DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s Comments
The examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers, paragraphs, or figures in the references as applied to the claims for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
The Examiner notes that claims 19-20 recite(s) nominal methods of making limitations, in combination with product limitations encompassing those of claims 1 and 16. As such, there is presently no undue burden in examining these, technically, divergent statutory classes of invention. Should Applicants' amend these claims to include non-nominal method limitations, these newly added claims may be subject to restriction by original presentation
Regarding the limitation(s) "adjacent" in claims 16, the Examiner has given the term(s) the broadest reasonable interpretation(s) consistent with the written description in Applicants' specification as it would be interpreted by one of ordinary skill in the art. In re Morris, 127 F.3d 1048, 1054-55, 44 USPQ2d 1023, 1027 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Donaldson Co., Inc., 16 F.3d 1190, 1192-95, 29 USPQ2d 1845, 1848-50 (Fed. Cir. 1994). See MPEP 2111. Specifically, the Examiner notes that "adjacent" still allows for other layers to be therebetween (i.e. "adjacent" is taken to be synonymous with "near” Should Applicants desire to exclude other layers from being located therebetween, the Examiner suggests using the wording "directly adjacent" or "in contact with". It is noted that claims 11 and 12 includes the term “adjacent” and “in contact”. Therefore, “adjacent” in claims 11 and 12 would be interpreted as “near”.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8 and 11-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 10-14, and 16 of copending Application No. 18/115,870 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter of the instant claims substantially encompasses the claims of application 18/115,870 and/or obvious variant of one another with slight optimization of ranges.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5-6, 11-16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Xiao et al. (US 2023/0087017).
Regarding claims 1, 16, and 19, Xiao discloses a battery pack and a method of making thereof, comprising a battery array including a first battery cell (106) spaced-apart from a second battery cell (106) by a separator (200), wherein the separator includes a first layer (110) of material in contact with the first battery cell and a second layer (110) of a material in contact with the second battery cell, wherein the first and second layers of material are made of a thermally insulative material [0051-0078], wherein the separator includes a third layer (206) of a material and a fourth layer (206) of material between the first and second layers of material, and wherein the third and fourth layers of material are made of a metallic material [0080] (Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 2, Xiao discloses that the first and second layers of material are made of a non-metallic material [0051-0078].
Regarding claim 5, Xiao discloses a fifth layer (204) of material between the third and fourth layer of material, wherein the fifth layer of material is made of a thermally insulative material [0080].
Regarding 6, Xiao discloses the fifth layer (204) is a middle-most layer of the separator with respect to a thickness dimension of the separator (Fig. 2).
Regarding claims 11-12, Xiao discloses a thermal exchange plate (102) as claimed (Fig. 1-2). Although Xiao fails to disclose that the “housing” is a “thermal exchange plate”, Xiao discloses that it has a functionality of a cooling system [0050]. Given that Xiao discloses that it dissipates heat or keeps the battery from getting too hot, the “housing” of Xiao therefore would correspond to the claimed thermal (exchange) plate or cold plate.
Regarding claim 13, Xiao discloses that the separator consists of two layers of metallic material (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 14, Xiao discloses that the battery pack is configured such that a compressive force applied a long a length of the array holds the separator in place relative to the first battery cell and the second battery cell (All Figs, [0050]).
Regarding claim 15, Xiao discloses an electrified vehicle [0003].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4, 7-10, 17-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao et al. (US 2023/0087017) in view of Hu et al. (US 8,785,026).
Regarding claims 3-4, 7, 17, and 20, Xiao discloses a separator comprising a thermally insulative material first, second, and fifth layers and a metallic material third and fourth layers set forth above, however, Xiao fails to explicitly disclose that the thermally insulative material is aerogel and the metallic material is steel as presently claimed.
Hu discloses a battery comprising plurality battery cells (302) that is spaced apart from a separator comprising a thermally insulative material (214) layer and a metallic material layer (212). Therefore, Hu is an analogous art to that of Xiao.
Xiao discloses the claimed invention except that it uses polyethylene, epoxy, phenolic resin, or fiber insulating board instead of aerogel as the material of the thermally insulative material. Xiao further discloses that it uses aluminum as the metallic material [0080] instead of steel.
Hu shows that aerogel is an equivalent structure known in the art as a thermally insulative material (Table 2) and steel is an equivalent structure known in the art for a metallic material (Table 1).
Therefore, because these two materials were art-recognized equivalents at the time the invention was made, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to substitute (polyethylene, epoxy, phenolic resin, or fiber insulating board) as the insulative material for aerogel in the invention of Xiao.
Likewise, because steel and aluminum materials were art-recognized equivalents at the time the invention was made, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to substitute aluminum for steel as the metallic material in the invention of Xiao.
Substitution of equivalents requires no express motivation as long as the prior art recognizes the equivalency. In re Fount 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982); In re Siebentritt 152 USPQ 618 (CCPA 1967); Grover Tank & Mfg. Co. Inc V. Linde Air Products Co. 85 USPQ 328 (USSC 1950).
It would further have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have Xiao’s thermally insulative material comprise of aerogel and metallic material comprise of steel, as demonstrated by Hu, to provide a suitable separation that prevents thermal runaway diffusion (Abstract).
Because Hu uses aerogel and other known material for a thermally insulative material and steel and other known metal material as the metallic material for a separator between two cells, and both Xiao and Hu teach that these materials help reduce thermal runaways (Xiao: (Title, Abstract; Hu: Title, Abstract), a preponderance of the evidence supports the Examiner’s conclusion that it would have been obvious to have substituted as set forth above with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 8, Xiao discloses that the first, second, and fifth layers of material exhibit a common thickness, and the third and fourth layers of material exhibit a common thickness different than the thickness of the first, second, and fifth layers (Fig. 2).
Regarding claims 9-10 and 18, although Xiao discloses thicknesses of the separator [0056], Xiao fails to disclose the thicknesses of all the layers as presently claimed.
Hu discloses a separator between the cells wherein, the separator having a total thickness of 0.05-2.0 cm (0.5-20 mm), the first, second, and fifth layers of material has a thickness of 30-97% of the total thickness, (or 0.15-19.4 mm), and the third and fourth layers is 3-70% of the total thickness, (or 0.015-14 mm) (col. 5, line 56 – col. 6, line 9). Therefore, all values within the range appears to be functionally equivalent. It would have been obvious to choose any thickness from that ranged based on the desired thermal conductivity properties (col. 5, lines 56-60) and that choosing thickness values would have rendered the claimed relationship between layer thicknesses obvious in the absence of showing criticality.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xiao’s separator, including first, second, third, fourth, and fifth layer, to have the thicknesses as claimed, as suggested by Hu, in order to obtain an appropriate thermal conductivity.
Conclusion
Linda Chau
/L.N.C/Examiner, Art Unit 1785
/Holly Rickman/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1785