DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Any rejections and or objections, made in the previous Office Action, and not repeated below, are hereby withdrawn.
Claims 1-6 and 8-34 are currently pending.
Claims 13-17, 21, and 25-29 have been withdrawn.
Claims 7 and 47 have been cancelled.
Claims 1-6, 8-12, 18-24, and 30-34 are currently rejected.
Claims 1, 3, 5, 7, 8, 10, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or second paragraph.
Claims 2, 4, 9, 11, 12, 22-24, 30-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Flannery et al., US 4,309,218.
Claims 1-3, 5, 8-10, 22-24, and 30-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu et al., CN 101244889 A.
Claim 4, 11, 12, 33, and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al., CN 101244889 A.
Claims 1, 3, 5, 7, 8, 10, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Flannery et al., US 4,309,218.
Claims 2, 4, 9, 11, 12, 22-24, 30-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Flannery et al., US 4,309,218.
Claims 1, 3, 5, 7, 8, 10, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Flannery et al., US 4,309,218.
Claim 6 has an objection for depending from a rejected claim.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statements (IDS) submitted 26 November 2025 and 9 January 2026 have been considered by the Examiner.
Drawings
The original drawings received on 1 March 2023 are accepted by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 and 14-18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
In claim 1, lines 15-16 the claim recites that the mass ratio of the [TiO2/(TiO2+Nb2O5)] is 0.20 or more. This is considered new matter since the original specification in paragraph [0074] recites that the mass ratio of [TiO2/(TiO2+Nb2O5)] has an upper limit of 0.60. Furthermore, in claim 1, lines 22-23, the claim recites the mass ratio of [TiO2/Nb2O5] is 0.8 or less. This is considered new matter since the original specification in paragraph [0076] recites that the mass ratio of [TiO2/Nb2O5] has a lower limit of 0.10.
Claims 2-12 and 14-18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, since they fail to correct the above new matter issue.
Should claim 1 be amended to include the upper limit of 0.60 for the mass ratio of [TiO2/(TiO2+Nb2O5)], claim 11 would fail to further limit claim 1 unless amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-12 and 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kaneko et al., International Patent Publication WO 2017/006998 A1.
A machine-generated translation of WO 2017/006998 A1 accompanied the IDS filed 26 November 2025. In reciting this rejection, the examiner will cite this translation.
Kaneko et al. disclose an optical glass comprising in terms of mass percentages, 7-35% of P2O5, 1-45% of TiO2, 5.5-55% of Nb2O5, 0-29% of Bi2O3, 0-4% of B2O3, 0-8% of SiO2, 0-5% of Al2O3, 0-45% of WO3, 0-1.2% of Li2O, 0-6% of Na2O, 0-12% of K2O, 0-2% of Rb2O, 0-6% of Cs2O, 0-5% of MgO, 0-5% of CaO, 0-6% of SrO, 0-6% of BaO, 0-5% of ZnO, 0-9% of Ta2O5, 0-4% of Ga2O3, 0-5% of In2O3, 0-5% of Sc2O3, 0-8% of HfO2, 0-6% of GeO2, 0-5% of La2O3, 0-8% of Gd2O3, 0-5% of Y2O3, 0-5% of Yb2O3, and 0-5% of TeO2. See Abstract and the entire specification, specifically, paragraphs [0034], [0038], [0056], [0058], [0060], [0066], [0074], [0078], [0086], [0088], [0089], [0093], [0094], [0096]-[0099], [0104], [0108], [0110]-[0113], [0117], [0119], [0121], [0123], [0125], and [0129]. Kaneko et al. disclose that the optical glass has a refractive index of at most 2.10. See paragraph [0010]. Kaneko et al. disclose that the optical glass has an Abbe number of at most 16.7. See paragraph [0010]. Kaneko et al. disclose that the optical glass is used as a lens preform. See paragraphs [0001] and [0002]. Kaneko et al. disclose that the optical glass is either polished or press molded to form an optical element such as a lens. See paragraphs [0001] and [0002]. The compositional ranges of Kaneko et al. are sufficiently specific to anticipate the optical glass composition as recited in claims 1-2 and 14-18. See MPEP 2131.03.
Specifically, as to claim 1, Kaneko et al. disclose Examples 13-16 (see Table 1-1-1 and Table 1-3), which reads on an optical glass comprising in terms of weight percentages, at least 5% of P2O5, at most 20% of Bi2O3, at least 1% of TiO2, wherein the optical glass has a ratio TiO2/(Li2O+Na2O+K2O) of 2.5-10 and a mass ratio of TiO2/(MgO+CaO+ZnO+SrO+BaO) of 1.25-10, a mass ratio of [(Li2O+Na2O+MgO+CaO+ZnO+SrO)/(K2O+BaO)] of 0.70 or less, a mass ratio of [TiO2/(TiO2+Nb2O5)] of 0.20 or more, a mass ratio of [(TiO2+Nb2O5)/(SiO2+B2O3+lli2o+Na2O+K2O+MgO+CaO+ZnO+SrO+BaO)] of 4.0-15.0, and a mass ratio of [TiO2/Nb2O5] of 0.8 or less, wherein the optical glass has a refractive index of 1.900 or more and an Abbe number of at most 25.0, as recited in instant claim 1.
As to claim 2, Kaneko et al. disclose Examples 13-16 (see Table 1-1-1 and Table 1-3), which reads on an optical glass comprising in terms of weight percentages, 0.01-20% of K2O, as recited in instant claim 2.
As to claim 3, Kaneko et al. disclose Examples 13-16 (see Table 1-1-1 and Table 1-3), which reads on an optical glass comprising in terms of weight percentages, 5-80% of Nb2O5, as recited in instant claim 3.
As to claim 4, Kaneko et al. disclose Example 13 (see Table 1-1-1 and Table 1-3), which reads on an optical glass comprising in terms of weight percentages, 70-98% of P2O5+TiO2+Nb2O5, as recited in instant claim 4.
As to claim 5, Kaneko et al. disclose Examples 13-16 (see Table 1-1-1 and Table 1-3), which reads on an optical glass comprising in terms of weight percentages, 0.01-20% of Li2O+Na2O+K2O, as recited in instant claim 5.
As to claim 6, Kaneko et al. disclose Examples 13-16 (see Table 1-1-1 and Table 1-3), which reads on an optical glass comprising in terms of weight percentages, 0.01-30% of ZnO+SrO+BaO, as recited in instant claim 5.
As to claim 7, Kaneko et al. disclose Examples 13-16 (see Table 1-1-1 and Table 1-3), which reads on an optical glass comprising in terms of weight percentages, 40-80% of TiO2+Nb2O5+WO3+Bi2O3, as recited in instant claim 7.
As to claim 8, Kaneko et al. disclose Examples 13-16 (see Table 1-1-1 and Table 1-3), which reads on an optical glass comprising in terms of weight percentages, having a ratio P2O5/(P2O5+TiO2+Nb2O5) of 0.15-0.4, as recited in instant claim 8.
As to claim 9, Kaneko et al. disclose Examples 13-16 (see Table 1-1-1 and Table 1-3), which reads on an optical glass comprising in terms of weight percentages, having a ratio (MgO+CaO+ZnO+SrO+BaO)/(Li2O+Na2O+K2O) of 0.3-10, as recited in instant claim 9.
As to claim 10, Kaneko et al. disclose Examples 13-16 (see Table 1-1-1 and Table 1-3), which reads on an optical glass comprising in terms of weight percentages, having a ratio BaO/(MgO+CaO+ZnO+SrO+BaO) of greater than 0, as recited in instant claim 10.
As to claim 11, Kaneko et al. disclose Examples 13-16 (see Table 1-1-1 and Table 1-3), which reads on an optical glass comprising in terms of weight percentages, having a ratio TiO2/( TiO2+Nb2O5) of 0.1-0.6, as recited in instant claim 11.
As to claim 12, Kaneko et al. disclose Examples 13-16 (see Table 1-1-1 and Table 1-3), which reads on an optical glass comprising in terms of weight percentages, having a ratio TiO2/(Nb2O5+WO3+Bi2O3) of 0.1-2, as recited in instant claim 12.
As to claim 14, Kaneko et al. disclose Examples 13-16 (see Table 1-1-1 and Table 1-3), which reads on an optical glass having a specific gravity of at most 4.20, as recited in claim 14. See MPEP 2112.
As to claim 15, Kaneko et al. disclose Examples 13-16 (see Table 1-1-1 and Table 1-3), which reads on an optical glass having a ratio of the refractive index/specific gravity of 0.48-0.60, as recited in claim 15. See MPEP 2112.
As to claim 16, Kaneko et al. disclose Examples 13, 15, and 16 (see Table 1-1-1 and Table 1-3), which reads on an optical glass having a Tg of 380-800°C, as recited in claim 16. See MPEP 2112.
As to claim 17, Kaneko et al. disclose the optical glass is a polished or press molded to form a lens (see paragraphs [0001] and [0002]), which reads on an optical element blank, as recited in instant claim 17.
As to claim 18, Kaneko et al. disclose the optical glass is a polished or press molded to form an optical element such as a lens (see paragraphs [0001] and [0002]), which reads on an optical element, as recited in instant claim 18.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-12 and 14-18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Elizabeth A. Bolden/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1731
EAB
13 January 2026