DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 1-5, 7, and 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al. (previously cited in Office Action 10/20/2025) in view of Woodnorth (US 2003/0034757).
Regarding claim 1, Lim et al. discloses a method for tracking a device of a wearable user equipment for a work system (see Fig. 1), wherein the method comprises the following steps:
the device (see Fig. 3, block 101) detects whether it is connected (as disclosed in sections 0135-0137 and 0170-0173) to a power supply (Fig.3, block 102), and
the device transmits an identification message (identification information as disclosed in sections 0136-0137 and 0172-0173) when it is connected to the power supply.
Lim et al. does not specifically disclose the work system comprises a base station, wherein the base station receives the identification message transmitted by the device. However, Woodnorth also discloses (see section 0037) transmitting an identification message (identification information) when a device is connected to a power supply (charger). Woodnorth further discloses the identification information is received/receivable by a base station (usage monitor, see Fig. 3B, sections 0035-0037). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the work system of Lim et al. to transmit identification information to a base station (usage monitor) as taught by Woodnorth since Woodnorth discloses the usage monitor can prevent unauthorized charging/recharging (see sections 0034 and 0038).
Regarding claim 2, Lim et al. discloses device (Fig. 3, block 101) is at least one of a sensor (as disclosed in section 0038) or information device (as disclosed in section 0065) and is attachable (wearable device as disclosed in section 0065) onto a garment of the work system.
Regarding claim 3, Lim et al. discloses the identification message is transmitted using Bluetooth protocol (through communication module 190 of Fig. 1, as disclosed in section 0053).
Regarding claim 4, Lim et al. discloses wherein the identification message includes at least one of an identifier of the device (as disclosed in sections 0136-0137 and 0172-0173), information on whether a power storage medium of the device is currently being charged, a state of charge of the power storage medium, a maintenance status of the power storage medium, an elapsed charging time, a remaining charging time, a charging speed, a signal strength of received signals, or a temperature of the power storage medium.
Regarding claim 5, Lim et al. discloses wherein the power supply is a charging station (battery device 102 as shown in Fig. 3), into which the device is inserted (using a USB cable as disclosed in section 0072).
Regarding claim 7, Woodnorth further discloses a base station (vending station as disclosed in section 0049) receives the identification message (device identification as disclosed in section 0049) transmitted by the device with establishing a two-way commination link with the device. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the work system of Lim et al. to transmit identification information to a base station (vending station) as taught by Woodnorth since Woodnorth discloses the base station can prevent unauthorized charging/recharging (see sections 0034 and 0038).
Regarding claim 11, Lim et al. discloses the work system (see Fig. 1) comprises a secondary device (electronic device 101) and a main device (server 108), wherein the device is the secondary device (see section 0057).
Regarding claim 12, Lim et al. discloses a transmission of the identification message is ended when the device is disconnected from the power supply (see sections 0170-0173, wherein it is the understanding of the Examiner that since the identification message is transmitted through a connected USB cable, when the cable is disconnected, the identification message ends).
Regarding claim 13, Lim et al. discloses wherein the identification message is only transmitted (see sections 0170-0173) when the device is not connected or coupled to at least one of a process control, a device server, or a main device (wherein it is the understanding of the Examiner that the identification message is only transmitted when the device is connect to the battery device).
Regarding claim 14, Lim et al. discloses the device has at least one of a sensor by means of which sensor data is generated or a screen on which content is displayed (as disclosed in sections 0038-0046).
Regarding claim 15, Lim et al. discloses wherein at least one of a garment or the device comprise at least one input means (input to pressure sensor or acceleration sensor as disclosed in sections 0038-0046), wherein at least one function of the device (generation of an electrical signal as disclosed in section 0046) is triggered by actuating the input means (through movement in the case of the acceleration sensor) when the device is received (or attached) in the garment.
Regarding claim 16, Lim et al. discloses the at least one input means (such as input to the pressure sensor disclosed in sections 0038-0046) is a trigger (to generate the electrical signal as disclosed in section 0046).
Regarding claim 17, Lim et al. discloses a device (see Fig. 1, block 101) for a work system (see Fig. 1) comprising the device and a garment (wherein the device is wearable as disclosed in section 0065) onto which the device is attachable, wherein the device is configured to execute a method for tracking the device of a wearable user equipment for the work system, wherein the method comprises the following steps:
the device (see Fig. 3, block 101) detects whether it is connected (as disclosed in sections 0135-0137 and 0170-0173) to a power supply (Fig.3, block 102), and
the device transmits an identification message (identification information as disclosed in sections 0136-0137 and 0172-0173) when it is connected to the power supply.
Lim et al. does not specifically disclose the identification message is receivable by a base station. However, Woodnorth also discloses (see section 0037) transmitting an identification message (identification information) when a device is connected to a power supply (charger). Woodnorth further discloses the identification information is received/receivable by a base station (usage monitor, see Fig. 3B, sections 0035-0037). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the work system of Lim et al. to transmit identification information to a base station (usage monitor) as taught by Woodnorth since Woodnorth discloses the usage monitor can prevent unauthorized charging/recharging (see sections 0034 and 0038).
Regarding claim 18, Lim et al. discloses a work system (see Fig. 1) comprising a main device (Fig. 1, block 108), a secondary device (Fig. 1, block 101) and a garment (wherein the device is wearable as disclosed in section 0065) onto which the secondary device is attachable, wherein at least one of the work system or the secondary device are configured to execute a method for tracking the secondary device, wherein the method comprises the following steps:
the secondary device (see Fig. 3, block 101) detects whether it is connected (as disclosed in sections 0135-0137 and 0170-0173) to a power supply (Fig.3, block 102), and
the secondary device transmits an identification message (identification information as disclosed in sections 0136-0137 and 0172-0173) when it is connected to the power supply.
Lim et al. does not specifically disclose the work system comprises a base station, wherein the base station receives the identification message transmitted by the secondary device. However, Woodnorth also discloses (see section 0037) transmitting an identification message (identification information) when a device is connected to a power supply (charger). Woodnorth further discloses the identification information is received/receivable by a base station (usage monitor, see Fig. 3B, sections 0035-0037). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the work system of Lim et al. to transmit identification information to a base station (usage monitor) as taught by Woodnorth since Woodnorth discloses the usage monitor can prevent unauthorized charging/recharging (see sections 0034 and 0038).
Regarding claim 19, Lim et al. discloses the device is wearable (see section 0065), wherein it is the understanding that a glove (garment) is a wearable device.
Regarding claim 20, Lim et al. discloses the work system comprises at least one of a charging station for the device, a process control, or a device server (see Fig. 1, block 108, section 0038).
Allowable Subject Matter
4. Claims 8-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/CURTIS B ODOM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2631 May 20, 2026