DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 7-9, and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dueck (6,092,450).
Regarding claim 1, Finnell teaches a cutting apparatus, comprising:
a platen 16;
a drive belt 38 oriented to extend across said platen;
a passive cutting wheel 30 configured to turn about its axis when transported across said platen 16; and
wherein said passive cutting wheel is turned about its axis via direct interaction between said drive belt and said axis of said passive cutting wheel.
See Fig. 1.
Regarding claim 2, the cutting wheel 30 extending below an upper surface 44 of the platen is best seen in Fig. 1.
Regarding claims 7 and 16, an insulation feeding station 18 is best seen in Fig. 1
Regarding claims 8 and 9, the feeding station can receive a flexible and rigid roll of insulation.
Regarding claim 17, Dueck teaches method of cutting insulation comprising:
providing a platen 16;
orienting a drive belt 38 to extend across said platen;
providing a passive cutting wheel 30 configured to turn about its axis when transported across said platen; and
effecting said turning of said passive cutting wheel about said axis via a direct interaction between said drive belt and said axis of said passive cutting wheel.
See Fig. 1.
Regarding claim 18, an insulation feeding station 18 is best seen in Fig. 1.
Regarding claim 19, an operator can sense a position of the cutting wheel.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-6 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dueck (6,092,450) in view of Finnell (2011/0036219).
Regarding claim 3, Dueck teaches the platen 16 having a recess for receiving the cutting wheel. Dueck does not teach the platen in form of a cut bar with a recess.
Finnell teaches a cutting apparatus including a platen in form of a cut bar 15 with a recess for receiving a cutting wheel. See Fig. 1.
The platens in Dueck and Finnell are art equivalents known in the art for supporting a roll material for cutting.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use a platen in form of a cut bar as taught by Finnell in the cutting apparatus of Dueck since it has been held that substituting equivalents known for the same purpose is obvious to one skilled in the art. See MPEP. 2144.06.
Regarding claims 4 and 20, Dueck teaches the invention substantially as claimed except for the height of the cutting wheel relative to the platen adjustable by adjustable mounting fasteners.
Finnell teaches a cutting apparatus wherein the height of the cutting wheel 35 relative to the platen 12 adjustable by adjustable mounting fasteners 29. See Fig. 3.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to make the cutting wheel in Dueck adjustable in height by adjustable mounting fasteners as taught by Finnell so that an operator could adjust the heights of the cutting wheel to accommodating workpieces having different thicknesses or to provide a clearance for replacing the cutting wheel.
Regarding claims 5 and 6, Dueck teaches the cutting wheel 92 supported by a wheel carriage 26. See Fig. 2.
However, Dueck does not teach the wheel carriage being positioned above the platen.
Finnell teaches a cutting apparatus having a wheel carriage 25 being positioned above the platen. See Fig. 1.
To position the wheel carriage above or below the platen is art equivalent know in the art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to position the wheel carriage in Dueck above the platen since it has been held that substituting equivalents known for the same purpose is obvious to one skilled in the art. See MPEP. 2144.06.
Claims 10, 12, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dueck (6,092,450) in view of Baba et al. (2015/0174778), hereinafter Baba.
Regarding claim 10, Dueck teaches the invention substantially as claimed except for the drive belt having teeth.
Baba teaches a drive belt 15 having teeth. See Fig. 2. The teeth on the belt and the axis of rotation of the cutting wheel provides better friction between them and thus prevents the belt slipping on the axis of rotation of the cutting wheel.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use a belt with teeth as taught by Baba in the cutting apparatus of Dueck to provide better friction between them and thus prevents the belt slipping on the axis of rotation of the cutting wheel.
Regarding claim 12, the belt in Dueck can be replaced in the field.
Regarding claim 21, Dueck teaches a cutting apparatus substantially as claimed except for the limitations in the bolded texts, comprising:
a platen 16 defining a surface for supporting a workpiece to be cut;
a toothed drive belt 38 mounted in operative association with said platen;
a passive cutting wheel 30 having an axis about which said passive cutting wheel rotates when said axis is itself rotated, said axis interacting with said toothed drive belt; and
wherein driven motion of said toothed drive belt causes rotation of said axis and thereby said passive cutting wheel.
See Fig. 1.
Dueck teaches the invention substantially as claimed except for the drive belt having teeth.
Baba teaches a drive belt 15 having teeth. See Fig. 2. The teeth on the belt and the axis of rotation of the cutting wheel provides better friction between them and thus prevents the belt slipping on the axis of rotation of the cutting wheel.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use a belt with teeth as taught by Baba in the cutting apparatus of Dueck to provide better friction between them and thus prevents the belt slipping on the axis of rotation of the cutting wheel.
Claim 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dueck (6,092,450) in view of Baba et al. (2015/0174778), hereinafter Baba as applied to claims 1 and 5 above, and further in view of Onishi et al. (6,076,446), hereinafter Onishi.
Regarding claims 13 and 14, the modified cutting apparatus of Dueck teaches the invention substantially as claimed except for a stop being a spring spring-biased pressure sensor.
Onishi teaches a cutting apparatus having a stop being a spring spring-biased pressure sensor 16 for eliminating looseness of a belt. See Fig. 2.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate both ends of the frame in Dueck a spring spring-biased pressure sensor as taught by Onishi for eliminating looseness of the belt.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dueck (6,092,450) in view of Onishi et al. (6,076,446), hereinafter Onishi.
Dueck teaches the invention substantially as claimed except for a roll automated feeder.
Onishi teaches a cutting apparatus with a roll automated feeder (cash register).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to provide the cutting apparatus of Dueck an automated feeder for automatically feeding the roll of material to the cutting station.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Finnell, Baba, and Onishi have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Dueck reference is introduced to teach the cutting wheel being rotated due to the contact between the drive belt and its axis.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PHONG H NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3724