DETAILED ACTION
This is a final office action in response to Applicant’s remarks and amendments filed on June 14, 2025. Claims 1, 7, 12 and 17 are currently amended. Claims 6 and 16 are canceled. Claims 1-5, 7-15, 17-20 are pending review in this action.
New grounds of rejection necessitated by Applicant’s amendments are presented below.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities. Line 40 of the claim reads in part: “the upper of lower surface”. The limitation should be edited to read: “the upper or lower surface”.
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities. Line 32 of the claim reads in part: “the upper of lower surface”. The limitation should be edited to read: “the upper or lower surface”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Korean Patent Publication No. 10-2014-0083304, hereinafter Jin in view of U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2013/0323580, hereinafter Kim, Korean Patent Publication No. 2010-0035944, hereinafter Choi and U.S. Patent No. 5,948,562, hereinafter Fulcher. (A machine translation of Choi was provided with a prior office action).
Regarding claim 1, Jin teaches a battery module.
The battery module comprises a pouch-type battery cell (11) comprising a pouch case (13) (paragraph [0031] and figure 1). The pouch case (13) includes an accommodation portion accommodating an electrode assembly (23) (paragraph [0053] and figure 2).
The electrode assembly (23) includes a positive electrode plate (37, “first electrode plate”), a separator (39) and a negative electrode plate (41, “second electrode plate”) stacked on one another (paragraph [0039] and figures 1-3).
An electrode tab (33) is connected to the negative electrode plate (41, “second electrode plate”) on a first peripheral side of the electrode assembly (23) (paragraph [0034] and figures 2-4).
A positive electrode lead (15, “first electrode lead”) is connected to the positive electrode plate (37, “first electrode plate”) and extends outside of the pouch case (13) in a first direction from the first peripheral side of the electrode assembly (23) (paragraph [0031] and figures 1-5).
A negative electrode lead (17, “second electrode lead”) is connected to the negative electrode plate (41, “second electrode plate”) and extends outside of the pouch case (13) from a second peripheral side of the electrode assembly (23). The second peripheral side of the electrode assembly (23) is opposite the first peripheral side of the electrode assembly (23) (paragraph [0031] and figures 1-5).
A sensing lead (21) is connected to the electrode tab (33) at the first peripheral side of the electrode assembly (23). The sensing lead (21) has a first end connected to the electrode tab (33) and a second end opposite the first end away from the electrode tab (33) in the first direction. The second end extends outside the pouch case (13) from the first peripheral side of the electrode assembly (23) (paragraph [0031] and figures 2 and 5).
Jin teaches that each of the leads is wrapped in insulating tape (35) in the area where the leads extend outside of the pouch case and that the insulating tape (35) is attached to the pouch case (13) and fusion bonded (paragraphs [0033, 0036, 0051] and figures 1, 2 and 5).
At the very least, the area of fusion bonding to the insulating tape (35) is a “sealing portion” extending from a periphery of the accommodation portion in the first direction. It is further well-known that any opening of the pouch case (such as where the leads are brought out) would have to be sealed or the battery would not be operational, because the electrolyte would leak out.
The sensing lead (21) protrudes from and is exposed through an opening in the end of the sealing portion for the purpose of connecting with a voltage sensor (25).
The voltage sensor (25) is configured to sense a voltage of the battery cell (11) between the positive electrode lead (15, “first electrode lead”) and the sensing lead (21) (paragraph [0035] and figure 2).
Jin fails to teach: 1) that the sealing portion extends along the entire first peripheral side of the electrode assembly in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction; 2) a sensing wire configured to connect the sensing lead (21) to a voltage sensor; 3) a sensing hole in the sealing portion positioned between the accommodation portion and an end of the sealing portion in the first direction, the sensing lead exposed through the sensing hole; 4) that the second end of the sensing lead (21) is disposed within the sealing portion and not exposed through the sensing hole in the sealing portion of the pouch case (13); and 5) that a distance between the second end of the sealing lead (21) and the end of the sealing portion in the first direction is equal to or greater than one fourth of the width of the sealing portion in the first direction.
Regarding 1), it is well-known in the art that pouch type batteries of the type taught by Jin have sealing portions that extend along the entire periphery of the electrode assembly (23) for the purpose of retaining the electrode assembly (23) and electrolyte within the pouch – see, e.g. Kim, who teaches sealing portion (50) extending around the electrode assembly (20) (paragraph [0013] and figure 2).
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the sealing portion extend along the entire first peripheral side of the electrode assembly (23) in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction in order to retain the electrode assembly (23) and electrolyte within the pouch.
Regarding 2), voltage detecting lines (“wires”) are well-known conductive elements used for voltage sensing – see, e.g. Choi, who teaches a voltage sensing wire (21) fitted to a battery cell lead (15) to detect the voltage of a battery cell (p.1, last paragraph; p. 2, 2nd and 3rd paragraph and figures 5-6).
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a voltage sensing wire as taught by Choi for the purpose of connecting the sensing lead (21) to a voltage sensor without undue experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding 3) and 4), forming an electrical connection with a lead via a through hole in the sealing portion of a pouch case is a known configuration in the art – see, e.g. Fulcher, who teaches forming an aperture (50 and 60) through the layers of the pouch case of an electrochemical cell in the sealing portion for the purpose of establishing an electrical connection with a lead inside the pouch case (col. 5, lines 25-36 and figure 2). Fulcher describes problems in maintaining the mechanical integrity of the pouch-enclosed battery cell when leads protrude out of the pouch case (col. 1, lines 45-55).
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the electrical connection between the sensing wire and the sensing lead (21) via a through hole in the sealing portion for the purpose of reducing problems in maintaining the mechanical integrity of the pouch-enclosed battery cell (1). In the combination of Jin and Fulcher, the sensing lead (21) would have a second end positioned in the sealing portion, such that the second end would not be exposed through the through-hole. In the combination of Jin and Fulcher, the through hole is formed in the upper and lower surface of the sealing portion, wherein the upper and lower surface face a direction perpendicular to the first direction.
Regarding 5), Fulcher is clear that the presence of the lead within the sealing portion causes problems in maintaining the seal (col. 1, lines 45-50). Further it is well-understood in the art that reducing the sealing width, reduces the sealing reliability of the pouch – see Kim (paragraph [0018]).
Therefore, the ordinarily skilled artist would understand that a sufficient area of sealing beyond the second end of the lead would be necessary in order to ensure that the sealing portion’s integrity is maintained. As such, the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to keep the second end of the lead far from the end of the sealing portion in the first direction, because it is clear that the larger the width available for direct sealing between the pouch sheets, the stronger the seal would be. Thus, the ordinarily skilled artist would be capable of optimizing the claimed ratio, such that the width available for direct sealing between the pouch sheets is greater than ¼ of the width of the sealing portion.
Regarding claim 2, Jin teaches that the battery cell (11) is a bidirectional drawing-type battery cell. The positive electrode lead (15, “first electrode lead”) and the negative electrode lead (17, “second electrode lead”) are of opposite polarities and are drawn in opposite directions from each other (figures 1-5).
Regarding claim 3, Jin teaches that the sensing lead (21) is located adjacent to the positive electrode lead (15, “first electrode lead”) at the first peripheral side of the electrode assembly (23) (figure 2).
Regarding claim 4, Jin teaches that the positive electrode lead (15, “first electrode lead”) has a voltage of the positive (“first”) polarity and the sensing lead (21) has a voltage of the negative (“second”) polarity.
Regarding claim 5, Jin teaches that the positive electrode lead (15, “first electrode lead”) is connected to the voltage sensor (25) at the first peripheral side of the electrode assembly (23) (figure 2)
Jin fails to teach another sensing wire configured to connect the positive electrode lead (15, “first electrode lead”) to a voltage sensor.
Voltage detecting lines (“wires”) are well-known conductive elements used for voltage sensing – see, e.g. Choi, who teaches a voltage sensing wire (21) fitted to a battery cell lead (15) to detect the voltage of a battery cell (p.1, last paragraph; p. 2, 2nd and 3rd paragraph and figures 5-6).
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a voltage sensing wire as taught by Choi for the purpose of connecting the sensing lead (21) to a voltage sensor without undue experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 7, Jin as modified by Fulcher teaches that the sensing hole is a through-hole formed in an upper and lower surface of the sealing portion of the pouch case (Fulcher’s figure 2).
Regarding claim 8, Jin as modified by Choi teaches a receptacle (16) connected to the end of the voltage sensing wire. The receptacle (16) is fitted to battery cell lead (15) to detect the voltage of the battery cell. The receptacle (16) includes a tab connection (18) in the form of tongs which directly contact the cell lead (15) on both sides by using an elastic force. The tongs are a pair of contact portions (p.1, last paragraph; p. 2, 2nd and 3rd paragraph and figures 5-6).
Regarding claim 9, Jin teaches that the electrode assembly (23) includes multiple positive electrode plates (37, “first electrode plates”), multiple separators (39) and multiple negative electrode plates (41, “second electrode plates”) stacked on one another (paragraph [0039] and figure 3).
Jin teaches one sensing lead (21) connected to the electrode tab (33) and extending out of the pouch case (13) (figure 1). It is thus understood that the sensing lead (21) and the electrode tab (33) are connected to all of the negative electrode plates (41, “second electrode plates”) within the electrode assembly (23).
Regarding claim 10, Jin teaches one positive electrode lead (15, “first electrode lead”) and one negative electrode lead (17, “second electrode lead”) extending out of the pouch case (13) (figure 1). It is thus understood that the positive electrode lead (15, “first electrode lead”) is connected to all of the positive electrode plates (37, “first electrode plates”) and the negative electrode lead (17, “second electrode lead”) is connected to all of the negative electrode plates (41, “second electrode plates”) of the electrode assembly (23).
Regarding claim 11, Jin teaches an insulating tape (35, “sealant”) for sealing the area of the pouch case (13) where each of the positive electrode lead (15, “first electrode lead”) and the negative electrode lead (17, “second electrode lead”) extend outside of the pouch case (13). An insulating tape (35, “sealant”) is attached to each of the positive electrode lead (15, “first electrode lead”) and the negative electrode lead (17, “second electrode lead”) and bonded to an inner surface of the pouch case (13) (paragraph [0051] and figures 2 and 5).
Claims 12-15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Korean Patent Publication No. 10-2014-0083304, hereinafter Jin in view of U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2013/0323580, hereinafter Kim and U.S. Patent No. 5,948,562, hereinafter Fulcher.
Regarding claim 12, Jin teaches a battery cell (11) comprising a pouch case (13) (paragraph [0031] and figure 1). The pouch case (13) includes an accommodation portion accommodating an electrode assembly (23) (paragraph [0053] and figure 2).
The electrode assembly (23) includes a positive electrode plate (37, “first electrode plate”), a separator (39) and a negative electrode plate (41, “second electrode plate”) stacked on one another (paragraph [0039] and figures 1-3).
An electrode tab (33) is connected to the negative electrode plate (41, “second electrode plate”) on a first peripheral side of the electrode assembly (23) (paragraph [0034] and figures 2-4).
A positive electrode lead (15, “first electrode lead”) is connected to the positive electrode plate (37, “first electrode plate”) and extends outside of the pouch case (13) in a first direction from the first peripheral side of the electrode assembly (23) (paragraph [0031] and figures 1-5).
A negative electrode lead (17, “second electrode lead”) is connected to the negative electrode plate (41, “second electrode plate”) and extends outside of the pouch case (13) from a second peripheral side of the electrode assembly (23). The second peripheral side of the electrode assembly (23) is opposite the first peripheral side of the electrode assembly (23) (paragraph [0031] and figures 1-5).
A sensing lead (21) is connected to the electrode tab (33) at the first peripheral side of the electrode assembly (23). The sensing lead (21) has a first end connected to the electrode tab (33) and a second end opposite the first end away from the electrode tab (33) in the first direction. The second end extends outside the pouch case (13) from the first peripheral side of the electrode assembly (23) (paragraph [0031] and figures 2 and 5).
Jin teaches that each of the leads is wrapped in insulating tape (35) in the area where the leads extend outside of the pouch case and that the insulating tape (35) is attached to the pouch case (13) and fusion bonded (paragraphs [0033, 0036, 0051] and figures 1, 2 and 5).
At the very least, the area of fusion bonding to the insulating tape (35) is a “sealing portion” extending from a periphery of the accommodation portion. It is further well-known that any opening of the pouch case (such as where the leads are brought out) would have to be sealed or the battery would not be operational, because the electrolyte would leak out.
The sensing lead (21) protrudes from and is exposed through an opening in the end of the sealing portion for the purpose of connecting with a voltage sensor (25).
Jin fails to teach: 1) that the sealing portion extends along the entire first peripheral side of the electrode assembly (23) in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction; 2) a sensing hole in the sealing portion positioned between the accommodation portion and an end of the sealing portion in the first direction, the sensing lead exposed through the sensing hole; and 3) that the second end of the sensing lead (21) is disposed within the sealing portion and not exposed through the sensing hole in the sealing portion of the pouch case (13).
Regarding 1), it is well-known in the art that pouch type batteries of the type taught by Jin have sealing portions that extend along the entire periphery of the electrode assembly for the purpose of retaining the electrode assembly and electrolyte within the pouch – see, e.g. Kim, who teaches sealing portion (50) extending around the electrode assembly (20) (paragraph [0013] and figure 2).
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the sealing portion extend along the entire first peripheral side of Jin’s electrode assembly (23) in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction in order to retain the electrode assembly (23) and electrolyte within the pouch.
Regarding 2) and 3), forming an electrical connection with a lead via a through hole in the sealing portion of a pouch case is a known configuration in the art – see, e.g. Fulcher, who teaches forming an aperture (50 and 60) through the layers of the pouch case of an electrochemical cell in the sealing portion for the purpose of establishing an electrical connection with a lead inside the pouch case (col. 5, lines 25-36 and figure 2). Fulcher describes problems in maintaining the mechanical integrity of the pouch-enclosed battery cell when leads protrude out of the pouch case (col. 1, lines 45-55).
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the electrical connection between the sensing lead (21) and the voltage sensor (25) via a through hole in the sealing portion for the purpose of reducing problems in maintaining the mechanical integrity of the pouch-enclosed battery cell (1). In the combination of Jin and Fulcher, the sensing lead (21) would have a second end positioned in the sealing portion, such that the second end would not be exposed through the through-hole. In the combination of Jin and Fulcher, the through hole is formed in the upper and lower surface of the sealing portion, wherein the upper and lower surface face a direction perpendicular to the first direction.
Regarding 4), Fulcher is clear that the presence of the lead within the sealing portion causes problems in maintaining the seal (col. 1, lines 45-50). Further it is well-understood in the art that reducing the sealing width, reduces the sealing reliability of the pouch – see Kim (paragraph [0018]).
Therefore, the ordinarily skilled artist would understand that a sufficient area of sealing beyond the second end of the lead would be necessary in order to ensure that the sealing portion’s integrity is maintained. As such, the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to keep the second end of the lead far from the end of the sealing portion in the first direction, because it is clear that the larger the width available for direct sealing between the pouch sheets, the stronger the seal would be. Thus, the ordinarily skilled artist would be capable of optimizing the claimed ratio, such that the width available for direct sealing between the pouch sheets is greater than ¼ of the width of the sealing portion.
Regarding claim 13, Jin teaches that the battery cell (11) is a bidirectional drawing-type battery cell. The positive electrode lead (15, “first electrode lead”) and the negative electrode lead (17, “second electrode lead”) are of opposite polarities and are drawn in opposite directions from each other (figures 1-5).
Regarding claim 14, Jin teaches that the sensing lead (21) is located adjacent to the positive electrode lead (15, “first electrode lead”) at the first peripheral side of the electrode assembly (23) (figure 2).
Regarding claim 15, Jin teaches that the positive electrode lead (15, “first electrode lead”) has a voltage of the positive (“first”) polarity and the sensing lead (21) has a voltage of the negative (“second”) polarity.
Regarding claim 17, Jin as modified by Fulcher teaches that the sensing hole is a through-hole formed in an upper and lower surface of the sealing portion of the pouch case (Fulcher’s figure 2).
Regarding claim 18, Jin teaches that the electrode assembly (23) includes multiple positive electrode plates (37, “first electrode plates”), multiple separators (39) and multiple negative electrode plates (41, “second electrode plates”) stacked on one another (paragraph [0039] and figure 3).
Jin teaches one sensing lead (21) connected to the electrode tab (33) and extending out of the pouch case (13) (figure 1). It is thus understood that the sensing lead (21) and the electrode tab (33) are connected to all of the negative electrode plates (41, “second electrode plates”) within the electrode assembly (23).
Regarding claim 19, Jin teaches one positive electrode lead (15, “first electrode lead”) and one negative electrode lead (17, “second electrode lead”) extending out of the pouch case (13) (figure 1). It is thus understood that the positive electrode lead (15, “first electrode lead”) is connected to all of the positive electrode plates (37, “first electrode plates”) and the negative electrode lead (17, “second electrode lead”) is connected to all of the negative electrode plates (41, “second electrode plates”) of the electrode assembly (23).
Regarding claim 20, Jin teaches an insulating tape (35, “sealant”) for sealing the area of the pouch case (13) where each of the positive electrode lead (15, “first electrode lead”) and the negative electrode lead (17, “second electrode lead”) extend outside of the pouch case (13). An insulating tape (35, “sealant”) is attached to each of the positive electrode lead (15, “first electrode lead”) and the negative electrode lead (17, “second electrode lead”) and bonded to an inner surface of the pouch case (13) (paragraph [0051] and figures 2 and 5).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on June 14, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the combination of Jin and Fulcher would result in none of the leads extending outside of the pouch case.
The primary reference Jin teaches that all four leads protrude out of the pouch case – two leads from each short side. Pouch battery cells like Jin’s typically have terminal leads protruding from the pouch case for the purpose of forming electrical connections with other cells and with intended loads. As such, there is motivation for keeping terminal leads extending outside of the pouch case.
Fulcher talks about the potential problems of sealing the pouches well when leads protrude outside. Certainly having not one, but two leads protruding out of the same side of a pouch case would only compound the problem identified by Fulcher. As such, the ordinarily skilled artist would be capable of making choices – specifically, only exposing one lead in order to minimize the sealing difficulty. Exposing only the terminal leads would further simplify the cell itself and prevent unwanted electrical contact with the sensing leads.
Applicant argues that the claimed minimum width ratio is not taught by the cited prior art references.
The minimum width ratio corresponds to the width of the sealing portion in the area of the sensing lead. The art appreciates that reducing the sealing width of a pouch reduces the sealing reliability of the pouch (Kim’s paragraph [0018]). The area of the sensing lead is not meant to unseal, therefore the ordinarily skilled artist would be motivated to keep the sealed area as large as possible and thus to have as large of a ratio as possible. As such, the ordinarily skilled would be capable of selecting a ratio greater than ¼ as a width available for direct sealing between the pouch sheets.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LILIA V. NEDIALKOVA/
Examiner
Art Unit 1724
/MIRIAM STAGG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1724