DETAILED ACTION
Claims 13 and 14 have been added.
Claims 1-14 are currently pending.
The previous rejections to claims 1-12 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, is withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/3/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues on pages 7 and 8 of the response in essence that: Guracar does in fact use an additional sensor for tracking the ultrasound probe as described in Guracur paras. [0031]-[0034], and this sensor and/or related position sensing is used in act 44, that is, for the spatial alignment as described in Guracur para. [0051]. The spatial alignment is necessary for placing the two transducers in a same frame of reference, otherwise it would be impossible to use the registration data of one transducer for registering the other as described in Guracar para. [0034].
While Guracar discusses the use of a position sensor in paragraphs 31-34, the position sensor is used in registering the wide field-of-view ultrasound image with the narrow field-of-view image (paragraph 34). Guracar states that if the transducer position sensor and the imaging system for the non-ultrasound modality are not registered, the portion represented by data of both modes is not known (paragraph 35). Therefore, the position sensor is not used in registering image data obtained from the high-depth and large FOV ultrasound scan of the anatomical region with image data of the anatomical region acquired with a different modality. Guracar teaches that landmark detection is used to register the ultrasound image and image of different modality (paragraph 37), because the positioning between images is unknown.
The Applicant argues on page 8 of the response in essence that: The Office Action attempts to rely on Guracur para. [0053] to allegedly teach two of the steps of the method recited in claim 1; however, the act 46 described in Guracur para. [0053] employs ultrasound data from the scan of act 40 and the scan data obtained in act 32. As described in Guracur para. [0046], the act 42 detects position of the transducer used in act 40 described in Guracur para. [0043]. Accordingly, Guracur para. [0053] employs a position sensor and its associated position sensing data and therefore Guracur cannot be relied on to teach or suggest the tracker-less method recited in claim 1.
The language Applicant is reciting relate to the steps of Combining and/or fusing the registered image data, and are not relied on to teach the step of Tracker-less registration. In response to Applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which Applicant relies (i.e., the claimed registration fully performed without any probe tracker) are not recited in the rejected claims. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
The Applicant argues on page 10 of the response in essence that: Thus, Weber uses pulses 315 and 325 as different spatial portions of a pulse sequence for acquiring region-of-interest and extended-field-of-view data. The mere inclusion of two different pulse groups in a pulse sequence does not disclose interlacing or alternating between a high-depth and large-FOV ultrasound scan and a zoomed ultrasound scan using the same probe as required by the claims 1 and 8.
Weber discloses the first ultrasound imaging data 211 is acquired by transmitting the first plurality of transmit pulses 315 to the region of interest 310 and the second ultrasound imaging data 212 is acquired by transmitting the second plurality of transmit pulses 325 to the extended field-of-view 320 (paragraph 119-120). The pulse sequence is interlaced because it includes pulses 315 and 325. Weber describes the manner of generating the ultrasound line by line in paragraph 67. Because the wide, high depth and large field of view (FOV) ultrasound scan and zoomed ultrasound scan are incrementally rendered line by line, the sequence of images is interlaced. While Applicant argues that Weber does not disclose alternating the FOV and zoomed ultrasound scans, that language is not recited in the rejected claims.
The Applicant argues on pages 10 and 11 of the response in essence that: Guracar specifically seeks to resolve differences in position sensing between two transducers as stated in the Abstract and at least on paras. [0003] and [0013] of Guracar. The proposed modification of Guracar to only use one probe as stated in the Office Action to allegedly teach claims 1 and 7 would improperly render Guracar unsatisfactory for its intended purpose; therefore, there is no suggestion or motivation to make the proposed modification.
The intended purpose of Guracar is to generate a multi-modality image (paragraph 1). Obtaining the FOV and zoomed ultrasound images with one probe as taught by Weber would merely simplify the step of obtaining ultrasound images and not prevent the proposed combination from producing a multi-modality image.
The Applicant argues on page 11 of the response in essence that: Guracar's corresponding registration framework depends on knowing the positions of the different transducers and adjusting the spatial transform to account for differences between those transducer positions. Thus, the proposed modification is not a straightforward substitution of one known probe for another. Guracar's use of multiple transducers is tied to the very problem Guracar.
Because both Guracar and Weber concern producing a multi-modality medical image, applying the teachings of Weber to the system of Guracar would not require a substantial reconstruction or redesign of the elements. A skilled artisan is capable of substituting the use of two traducers with a single traducer that interlaces wide and zoomed ultrasound images without significant redesign.
The Applicant argues on page 12 of the response in essence that: Weber does not supply the missing rationale. Weber's disclosure of acquiring ultrasound data at different resolutions using a single probe does not explain why a person of ordinary skill would have discarded Guracar's multiple-transducer, position-sensor-based registration framework and replaced it with the claimed same probe acquisition in which wide/high-depth/large-FOV scan and zoomed scan are interlaced for tracker-less multi-modality registration and fusion.
A skilled artisan would have been motivated to replace the use of multiple transducers with a single traducer because it would decrease the cost of the extra transducer, simplify the process of the operator obtaining images and make the system more compact.
The Applicant argues on page 14 of the response in essence that: As explained in para. [0016] of the application, image interleaving is used for doubling the frame rate, which is a quantity that makes sense only in real-time processing. Thus, Weber does not teach interlacing as claimed.
In response to Applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which Applicant relies (i.e., doubling the frame rate in real-time processing) are not recited in the rejected claims. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant’s remaining arguments on pages 14-16 are substantially repetitions of the arguments addressed above.
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities: In line 1, insert “A” before “Method”, In line 2, replace “to” with “with”, and in line 5 delete “the”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities: In line 2, replace “carrying” with “carry”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the tracker-less registration data" in line 15. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2 and 7-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guracar US Publication 2016/0331351 and Weber US Publication 2024/0404066 (hereafter “Weber”).
Referring to claim 1, Guracar discloses tracker-less method for registering images acquired with different modalities for generating fusion images from registered images acquired with different modalities, the method comprising:
- Acquiring a sequence of ultrasound images of an anatomical region from a probe by obtaining a wide, high-depth and large field of view (FOV) ultrasound scan to a zoomed ultrasound scan (paragraph 13, The multimodality coordinate registration transformation acquired with one ultrasound transducer (e.g., wide field-of-view) is used to provide registration information enabling multimodality fusion with a different ultrasound transducer (e.g., narrow field-of-view));
- Registering image data obtained from the high-depth and large FOV ultrasound scan of the anatomical region with image data of the anatomical region acquired with a different modality and determining registration data (paragraph 18, In act 30, information acquired with one ultrasound transducer is registered with information from a non-ultrasound imaging modality for multi-modality imaging);
- the image data obtained from the high-depth and large FOV ultrasound scan and/or the image data acquired with the different modality not being displayed to the user (paragraph 13, The multimodality coordinate registration transformation acquired with one ultrasound transducer (e.g., wide field-of-view) is used to provide registration information enabling multimodality fusion with a different ultrasound transducer (e.g., narrow field-of-view)) (paragraph 53, In act 46, a multi-modality image is generated. Any now known or later developed multi-modality imaging may be used. The information from two different modalities, one of which is ultrasound, is fused for a combined presentation to the user [the multi-modality image is displayed but not the images used to create the multi-modality image]);
- Tracker-less registering the image data acquired by the zoomed ultrasound scan with the zoomed image data obtained with the different modality by applying the tracker-less registration data to the image data acquired by the zoomed ultrasound scan without using any probe tracker (paragraph 35, In act 38, the ultrasound data is registered with the non-ultrasound data. The data from both modalities represents a part of the patient);
- Combining and/or fusing the registered image data acquired by the zoomed ultrasound scan with the zoomed image data obtained with the different modality to generate combined or fused image data (paragraph 53, In act 46, a multi-modality image is generated. Any now known or later developed multi-modality imaging may be used. The information from two different modalities, one of which is ultrasound, is fused for a combined presentation to the user) and
- Displaying the combined or fused image data acquired by the zoomed ultrasound scan with the zoomed image data obtained with the different modality in lieu of the image data obtained from the high-depth and large FOV ultrasound scan and/or the image data acquired with the different modality that was not displayed to the user (paragraph 53, In act 46, a multi-modality image is generated. Any now known or later developed multi-modality imaging may be used. The information from two different modalities, one of which is ultrasound, is fused for a combined presentation to the user).
While Guracar discloses acquiring both wide and zoomed ultrasound scans, Guracar does not disclose expressly doing so with a single probe that interlaces the scans.
Weber discloses - Acquiring a sequence of ultrasound images by an anatomical region from only a single probe (paragraph 91, The beamforming unit 210 is connected to an ultrasound transducer probe 230, and is configured to acquire, using the ultrasound transducer probe, first ultrasound imaging data 211 at a first resolution and second ultrasound imaging data 212 at a second, lower resolution) by interlacing wide, high depth and large field of view (FOV) ultrasound scan to a zoomed ultrasound scan (paragraph 119-120, According to the pulse sequence 300 in FIG. 3, the first ultrasound imaging data 211 is acquired by transmitting the first plurality of transmit pulses 315 to the region of interest 310. The first plurality of transmit pulses comprise narrow beams with a high line density. The second ultrasound imaging data 212 is acquired by transmitting the second plurality of transmit pulses 325 to the extended field-of-view 320. The second plurality of transmit pulses comprise wider transmit beams with a lower line density than the first plurality of transmit pulses 315, and are transmitted each side of the first plurality of transmit pulses to extend the field-of-view laterally).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use a single probe that interlaces wide and zoomed ultrasound images. The motivation for doing so would have been to eliminate the need for multiple probes while maintaining a high frame rate. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Weber with Guracar to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
Referring to claim 2, Guracar discloses wherein registration is carried out by means of registration algorithms comprising:
- defining landmarks on images comprising an image acquired by the different modality and an image acquired by the high-depth and large FOV ultrasound scan (paragraph 37, By locating landmark features as points, lines, areas, and/or volumes in both sets of data, the spatial registration between the different types of data is determined);
- defining a spatial reference system common to both of the said images (paragraph 37, The spatial transform to align the features in the two data spaces is calculated);
- determining transfer functions of the image pixels of the image according to the different modality to the image pixels of the image acquired by the high- depth ultrasound scan based on different spatial positions of the said landmarks in the spatial reference system and in which the said transfer functions, also called registration data are applied to the image pixels obtained by the zoomed ultrasound scan for registering the image with the different modality image and which registered zoomed ultrasound image is combined with a correspondingly zoomed field of view of the image acquired by the different modality and only the combined image is displayed to the user (paragraph 40, A coordinate transformation matrix capturing the translation, orientation, and/or scale of the ultrasound data relative to the scan data of the other modality is determined).
Referring to claim 7, Guracar discloses a system configured for registering images acquired with different modalities for generating fusion images from registered images acquired with different modalities, which system comprises:
- an ultrasound imaging system (paragraph 15, The method is implemented by the system 10 of FIG. 4);
- a registration data processor configured to store images acquired with a first imaging modality and images acquired by a probe of the ultrasound imaging system (paragraph 79, The processor 26 is configured to register scan data from one ultrasound transducer with scan data from another modality, such as magnetic resonance or computed tomography data);
- the registration data processor being configured to calculate registration data of the image acquired by the ultrasound system with the image acquired with the first modality (paragraph 79, The processor 26 is configured to register using a coordinate transformation matrix created using a transducer with a larger field of view);
- a zooming processor which sets the ultrasound imaging system for acquiring zoomed images by a probe (paragraph 43, In act 40, a different transducer with a same or different ultrasound imaging system is used to scan the patient. The scan of act 40 may have a shallower and/or narrower field of view than for act 34);
- an image combination processor which once the registration data process applies the registration data to the zoomed ultrasound image without using any probe tracker, combines the zoomed ultrasound image with a corresponding zoomed field of view of the image acquired by the first modality (paragraph 53, In act 46, a multi-modality image is generated. The information from two different modalities, one of which is ultrasound, is fused for a combined presentation to the user);
- a display for displaying the combined zoomed ultrasound image with the corresponding zoomed field of view of the image acquired by the first modality (paragraph 64, The display 28 is a monitor, LCD, projector, plasma display, CRT, printer, or other now known or later developed devise for outputting visual information);
wherein the display is controlled to not display images acquired with the first imaging modality and/or images acquired by the probe of the ultrasound imaging system, and to instead display only the combined zoomed ultrasound image with the corresponding zoomed field of view of the image acquired by the first modality (paragraph 53, In act 46, a multi-modality image is generated. Any now known or later developed multi-modality imaging may be used. The information from two different modalities, one of which is ultrasound, is fused for a combined presentation to the user [the multi-modality image is displayed but not the images used to create the multi-modality image]).
While Guracar discloses acquiring both wide and zoomed ultrasound scans, Guracar does not disclose expressly doing so with a single probe.
Weber discloses - a registration data processor configured to store images acquired with a first imaging modality and images acquired by a probe of the ultrasound imaging system (paragraph 91, The beamforming unit 210 is connected to an ultrasound transducer probe 230, and is configured to acquire, using the ultrasound transducer probe, first ultrasound imaging data 211 at a first resolution and second ultrasound imaging data 212 at a second, lower resolution) (paragraph 119, According to the pulse sequence 300 in FIG. 3, the first ultrasound imaging data 211 is acquired by transmitting the first plurality of transmit pulses 315 to the region of interest 310. The first plurality of transmit pulses comprise narrow beams with a high line density);
- a zooming processor which sets the ultrasound imaging system for acquiring zoomed images by the same probe (paragraph 120, The second ultrasound imaging data 212 is acquired by transmitting the second plurality of transmit pulses 325 to the extended field-of-view 320. The second plurality of transmit pulses comprise wider transmit beams with a lower line density than the first plurality of transmit pulses 315, and are transmitted each side of the first plurality of transmit pulses to extend the field-of-view laterally).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use a single probe that obtains wide and zoomed ultrasound images. The motivation for doing so would have been to eliminate the need for multiple probes while maintaining a high frame rate. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Weber with Guracar to obtain the invention as specified in claim 7.
Referring to claim 8, Guracar discloses wherein a controller of an ultrasound system is provided which is configured to drive the ultrasound system for carrying out a high-depth and large field of view imaging scan and a zoomed ultrasound scan, the controller feeding the image data acquired by said high-depth and large field of view imaging scans to the registration data processor for calculating the registration data with the image acquired by the first modality (paragraph 13, The multimodality coordinate registration transformation acquired with one ultrasound transducer (e.g., wide field-of-view) is used to provide registration information enabling multimodality fusion with a different ultrasound transducer (e.g., narrow field-of-view)) and
the controller feeding the image data acquired by the zoomed ultrasound scan to the registration data processor for applying to it the registration data (paragraph 35, In act 38, the ultrasound data is registered with the non-ultrasound data. The data from both modalities represents a part of the patient);
the controller providing the registered zoomed ultrasound image with the corresponding zoomed field of view of the image acquired by the first modality to the image combination processor and providing the combined image to the display (paragraph 53, In act 46, a multi-modality image is generated. Any now known or later developed multi-modality imaging may be used. The information from two different modalities, one of which is ultrasound, is fused for a combined presentation to the user).
While Guracar discloses acquiring both wide and zoomed ultrasound scans, Guracar does not disclose expressly interlacing the scans.
Weber discloses wherein an ultrasound system control unit is provided which is configured to drive the ultrasound system for carrying out in an interlaced manner (paragraph 119-120, According to the pulse sequence 300 in FIG. 3, the first ultrasound imaging data 211 is acquired by transmitting the first plurality of transmit pulses 315 to the region of interest 310. The first plurality of transmit pulses comprise narrow beams with a high line density. The second ultrasound imaging data 212 is acquired by transmitting the second plurality of transmit pulses 325 to the extended field-of-view 320. The second plurality of transmit pulses comprise wider transmit beams with a lower line density than the first plurality of transmit pulses 315, and are transmitted each side of the first plurality of transmit pulses to extend the field-of-view laterally).
At the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use a single probe that interlaces wide and zoomed ultrasound images. The motivation for doing so would have been to eliminate the need for multiple probes while maintaining a high frame rate. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Weber with Guracar to obtain the invention as specified in claim 8.
Referring to claim 9, Guracar discloses wherein the registration data processor as well as the image combination processor can be in the form of a software coding the instructions for a controller of an ultrasound system to carry out the above disclosed functions (paragraph 70, The functions, acts or tasks are independent of the particular type of instructions set, storage media, processor or processing strategy and may be performed by software, hardware, integrated circuits, firmware, micro code and the like, operating alone, or in combination).
Referring to claim 10, Guracar discloses wherein said software is loaded and executed by the controller which is integrated or part of a central processing unit (CPU) of the ultrasound system (paragraph 79, The processor 26 is configured to register scan data from one ultrasound transducer with scan data from another modality, such as magnetic resonance or computed tomography data).
Referring to claim 11, Guracar discloses wherein said software is loaded and executed by an external central processing unit (CPU) which is communicating with the controller of the ultrasound system and with the display of the ultrasound system (paragraph 66, The memory 12 is part of an imaging system (e.g., ultrasound system 14), part of a computer associated with the processor 26, part of a database, part of another system, or a standalone device)
Referring to claim 12, Guracar discloses wherein part of said software is loaded and executed by the controller, which is integrated, or is part of a central processing unit (CPU) of the ultrasound system and part of the software is loaded and executed by said external CPU (paragraph 70, The functions, acts or tasks are independent of the particular type of instructions set, storage media, processor or processing strategy and may be performed by software, hardware, integrated circuits, firmware, micro code and the like, operating alone, or in combination. Likewise, processing strategies may include multiprocessing, multitasking, parallel processing, and the like).
Referring to claim 13, Weber discloses wherein interlacing wide, high-depth and large field of view (FOV) ultrasound scan with a zoomed ultrasound scan comprises setting transmitted and/or received ultrasound beams in order to cover alternately a high-depth and large field of view scan of the anatomical region and a zoomed scan of a limited zone of the anatomical region (paragraph 119-120, According to the pulse sequence 300 in FIG. 3, the first ultrasound imaging data 211 is acquired by transmitting the first plurality of transmit pulses 315 to the region of interest 310. The first plurality of transmit pulses comprise narrow beams with a high line density. The second ultrasound imaging data 212 is acquired by transmitting the second plurality of transmit pulses 325 to the extended field-of-view 320. The second plurality of transmit pulses comprise wider transmit beams with a lower line density than the first plurality of transmit pulses 315, and are transmitted each side of the first plurality of transmit pulses to extend the field-of-view laterally).
Referring to claim 14, Weber discloses wherein the controller is configured to carry out in an interlaced manner a high-depth and large field of view imaging scan and a zoomed ultrasound scan by setting transmitted and/or received ultrasound beams in order to cover alternately a high-depth and large field of view scan of a target region and a zoomed scan of a limited zone of the said target region (paragraph 119-120, According to the pulse sequence 300 in FIG. 3, the first ultrasound imaging data 211 is acquired by transmitting the first plurality of transmit pulses 315 to the region of interest 310. The first plurality of transmit pulses comprise narrow beams with a high line density. The second ultrasound imaging data 212 is acquired by transmitting the second plurality of transmit pulses 325 to the extended field-of-view 320. The second plurality of transmit pulses comprise wider transmit beams with a lower line density than the first plurality of transmit pulses 315, and are transmitted each side of the first plurality of transmit pulses to extend the field-of-view laterally).
Claim 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guracar US Publication 2016/0331351 and Weber US Publication 2024/0404066 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of well known prior art.
Referring to claim 3, Guracar discloses determining the registration data, but does not disclose doing so expressly using a GAN.
Official Notice is taken that it is well known and obvious in the art to register image using a so-called generative algorithm as the so-called GAN (See MPEP 2144.03). The motivation for doing so would have been to utilize a standardized technique that improves the registration of images while reducing the involvement of user interaction. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine well known prior art with Guracar to obtain the invention as specified in claim 3.
Referring to claim 4, Guracar discloses determining the registration data, but does not disclose doing so expressly using one-shot machine learning registration of heterogeneous imaging modalities.
Official Notice is taken that it is well known and obvious in the art to register image using a one-shot machine learning registration of heterogeneous imaging modalities (See MPEP 2144.03). The motivation for doing so would have been to utilize a standardized technique that improves the registration of images while reducing the involvement of user interaction. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine well known prior art with Guracar to obtain the invention as specified in claim 4.
Referring to claim 5, Guracar discloses mapping the image acquired by the different modality, such as for example MRI or CT, to a "synthetic" ultrasound image subsequent registration to a real ultrasound image (paragraph 53, In act 46, a multi-modality image is generated. Any now known or later developed multi-modality imaging may be used. The information from two different modalities, one of which is ultrasound, is fused for a combined presentation to the user), but does not disclose expressly using a Machine Learning algorithm.
Official Notice is taken that it is well known and obvious in the art to use a machine learning algorithm to map images (See MPEP 2144.03). The motivation for doing so would have been to utilize a standardized technique that improves the registration of images while reducing the involvement of user interaction. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine well known prior art with Guracar to obtain the invention as specified in claim 5.
Referring to claim 6, Guracar discloses wherein a Machine Learning algorithm is used for carrying out a segmentation in the ultrasound images (paragraph 38, wherein a Machine Learning algorithm is used for carrying out an anatomical segmentation in the ultrasound images), but does not disclose expressly wherein a Machine Learning algorithm is used for carrying out an anatomical segmentation in the ultrasound images and the registration with previously segmented images acquired by the different modality.
Official Notice is taken that it is well known and obvious in the art to use a Machine Learning algorithm is used for carrying out an anatomical segmentation (See MPEP 2144.03). The motivation for doing so would have been to utilize a standardized technique that improves the registration of images while reducing the involvement of user interaction. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine well known prior art with Guracar to obtain the invention as specified in claim 6.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PETER K HUNTSINGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2682