DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10, 12, and 16-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Keon et al. (5,046,392), hereinafter Keon.
Regarding claim 1, Keon teaches a cutting apparatus, comprising:
a platen 44;
a stationary drive belt 62 oriented to extend across said platen;
a passive cutting wheel 92A configured to turn about its axis when transported across said platen 44; and
wherein said passive cutting wheel is turned about its axis via direct interaction between said drive belt and said axis of said passive cutting wheel.
See Figs. 1-3.
Regarding claim 2, the cutting wheel 92A extending below an upper surface of the platen 44 is best seen in Fig. 3.
Regarding claim 3, a recess 50 is best seen in Fig. 3.
Regarding claims 4 and 20, the height (lower position in solid lines and upper position in dashed lines) of the cutting wheel relative to the platen adjustable by adjustable mounting fasteners is best seen in Fig. 5.
Regarding claims 5 and 6, Keon teaches the cutting wheel 92A supported by a wheel carriage 92. See Fig. 2.
Regarding claims 7 and 16, an insulation feeding station 18 is best seen in Fig. 1
Regarding claims 8 and 9, the feeding station can receive a flexible and rigid roll of insulation.
Regarding claim 10, the stationary drive belt with teeth is best seen in Fig. 3.
Regarding claim 12, the belt in Keon can be replaced in the field.
Regarding claim 17, Dueck teaches method of cutting insulation comprising:
providing a platen 44;
orienting a stationary drive belt 62 to extend across said platen;
providing a passive cutting wheel 92A configured to turn about its axis when transported across said platen; and
effecting said turning of said passive cutting wheel about said axis via a direct interaction between said drive belt and said axis of said passive cutting wheel.
See Figs. 1-3.
Regarding claim 18, an insulation feeding station 18 is best seen in Fig. 1.
Regarding claim 19, an operator can sense a position of the cutting wheel by looking at the cutting carriage.
Regarding claim 21, Keon teaches a cutting apparatus, comprising:
a platen 44 defining a surface for supporting a workpiece to be cut;
a toothed drive belt 62 mounted in stationary association with said platen;
a cutting wheel 92A having an axis about which said passive cutting wheel rotates when said axis is itself rotated, said axis interacting with said toothed drive belt; and
wherein driven motion of said cutting wheel causes rotation of said axis and thereby said passive cutting wheel.
See Figs. 1-3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keon et al. (5,046,392), hereinafter Keon in view of Heinzl et al. (4,084,681), hereinafter Heinzl.
Regarding claims 13 and 14, Keon teaches the invention substantially as claimed except for a stop being a spring spring-biased pressure sensor.
Heinzl teaches an apparatus having a stop being a spring spring-biased pressure sensor 9 at two ends of a guide (7, 8) for slowing down a carriage 6 when the carriage reaches one end of the guide and get ready for return to the other end. See Fig. 2.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate both ends of the frame in Keon a spring spring-biased pressure sensor as taught by Onishi for slowing down the carriage when the carriage reaches one end of the guide and get ready for return to the other end.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keon et al. (5,046,392), hereinafter Keon in view of Onishi et al. (6,076,446), hereinafter Onishi.
Keon teaches the invention substantially as claimed except for a roll automated feeder.
Onishi teaches a cutting apparatus with a roll automated feeder (cash register).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to provide the cutting apparatus of Dueck an automated feeder for automatically feeding the roll of material to the cutting station.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Dueck have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Keon reference is introduced to teach the cutting wheel being rotated due to the contact between the stationary drive belt and its axis.
Conclusion
/PHONG H NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3724