DETAILED ACTION
CHANGING STATION, METHOD FOR CHANGING SANDPAPER AND ROBOT SYSTEM
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3,5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luca (US20220362905A1) in view of Zhang ( CN108044508A).
Regarding claim 1, Luca teaches placing the head on a surface and applying a predefined force to press the head towards the surface when no surface treatment medium is attached to the head (“verification of the absence of the abrasive element” 0044-0047,0049,0051), ;
measuring a first distance between the head and the surface using one or more positioning sensors of the robot arm or the surface treatment tool (“detect the displacement” para 0056,0057,0064) ;
attaching the surface treatment medium to the head and placing the head having the surface treatment medium attached thereto on the surface (“application of a new abrasive element” para 0064); and using the one or more positioning sensors of the robot arm or the surface treatment tool when the surface treatment medium is attached to the head (para 0053)
Luca fails to teach measuring a second distance between the head and the surface.
Zhang discloses a detection device and method for a polishing device that includes measuring distances between a head and another element (see abstract) to reduce need for a user to manually check a surface treatment head (pages 1-3 of npl).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Luca to have a step of measuring a second distance and third between the head and the surface, based on the teachings of Zhang. This modification would reduce need for a user to manually check a surface treatment head (see pages 1-3 of npl)
Regarding claim 2, Luca as modified above teaches
-detaching the surface treatment medium from the head (see Luca para 0044);
placing the head on the surface when the surface treatment medium has been removed (see Luca para 0064-65);
applying the predefined force to press the head towards the surface (see Luca para 0044,0064-0065); and
-measuring a third distance (see Zhang abstract, npl pages 1-3) between the head and the surface using the one or more positioning sensors (see Luca para 0053) of the robot arm or the surface treatment tool.
Regarding claim 3, Luca as modified above teaches detecting an orientation of the head by bringing the head into engagement with engagement structures (see Luca 71 para 0056-0065).
Regarding claim 5, Luca as modified above teaches utilizing a changing station that comprises a detachment portion (see Luca “removal station” para 0065) configured to detach a used surface treatment medium from the head and an attachment portion (see Luca “application station” para 0065) designed and configured to attach a new surface treatment medium to the head.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luca (US20220362905A1) in view of Zhang ( CN108044508A) as applied to claims 1 and 5 further in view of Bonnet (US20160039067A1) and Ang (US20180001441A1).
Regarding claim 6, Luca as modified in claim 5 teaches all limitations stated above, but fails to teach one or more guide pins are provided in the attachment portion.
Bonnet discloses a sanding device that includes wherein a head (102 and 110, figure 3) and attachment portion (para 0065) that include one or more guide pins (612, figure 10) are provided in the attachment portion.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Luca to teach one or more guide pins are provided in the attachment portion based on the teachings of Bonnet. This modification would ensure the orientation of the new disc is in perfect alignment. (see Bonnet para 0069)
Luca in view of Ang fails to teach one or more detection pins are protruding from the surface of the detachment portion.
Ang discloses method of separating and replacing abrasive articles that includes detachment portion that has one or more detection pins (see para 0114-0115).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Luca to include one or more detection pins are protruding from the surface of the detachment portion. This modification would help facilitate the removal of the surface treatment head. (para 0114 of Ang)
Claim(s) 4, 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luca (US20220362905A1) in view of Zhang ( CN108044508A) as applied to claim 1 further in view of Bonnet (US20160039067A1).
Regarding claim 4, Luca as modified in claim 3 teaches all the limitations stated above, but fails to teach wherein the head comprises several holes and the engagement structures comprise two detection pins arranged a predefined distance from each other, wherein the detection pins are configured to be brought into engagement with the holes of the head.
Bonnet discloses a sanding device that includes wherein a head (102 and 110, figure 3) comprises several holes (see 112, figure 3) and the engagement structures comprise two detection pins (612, figure 10) arranged a predefined distance from each other, wherein the detection pins are configured (capable of performing this action) to be brought into engagement with the holes of the head.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Luca to include wherein the head comprises several holes and the engagement structures comprise two detection pins arranged a predefined distance from each other, wherein the detection pins are configured to be brought into engagement with the holes of the head, based on the teachings of Bonnet. This modification would ensure the orientation of the new disc is in perfect alignment. (see Bonnet para 0069)
Regarding claim 7, Luca as modified in claim 1 teaches all limitations stated above, but fails to teach removing a lowermost surface treatment medium, when more than one surface treatment media are attached to the head, by bringing at least a most distal portion of the head into contact with a media holder and moving the head along a length of the media holder.
Bonnet discloses a sanding device (abstract) that includes method of least a most distal portion of the head into contact with a media holder and moving the head along a length of the media holder and by bringing at least a most distal portion of the head into contact with a media holder and moving the head along a length of the media holder.(para 0065-0067)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Luca to include removing a lowermost surface treatment medium, when more than one surface treatment media are attached to the head, by bringing at least a most distal portion of the head into contact with a media holder and moving the head along a length of the media holder, based on teachings of Bonnet. This modification would ensure the changing the abrasive/surface treatment disc is done precisely and autonomously. (see para 0001 of Bonnet)
Regarding claim 8, Luca as modified in claim 7 teaches all the limitations stated above ,but fails to teach wherein the media holder is formed as a pin comprising alternating portions of protruding structures and groove structures.
Bonnet discloses a sanding device (abstract) that includes wherein the media holder (600 and 700) is formed as a pin comprising alternating portions of protruding structures and groove structures. (see rods of 600 and 700 figure 1, para 0065-0067).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Luca to include wherein the media holder is formed as a pin comprising alternating portions of protruding structures and groove structures, based on teachings of Bonnet. This modification would ensure the changing the abrasive/surface treatment disc is done precisely and autonomously. (see para 0001 of Bonnet)
Claim(s) 9,11-12,14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luca (US20220362905A1) in view of Ang (US20180001441A1) and Choi (KR200149584Y1).
Regarding claim 9, Luca teaches a head (50, figure 1a) configured to receive the surface treatment medium, the changing station
comprising: a detachment portion (see Luca “removal station” para 0064-65) comprising a support member (see Luca “application station” para 0064-65) configured to receive the head and
an attachment portion (see Luca “application station” para 0065) comprising a base portion (see Luca “application station” para 0065).
Luca fails to teach two detection pins protruding from the support member and configured to insert into openings in the head, the two detection pins being arranged a predefined distance from one another corresponding to a distance between the openings in the head.
Ang discloses method of separating and replacing abrasive member that includes detachment method of using detecting pins (para 00114-0115), where the pin amount corresponds cavity amount which is not limited to one (see para 00115).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Luca to include two detection pins protruding from the support member and configured to insert into openings in the head, the two detection pins being arranged a predefined distance from one another corresponding to a distance between the openings in the head, based on the teachings of Luca. This modification would help facilitate the removal of the surface treatment head. (para 0114 of Ang)
Luca in view of Ang fails to teach two guide pins protruding from the base portion, wherein the two guide pins are arranged a distance from one another equal to the predefined distance of the two detection pins.
Choi teaches a sandpaper changer for sanding grinder that (abstract) includes attachment portion that has a base portion (see figures 1-2) is configured to receive a stack (4, figures 1-2) of surface treatment media and the attachment portion comprises a plurality of media holders (3, figures 1-2) shaped as pin-formed stop members that surround the base portion; includes with guide pins protruding (3’, figures 1-2) from the base portion, wherein the two guide pins are arranged a distance from one another equal ( 3’, figure 1)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Luca to include two guide pins protruding from the base portion, wherein the two guide pins are arranged a distance from one another equal to the predefined distance of the two detection pins, based on the teachings of Choi. This modification would facilitate the replacement work and improve the working efficiency (pages 1-2 of of Choi)
Regarding claim 11, Luca as modified above teaches wherein the base portion (see Choi figures 1-2) is configured to receive a stack of surface treatment media and the attachment portion comprises a plurality of media holders (see Choi 1, figures 1-2) shaped as pin-formed stop members (see Choi 3, figures 1-2) that surround the base portion.
Regarding claim 12, Luca as modified above teaches wherein each of the plurality of media holders (see Choi 3, figures 1-2) comprises alternating portions of protruding structures and groove structures.
Regarding claim 14, Luca as modified above teaches a changing station according to claim 9 (see rejection above; see Luca abstract); a robot (see Luca para 0042) comprising a robot arm (see Luca 40, figure 1a); and a surface treatment tool (see Luca para 0041) attached to the robot arm, the surface treatment tool comprising a head (see Luca 50, para 0041) configured to receive a surface treatment medium;
wherein the robot system is configured to attach a surface treatment medium (see Luca para 0041-0042) to the surface treatment tool and to place the head on a surface and apply a predefined force (para 0044, 0046,0048-0049) to press the head towards the surface when no surface treatment medium has been attached to the head.
Regarding claim 15, Luca as modified above teaches an attachment unit (see Luca para 0064-0065 “application station”) configured to attach the surface treatment medium to the head and to place the head on a support member of the attachment unit when the surface treatment medium is attached to the head; and
a measuring unit (see Luca para 0053) configured to measure a first distance between the head and the support member using one or more positioning sensors of the robot arm or the surface treatment tool.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luca (US20220362905A1) in view of Ang (US20180001441A1) and Choi (KR200149584Y1) as applied to claim 9 further in view of Naderer ( US20190152015A1)
Regarding claim 10, Luca as modified above teaches all limitations stated above, but fails to teach wherein the guide pins are detachably attached to the base portion.
Naderer teaches a changing station for the automatic changing of grinding materials (abstract), that includes the guide pins are detachably attached to a base portion. (para 0054)
Per MPEP 2144.04 V-C, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Luca to have the guide pins be detachably attached to the base portion, based on teachings of Naderer, since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luca (US20220362905A1) in view of Ang (US20180001441A1) and Choi (KR200149584Y1) as applied to claim 11 further in view of Cao ( CN107199508B)
Regarding claim 13, Luca as modified above in claim 11 teaches all limitation stated above, but fails to teach wherein the detachment portion comprises a separation blade provided at a distance from an adjacent edge of the support member, wherein the separation blade is provided at a higher elevation than the support member.
Cao teaches abrasive paper replacing device for robot grinding and polishing that includes the detachment portion (figure 2) comprises a separation blade (101, figure 2) provided at a distance from an adjacent edge of a support member (104, figure 2), wherein the separation blade is provided at a higher elevation than the support member.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Luca to wherein the detachment portion comprises a separation blade provided at a distance from an adjacent edge of the support member, wherein the separation blade is provided at a higher elevation than the support member, based on the teachings of Cao. This modification would improve the efficiency of replacing surface treatment head (see npl pages 1-3 of Cao).
Conclusion
/SARAH AKYAA FORDJOUR/ Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/MONICA S CARTER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723