Claim(s) 1-11, 14, 27-29, 31-33, and 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Gagne et al. (2022/0091242).
Regarding claim 1, Gagne discloses a lidar device, comprising: a laser source (101) configured to emit a transmit beam; an optical scanner (102), comprising at least one lens (305, 307, 317, 318), configured to transmit a first portion of the transmit beam (302) towards a target (320) and receive a receive beam (321, 322) reflected by the target; a transmission medium (307) configured to provide a propagation path for the transmit beam and the receive beam; and a target detection module (314 or the system as shown in Fig. 1) configured to determine a range and/or a velocity of the target (note par. 51) based on the receive beam and a second portion (309, 324) of the transmit beam reflected at a media-air interface (note par. 61 and 62) defined at an end of the transmission medium where the first portion of the transmit beam is launched into air towards the at least one lens of the optical scanner.
Regarding claim 2, Gagne discloses the second portion of the transmit beam is used as a local oscillator (LO) signal to determine the range and/or the velocity of the target (note par. 3, 61 and 62).
Regarding claim 3, Gagne discloses a mixer configured to mix the receive beam and the second portion of the transmit beam to generate a mixed signal having a beat frequency (par. 3).
Regarding claim 4, Gagne discloses the range and/or the velocity of the target is determined from the beat frequency (note par. 3, 51, 53).
Regarding claim 5, Gagne discloses the target detection module is configured to determine a reflectivity of the target based on the receive beam and the second portion of the transmit beam (note par. 12).
Regarding claim 6, Gagne discloses a configuration of the media-air interface is adjustable to control at least one characteristic of the second portion of the transmit beam (note 307 in Fig. 7 and Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 7, Gagne discloses the at least one characteristic of the second portion of the transmit beam comprises an intensity of the second portion of the transmit beam (note 309 in Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 8, Gagne discloses the configuration of the media-air interface corresponds to a configuration of the transmission medium (note par. 61 and 62).
Regarding claim 9, Gagne discloses the media-air interface comprises an angled endface of the transmission medium (note 307 in Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 10, Gagne discloses the media-air interface comprises an angled endface of a connector coupled to the transmission medium (note 307 in Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 11, Gagne discloses the media-air interface comprises a coating applied to the transmission medium (note par. 61 and 62).
Regarding claims 14, 27-29, and 31-33 see similar rejections as set forth above.
Regarding claim 38, Gagne discloses each lidar device is configured to provide navigation and/or mapping for the vehicle and is disposed in an interior of the vehicle and/or on an exterior of the vehicle (note par. 44).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12 and 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gagne et al. (2022/0091242).
Regarding claims 12 and 33, Gagne does not disclose that the media-air interface comprises a grating integrated within the transmission medium. Instead, Gagne teaches that the optical window 307 can be any conventional optical window so long it transmits and partially reflects a beam of light. The examiner take Official Notice that using grating transmission medium as a light transmission and partial reflection medium is well known in the art. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the well known grating transmission medium as the optical window 307 in Gagne to perform the well known functions as claimed.
/MICHAEL LEE/ Primary Examiner,
Art Unit 2422