel” since such a front exterior panel is recited with respect to a cargo hatch in analogous claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 10, 11 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Maclean US 2015/0102631.
Regarding claim 1, Maclean discloses:
A recreational trailer (para. [0036], lines 1-2; a passive vehicle that may be towed is a trailer) comprising: a monocoque body (10; Fig. 2; “kit”, where the exterior panels comprising a floor (12; Fig. 1; para. [0090], line 2), sides (14; 16; Fig. 1; para [0090], line 3), a front (not shown; para. [0090], line 4), a back (18, Fig. 1; “rear end wall” para. [0090], lines 3-4) and a roof (20; Fig. 1; para. [0090], line 4); are interlocking by way of projections (36; Fig. 2; para. [0097], line 3) and apertures (50; Fig. 2; para. [0097], line 4) and fastened (“secured in place”; para [0097], line 5) to form a body, i.e. a monocoque body) having exterior panels comprising a floor (12; Fig. 1; para. [0090], line 2), sides (14; 16; Fig. 1; para [0090], line 3), a front (not shown; para. [0090], line 4), a back (18, Fig. 1; “rear end wall” para. [0090], lines 3-4) and a roof (20; Fig. 1; para. [0090], line 4); an interior panel (76; Fig. 5) having a tab (80; Fig. 5; disclosed as a “projection”) extending from a periphery of said interior panel (76; as shown in Fig. 5); a slot (82; Fig. 5) in a surface of at least one of said exterior panels (namely the side (14; Fig. 5)) for receiving said tab (see para. [0117], lines 2-4), said exterior panels integrated together with said interior panel (since the exterior panels are integrated together by interlocking projections (36; Fig. 2; para. [0097], line 3) and apertures (50; Fig. 2; para. [0097], line 4) and the interior panel (76; Fig. 5) is integrated with the side 14 and the floor 12 by tabs 82 and 84, respectively, as shown in Fig. 5) to form a rigid structure (by virtue of the snug fit interlocking tab and slot feature of the body construction as described in paragraph [0051]; the strength of the structure is also discussed in para. [0108]).
Regarding claim 10, Maclean discloses:
The recreational trailer of claim 1, as explained above, further comprising wherein said interior components including a bed (associated with bed base mentioned in para. [0069], line 6), a closet, i.e., a wardrobe, (which is disclosed in para. [0069], line 7, where a wardrobe is defined at merriam-webster.com as “a room or closet where clothes are kept”) and storage shelves (see para. [0069], line 6), said interior components having tabs received in respective slots in said exterior panels in that the interior components are described as “fixtures” in para. [0069] and such fixtures include projections, i.e., tabs, which are received in respective recesses, i.e. slots, as described in paragraph [0065].
Regarding claim 11, Maclean discloses:
A recreational trailer (para. [0036], lines 1-2; a passive vehicle that may be towed is a trailer) comprising: a monocoque body (10; Fig. 2; “kit”, where the exterior panels comprising a floor (12; Fig. 1; para. [0090], line 2), sides (14; 16; Fig. 1; para [0090], line 3), a front (not shown; para. [0090], line 4), a back (18, Fig. 1; “rear end wall” para. [0090], lines 3-4) and a roof (20; Fig. 1; para. [0090], line 4); are interlocking by way of projections (36; Fig. 2; para. [0097], line 3) and apertures (50; Fig. 2; para. [0097], line 4) and fastened (“secured in place”; para [0097], line 5) to form a body, i.e. a monocoque body) having exterior panels comprising a floor (12; Fig. 1; para. [0090], line 2), and interior components (76, 78; Fig. 5), sides (14; 16; Fig. 1; para [0090], line 3), a front (not shown; para. [0090], line 4), a back (18, Fig. 1; “rear end wall” para. [0090], lines 3-4) and a roof (20; Fig. 1; para. [0090], line 4); said interior components (76, 78; Fig. 5), having a plurality of tabs ( 80; Fig. 5; disclosed as “projections”; see para. [0117], lines 2-4) extending therefrom; said exterior panels having a plurality of slots (82; Fig. 5) for receiving respective ones of said interior components tabs (see para. [0117], lines 2-4), thereby integrating said exterior panels together with said interior components (since the exterior panels are integrated together by interlocking projections (36; Fig. 2; para. [0097], line 3) and apertures (50; Fig. 2; para. [0097], line 4) and the interior panel (76; Fig. 5) is integrated with the side 14 and the floor 12 by tabs 82 and 84, respectively, as shown in Fig. 5) to form a rigid structure (by virtue of the snug fit interlocking tab and slot feature of the body construction as described in paragraph [0051]; the strength of the structure is also discussed in para. [0108]); a chassis (claim 11 of Maclean); said body fastened to said chassis (claim 11 of Maclean) wherein said exterior panels and interior components are fastened together to form a monocoque structure (10; Fig. 2; “kit”, where the exterior panels comprising a floor (12; Fig. 1; para. [0090], line 2), sides (14; 16; Fig. 1; para [0090], line 3), a front (not shown; para. [0090], line 4), a back (18, Fig. 1; “rear end wall” para. [0090], lines 3-4) and a roof (20; Fig. 1; para. [0090], line 4); are interlocking by way of projections (36; Fig. 2; para. [0097], line 3) and apertures (50; Fig. 2; para. [0097], line 4) and fastened (“secured in place”; para [0097], line 5) to form a body, i.e. a monocoque body and since the exterior panels are integrated together by interlocking projections (36; Fig. 2; para. [0097], line 3) and apertures (50; Fig. 2; para. [0097], line 4) and the interior components (76, 78; Fig. 5) are integrated with the side 14 and the floor 12 by tabs 82 and 84, respectively, as shown in Fig. 5, so that the interior components coupled to the exterior panels form part of the monocoque structure.
Regarding claim 19, Maclean discloses:
The recreational trailer of claim 11, as explained above, wherein said interior components include a bed, (associated with bed base mentioned in para. [0069], line 6), a closet i.e., a wardrobe, (which is disclosed in para. [0069], line 7, where a wardrobe is defined at merriam-webster.com as “a room or closet where clothes are kept”) and storage shelves (see para. [0069], line 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maclean US 2015/0102631 in view of Bertoch et al. US 7,390,052.
Regarding claim 2, Maclean discloses:
The recreational trailer of claim 1, as explained above, further comprising a chassis (claim 11 of Maclean) mounted to the body.
However, Maclean does not explicitly disclose that the floor of the body is directly coupled to the chassis.
Notwithstanding, Bertoch et al. disclose a recreational trailer (col. 1, lines 5-6) including a body (12; Fig. 35) having exterior panels (91, 75, 77, 81, 89 and 79; Fig. 35) comprising a chassis (11; Fig. 2), where the floor (91; Fig. 35) of the body (12; Fig. 35) is coupled to the chassis (11; Fig. 2), as disclosed in col. 7, lines 48-49.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the chassis onto the monocoque body of Maclean by way of connecting the chassis to the floor as taught by Bertoch et al. with a reasonable expectation of success in order to form a secure connection between the body and the chassis which transfers the weight of the body to the chassis.
Regarding claim 3, Maclean, as modified by Bertoch et al., discloses:
The recreational trailer of claim 2, as explained above, except that said chassis includes an axle and tongue coupled to said chassis and two wheels coupled to said axle.
Notwithstanding, Bertoch et al. further disclose an axle (provided with vertical suspension plates (33; Fig. 2) attached to the chassis as discloses in col. 6, lines 60-61) and tongue (13; Fig. 2) coupled to the chassis (as shown in Fig. 2) and two wheels (shown in Fig. 1) coupled to the axle.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the chassis of Maclean, as modified by Bertoch et al., to include an axle and tongue coupled to the chassis and two wheels coupled to the axle as taught by Bertoch et al. with a reasonable expectation of success as these are necessary features to permit the chassis mounted body to function as a trailer to be towed.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maclean US 2015/0102631, as twice modified by Bertoch et al. US 7,390,052, as applied above to claim 3, and further in view of Ross US 6,042,135.
Regarding claim 4, Maclean, as twice modified by Bertoch et al., discloses the recreational trailer of claim 3, as explained above, except for wherein said tongue is extendable.
However, Ross discloses a vehicle (14; Figs 7 and 8) which includes an extendable hitch, i.e., tongue, (10; Figs. 7 and 8), where the tongue is extended between Figs. 7 and 8. The extended position of the tongue (10; Fig. 8) allows for the back hatch (shown in dashed lines in Fig. 8) to have sufficient clearance to open.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to construct the tongue of Maclean, as twice modified by Bertoch et al., to be extendable as taught by Ross with a reasonable expectation of success so that a rear hatch of the pulling vehicle may have sufficient clearance from the front end of the trailer to be opened while the trailer is still connected to the pulling vehicle.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maclean US 2015/0102631 in view of Madsen et al. US 2,701,393 and Alford US 4,355,834.
Regarding claim 5, Maclean discloses:
The recreational trailer of claim 1, as explained above, further comprising a bed (associated with bed base mentioned in para. [0069], line 6), having a base (mentioned in para. [0069], line 6), said base having tabs since the bed base is described as a “fixture” in para. [0069] and such fixtures include projections, i.e., tabs, which are received in respective recesses, i.e. slots, as described in paragraph [0065].
However, Maclean does not disclose that the bed base is made up of a plurality of interior panels fastened together to form the base, where the base tabs are received in slots in said floor, sides and front of said exterior panels.
Notwithstanding, Madsen et al. disclose a vehicle with a floor 11, two end walls 12 and 13, two side walls 14 and 15 and a roof 16 as shown in Figs. 1-3 and as disclosed in col. 2, lines 10-13 forming an enclosed living space, where the living space includes a rigid bed base (29; Figs 1 and 2) made up of a plurality of interior panels (as pointed out at the left edge of annotated Fig. 2 below) fastened together to form the base, where the plurality of interior panels are connected with the floor (11; Fig. 3) a side (15; Fig. 1) and a rear end wall (12; Fig. 2) as pointed out in annotated Figs. 1 and 2.
In addition, Alford discloses a trailer (11; Fig. 1) having a living space with a bed (98; Fig. 6) therein positioned at the front of the trailer as seen in Fig. 6.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to construct the bed base of Maclean from a plurality of interior panels fastened together to form the base, where the base interior panels intersect the floor, sides and front of said exterior panels as taught by Madsen et al. with a reasonable expectation of success to form a sturdy base which is connected to multiple exterior panels. The resultant bed base of Maclean in view of Madsen et al. has tabs associated with each interior panel thereof which are received in slots in said floor, sides and front of said exterior panels where the interior panels intersect such exterior panels since the bed base is described as a “fixture” in para. [0069] of Maclean and such fixtures include projections, i.e., tabs, which are received in respective recesses, i.e. slots, in the exterior panels as described in paragraph [0065] of Maclean.
In addition, it would also have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to relocate the bed base of Maclean, as modified by Madsen et al., to the front of the trailer and couple it to the front exterior panel rather than the rear exterior panel as taught by Alford with a reasonable expectation of success in order to permit access to the living space from the rear of the trailer which was otherwise blocked, whereby entry into the vehicle can be achieved without obstruction from a forward coupled tongue/hitch receiver used to attach the trailer to a pulling vehicle.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maclean US 2015/0102631 in view of Paulsen US 2,884,666.
Regarding claim 6, Maclean discloses:
The recreational trailer of claim 1, as explained above, where a plurality of “fixtures” are disclosed in para. [0069], including pantries, cupboards, bed side tables, book cases, wardrobes and the like, and where such fixtures include projections, i.e., tabs, which are received in respective recesses, i.e. slots, as described in paragraph [0065].
However, Maclean does not explicitly disclose a plurality of interior panels fastened together to form a storage compartment having tabs, said storage compartment tabs received in slots in said floor, a side and roof of said exterior panels.
Notwithstanding, Paulsen discloses a recreational trailer (col. 1, line 3 of the first paragraph) with a plurality of interior panels (front interior panel and rear interior panel as pointed out in annotated Fig. 1 below) fastened together by a longitudinal wall (as pointed out in annotated Fig. 1 below) to form a storage compartment (80; Figs. 1 and 2; disclosed as a “closet” which naturally forms a compartment that is suitable to store items therein, thus the closet (80; Figs. 1 and 2) is considered to be a storage compartment, as broadly as recited) where the interior panels (front interior panel and rear interior panel as pointed out in annotated Fig. 1 below) of the storage compartment (80; Figs. 1 and 2) intersect the floor (pointed out at the bottom of annotated Fig. 2 below), a side (pointed out at the left edge of annotated Fig. 2 below) and roof (pointed out at the top of annotated Fig. 2 below) which are exterior panels.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the recreational trailer of Maclean with a fixture in the form of a plurality of interior panels fastened together to form a storage compartment where the interior panels intersect the floor, a side and roof of the exterior panels as taught by Paulsen with a reasonable expectation of success for storage of items inside the recreational trailer. The resultant storage compartment fixture of Maclean in view of Paulsen has tabs associated with each interior panel thereof which are received in slots in said floor, a side and roof of said exterior panels where the interior panels of the storage compartment fixture intersect such exterior panels and include projections, i.e., tabs, which are received in respective recesses, i.e. slots, in the exterior panels as described in paragraph [0065] of Maclean.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maclean US 2015/0102631 in view of Paulsen US 2,884,666.
Regarding claim 7, Maclean discloses:
The recreational trailer of claim 1, as explained above, where a plurality of “fixtures” are disclosed in para. [0069], including pantries, cupboards, bed side tables, book cases, wardrobes, cabinets and the like, and where such fixtures include projections, i.e., tabs, which are received in respective recesses, i.e. slots, as described in paragraph [0065].
However, Maclean does not explicitly disclose a plurality of interior panels fastened together to form a closet having tabs, said closet tabs received in slots in coupled to said floor, a side and roof of said exterior panels.
Notwithstanding, Paulsen discloses a recreational trailer (col. 1, line 3 of the first paragraph) with a plurality of interior panels (front interior panel and rear interior panel as pointed out in annotated Fig. 1 above) fastened together by a longitudinal wall (as pointed out in annotated Fig. 1 above) to form a closet (80; Figs. 1 and 2; disclosed as a “closet” in col. 3, line 35) where the interior panels (front interior panel and rear interior panel as pointed out in annotated Fig. 1 above) of the closet (80; Figs. 1 and 2) intersect the floor (pointed out at the bottom of annotated Fig. 2 above), a side (pointed out at the left edge of annotated Fig. 2 above) and roof (pointed out at the top of annotated Fig. 2 above) which are exterior panels.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the recreational trailer of Maclean with a fixture in the form of a plurality of interior panels fastened together to form a closet where the interior panels intersect the floor, a side and roof of the exterior panels as taught by Paulsen with a reasonable expectation of success for storage of items inside the recreational trailer. The resultant closet fixture of Maclean in view of Paulsen has tabs associated with each interior panel thereof which are received in slots in said floor, a side and roof of said exterior panels where the interior panels of the closet fixture intersect such exterior panels and include projections, i.e., tabs, which are received in respective recesses, i.e. slots, in the exterior panels as described in paragraph [0065] of Maclean.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maclean US 2015/0102631 in view of Alford US 4,355,834 and Cline 11,535,146.
Regarding claim 8, Maclean discloses the recreational trailer of claim 1, as explained above, including a bed area (having a bed base; para. [0069], line 6).
However, Maclean does not disclose that the bed area is positioned at the front of the trailer, wherein the front exterior panel includes a cargo hatch providing access to the bed area.
Notwithstanding, Alford discloses a trailer (11; Fig. 1) having a living space with a bed (98; Fig. 6) therein positioned at the front of the trailer as seen in Fig. 6.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to relocate the bed base of Maclean to the front of the trailer and couple it to the front exterior panel as taught by Alford with a reasonable expectation of success in order to permit access to the living space from the rear of the trailer, whereby entry into the vehicle can be achieved without obstruction from a forward coupled tongue/hitch receiver used to attach the trailer to a pulling vehicle.
In addition, Cline discloses a recreational vehicle (10; Fig. 3) with a door or “cargo hatch”, as broadly as recited, (40, Fig. 12) that can function as an emergency exit (col. 11, lines 38-40, i.e., a hatch) that is positioned adjacent to a bed area (39; Fig. 12) .
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide an exterior panel of the trailer of Maclean, as modified by Alford, with a hatch adjacent to the forward positioned bed area as taught by Cline with a reasonable expectation of success to provide a means of emergency exit from the trailer. In addition, it would also have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to locate the hatch of Maclean, as modified by Alford and Cline, at the front exterior panel with a reasonable expectation of success as an obvious matter of design choice where the forward located bed area is still accessible at such hatch location for emergency exit therethrough.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maclean US 2015/0102631 in view of DE 202011104992.
Regarding claim 9, Maclean discloses the recreational trailer of claim 1, as explained above, except wherein said back exterior panel includes interior storage bins fastened to said interior components. For the purpose of examination, the term “interior compartments” is being interpreted as “interior panel” as originally set forth in parent claim 1.
Notwithstanding, DE 2011104992 discloses a recreational vehicle where a back exterior panel (as pointed out at the bottom of annotated Fig. 1 below) includes an interior storage bin (16 disclosed as a cupboard which is naturally configured to store items and is considered to be a bin, as broadly as recited, given that a “bin” is defined at merriam-webster.com as “an enclosed space used for storage”) and a storage bin (18 disclosed as a wardrobe which is naturally configured to store items and is considered to be a bin, as broadly as recited, given that a “bin” is defined at merriam-webster.com as “an enclosed space used for storage”) with portions fastened to an interior panel (as pointed out and bolded in annotated Fig. 1 below).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the back exterior panel of Maclean with interior storage bins fastened to an interior panel as taught by DE 202011104992 with a reasonable expectation of success for the storage of items in the recreational trailer.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maclean US 2015/0102631 in view of Bertoch et al. US 7,390,052.
Regarding claim 12, Maclean, as modified by Bertoch et al., discloses:
The recreational trailer of claims 11, as explained above, except that said chassis includes an axle and tongue coupled to said chassis and two wheels coupled to said axle.
Notwithstanding, Bertoch et al. disclose a recreational trailer (col. 1, lines 5-6) including a body (12; Fig. 35) having exterior panels (91, 75, 77, 81, 89 and 79; Fig. 35) comprising a chassis (11; Fig. 2), where the floor (91; Fig. 35) of the body (12; Fig. 35) is coupled to the chassis (11; Fig. 2), as disclosed in col. 7, lines 48-49. In addition, Bertoch et al. disclose an axle (provided with vertical suspension plates (33; Fig. 2) attached to the chassis as discloses in col. 6, lines 60-61) and tongue (13; Fig. 2) coupled to the chassis (as shown in Fig. 2) and two wheels (shown in Fig. 1) coupled to the axle.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the chassis of Maclean to include an axle and tongue coupled to the chassis and two wheels coupled to the axle as taught by Bertoch et al. with a reasonable expectation of success as these are necessary features to permit the chassis mounted body to function as a trailer to be towed.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maclean US 2015/0102631, as modified by Bertoch et al. US 7,390,052, as applied above to claim 12, and further in view of Ross US 6,042,135.
Regarding claim 13, Maclean, as modified by Bertoch et al., discloses the recreational trailer of claim 12, as explained above, except for wherein said tongue is extendable.
However, Ross discloses a vehicle (14; Figs 7 and 8) which includes an extendable hitch, i.e., tongue, (10; Figs. 7 and 8), where the tongue is extended between Figs. 7 and 8. The extended position of the tongue (10; Fig. 8) allows for the back hatch (shown in dashed lines in Fig. 8) to have sufficient clearance to open.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to construct the tongue of Maclean, as modified by Bertoch et al., to be extendable as taught by Ross with a reasonable expectation of success so that a rear hatch of the pulling vehicle may have sufficient clearance from the front end of the trailer to be opened while the trailer is still connected to the pulling vehicle.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maclean US 2015/0102631 in view of Madsen et al. US 2,701,393 and Alford US 4,355,834.
Regarding claim 14, Maclean discloses:
The recreational trailer of claim 11, as explained above, where the interior components includes a bed (associated with bed base mentioned in para. [0069], line 6), having a base (mentioned in para. [0069], line 6), said base having tabs since the bed base is described as a “fixture” in para. [0069] and such fixtures include projections, i.e., tabs, which are received in respective recesses, i.e. slots, as described in paragraph [0065].
However, Maclean does not disclose that the bed base is coupled to said floor, sides and front of said exterior panels.
Notwithstanding, Madsen et al. disclose a vehicle with a floor 11, two end walls 12 and 13, two side walls 14 and 15 and a roof 16 as shown in Figs. 1-3 and as disclosed in col. 2, lines 10-13 forming an enclosed living space, where the living space includes a rigid bed base (29; Figs 1 and 2) made up of a plurality of interior panels or “components” (as pointed out at the left edge of annotated Fig. 2 below) fastened together to form the base, where the plurality of interior panels are connected with the floor (11; Fig. 3), a side (15; Fig. 1) and a rear end wall (12; Fig. 2) as pointed out in annotated Figs. 1 and 2.
In addition, Alford discloses a trailer (11; Fig. 1) having a living space with a bed (98; Fig. 6) therein positioned at the front of the trailer as seen in Fig. 6.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to construct the bed base of Maclean from a plurality of interior panels or components fastened together to form the base, where the base interior panels intersect the floor, sides and front of said exterior panels as taught by Madsen et al. with a reasonable expectation of success to form a sturdy base which is connected to multiple exterior panels. The resultant bed base of Maclean in view of Madsen et al. has tabs associated with each interior panel or component thereof which are received in slots in said floor, sides and front of said exterior panels where the interior panels intersect such exterior panels since the bed base is described as a “fixture” in para. [0069] of Maclean and such fixtures include projections, i.e., tabs, which are received in respective recesses, i.e. slots, in the exterior panels as described in paragraph [0065] of Maclean.
In addition, it would also have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to relocate the bed base of Maclean, as modified by Madsen et al., to the front of the trailer and couple it to the front exterior panel rather than the rear exterior panel as taught by Alford with a reasonable expectation of success in order to permit access to the living space from the rear of the trailer which was otherwise blocked, whereby entry into the vehicle can be achieved without obstruction from a forward coupled tongue/hitch receiver used to attach the trailer to a pulling vehicle.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maclean US 2015/0102631 in view of Paulsen US 2,884,666.
Regarding claim 15, Maclean discloses:
The recreational trailer of claim 11, as explained above, where a plurality of “fixtures” are disclosed in para. [0069], including pantries, cupboards, bed side tables, book cases, wardrobes and the like, and where such fixtures include projections, i.e., tabs, which are received in respective recesses, i.e. slots, as described in paragraph [0065].
However, Maclean does not explicitly disclose that said interior components include a storage compartment coupled to said floor, a side and roof of said exterior panels.
Notwithstanding, Paulsen discloses a recreational trailer (col. 1, line 3 of the first paragraph) with a plurality of interior panels or “components” (front interior panel and rear interior panel as pointed out in annotated Fig. 1 below) fastened together by a longitudinal wall (as pointed out in annotated Fig. 1 below) to form a storage compartment (80; Figs. 1 and 2; disclosed as a “closet” which naturally forms a compartment that is suitable to store items therein, thus the closet (80; Figs. 1 and 2) is considered to be a storage compartment, as broadly as recited) where the interior panels (front interior panel and rear interior panel as pointed out in annotated Fig. 1 below) of the storage compartment (80; Figs. 1 and 2) intersect the floor (pointed out at the bottom of annotated Fig. 2 below), a side (pointed out at the left edge of annotated Fig. 2 below) and roof (pointed out at the top of annotated Fig. 2 below) which are exterior panels.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the recreational trailer of Maclean with a fixture in the form of a plurality of interior panels or components fastened together to form a storage compartment where the interior panels intersect the floor, a side and roof of the exterior panels as taught by Paulsen with a reasonable expectation of success for storage of items inside the recreational trailer. The resultant storage compartment fixture of Maclean in view of Paulsen has tabs associated with each interior panel or component thereof which are received in slots in said floor, a side and roof of said exterior panels where the interior panels of the storage compartment fixture intersect such exterior panels and include projections, i.e., tabs, which are received in respective recesses, i.e. slots, in the exterior panels as described in paragraph [0065] of Maclean.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maclean US 2015/0102631 in view of Paulsen US 2,884,666.
Regarding claim 16, Maclean discloses:
The recreational trailer of claim 11, as explained above, where a plurality of “fixtures” are disclosed in para. [0069], including pantries, cupboards, bed side tables, book cases, wardrobes, cabinets and the like, and where such fixtures include projections, i.e., tabs, which are received in respective recesses, i.e. slots, as described in paragraph [0065].
However, Maclean does not explicitly disclose where said interior components include a closet coupled said floor, a side and roof of said exterior panels.
Notwithstanding, Paulsen discloses a recreational trailer (col. 1, line 3 of the first paragraph) with a plurality of interior panels or “components” (front interior panel and rear interior panel as pointed out in annotated Fig. 1 above) fastened together by a longitudinal wall (as pointed out in annotated Fig. 1 above) to form a closet (80; Figs. 1 and 2; disclosed as a “closet” in col. 3, line 35) where the interior panels (front interior panel and rear interior panel as pointed out in annotated Fig. 1 above) of the closet (80; Figs. 1 and 2) intersect the floor (pointed out at the bottom of annotated Fig. 2 above), a side (pointed out at the left edge of annotated Fig. 2 above) and roof (pointed out at the top of annotated Fig. 2 above) which are exterior panels.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the recreational trailer of Maclean with a fixture in the form of a plurality of interior panels or components fastened together to form a closet where the interior panels intersect the floor, a side and roof of the exterior panels as taught by Paulsen with a reasonable expectation of success for storage of items inside the recreational trailer. The resultant closet fixture of Maclean in view of Paulsen has tabs associated with each interior panel or component thereof which are received in slots in said floor, a side and roof of said exterior panels where the interior panels of the closet fixture intersect such exterior panels and include projections, i.e., tabs, which are received in respective recesses, i.e. slots, in the exterior panels as described in paragraph [0065] of Maclean.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maclean US 2015/0102631 in view of Alford US 4,355,834 and Cline 11,535,146.
Regarding claim 17, Maclean discloses the recreational trailer of claim 11, as explained above, including a bed area (having a bed base; para. [0069], line 6).
However, Maclean does not disclose that the bed area is positioned at the front of the trailer, wherein the first exterior panel includes a cargo hatch providing access to the bed area. Note that “first exterior panel” lacks clear antecedent basis. Therefore, for the purpose of examination, the term “first exterior panel” is being interpreted as “front exterior panel” since such a front exterior panel is recited with respect to a cargo hatch in analogous claim 8.
Notwithstanding, Alford discloses a trailer (11; Fig. 1) having a living space with a bed (98; Fig. 6) therein positioned at the front of the trailer as seen in Fig. 6.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to relocate the bed base of Maclean to the front of the trailer and couple it to the front exterior panel as taught by Alford with a reasonable expectation of success in order to permit access to the living space from the rear of the trailer, whereby entry into the vehicle can be achieved without obstruction from a forward coupled tongue/hitch receiver used to attach the trailer to a pulling vehicle.
In addition, Cline discloses a recreational vehicle (10; Fig. 3) with a door or “cargo hatch”, as broadly as recited, (40, Fig. 12) that can function as an emergency exit (col. 11, lines 38-40, i.e., a hatch) that is positioned adjacent to a bed area (39; Fig. 12) .
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide an exterior panel of the trailer of Maclean, as modified by Alford, with a cargo hatch adjacent to the forward positioned bed area as taught by Cline with a reasonable expectation of success to provide a means of emergency exit from the trailer. In addition, it would also have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to locate the hatch of Maclean, as modified by Alford and Cline, at the front exterior panel with a reasonable expectation of success as an obvious matter of design choice where the forward located bed area is still accessible at such hatch location for emergency exit therethrough.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maclean US 2015/0102631 in view of DE 202011104992.
Regarding claim 18, Maclean discloses the recreational trailer of claim 11, as explained above, except wherein said back exterior panel includes interior storage bins fastened to said interior components.
Notwithstanding, DE 2011104992 discloses a recreational vehicle where a back exterior panel (as pointed out at the bottom of annotated Fig. 1 below) includes an interior storage bin (16 disclosed as a cupboard which is naturally configured to store items and is considered to be a bin, as broadly as recited, given that a “bin” is defined at merriam-webster.com as “an enclosed space used for storage”) and a storage bin (18 disclosed as a wardrobe which is naturally configured to store items and is considered to be a bin, as broadly as recited, given that a “bin” is defined at merriam-webster.com as “an enclosed space used for storage”) with portions fastened to an interior panel or interior component (as pointed out and bolded in annotated Fig. 1 below).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the back exterior panel of Maclean with interior storage bins fastened to an interior panel or interior component as taught by DE 202011104992 with a reasonable expectation of success for the storage of items in the recreational trailer.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maclean US 2015/0102631 in view of Koehler US 11,225,187.
Regarding claim 20, Maclean discloses:
The recreational trailer of claim 11, as explained above, except wherein said interior components include a flip-down seat.
However, Koehler discloses a flip down seat for a vehicle attached living space. See the abstract, line 4.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the trailer living space of Maclean with a flip-down seat as taught by Koehler with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide a comfort feature for users of the living space.
Claims 21 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maclean US 2015/0102631 in view of Bertoch et al. US 7,390,052.
Regarding claim 21, Maclean discloses:
A recreational trailer (para. [0036], lines 1-2; a passive vehicle that may be towed is a trailer) comprising: a monocoque body (10; Fig. 2; “kit”, where the exterior panels comprising a floor (12; Fig. 1; para. [0090], line 2), sides (14; 16; Fig. 1; para [0090], line 3), a front (not shown; para. [0090], line 4), a back (18, Fig. 1; “rear end wall” para. [0090], lines 3-4) and a roof (20; Fig. 1; para. [0090], line 4); are interlocking by way of projections (36; Fig. 2; para. [0097], line 3) and apertures (50; Fig. 2; para. [0097], line 4) and fastened (“secured in place”; para [0097], line 5) to form a body, i.e. a monocoque body) having exterior panels comprising a floor (12; Fig. 1; para. [0090], line 2), and interior components (76, 78; Fig. 5), sides (14; 16; Fig. 1; para [0090], line 3), a front (not shown; para. [0090], line 4), a back (18, Fig. 1; “rear end wall” para. [0090], lines 3-4) and a roof (20; Fig. 1; para. [0090], line 4); said interior components (76, 78; Fig. 5), having a plurality of tabs ( 80; Fig. 5; disclosed as “projections”; see para. [0117], lines 2-4) extending therefrom; said exterior panels having a plurality of slots (82; Fig. 5) for receiving respective ones of said interior components tabs (see para. [0117], lines 2-4), thereby integrating said exterior panels together with said interior components (since the exterior panels are integrated together by interlocking projections (36; Fig. 2; para. [0097], line 3) and apertures (50; Fig. 2; para. [0097], line 4) and the interior panel (76; Fig. 5) is integrated with the side 14 and the floor 12 by tabs 82 and 84, respectively, as shown in Fig. 5) to form a rigid structure (by virtue of the snug fit interlocking tab and slot feature of the body construction as described in paragraph [0051]; the strength of the structure is also discussed in para. [0108]); a chassis (claim 11 of Maclean); said body fastened to said chassis (claim 11 of Maclean) wherein said exterior panels and interior components are fastened together to form a monocoque structure (10; Fig. 2; “kit”, where the exterior panels comprising a floor (12; Fig. 1; para. [0090], line 2), sides (14; 16; Fig. 1; para [0090], line 3), a front (not shown; para. [0090], line 4), a back (18, Fig. 1; “rear end wall” para. [0090], lines 3-4) and a roof (20; Fig. 1; para. [0090], line 4); are interlocking by way of projections (36; Fig. 2; para. [0097], line 3) and apertures (50; Fig. 2; para. [0097], line 4) and fastened (“secured in place”; para [0097], line 5) to form a body, i.e. a monocoque body and since the exterior panels are integrated together by interlocking projections (36; Fig. 2; para. [0097], line 3) and apertures (50; Fig. 2; para. [0097], line 4) and the interior components (76, 78; Fig. 5) are integrated with the side 14 and the floor 12 by tabs 82 and 84, respectively, as shown in Fig. 5, so that the interior components coupled to the exterior panels form part of the monocoque structure.
However, Maclean does not disclose the chassis having a frame, an axle and tongue fastened to said frame and two wheels coupled to said axle.
Notwithstanding, Bertoch et al. disclose a recreational trailer (col. 1, lines 5-6) including a body (12; Fig. 35) having exterior panels (91, 75, 77, 81, 89 and 79; Fig. 35) comprising a chassis (11; Fig. 2) which is a frame, where the floor (91; Fig. 35) of the body (12; Fig. 35) is coupled to the chassis frame (11; Fig. 2), as disclosed in col. 7, lines 48-49. In addition, Bertoch et al. disclose an axle (provided with vertical suspension plates (33; Fig. 2) attached to the chassis frame as discloses in col. 6, lines 60-61) and tongue (13; Fig. 2) coupled to the chassis frame (as shown in Fig. 2) and two wheels (shown in Fig. 1) coupled to the axle.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the chassis of Maclean to in the form of a chassis frame, an axle and tongue fastened to the chassis frame and two wheels coupled to the axle as taught by Bertoch et al. with a reasonable expectation of success as these are necessary features to permit the chassis mounted body to function as a trailer to be towed.
Regarding claim 28, Maclean, as modified by Bertoch et al., discloses:
The recreational trailer of claim 21, as explained above, wherein said interior components include a bed, (associated with bed base mentioned in para. [0069], line 6), a closet i.e., a wardrobe, (which is disclosed in para. [0069], line 7, where a wardrobe is defined at merriam-webster.com as “a room or closet where clothes are kept”) and storage shelves (see para. [0069], line 6).
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maclean US 2015/0102631, as modified by Bertoch et al. US 7,390,052, as applied above to claim 21, and further in view of Ross US 6,042,135.
Regarding claim 22, Maclean, as modified by Bertoch et al., discloses the recreational trailer of claim 21, as explained above, except for wherein said tongue is extendable.
However, Ross discloses a vehicle (14; Figs 7 and 8) which includes an extendable hitch, i.e., tongue, (10; Figs. 7 and 8), where the tongue is extended between Figs. 7 and 8. The extended position of the tongue (10; Fig. 8) allows for the back hatch (shown in dashed lines in Fig. 8) to have sufficient clearance to open.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to construct the tongue of Maclean, as modified by Bertoch et al., to be extendable as taught by Ross with a reasonable expectation of success so that a rear hatch of the pulling vehicle may have sufficient clearance from the front end of the trailer to be opened while the trailer is still connected to the pulling vehicle.
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maclean US 2015/0102631, as modified by Bertoch et al. US 7,390,052, as applied above to claim 21 and further in view of Madsen et al. US 2,701,393 and Alford US 4,355,834.
Regarding claim 23, Maclean, as modified by Bertoch et al., discloses:
The recreational trailer of claim 21, as explained above, where the interior components includes a bed (associated with bed base mentioned in para. [0069], line 6), having a base (mentioned in para. [0069], line 6), said base having tabs since the bed base is described as a “fixture” in para. [0069] and such fixtures include projections, i.e., tabs, which are received in respective recesses, i.e. slots, as described in paragraph [0065].
However, Maclean, as modified by Bertoch et al., does not disclose that the bed base is coupled to said floor, sides and front of said exterior panels.
Notwithstanding, Madsen et al. disclose a vehicle with a floor 11, two end walls 12 and 13, two side walls 14 and 15 and a roof 16 as shown in Figs. 1-3 and as disclosed in col. 2, lines 10-13 forming an enclosed living space, where the living space includes a rigid bed base (29; Figs 1 and 2) made up of a plurality of interior panels or “components” (as pointed out at the left edge of annotated Fig. 2 below) fastened together to form the base, where the plurality of interior panels are connected with the floor (11; Fig. 3), a side (15; Fig. 1) and a rear end wall (12; Fig. 2) as pointed out in annotated Figs. 1 and 2.
In addition, Alford discloses a trailer (11; Fig. 1) having a living space with a bed (98; Fig. 6) therein positioned at the front of the trailer as seen in Fig. 6.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to construct the bed base of Maclean, as modified by Bertoch et al., from a plurality of interior panels or components fastened together to form the base, where the base interior panels intersect the floor, sides and front of said exterior panels as taught by Madsen et al. with a reasonable expectation of success to form a sturdy base which is connected to multiple exterior panels. The resultant bed base of Maclean, as modified by Bertoch et al. and Madsen et al., has tabs associated with each interior panel or component thereof which are received in slots in said floor, sides and front of said exterior panels where the interior panels intersect such exterior panels since the bed base is described as a “fixture” in para. [0069] of Maclean and such fixtures include projections, i.e., tabs, which are received in respective recesses, i.e. slots, in the exterior panels as described in paragraph [0065] of Maclean.
In addition, it would also have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to relocate the bed base of Maclean, as modified by Bertoch et al. and Madsen et al., to the front of the trailer and couple it to the front exterior panel rather than the rear exterior panel as taught by Alford with a reasonable expectation of success in order to permit access to the living space from the rear of the trailer which was otherwise blocked, whereby entry into the vehicle can be achieved without obstruction from a forward coupled tongue/hitch receiver used to attach the trailer to a pulling vehicle.
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maclean US 2015/0102631, as modified by Bertoch et al. US 7,390,052, as applied above to claim 21 and further in view of Paulsen US 2,884,666.
Regarding claim 24, Maclean, as modified by Bertoch et al., discloses:
The recreational trailer of claim 21, as explained above, where a plurality of “fixtures” are disclosed in para. [0069], including pantries, cupboards, bed side tables, book cases, wardrobes and the like, and where such fixtures include projections, i.e., tabs, which are received in respective recesses, i.e. slots, as described in paragraph [0065].
However, Maclean, as modified by Bertoch et al., does not explicitly disclose that said interior components include a storage compartment coupled to said floor, a side and roof of said exterior panels.
Notwithstanding, Paulsen discloses a recreational trailer (col. 1, line 3 of the first paragraph) with a plurality of interior panels or “components” (front interior panel and rear interior panel as pointed out in annotated Fig. 1 below) fastened together by a longitudinal wall (as pointed out in annotated Fig. 1 below) to form a storage compartment (80; Figs. 1 and 2; disclosed as a “closet” which naturally forms a compartment that is suitable to store items therein, thus the closet (80; Figs. 1 and 2) is considered to be a storage compartment, as broadly as recited) where the interior panels (front interior panel and rear interior panel as pointed out in annotated Fig. 1 below) of the storage compartment (80; Figs. 1 and 2) intersect the floor (pointed out at the bottom of annotated Fig. 2 below), a side (pointed out at the left edge of annotated Fig. 2 below) and roof (pointed out at the top of annotated Fig. 2 below) which are exterior panels.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the recreational trailer of Maclean with a fixture in the form of a plurality of interior panels or components fastened together to form a storage compartment where the interior panels intersect the floor, a side and roof of the exterior panels as taught by Paulsen with a reasonable expectation of success for storage of items inside the recreational trailer. The resultant storage compartment fixture of Maclean, as modified by Bertoch et al. and Paulsen, has tabs associated with each interior panel or component thereof which are received in slots in said floor, a side and roof of said exterior panels where the interior panels of the storage compartment fixture intersect such exterior panels and include projections, i.e., tabs, which are received in respective recesses, i.e. slots, in the exterior panels as described in paragraph [0065] of Maclean.
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maclean US 2015/0102631, as modified by Bertoch et al. US 7,390,052, as applied above to claim 21 and further in view of Paulsen US 2,884,666.
Regarding claim 25, Maclean, as modified by Bertoch et al., discloses:
The recreational trailer of claim 21, as explained above, where a plurality of “fixtures” are disclosed in para. [0069], including pantries, cupboards, bed side tables, book cases, wardrobes, cabinets and the like, and where such fixtures include projections, i.e., tabs, which are received in respective recesses, i.e. slots, as described in paragraph [0065].
However, Maclean, as modified by Bertoch et al., does not explicitly disclose where said interior components include a closet coupled said floor, a side and roof of said exterior panels.
Notwithstanding, Paulsen discloses a recreational trailer (col. 1, line 3 of the first paragraph) with a plurality of interior panels or “components” (front interior panel and rear interior panel as pointed out in annotated Fig. 1 above) fastened together by a longitudinal wall (as pointed out in annotated Fig. 1 above) to form a closet (80; Figs. 1 and 2; disclosed as a “closet” in col. 3, line 35) where the interior panels (front interior panel and rear interior panel as pointed out in annotated Fig. 1 above) of the closet (80; Figs. 1 and 2) intersect the floor (pointed out at the bottom of annotated Fig. 2 above), a side (pointed out at the left edge of annotated Fig. 2 above) and roof (pointed out at the top of annotated Fig. 2 above) which are exterior panels.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the recreational trailer of Maclean, as modified by Bertoch et al., with a fixture in the form of a plurality of interior panels or components fastened together to form a closet where the interior panels intersect the floor, a side and roof of the exterior panels as taught by Paulsen with a reasonable expectation of success for storage of items inside the recreational trailer. The resultant closet fixture of Maclean, as modified by Bertoch et al. and Paulsen, has tabs associated with each interior panel or component thereof which are received in slots in said floor, a side and roof of said exterior panels where the interior panels of the closet fixture intersect such exterior panels and include projections, i.e., tabs, which are received in respective recesses, i.e. slots, in the exterior panels as described in paragraph [0065] of Maclean.
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maclean US 2015/0102631, as modified by Bertoch et al. US 7,390,052, as applied above to claim 21 and further in view of Alford US 4,355,834 and Cline 11,535,146.
Regarding claim 26, Maclean, as modified by Bertoch et al., discloses the recreational trailer of claim 21, as explained above, including a bed area (having a bed base; para. [0069], line 6).
However, Maclean, as modified by Bertoch et al., does not disclose that the bed area is positioned at the front of the trailer, wherein the first exterior panel includes a cargo hatch providing access to the bed area. Note that “first exterior panel” lacks clear antecedent basis. Therefore, for the purpose of examination, the term “first exterior panel” is being interpreted as “front exterior panel” since such a front exterior panel is recited with respect to a cargo hatch in analogous claim 8.
Notwithstanding, Alford discloses a trailer (11; Fig. 1) having a living space with a bed (98; Fig. 6) therein positioned at the front of the trailer as seen in Fig. 6.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to relocate the bed base of Maclean, as modified by Bertoch et al., to the front of the trailer and couple it to the front exterior panel as taught by Alford with a reasonable expectation of success in order to permit access to the living space from the rear of the trailer, whereby entry into the vehicle can be achieved without obstruction from a forward coupled tongue/hitch receiver used to attach the trailer to a pulling vehicle.
In addition, Cline discloses a recreational vehicle (10; Fig. 3) with a door or “cargo hatch”, as broadly as recited, (40, Fig. 12) that can function as an emergency exit (col. 11, lines 38-40, i.e., a hatch) that is positioned adjacent to a bed area (39; Fig. 12) .
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide an exterior panel of the trailer of Maclean, as modified by Bertoch et al. and Alford, with a cargo hatch adjacent to the forward positioned bed area as taught by Cline with a reasonable expectation of success to provide a means of emergency exit from the trailer. In addition, it would also have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to locate the hatch of Maclean, as modified by Bertoch et al., Alford and Cline, at the front exterior panel with a reasonable expectation of success as an obvious matter of design choice where the forward located bed area is still accessible at such hatch location for emergency exit therethrough.
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maclean US 2015/0102631, as modified by Bertoch et al. US 7,390,052, as applied above to claim 21 and further in view of DE 202011104992.
Regarding claim 27, Maclean, as modified by Bertoch et al., discloses the recreational trailer of claim 21, as explained above, except wherein said back exterior panel includes interior storage bins fastened to said interior components.
Notwithstanding, DE 2011104992 discloses a recreational vehicle where a back exterior panel (as pointed out at the bottom of annotated Fig. 1 below) includes an interior storage bin (16 disclosed as a cupboard which is naturally configured to store items and is considered to be a bin, as broadly as recited, given that a “bin” is defined at merriam-webster.com as “an enclosed space used for storage”) and a storage bin (18 disclosed as a wardrobe which is naturally configured to store items and is considered to be a bin, as broadly as recited, given that a “bin” is defined at merriam-webster.com as “an enclosed space used for storage”) with portions fastened to an interior panel or interior component (as pointed out and bolded in annotated Fig. 1 below).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the back exterior panel of Maclean, as modified by Bertoch et al., with interior storage bins fastened to an interior panel or interior component as taught by DE 202011104992 with a reasonable expectation of success for the storage of items in the recreational trailer.
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maclean US 2015/0102631, as modified by Bertoch et al. US 7,390,052, as applied above to claim 21 and further in view of Koehler US 11,225,187.
Regarding claim 29, Maclean, as modified by Bertoch et al., discloses:
The recreational trailer of claim 21, as explained above, except wherein said interior components include a flip-down seat.
However, Koehler discloses a flip down seat for a vehicle attached living space. See the abstract, line 4.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the trailer living space of Maclean, as modified by Bertoch et al., with a flip-down seat as taught by Koehler with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide a comfort feature for users of the living space.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-29 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The new recitation of tabs and slots is being treated above with Maclean US 2015/0102631.
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Messano US 7,000,978 discloses a recreational vehicle having a monocoque body (see col. 3, lines 35-36). However, the reference fails to disclose a tab and slot connection arrangement for components thereof.
Turquin US 3,807,789 discloses a trailer body with integrated components including a closet (28; Fig. 2) and cupboards (7; Fig. 1). However, the reference fails to disclose a tab and slot connection arrangement for components thereof.
Marshall, Sr. US 4,961,607discloses a vehicle cabinet including a rearward positioned bed (22; Fig. 1). However, the reference fails to disclose a tab and slot connection arrangement for components thereof.
Conclusion
/Joseph D. Pape/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3612