DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim (US 20230025134).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches an electronic circuit (shown in figure 2 item 20 defined in paragraph [0049] as a bidirectional On-board Charger (OBC))
comprising: a power factor correction (shown in figure 2 item 210 defined in paragraph [0056] as a bidirectional power factor correction (PFC)) and inverter stage electrically connected to a power source (shown in figure 2 wherein an inverter is operated by switches Q1-Q6 and electrically connected to a power source, a bidirectional EVSE), the power factor correction and inverter stage including at least one relay (figures 2 and 3A show at least one relay or switch within the system); and
an isolated direct current to direct current converter stage configured to convert power from the power factor correction and inverter stage and to provide the converted power to a load (shown in figure 3A item 220 defined as a bidirectional DCDC converter which is isolated),
wherein the power factor correction and inverter stage is configured to selectively direct power from the power source to the isolated direct current to direct current converter stage and at least one power outlet (defined in paragraph [0056] wherein the power factor correction and inverter, item 210, may perform controlling power to the isolated direct to direct current converter stage, defined as a bidirectional DCDC converter item 220 to charge battery 50. Additionally, power is controlled from the bidirectional DCDC converter item 220 to at least one power outlet item 40).
Regarding claim 2, Kim teaches the electronic circuit of claim 1, wherein the power source includes an electrical power grid (paragraph [0055] teaches wherein the power source is a grid).
Regarding claim 3, Kim teaches the electronic circuit of claim 1, wherein the load includes a vehicle battery (figures 2 and 3A show wherein the load is a vehicle battery item 50).
Regarding claim 4, Kim teaches the electronic circuit of claim 3, wherein the vehicle battery includes a high voltage vehicle battery (figures 2 and 3A show wherein the load is a high voltage vehicle battery item 50).
Regarding claim 5, Kim teaches the electronic circuit of claim 1, wherein the at least one power outlet includes at least one vehicle power outlet (figure 3A shows wherein the outlet is a vehicle outlet).
Regarding claim 6, Kim teaches the electronic circuit of claim 1, wherein the power factor correction and inverter stage includes a main power factor correction and inverter stage and an auxiliary power factor correction and inverter stage (figure 9 shows wherein the power factor correction includes a main power factor correction and an auxiliary power factor correction).
Regarding claim 7, Kim teaches the electronic circuit of claim 6, wherein the main power factor correction and inverter stage provides at least some of the power from the power source to the isolated direct current to direct current converter stage (figures 3 and 9 show wherein the main power factor provide power from the power source, the grid or EVSE to provide charging to the battery via the isolated DCDC converter item 220).
Regarding claim 8, Kim teaches the electronic circuit of claim 7, wherein the main power factor correction and inverter stage includes at least one fast commutation metal-oxide-semiconductor field-effect transistor (MOSFET) (figures 2, 3A and 9 show wherein the main power factor correction includes MOSFETS shown as Q1-Q6).
Regarding claim 9, Kim teaches the electronic circuit of claim 8, wherein the main power factor correction and inverter stage includes at least one slow commutation MOSFET (figures 2, 3A and 9 show wherein the main power factor correction includes MOSFETS shown as Q1-Q6).
Regarding claim 10, Kim teaches the electronic circuit of claim 6, wherein the at least one relay is disposed in the auxiliary power factor correction and inverter stage (figure 9 shows wherein at least one relay is disposed in the auxiliary power factor correction).
Regarding claim 11, Kim teaches the electronic circuit of claim 10, wherein, responsive to the at least one relay being in a first state, the main power factor correction and inverter stage and the auxiliary power factor correction and inverter stage provide at least some of the power from the power source to the at least one power outlet (paragraph [0063] teaches wherein the relays or switches are operated to function in a Vehicle-to-grid (V2G) or Vehicle-to-load (V2L) configuration by providing power from the PFC to the power outlets 30 and 40).
Regarding claim 12, Kim teaches the electronic circuit of claim 11, wherein, responsive to the at least one relay being in a second state and voltage associated with the power source is the same as a voltage demand at the at least one power outlet, voltage from the power source provide directly to the at least one power outlet (paragraph [0063] teaches wherein the relays or switches are operated to function in a Vehicle-to-grid (V2G) or Vehicle-to-load (V2L) configuration by providing power from the PFC to the power outlets 30 and 40).
Regarding claim 13, Kim teaches a charging circuit (shown in figure 2 item 20 defined in paragraph [0049] as a bidirectional On-board Charger (OBC)) comprising:
a power factor correction (shown in figure 2 item 210 defined in paragraph [0056] as a bidirectional power factor correction (PFC)) and inverter stage electrically connected to a power source (shown in figure 2 wherein an inverter is operated by switches Q1-Q6 and electrically connected to a power source, a bidirectional EVSE), and
including a main power factor correction and inverter stage and an auxiliary power factor correction and inverter stage, the auxiliary power factor correction and inverter stage including at least one relay (figures 2 and 3A show at least one relay or switch within the system. Figure 9 shows an auxiliary power factor correction or a second auxiliary power factor correction); and an
isolated direct current to direct current converter stage configured to convert power from the power factor correction and inverter stage and to provide the converted power to a load (shown in figure 3A item 220 defined as a bidirectional DCDC converter which is isolated),
the main power factor correction and inverter stage provides at least some of the power from the power source to the isolated direct current to direct current converter stage and, responsive to the at least one relay being in an open state, the main power factor correction and inverter stage and the auxiliary power factor correction and inverter stage provide at least some of the power from the power source to at least one power outlet (defined in paragraph [0056] wherein the power factor correction and inverter, item 210, may perform controlling power to the isolated direct to direct current converter stage, defined as a bidirectional DCDC converter item 220 to charge battery 50. Additionally, power is controlled from the bidirectional DCDC converter item 220 to at least one power outlet item 40 Figure 9 shows an auxiliary power factor correction or a second auxiliary power factor correction).
Regarding claim 14, Kim teaches the charging circuit of claim 13, wherein the power source includes an electrical power grid (paragraph [0055] teaches wherein the power source is a grid).
Regarding claim 15, Kim teaches the charging circuit of claim 13, wherein the load includes a vehicle battery (figures 2 and 3A show wherein the load is a vehicle battery item 50).
Regarding claim 16, Kim teaches the charging circuit of claim 15, wherein the vehicle battery includes a high voltage vehicle battery (figures 2 and 3A show wherein the load is a high voltage vehicle battery item 50).
Regarding claim 17, Kim teaches the charging circuit of claim 13, wherein the at least one power outlet includes at least one vehicle power outlet (paragraph [0049] teaches a vehicle power outlet).
Regarding claim 18, Kim teaches the charging circuit of claim 13, wherein the main power factor correction and inverter stage includes at least one fast commutation metal-oxide-semiconductor field-effect transistor (MOSFET) and at least one slow commutation MOSFET (figures 2, 3A and 9 show wherein the main power factor correction includes MOSFETS shown as Q1-Q6).
Regarding claim 19, Kim teaches the charging circuit of claim 13, wherein, responsive to the at least one relay being in a second state, the auxiliary power factor correction and inverter stage provides at least some power from the load to the at least one power outlet (paragraph [0063] teaches wherein the relays or switches are operated to function in a Vehicle-to-grid (V2G) or Vehicle-to-load (V2L) configuration by providing power from the PFC to the power outlets 30 and 40).
Regarding claim 20, Kim teaches a vehicle battery charging system (shown in figure 2 item 20 defined in paragraph [0049] as a bidirectional On-board Charger (OBC))
comprising: a power factor correction (shown in figure 2 item 210 defined in paragraph [0056] as a bidirectional power factor correction (PFC)) and inverter stage electrically connected to a power source (shown in figure 2 wherein an inverter is operated by switches Q1-Q6 and electrically connected to a power source, a bidirectional EVSE), and
including a main power factor correction and inverter stage and an auxiliary power factor correction and inverter stage, the auxiliary power factor correction and inverter stage including at least one relay (figures 2 and 3A show at least one relay or switch within the system. Figure 9 shows an auxiliary power factor correction or a second power factor correction 921);
an isolated direct current to direct current converter stage configured to convert power from the power factor correction and inverter stage and to provide the converted power to a load (shown in figure 3A item 220 defined as a bidirectional DCDC converter which is isolated),
wherein the main power factor correction and inverter stage provides at least some of the power from the power source to the isolated direct current to direct current converter stage (defined in paragraph [0056] wherein the power factor correction and inverter, item 210, may perform controlling power to the isolated direct to direct current converter stage, defined as a bidirectional DCDC converter item 220 to charge battery 50); and
a controller (shown in figures 1 and 3B item 60 defined in paragraph [0049] as a controller) configured to selective position the at least one relay in a first state and a second state, wherein, responsive to the at least one relay being in the second state, and voltage at the power source being the same as a voltage demand at least one power outlet, the power from the power source is provided to at least one power outlet, and, responsive to the at least one relay being in the first state, the main power factor correction and inverter stage and the auxiliary power factor correction and inverter stage provide at least some power from the power source to the at least one power outlet (figures 3A – 3B and paragraphs [0063]-[0066] wherein relays or switches are selectively operated in a first state and a second state to provide power to the power outlets 30 and 40 and to an isolated an inverter shown in figure 213. Figure 9 shows auxiliary power factor corrections).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Us 20210188106 A1 Wireless Power System Asa; Erdem Et Al.
Us 20200171955 A1 Vehicle Controlling The Same Bae; Junghyeon Et Al.
Us 20150367735 A1 Bidirectional Power Converter Circuits Baker; Gary Bruce Et Al.
Us 20120249065 A1 Multi-Use Energy Management And Conversion System Including Electric Vehicle Charging Bissonette; Michael Et Al.
Us 8682495 B2 Microgrid Control System Carralero; Michael A. Et Al.
Us 20230378789 A1 Split-Phase Bidirectional On-Board Charger Cesiel; Douglas S.
Us 20150097525 A1 On-Board Charger Connection Dedona; Matthew Roger Et Al.
Us 20160016479 A1 Dual-Output Grid-To-Vehicle (G2v) Khaligh; Alireza Et Al.
Us 20170320396 A1 Bidirectional On-Board Charger Kim; Jee Heon Et Al.
Us 20150054466 A1 Electric-Motor Vehicle Kinomura; Shigeki
Us 20130271148 A1 Method Of Detecting Battery Degradation Level Maeda; Reizo
Us 20220379760 A1 Dc Fast Charger Pathipati; Vamsi Krishna
Us 9263968 B2 Bidirectional Inverter-Charger Potts; Dennis L. Et Al.
Us 11383607 B1 Bi-Directional Electrical Charging System Prasad; Rashmi Et Al.
Us 20170008413 A1 Grid Integration With EV Charging Reineccius; Stacey
Us 20210155104 A1 Bi-Directional Power Conversion Skutt; Glenn Et Al.
Us 20200062138 A1 Vehicle Charging Station Smolenaers; Stefan
Us 20220032781 A1 Multi-Mode Drive System Veltman; André
Us 20160200213 A1 Bi-Directional Current Sensing Wolf; Christopher Et Al.
ALEXIS BOATENG PACHECO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2859
/ALEXIS B PACHECO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859