DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1, 7 and 8 are currently amended. Claims 12-15 and 17-20 are canceled. Claim 23 is newly added. Claims 1-5, 7-11 and 23 are pending review in this action. The previous objections to the claims are withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendments.
New grounds of rejection necessitated by Applicant’s amendments are presented below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-5, 7-11 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the upper and lower surfaces of the sensing lead" on the last line of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation: "the receptacle further includes a second contact portion … shaped and sized to correspond to the first sensing hole and to be accommodated in the first sensing hole" (lines 4-6).
The context of the claim suggests that the second contact portion is intended to be shaped and sized to correspond to the second sensing hole and to be accommodated in the second sensing hole.
Applicant is invited to review the limitation and ensure that the correct configuration is claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 9-11 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Korean Patent Publication No. 10-2014-0083304, hereinafter Jin in view of U.S. Patent No. 5,948,562, hereinafter Fulcher and U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2014/0080364, hereinafter Nakayama.
Regarding claim 1, Jin teaches a battery module.
The battery module comprises a pouch-type battery cell (11) comprising a pouch case (13) (paragraph [0031] and figure 1). The pouch case (13) includes an accommodation portion accommodating an electrode assembly (23) (paragraph [0053] and figure 2).
The electrode assembly (23) includes a positive electrode plate (37, “first electrode plate”), a separator (39) and a negative electrode plate (41, “second electrode plate”) stacked on one another (paragraph [0039] and figures 1-3).
An electrode tab (33) is connected to the negative electrode plate (41, “second electrode plate”) on a first peripheral side of the electrode assembly (23) (paragraph [0034] and figures 2-4).
A positive electrode lead (15, “first electrode lead”) is connected to the positive electrode plate (37, “first electrode plate”) and extends outside of the pouch case (13) in a first direction from the first peripheral side of the electrode assembly (23) (paragraph [0031] and figures 1-5).
A negative electrode lead (17, “second electrode lead”) is connected to the negative electrode plate (41, “second electrode plate”) and extends outside of the pouch case (13) from a second peripheral side of the electrode assembly (23). The second peripheral side of the electrode assembly (23) is opposite the first peripheral side of the electrode assembly (23) (paragraph [0031] and figures 1-5).
A sensing lead (21) is connected to the electrode tab (33) at the first peripheral side of the electrode assembly (23). The sensing lead (21) has a first end connected to the electrode tab (33) and a second end opposite the first end away from the electrode tab (33) in the first direction. The second end extends outside the pouch case (13) from the first peripheral side of the electrode assembly (23) (paragraph [0031] and figures 2 and 5).
Jin teaches that each of the leads is wrapped in insulating tape (35) in the area where the leads extend outside of the pouch case and that the insulating tape (35) is attached to the pouch case (13) and fusion bonded (paragraphs [0033, 0036, 0051] and figures 1, 2 and 5).
At the very least, the area of fusion bonding to the insulating tape (35) is a “sealing portion” extending from a periphery of the accommodation portion in the first direction. It is further well-known that any opening of the pouch case (such as where the leads are brought out) would have to be sealed or the battery would not be operational, because the electrolyte would leak out.
The sensing lead (21) protrudes from and is exposed through an opening in the end of the sealing portion for the purpose of connecting with a voltage sensor (25).
The voltage sensor (25) is configured to sense a voltage of the battery cell (11) between the positive electrode lead (15, “first electrode lead”) and the sensing lead (21) (paragraph [0035] and figure 2).
Jin fails to teach: 1) a first sensing hole in the sealing portion positioned between the accommodation portion and an end of the sealing portion in the first direction, the sensing lead (21) exposed through the sensing hole; and 2) a sensing wire configured to connect the sensing lead (21) to a voltage sensor and a receptacle being connected to an end of the sensing wire.
Regarding 1) forming an electrical connection with a lead via a through hole in the sealing portion of a pouch case is a known configuration in the art – see, e.g. Fulcher, who teaches forming an aperture (50 and 60) through the layers of the pouch case of an electrochemical cell in the sealing portion for the purpose of establishing an electrical connection with a lead inside the pouch case. The aperture may be formed in one of the upper or lower surface of the sealing portion or in both the upper and lower surfaces of the sealing portion (col. 5, lines 25-36, 50-57 and figures 2 and 3). Fulcher describes problems in maintaining the mechanical integrity of the pouch-enclosed battery cell when leads protrude out of the pouch case (col. 1, lines 45-55).
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the electrical connection between the voltage sensor (25) and the sensing lead (21) via a first through hole (“sensing hole”) in the sealing portion for the purpose of reducing problems in maintaining the mechanical integrity of the pouch-enclosed battery cell (1).
Regarding 2), voltage detecting lines (“wires”) are well-known conductive elements used for voltage sensing – see, e.g. Nakayama, who teaches a voltage sensing wire (W1) fitted to a flat battery terminal (15A) to detect the voltage of a battery cell. A voltage detection terminal (25, “receptacle”) is connected to an end of the voltage sensing wire (W1). The voltage detection terminal (25, “receptacle”) includes a contact portion (26) having a flat plate shape shaped and sized to directly contact the flat battery terminal (15A) (paragraphs [0041, 0046] and figures 4 and 6).
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a voltage sensing wire with a receptacle having a flat contact portion for the purpose of connecting the sensing lead (21) to a voltage sensor without undue experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success.
In the combination of Jin and Fulcher, the first through hole (“sensing hole”) may be formed in one of the upper and lower surface of the sealing portion and it would therefore be obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist to form the receptacle such that it would be shaped and sized to correspond and be accommodated in the first through hole (“sensing hole”) so that it could make direct contact with the exposed surface of the sensing lead (21).
Regarding claim 2, Jin teaches that the battery cell (11) is a bidirectional drawing-type battery cell. The positive electrode lead (15, “first electrode lead”) and the negative electrode lead (17, “second electrode lead”) are of opposite polarities and are drawn in opposite directions from each other (figures 1-5).
Regarding claim 3, Jin teaches that the sensing lead (21) is located adjacent to the positive electrode lead (15, “first electrode lead”) at the first peripheral side of the electrode assembly (23) (figure 2).
Regarding claim 4, Jin teaches that the positive electrode lead (15, “first electrode lead”) has a voltage of the positive (“first”) polarity and the sensing lead (21) has a voltage of the negative (“second”) polarity.
Regarding claim 5, Jin teaches that the positive electrode lead (15, “first electrode lead”) is connected to the voltage sensor (25) at the first peripheral side of the electrode assembly (23) (figure 2)
Jin fails to teach another sensing wire configured to connect the positive electrode lead (15, “first electrode lead”) to a voltage sensor.
Voltage detecting lines (“wires”) are well-known conductive elements used for voltage sensing – see, e.g. Nakayama (paragraph [0043]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a voltage sensing wire as taught by Nakayama for the purpose of connecting the positive electrode lead (15, “first electrode lead”) to the voltage sensor (25) without undue experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 9, Jin teaches that the electrode assembly (23) includes multiple positive electrode plates (37, “first electrode plates”), multiple separators (39) and multiple negative electrode plates (41, “second electrode plates”) stacked on one another (paragraph [0039] and figure 3).
Jin teaches one sensing lead (21) connected to the electrode tab (33) and extending out of the pouch case (13) (figure 1). It is thus understood that the sensing lead (21) and the electrode tab (33) are connected to all of the negative electrode plates (41, “second electrode plates”) within the electrode assembly (23).
Regarding claim 10, Jin teaches one positive electrode lead (15, “first electrode lead”) and one negative electrode lead (17, “second electrode lead”) extending out of the pouch case (13) (figure 1). It is thus understood that the positive electrode lead (15, “first electrode lead”) is connected to all of the positive electrode plates (37, “first electrode plates”) and the negative electrode lead (17, “second electrode lead”) is connected to all of the negative electrode plates (41, “second electrode plates”) of the electrode assembly (23).
Regarding claim 11, Jin teaches an insulating tape (35, “sealant”) for sealing the area of the pouch case (13) where each of the positive electrode lead (15, “first electrode lead”) and the negative electrode lead (17, “second electrode lead”) extend outside of the pouch case (13). An insulating tape (35, “sealant”) is attached to each of the positive electrode lead (15, “first electrode lead”) and the negative electrode lead (17, “second electrode lead”) and bonded to an inner surface of the pouch case (13) (paragraph [0051] and figures 2 and 5).
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Korean Patent Publication No. 10-2014-0083304, hereinafter Jin in view of U.S. Patent No. 5,948,562, hereinafter Fulcher and U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2014/0080364, hereinafter Nakayama and as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2013/0323580, hereinafter Kim.
Regarding claim 23, Jin as modified by Fulcher teaches that the sensing lead (21) has a second end positioned in the sealing portion, such that the second end is not exposed through the first sensing hole. The sealing portion has a width in the first direction that extends from the periphery of the accommodation portion to the end of the sealing portion in an area where the sensing lead is not disposed. The upper and lower surfaces of the sealing portion face a direction perpendicular to the first direction. The positive electrode lead (15, “first electrode lead”) extends outside of the pouch case (13) in the first direction protruding out of the sealing portion through an opening in the sealing portion (paragraph [0031] and figures 1-5).
Jin as modified by Fulcher and Nakayama fails to teach: 1) that the sealing portion extends along the entire first peripheral side of the electrode assembly in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction; and 2) that a distance between the second end of the sensing lead (21) and the end of the sealing portion in the first direction is equal to or greater than one fourth of the width of the sealing portion in the first direction.
Regarding 1), it is well-known in the art that pouch type batteries of the type taught by Jin have sealing portions that extend along the entire periphery of the electrode assembly (23) for the purpose of retaining the electrode assembly (23) and electrolyte within the pouch – see, e.g. Kim, who teaches sealing portion (50) extending around the electrode assembly (20) (paragraph [0013] and figure 2).
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the sealing portion extend along the entire first peripheral side of the electrode assembly (23) in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction in order to retain the electrode assembly (23) and electrolyte within the pouch.
Regarding 2), Fulcher is clear that the presence of the lead within the sealing portion causes problems in maintaining the seal (col. 1, lines 45-50). Further it is well-understood in the art that reducing the sealing width, reduces the sealing reliability of the pouch – see Kim (paragraph [0018]).
Therefore, the ordinarily skilled artist would understand that a sufficient area of sealing beyond the second end of the lead would be necessary in order to ensure that the sealing portion’s integrity is maintained. As such, the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to keep the second end of the lead far from the end of the sealing portion in the first direction, because it is clear that the larger the width available for direct sealing between the pouch sheets, the stronger the seal would be. Thus, the ordinarily skilled artist would be capable of optimizing the claimed ratio, such that the width available for direct sealing between the pouch sheets is greater than ¼ of the width of the sealing portion.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s newly added limitations have been considered. However, after further search and consideration, the combination of the Jin, Fulcher and Nakayama references has been provided, as recited above, to address the amended claims.
Conclusion
LILIA V. NEDIALKOVA
Examiner
Art Unit 1724
/MIRIAM STAGG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1724