Election/Restrictions
Claims 18-20 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 8/4/26.
Applicant’s election without traverse of 1-17 in the reply filed on 8/4/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 7-9, 15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Choi et al. (US 2020/0212268 A1; hereinafter Choi).
Regarding Claim 1. Choi (Figs.1-8) discloses a light emitting element comprising:
a first semiconductor layer (131, Fig.5B; [0083]) including a groove (120, [0118]) and a protrusion ([0025]) disposed around the groove (120);
a light emitting layer (132; [0083]) disposed on the groove of the first semiconductor layer (131), the light emitting layer (132) having a shape corresponding to the groove (120);
a second semiconductor layer (133; [0083]) disposed on the light emitting layer (132); and
an insulating pattern layer (134; [0089]) disposed on the protrusion of the first semiconductor layer (protrusion of 131 on the sides), the insulating pattern layer (134) surrounding the second semiconductor layer (133).
Regarding Claim 2. The light emitting element according to claim 1, Choi (Figs.1-8) discloses wherein the insulating pattern layer (134) entirely surrounds the light emitting layer and the second semiconductor layer (133) in a plan view (see Fig.6A).
Regarding Claim 3. The light emitting element according to claim 1, Choi (Figs.1-8) discloses wherein the light emitting layer (132) is disposed at a height equal to or less than a maximum height of the groove (120; See Fig.5B) with respect to a lower surface of the first semiconductor layer (lower surface of 131).
Regarding Claim 7. The light emitting element according to claim 1, Choi (Figs.1-8) discloses wherein the first semiconductor layer (131) and the second semiconductor layer (133) are separated from each other by at least one of the light emitting layer (132) and the insulating pattern layer (134 horizontal parts on top in fig.5B) disposed between the first semiconductor layer (131) and the second semiconductor layer (133).
Regarding Claim 8. The light emitting element according to claim I, Choi (Figs.1-8) discloses wherein the groove (120) comprises:
a first surface (bottom surface) parallel to a lower surface of the first semiconductor layer (bottom surface of 131); and
a second surface (the angled surfaces) protruding from the first surface (bottom surface) of the groove toward an upper surface of the first semiconductor layer (131).
Regarding Claim 9. The light emitting element according to claim 8, Choi (Figs.1-8) discloses wherein the second surface (angled surface) of the groove includes an inclined surface inclined at an angle of less than 90 degrees with respect to the first surface of the groove (lower surface of 120).
Regarding Claim 15. The light emitting element according to claim I, Choi (Figs.1-8) discloses further comprising: an electrode layer (E1; [0083]) disposed on the second semiconductor layer (133) and the insulating pattern layer (134; Fig.5A-B).
Regarding Claim 17. Choi (Figs.1-8) discloses A display device comprising: a pixel including a light emitting element, wherein the light emitting element comprises:
a first semiconductor layer (131) including a groove (120) and a protrusion ([0025]) disposed around the groove;
a light emitting layer (132) disposed in the groove and having a shape corresponding to the groove (120);
a second semiconductor layer (133) disposed around the light emitting layer (132) and separated from the first semiconductor layer (131) by the light emitting layer (132) between the first semiconductor layer (131) and the second semiconductor layer (133); and
an insulating pattern layer (134) disposed at a position of the protrusion (the sidewalls and top of protrusion) and surrounding the second semiconductor layer (133).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-6, 10, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi in view of Bour et al. (US 2016/0197232 A1; hereinafter Bour).
Regarding Claim 4. The light emitting element according to claim 1, Choi does not particularly disclose wherein the second semiconductor layer and the insulating pattern layer have a same height with respect to a lower surface of the first semiconductor layer.
Bour (Fig.10D, 11D, 12E-F, 16D) discloses in a related art a light emitting element having a first layer (112), second layer (104), an active layer in between (108; [0101]), and insulating (122), wherein the second semiconductor layer (104) and the insulating pattern layer (122) have a same height with respect to a lower surface of the first semiconductor layer (112).
Therefore, it would have been obvious in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have insulating layers with the same height as the second semiconductor layer in order to prevent any current leakage around the top part of the semiconductor layer and therefore having a more efficient LED device.
Regarding Claim 5. The light emitting element according to claim 1, Choi does not particularly disclose wherein the second semiconductor layer has a height equal to or greater than a maximum height of the insulating pattern layer with respect to a lower surface of the first semiconductor layer, and a portion of the second semiconductor layer is disposed on the insulating pattern layer.
Bour (Fig.9E, 10D, 11D, 12E-F, 16D) discloses in a related art a light emitting element having a first layer (112), second layer (104), an active layer in between (108; [0101]), and insulating (122), wherein the second semiconductor layer (104) has a height equal to or greater than a maximum height of the insulating pattern layer (122) with respect to a lower surface of the first semiconductor layer (112), and a portion of the second semiconductor layer (104) is disposed on the insulating pattern layer (122; Fig.9E).
Therefore, it would have been obvious in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have insulating layers and the second semiconductor layer having any desired heights in order to prevent any current leakage around the unwanted parts of semiconductor layer and therefore having a more efficient LED device.
Regarding Claim 6. The light emitting element of claim 5, Choi (Figs.1-8) discloses wherein the insulating pattern layer (134) entirely surrounds a remaining portion of the second semiconductor layer (133; also see Fig.5A-B).
Regarding Claim 10. The light emitting element according to claim 8, Choi does not particularly disclose wherein the second surface of the groove is substantially perpendicular to the first surface of the groove.
Bour (Fig.1, 4-8, 12, 15-16) discloses in a related art a light emitting element having a first layer (112) including a groove, second layer (104), an active layer in between (108; [0101]), and insulating (122), wherein the second surface of the groove (vertical surface) is substantially perpendicular to the first surface of the groove (horizontal surface).
Therefore, it would have been obvious in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have a perpendicular shaped groove to have a larger surface to deposit the active layer and therefore better light extraction.
Regarding Claim 14. The light emitting element according to claim 1, Choi does not particularly disclose a third semiconductor layer disposed between the first semiconductor layer and the light emitting layer; and a fourth semiconductor layer disposed between the light emitting layer and the second semiconductor layer.
Bour (Fig.11A) discloses in a related art a light emitting element having a first layer (112) including a groove, second layer (104), an active layer in between (108; [0101]), and insulating (122), and a third semiconductor layer (106) disposed between the first semiconductor layer (104) and the light emitting layer (108); and a fourth semiconductor layer (1110A-C) disposed between the light emitting layer and the second semiconductor layer (112).
Therefore, it would have been obvious in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have multiple semiconductor layers since it dramatically improves efficiency, confines electrical carriers, and boosts light output.
Claim(s) 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi in view of BAUMHEINRICH et al. (US 20220102583 A1; hereinafter BAUMHEINRICH).
Regarding Claim 11. The light emitting element according to claim 8, Choi does not particularly disclose wherein at least one of the first surface and the second surface of the groove includes a curved surface.
BAUMHEINRICH (Fig.120, 122; [1713]) discloses LED that has a first semiconductor having at least one of the first surface and the second surface of the groove includes a curved surface.
Therefore, it would have been obvious in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have at least one of the first surface and the second surface of the groove includes a curved surface to spread evenly across the active light-emitting regions to maximize luminance.
Regarding Claim 12. The light emitting element according to claim 1, Choi does not particularly disclose wherein the groove has a V-shaped cross section.
BAUMHEINRICH (Fig.26-29) discloses LED that has a first semiconductor having a groove which has a V-shaped cross section.
Therefore, it would have been obvious in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have a V-shaped grooved LEDs to present a much lower energy barrier to enable lateral carrier injection since holes can bypass the restrictive vertical stack and slip through the sides of the V-pits, spreading evenly across the active light-emitting regions to maximize luminance.
Regarding Claim 13. The light emitting element according to claim 1, Choi does not particularly disclose wherein the groove has a curved shape in an entire area of the groove.
BAUMHEINRICH (Fig.120, 122; [1713]) discloses LED that has a first semiconductor having wherein the groove has a curved shape in an entire area of the groove.
Therefore, it would have been obvious in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have the groove with a curved shape in an entire area of the groove to spread evenly across the active light-emitting regions to maximize luminance.
Conclusion
/HAJAR KOLAHDOUZAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2898
/Leonard Chang/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2898