DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 03/01/2023 and 12/01/2025 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites the limitation “a second electrode disposed at a position deviating from a central axis of the first electrode, the second electrode being configured to pressurize and contact an outer surface of the second panel” in lines 6-9, and “a third electrode that is opposed to the second electrode coaxially, the third electrode being configured to pressurize and contact an outer surface of the third panel” in lines 10-13. It is unclear what is meant by these limitations because claim 11 depends on claim 3; however, claim 3 recites two electrodes previously, which are “an electrode configured to pressurize and contact the second panel” in lines 3-4, and “an electrode configured to pressurize and contact with the third panel” in lines 4-5. Therefore, it is unclear if “a second electrode” recited in claim 11 refers to “an electrode configured to pressurize and contact the second panel” recited previously in claim 3, or “a second electrode” recited in claim 11 refers to a different electrode. Similarly, it is unclear if “a third electrode” recited in claim 11 refers to “an electrode configured to pressurize and contact with the third panel” recited previously in claim 3, or “a third electrode” recited in claim 11 refers to a different electrode. For examination purposes, the limitation “a second electrode” recited in claim 11 will be interpreted as to refer to “an electrode configured to pressurize and contact the second panel” recited previously in claim 3; and the limitation “a third electrode” recited in claim 11 will be interpreted as to refer to “an electrode configured to pressurize and contact with the third panel” recited previously in claim 3.
Claim 12 recites the limitation “a second electrode disposed at a position deviating from a central axis of the first electrode, the second electrode being configured to pressurize and contact an outer surface of the second panel” in lines 6-9, and “a third electrode that is opposed to the second electrode coaxially, the third electrode being configured to pressurize and contact an outer surface of the third panel” in lines 10-13. It is unclear what is meant by these limitations because claim 12 depends on claim 4; however, claim 4 recites two electrodes previously, which are “an electrode configured to pressurize and contact the second panel” in lines 3-4, and “an electrode configured to pressurize and contact with the third panel” in lines 4-5. Therefore, it is unclear if “a second electrode” recited in claim 12 refers to “an electrode configured to pressurize and contact the second panel” recited previously in claim 4, or “a second electrode” recited in claim 12 refers to a different electrode. Similarly, it is unclear if “a third electrode” recited in claim 12 refers to “an electrode configured to pressurize and contact with the third panel” recited previously in claim 4, or “a third electrode” recited in claim 12 refers to a different electrode. For examination purposes, the limitation “a second electrode” recited in claim 12 will be interpreted as to refer to “an electrode configured to pressurize and contact the second panel” recited previously in claim 4; and the limitation “a third electrode” recited in claim 12 will be interpreted as to refer to “an electrode configured to pressurize and contact with the third panel” recited previously in claim 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (KR 102352109 B1, Translation is attached) in view of Barkhausen et al. (DE 102020108759 A1, Translation is attached).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a spot welding method (Kim Abstract discloses “spot welding”) of spot welding a workpiece (workpiece comprises materials 110, 120, 210, 220; Kim Fig.3) comprising a first panel (material 210, Kim Fig.3), a second panel (material 220, Kim Fig.3), a third panel (material 120, Kim Fig.3), and a fourth panel (material 110, Kim Fig.3) stacked in sequence (as shown in Kim Fig.3), the spot welding method comprising:
conducting resistance welding with rivet for the first panel (material 210, Kim Fig.3) and the second panel (material 220, Kim Fig.3) to form a first weld zone (the first weld zone is the location where the rivet 230 is located in Kim Fig.3) where the first panel (material 210, Kim Fig.3) is joined to the second panel (material 220, Kim Fig.3) (Kim Translated Document on page 4, paragraph 6 discloses: “the second assembling step (S120) is a step of assembling the second steel material 210 and the second aluminum material 220 by resistance element welding”);
conducting resistance welding with rivet for the third panel (material 120, Kim Fig.3) and the fourth panel (material 110, Kim Fig.3) to form a second weld zone (the second weld zone is the location where the rivet 130 is located in Kim Fig.3) where the third panel (material 120, Kim Fig.3) is joined to the fourth panel (material 110, Kim Fig.3) (Kim Translated Document on page 4, paragraph 4 discloses: “the first assembling step (S110) is a step of assembling the first steel material 110 and the first aluminum material 120 by resistance element welding”); and
after forming the first weld zone (the first weld zone is the location where the rivet 230 is located in Kim Fig.3) and the second weld zone (the second weld zone is the location where the rivet 130 is located in Kim Fig.3), conducting direct spot welding for the workpiece (workpiece includes materials 110, 120, 210, 220; Kim Fig.3) to form a third weld zone (third weld zone, Kim annotated Fig.3 below) where the second panel (material 220, Kim Fig.3) is joined to the third panel (material 120, Kim Fig.3) (Kim Translated Document on page 3, paragraph 11 discloses: “the final assembly step (S200) is a step that proceeds after the first assembly step (S110)”, Kim Translated Document on page 3, second paragraph from the bottom of page 3 discloses: “The second assembling step (S120) is a step performed before the final assembling step (S200)”, Kim Translated Document on page 4, paragraph 7 discloses: “in the final assembly step (S200), the first assembly 100 and the second assembly 200 by placing the first rivet 130 and the second rivet 230 between the two electrodes (E) as a spot weld”, and Kim Translated Document on page 4, paragraph 8 discloses: “the portion where the first rivet 130 and the first steel material 110 are welded in the first assembling step S110, and the second rivet 230 and the second steel material 110 in the second assembling step S120 (S120) In a state where the welded portions 210 are overlapped with each other, the overlapped portions are spot-welded with two electrodes (E).”; it is known that direct spot welding (also known as two-sided welding) is a resistance welding process where two electrodes are positioned on opposite sides of stacked; in this case, Kim discloses the final welding step is spot welding and Kim Fig.3 shows two-sided welding where two electrodes are positioned on opposite sides of stacked; therefore, Kim discloses after forming the first weld zone and the second weld zone, conducting direct spot welding for the workpiece to form a third weld zone where the material 220 is joined to the material 120).
Kim does not explicitly disclose:
indirect spot welding for the first panel and the second panel; and indirect spot welding for the third panel and the fourth panel
Barkhausen teaches a spot welding method for spot welding at least two components together (Barkhausen Translated Abstract):
indirect spot welding with rivet element for joining two components (Barkhausen Translated Document from the last paragraph on page 2 to the first paragraph on page 3 teaches: “A welding process implemented on one side enables the improvement or redesign of future body concepts with regard to the joining sequence or optimization of the vehicle weight, for example by eliminating so-called steel adapters. The new idea can significantly improve the welding process. In a technical implementation, a preferably perforated plastic washer can be used to deliberately create an insulating surface or gap between the two components for unilateral / indirect resistance spot welding with a rivet element, in order to prevent a shunt caused by, for example, cut sheet metal edges, especially with narrow flanges. Furthermore, the components are stabilized in relation to one another (that is, tilting is prevented).”. It is noted that the primary reference Kim discloses conducting resistance welding with rivet for the first panel and the second panel, and conducting resistance welding with rivet for the third panel and the fourth panel, as cited and explained above; therefore, in this case, by substituting the Kim resistance welding with rivet for welding two components with the Barkhausen indirect resistance spot welding with rivet element for welding two components, in combination, Kim in view of Barkhausen teaches indirect spot welding for the first panel and the second panel, and indirect spot welding for the third panel and the fourth panel)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the Kim resistance welding with rivet for welding two components with the Barkhausen indirect resistance spot welding with rivet element for welding two components, because the substitution of one known element for another with no change in their respective functions, and the modification would yield a predictable result of joining two components. MPEP 2143 I (B). Furthermore, the indirect resistance spot welding with rivet element improves welding process, specifically, allows one-sided welding configurations, improving accessibility and manufacturability; ensures controlled current flow through the intended weld interface, avoiding shunt paths; enables the improvement or redesign of future body concepts with regard to the joining sequence or optimization of the vehicle weight; and thus, the components are stabilized in relation to one another, as recognized by Barkhausen [Barkhausen, Translated Document from page 2, last paragraph to page 3, first paragraph].
Regarding claim 2, Kim in view of Barkhausen teaches the method set forth in claim 1, and Kim also discloses:
wherein the first weld zone (the first weld zone is the location where the rivet 230 is located in Kim Fig.3), the second weld zone (the second weld zone is the location where the rivet 130 is located in Kim Fig.3), and the third weld zone (third weld zone, Kim annotated Fig.3 below) overlap one another in a stacking direction of the first panel (material 210, Kim Fig.3), the second panel (material 220, Kim Fig.3), the third panel (material 120, Kim Fig.3), and the fourth panel (material 110, Kim Fig.3) (as shown in Kim Fig.3 and Kim Translated Document on page 4, paragraph 7 discloses: “in the final assembly step (S200), the first assembly 100 and the second assembly 200 by placing the first rivet 130 and the second rivet 230 between the two electrodes (E) as a spot weld”, and Kim Translated Document on page 4, paragraph 8 discloses: “the portion where the first rivet 130 and the first steel material 110 are welded in the first assembling step S110, and the second rivet 230 and the second steel material 110 in the second assembling step S120 (S120) In a state where the welded portions 210 are overlapped with each other, the overlapped portions are spot-welded with two electrodes (E).”; therefore, the first, second, and third weld zones overlap one another in stacking direction of materials 210, 220, 120, 110).
Regarding claim 5, Kim in view of Barkhausen teaches the method set forth in claim 1, Kim further discloses:
wherein the workpiece (workpiece comprises materials 110, 120, 210, 220; Kim Fig.3) further comprises a fifth panel (additional material 300, Kim Fig.10) stacked between the second panel (material 220, Kim Fig.3) and the third panel (material 120, Kim Fig.3) (Kim Translated Document on page 6, paragraph 5 discloses: “in the final assembly step (S200), the first assembly 100 and the additional unit are assembled by spot welding, in the fourth embodiment, the additional unit may be an additional steel material (300).”, and see Fig.10 of Kim; in combination, by further adding additional material 300 to the workpiece, the additional material 300 is stacked between the material 220 and the material 120), and the second panel (material 220, Kim Fig.3), the fifth panel (additional material 300, Kim Fig.10), and the third panel (material 120, Kim Fig.3) are joined by the direct spot welding in the conducting direct spot welding for the workpiece (Kim Translated Document on page 6, last paragraph discloses: “in the same assembly method as described above, two or more assemblies are made by resistance element welding, and the additional steel material 300 is contacted, and 5 or more different materials are finally assembled by spot welding”; it is known that direct spot welding (also known as two-sided welding) is a resistance welding process where two electrodes are positioned on opposite sides of stacked; therefore, the material 220, the additional material 300 and the material 120 are joined by the direct spot welding in the conducting direct spot welding for the workpiece).
Regarding claim 6, Kim in view of Barkhausen teaches the method set forth in claim 2, Kim further discloses:
wherein the workpiece (workpiece comprises materials 110, 120, 210, 220; Kim Fig.3) further comprises a fifth panel (additional material 300, Kim Fig.10) stacked between the second panel (material 220, Kim Fig.3) and the third panel (material 120, Kim Fig.3) (Kim Translated Document on page 6, paragraph 5 discloses: “in the final assembly step (S200), the first assembly 100 and the additional unit are assembled by spot welding, in the fourth embodiment, the additional unit may be an additional steel material (300).”, and see Fig.10 of Kim; in combination, by further adding additional material 300 to the workpiece, the additional material 300 is stacked between the material 220 and the material 120), and the second panel (material 220, Kim Fig.3), the fifth panel (additional material 300, Kim Fig.10), and the third panel (material 120, Kim Fig.3) are joined by the direct spot welding in the conducting direct spot welding for the workpiece (Kim Translated Document on page 6, last paragraph discloses: “in the same assembly method as described above, two or more assemblies are made by resistance element welding, and the additional steel material 300 is contacted, and 5 or more different materials are finally assembled by spot welding”; it is known that direct spot welding (also known as two-sided welding) is a resistance welding process where two electrodes are positioned on opposite sides of stacked; therefore, the material 220, the additional material 300 and the material 120 are joined by the direct spot welding in the conducting direct spot welding for the workpiece).
Claims 3-4, 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (KR 102352109 B1, Translation is attached) in view of Barkhausen et al. (DE 102020108759 A1, Translation is attached), and further in view of Gabbianelli et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2004/0065641 A1) and Wang (U.S. Pub. No. 2010/0019785 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Kim in view of Barkhausen teaches the method set forth in claim 1, Kim does not disclose:
wherein an electrode configured to pressurize and contact the second panel and an electrode configured to pressurize and contact with the third panel in the conducting indirect spot welding for the third panel and the fourth panel are opposed coaxially, and
in the conducting indirect spot welding for the first panel and the second panel and in the conducting indirect spot welding for the third panel and the fourth panel, an insulator is disposed between the second panel and the third panel and on an axis of each of the electrodes.
Barkhausen teaches the spot welding method (Barkhausen Fig.5):
wherein an electrode (electrode 25, Barkhausen Fig.5) configured to pressurize and contact the second panel (second component 2, Barkhausen Fig.5)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Kim in view of Barkhausen, by adding electrode configured to pressurize and contact the second panel, as taught by Barkhausen, in order to provide electrical and mechanical engagement with the second panel, thereby completing the welding circuit and enabling controlled current flow and pressure at the intended weld interface for the indirect resistance welding configuration.
Kim in view of Barkhausen does not explicitly teach:
an electrode configured to pressurize and contact with the third panel in the conducting indirect spot welding for the third panel and the fourth panel, and two electrodes are opposed coaxially, and
in the conducting indirect spot welding for the first panel and the second panel and in the conducting indirect spot welding for the third panel and the fourth panel, an insulator is disposed between the second panel and the third panel and on an axis of each of the electrodes.
Gabbianelli teaches a spot welding method (Gabbianelli Fig.1):
an electrode (second electrode 48, Gabbianelli Fig.1) configured to pressurize and contact with the third panel (side 18, Gabbianelli Fig.1) in the conducting indirect spot welding for the third panel (side 18, Gabbianelli Fig.1) and the fourth panel (right side of member 14 that is in direct contact with side 18, Gabbianelli Fig.1), and two electrodes are opposed coaxially (first electrode 44 and second electrode 48 are opposed coaxially as shown in Gabbianelli Fig.1) (Gabbianelli Par.0034 teaches: “the weld gun 30 was developed to weld members to closed section members through indirect resistance spot welding. Indirect resistance spot welding is a process where a weld is created without the inside support of a weld tip.”. It is noted that since Kim in view of Barkhausen method already teaches the conducting indirect spot welding for the first panel and the second panel and the conducting indirect spot welding for the third panel and the fourth panel, wherein the first panel and the second panel are welded to form a first component [see the upper component includes 210 and 220 in Kim Fig.3], and the third panel and the fourth panel are welded to form a second component [see the lower component includes 110 and 120 in Kim Fig.3], and further teaches an electrode configured to pressurize and contact the second panel, as cited and incorporated above; therefore, by adding the electrode that is opposed coaxially with the electrode 25 taught by Barkhausen; in combination, Kim in view of Barkhausen and Gabbianelli teaches an electrode configured to pressurize and contact with the third panel in the conducting indirect spot welding for the third panel and the fourth panel, and the two electrodes are opposed coaxially)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Kim in view of Barkhausen, by adding an electrode configured to pressurize and contact with the third panel in the conducting indirect spot welding for the third panel and the fourth panel, and two electrodes are opposed coaxially, as taught by Gabbianelli, in order to provide electrical and mechanical engagement with the third panel, thereby completing the welding circuit and enabling controlled current flow and pressure at the intended weld interface for the indirect resistance welding configuration. Furthermore, the modification also establishes a defined current path and balanced clamping forces across the workpiece stack, thereby concentrating heat at the intended interface between the third and the fourth panels; thus, improve weld strength.
Kim in view of Barkhausen and Gabbianelli does not explicitly teach:
in the conducting indirect spot welding for the first panel and the second panel and in the conducting indirect spot welding for the third panel and the fourth panel, an insulator is disposed between the second panel and the third panel and on an axis of each of the electrodes.
Wang teaches a spot welding method (Wang Fig.1):
in the conducting indirect spot welding for the first panel and the second panel and in the conducting indirect spot welding for the third panel and the fourth panel (it is noted that the Kim in view of Barkhausen and Gabbianelli method already teaches the conducting indirect spot welding for the first panel and the second panel and the conducting indirect spot welding for the third panel and the fourth panel, wherein the first panel and the second panel are welded to form a first component [see the upper component includes 210 and 220 in Kim Fig.3], and the third panel and the fourth panel are welded to form a second component [see the lower component includes 110 and 120 in Kim Fig.3]), an insulator (insulator 36, Wang Fig.1; Wang Par.0024 teaches: “The adhesive material 36, which is usually an electrical insulator”) is disposed between the second panel (work piece 32, Wang Fig.1) and the third panel (work piece 34, Wang Fig.1) and on an axis of each of the electrodes (vertical axis of the electrodes 20A and 20B, Wang Fig.1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Kim in view of Barkhausen and Gabbianelli, by adding the insulator is disposed between the second panel and the third panel and on an axis of each of the electrodes, as taught by Wang, in order to electrically isolate adjacent weld zones, thereby preventing unintended electrical contact/bonding and current bypass, thereby ensuring that welding current is concentrated at the intended weld interface, resulting in improved weld strength and weld quality.
Regarding claim 4, Kim in view of Barkhausen teaches the method set forth in claim 2, Kim does not disclose:
wherein an electrode configured to pressurize and contact the second panel and an electrode configured to pressurize and contact with the third panel in the conducting indirect spot welding for the third panel and the fourth panel are opposed coaxially, and
in the conducting indirect spot welding for the first panel and the second panel and in the conducting indirect spot welding for the third panel and the fourth panel, an insulator is disposed between the second panel and the third panel and on an axis of each of the electrodes.
Barkhausen teaches the spot welding method (Barkhausen Fig.5):
wherein an electrode (electrode 25, Barkhausen Fig.5) configured to pressurize and contact the second panel (second component 2, Barkhausen Fig.5)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Kim in view of Barkhausen, by adding electrode configured to pressurize and contact the second panel, as taught by Barkhausen, in order to provide electrical and mechanical engagement with the second panel, thereby completing the welding circuit and enabling controlled current flow and pressure at the intended weld interface for the indirect resistance welding configuration.
Kim in view of Barkhausen does not explicitly teach:
an electrode configured to pressurize and contact with the third panel in the conducting indirect spot welding for the third panel and the fourth panel, and two electrodes are opposed coaxially, and
in the conducting indirect spot welding for the first panel and the second panel and in the conducting indirect spot welding for the third panel and the fourth panel, an insulator is disposed between the second panel and the third panel and on an axis of each of the electrodes.
Gabbianelli teaches a spot welding method (Gabbianelli Fig.1):
an electrode (second electrode 48, Gabbianelli Fig.1) configured to pressurize and contact with the third panel (side 18, Gabbianelli Fig.1) in the conducting indirect spot welding for the third panel (side 18, Gabbianelli Fig.1) and the fourth panel (right side of member 14 that is in direct contact with side 18, Gabbianelli Fig.1), and two electrodes are opposed coaxially (first electrode 44 and second electrode 48 are opposed coaxially as shown in Gabbianelli Fig.1) (Gabbianelli Par.0034 teaches: “the weld gun 30 was developed to weld members to closed section members through indirect resistance spot welding. Indirect resistance spot welding is a process where a weld is created without the inside support of a weld tip.”. It is noted that since Kim in view of Barkhausen method already teaches the conducting indirect spot welding for the first panel and the second panel and the conducting indirect spot welding for the third panel and the fourth panel, wherein the first panel and the second panel are welded to form a first component [see the upper component includes 210 and 220 in Kim Fig.3], and the third panel and the fourth panel are welded to form a second component [see the lower component includes 110 and 120 in Kim Fig.3], and further teaches an electrode configured to pressurize and contact the second panel, as cited and incorporated above; therefore, by adding the electrode that is opposed coaxially with the electrode 25 taught by Barkhausen; in combination, Kim in view of Barkhausen and Gabbianelli teaches an electrode configured to pressurize and contact with the third panel in the conducting indirect spot welding for the third panel and the fourth panel, and the two electrodes are opposed coaxially)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Kim in view of Barkhausen, by adding an electrode configured to pressurize and contact with the third panel in the conducting indirect spot welding for the third panel and the fourth panel, and two electrodes are opposed coaxially, as taught by Gabbianelli, in order to provide electrical and mechanical engagement with the third panel, thereby completing the welding circuit and enabling controlled current flow and pressure at the intended weld interface for the indirect resistance welding configuration. Furthermore, the modification also establishes a defined current path and balanced clamping forces across the workpiece stack, thereby concentrating heat at the intended interface between the third and the fourth panels; thus, improve weld strength.
Kim in view of Barkhausen and Gabbianelli does not explicitly teach:
in the conducting indirect spot welding for the first panel and the second panel and in the conducting indirect spot welding for the third panel and the fourth panel, an insulator is disposed between the second panel and the third panel and on an axis of each of the electrodes.
Wang teaches a spot welding method (Wang Fig.1):
in the conducting indirect spot welding for the first panel and the second panel and in the conducting indirect spot welding for the third panel and the fourth panel (it is noted that the Kim in view of Barkhausen and Gabbianelli method already teaches the conducting indirect spot welding for the first panel and the second panel and the conducting indirect spot welding for the third panel and the fourth panel, wherein the first panel and the second panel are welded to form a first component [see the upper component includes 210 and 220 in Kim Fig.3], and the third panel and the fourth panel are welded to form a second component [see the lower component includes 110 and 120 in Kim Fig.3]), an insulator (insulator 36, Wang Fig.1; Wang Par.0024 teaches: “The adhesive material 36, which is usually an electrical insulator”) is disposed between the second panel (work piece 32, Wang Fig.1) and the third panel (work piece 34, Wang Fig.1) and on an axis of each of the electrodes (vertical axis of the electrodes 20A and 20B, Wang Fig.1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Kim in view of Barkhausen and Gabbianelli, by adding the insulator is disposed between the second panel and the third panel and on an axis of each of the electrodes, as taught by Wang, in order to electrically isolate adjacent weld zones, thereby preventing unintended electrical contact/bonding and current bypass, thereby ensuring that welding current is concentrated at the intended weld interface, resulting in improved weld strength and weld quality.
Regarding claim 7, Kim in view of Barkhausen, Gabbianelli and Wang teaches the method set forth in claim 3, Kim further discloses:
wherein the workpiece (workpiece comprises materials 110, 120, 210, 220; Kim Fig.3) further comprises a fifth panel (additional material 300, Kim Fig.10) stacked between the second panel (material 220, Kim Fig.3) and the third panel (material 120, Kim Fig.3) (Kim Translated Document on page 6, paragraph 5 discloses: “in the final assembly step (S200), the first assembly 100 and the additional unit are assembled by spot welding, in the fourth embodiment, the additional unit may be an additional steel material (300).”, and see Fig.10 of Kim; in combination, by further adding additional material 300 to the workpiece, the additional material 300 is stacked between the material 220 and the material 120), and the second panel (material 220, Kim Fig.3), the fifth panel (additional material 300, Kim Fig.10), and the third panel (material 120, Kim Fig.3) are joined by the direct spot welding in the conducting direct spot welding for the workpiece (Kim Translated Document on page 6, last paragraph discloses: “in the same assembly method as described above, two or more assemblies are made by resistance element welding, and the additional steel material 300 is contacted, and 5 or more different materials are finally assembled by spot welding”; it is known that direct spot welding (also known as two-sided welding) is a resistance welding process where two electrodes are positioned on opposite sides of stacked; therefore, the material 220, the additional material 300 and the material 120 are joined by the direct spot welding in the conducting direct spot welding for the workpiece).
Regarding claim 8, Kim in view of Barkhausen, Gabbianelli and Wang teaches the method set forth in claim 4, Kim further discloses:
wherein the workpiece (workpiece comprises materials 110, 120, 210, 220; Kim Fig.3) further comprises a fifth panel (additional material 300, Kim Fig.10) stacked between the second panel (material 220, Kim Fig.3) and the third panel (material 120, Kim Fig.3) (Kim Translated Document on page 6, paragraph 5 discloses: “in the final assembly step (S200), the first assembly 100 and the additional unit are assembled by spot welding, in the fourth embodiment, the additional unit may be an additional steel material (300).”, and see Fig.10 of Kim; in combination, by further adding additional material 300 to the workpiece, the additional material 300 is stacked between the material 220 and the material 120), and the second panel (material 220, Kim Fig.3), the fifth panel (additional material 300, Kim Fig.10), and the third panel (material 120, Kim Fig.3) are joined by the direct spot welding in the conducting direct spot welding for the workpiece (Kim Translated Document on page 6, last paragraph discloses: “in the same assembly method as described above, two or more assemblies are made by resistance element welding, and the additional steel material 300 is contacted, and 5 or more different materials are finally assembled by spot welding”; it is known that direct spot welding (also known as two-sided welding) is a resistance welding process where two electrodes are positioned on opposite sides of stacked; therefore, the material 220, the additional material 300 and the material 120 are joined by the direct spot welding in the conducting direct spot welding for the workpiece).
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (KR 102352109 B1, Translation is attached) in view of Barkhausen et al. (DE 102020108759 A1, Translation is attached), and further in view of Tanigawa et al. (JP 2021023945 A, Translation is attached).
Regarding claim 9, Kim discloses a spot welding device (spot welding device includes upper electrode E and lower electrode E as shown in Kim Fig.3) for use in the spot welding method according to claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1 above), the spot welding device (spot welding device includes upper electrode E and lower electrode E as shown in Kim Fig.3) comprising:
a first electrode (upper electrode E, Kim Fig.3) configured to pressure and contact an outer surface of the first panel (top surface of the material 210, Kim Fig.3);
a fourth electrode (lower electrode E, Kim Fig.3) that is opposed to the first electrode (upper electrode E, Kim Fig.3) coaxially (as shown in Kim Fig.3), the fourth electrode (lower electrode E, Kim Fig.3) being configured to pressurize and contact an outer surface of the fourth panel (bottom surface of the material 110, Kim Fig.3);
Kim does not explicit disclose:
a second electrode disposed at a position deviating from a central axis of the first electrode, the second electrode being configured to pressurize and contact an outer surface of the second panel;
a third electrode that is opposed to the second electrode coaxially, the third electrode being configured to pressurize and contact an outer surface of the third panel;
a first circuit configured to switch between (i) a current-carrying state between the first electrode and the second electrode and (ii) a non-current-carrying state between the first electrode and the second electrode;
a second circuit configured to switch between (i) a current-carrying state between the third electrode and the fourth electrode and (ii) a non-current-carrying state between the third electrode and the fourth electrode; and
a third circuit configured to switch between (i) a current-carrying state between the first electrode and the fourth electrode and (ii) a non-current-carrying state between the first electrode and the fourth electrode.
Barkhausen teaches a spot welding device (Barkhausen Fig.5):
a second electrode (electrode 25, Barkhausen Fig.5) disposed at a position deviating from a central axis of the first electrode (electrode 23, Barkhausen Fig.5), the second electrode (electrode 25, Barkhausen Fig.5) being configured to pressurize and contact an outer surface of the second panel (upper surface of the component 2, Barkhausen Fig.5)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the spot welding device of Kim, by adding second electrode disposed at a position deviating from a central axis of the first electrode, the second electrode being configured to pressurize and contact an outer surface of the second panel, as taught by Barkhausen, in order to provide electrical and mechanical engagement with the second panel, thereby completing the welding circuit and enabling controlled current flow and pressure at the intended weld interface for the indirect resistance welding configuration.
Kim in view of Barkhausen does not explicit teach:
a third electrode that is opposed to the second electrode coaxially, the third electrode being configured to pressurize and contact an outer surface of the third panel;
a first circuit configured to switch between (i) a current-carrying state between the first electrode and the second electrode and (ii) a non-current-carrying state between the first electrode and the second electrode;
a second circuit configured to switch between (i) a current-carrying state between the third electrode and the fourth electrode and (ii) a non-current-carrying state between the third electrode and the fourth electrode; and
a third circuit configured to switch between (i) a current-carrying state between the first electrode and the fourth electrode and (ii) a non-current-carrying state between the first electrode and the fourth electrode.
Tanigawa teaches a spot welding device (spot welding device 1, Tanigawa Fig.5):
a third electrode (electrode 22, Tanigawa Fig.5) that is opposed to the second electrode (electrode 21, Tanigawa Fig.5) coaxially (as shown in Tanigawa Fig.5), the third electrode (electrode 22, Tanigawa Fig.5) being configured to pressurize and contact an outer surface of the third panel (It is noted that since Kim in view of Barkhausen already teaches the conducting indirect spot welding for the first panel and the second panel and the conducting indirect spot welding for the third panel and the fourth panel, wherein the first panel and the second panel are welded to form a first component [see the upper component includes 210 and 220 in Kim Fig.3], and the third panel and the fourth panel are welded to form a second component [see the lower component includes 110 and 120 in Kim Fig.3], and further teaches the second electrode configured to pressurize and contact the second panel, as cited and incorporated above; therefore, by adding the electrode that is opposed coaxially with the electrode 25 taught by Barkhausen; in combination, Kim in view of Barkhausen and Tanigawa teaches third electrode configured to pressurize and contact with the third panel in the conducting indirect spot welding for the third panel and the fourth panel, and the two electrodes are opposed coaxially);
a first circuit (circuit 51, Tanigawa Fig.5) configured to switch between (i) a current-carrying state between the first electrode (electrode 11, Tanigawa Fig.5) and the second electrode (electrode 21, Tanigawa Fig.5) and (ii) a non-current-carrying state between the first electrode (electrode 11, Tanigawa Fig.5) and the second electrode (electrode 21, Tanigawa Fig.5) (Tanigawa Translated Document on page 4, paragraph 5 teaches: “Then, the spot welding device 1 includes a second circuit 51 that electrically connects the first electrode 11 and the third electrode 21 and grounds the first electrode 11. As shown in FIG. 5, the second power supply device 27 described above is also connected to the second circuit 51.”, and Tanigawa Translated Document on page 4, paragraph 6 teaches: “The spot welding device 1 includes a first switch 41 (switching device) capable of switching between a state in which the first electrode 11 is connected to the first circuit 16 and a state in which the first electrode 11 is connected to the second circuit 51. Further, the spot welding device 1 includes a second switch 42 (switching device) capable of switching between a state in which the third electrode 21 is connected to the third circuit 26 and a state in which the third electrode 21 is connected to the second circuit 51. The first switch 41 and the second switch 42 (hereinafter, these may be collectively referred to as “switches 41, 42”) have the first state shown in FIG. 4 and the second state shown in FIG. It is switchable. In the first state of FIG. 4, the second circuit 51 is disconnected and the first circuit 16 and the third circuit 26 can be energized. In the second state of FIG. 5, the first circuit 16 and the third circuit 26 are disconnected and the second circuit 51 can be energized. In the second state of FIG. 5, the second electrode 12 and the fourth electrode 22 are each insulated from the other electrodes. By providing the switches 41 and 42, direct spot welding and indirect spot welding can be performed by using a single spot welding device 1. The first spot welded portion 10 and the second spot welded portion 20 may or may not be physically integrated as long as they are electrically connected by the second circuit 51.”);
a third circuit (circuit 16, Tanigawa Fig.5) configured to switch between (i) a current-carrying state between the first electrode (electrode 11, Tanigawa Fig.5) and the fourth electrode (electrode 12, Tanigawa Fig.5) and (ii) a non-current-carrying state between the first electrode (electrode 11, Tanigawa Fig.5) and the fourth electrode (electrode 12, Tanigawa Fig.5) (Tanigawa Translated Document on page 4, paragraph 3 teaches: “the first spot welded portion 10 includes a first circuit 16 that electrically connects the first electrode 11 and the second electrode 12 and grounds the second electrode 12. The first power supply device 17 is connected to the first circuit 16.”, and Tanigawa Translated Document on page 4, paragraph 6 teaches: “The spot welding device 1 includes a first switch 41 (switching device) capable of switching between a state in which the first electrode 11 is connected to the first circuit 16 and a state in which the first electrode 11 is connected to the second circuit 51. Further, the spot welding device 1 includes a second switch 42 (switching device) capable of switching between a state in which the third electrode 21 is connected to the third circuit 26 and a state in which the third electrode 21 is connected to the second circuit 51. The first switch 41 and the second switch 42 (hereinafter, these may be collectively referred to as “switches 41, 42”) have the first state shown in FIG. 4 and the second state shown in FIG. It is switchable. In the first state of FIG. 4, the second circuit 51 is disconnected and the first circuit 16 and the third circuit 26 can be energized. In the second state of FIG. 5, the first circuit 16 and the third circuit 26 are disconnected and the second circuit 51 can be energized. In the second state of FIG. 5, the second electrode 12 and the fourth electrode 22 are each insulated from the other electrodes. By providing the switches 41 and 42, direct spot welding and indirect spot welding can be performed by using a single spot welding device 1. The first spot welded portion 10 and the second spot welded portion 20 may or may not be physically integrated as long as they are electrically connected by the second circuit 51.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the spot welding device of Kim in view of Barkhausen, by adding third electrode that is opposed to the second electrode coaxially, the third electrode being configured to pressurize and contact an outer surface of the third panel; first circuit configured to switch between (i) a current-carrying state between the first electrode and the second electrode and (ii) a non-current-carrying state between the first electrode and the second electrode; and a third circuit configured to switch between (i) a current-carrying state between the first electrode and the fourth electrode and (ii) a non-current-carrying state between the first electrode and the fourth electrode, as taught by Tanigawa, in order to provide electrical and mechanical engagement with the third panel, thereby completing the welding circuit and enabling controlled current flow and pressure at the intended weld interface for the indirect resistance welding configuration. Additionally, the modification also establishes a defined current path and balanced clamping forces across the workpiece stack, thereby concentrating heat at the intended interface between the third and the fourth panels; thus, improve weld strength. Furthermore, the modification also allows direct spot welding and indirect spot welding to be performed by a single spot welding device, as recognized by Tanigawa [Tanigawa, Translated Document on page 4, paragraph 6]. Therefore, increase flexibility and provide cost and space efficiency.
Kim in view of Barkhausen and Tanigawa does not explicit teach:
a second circuit configured to switch between (i) a current-carrying state between the third electrode and the fourth electrode and (ii) a non-current-carrying state between the third electrode and the fourth electrode.
However, the court has held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced (MPEP 2144.VI.B). In this case, since Tanigawa teaches a circuit that electrically connects the two upper electrodes and circuit is provided with switches so that the circuit configured to switch between a current-carrying state between the two upper electrodes and non-current-carrying state between the two upper electrodes (see the second circuit 51 that electrically connects the first electrode 11 and the third electrode 21 as shown in Tanigawa Fig.5 & Tanigawa Translated Document on page 4, paragraphs 5-6 and as cited and explained previously), therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the spot welding device of Kim in view of Barkhausen and Tanigawa, by adding the circuit that connects two lower electrodes so that the circuit configured to switch between a current-carrying state between the two lower electrodes and a non-current-carrying state between the two lower electrodes since the court has held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. See MPEP 2144.VI.B.
Regarding claim 10, Kim discloses a spot welding device (spot welding device includes upper electrode E and lower electrode E as shown in Kim Fig.3) for use in the spot welding method according to claim 2 (see the rejection of claim 2 above), the spot welding device (spot welding device includes upper electrode E and lower electrode E as shown in Kim Fig.3) comprising:
a first electrode (upper electrode E, Kim Fig.3) configured to pressure and contact an outer surface of the first panel (top surface of the material 210, Kim Fig.3);
a fourth electrode (lower electrode E, Kim Fig.3) that is opposed to the first electrode (upper electrode E, Kim Fig.3) coaxially (as shown in Kim Fig.3), the fourth electrode (lower electrode E, Kim Fig.3) being configured to pressurize and contact an outer surface of the fourth panel (bottom surface of the material 110, Kim Fig.3);
Kim does not explicit disclose:
a second electrode disposed at a position deviating from a central axis of the first electrode, the second electrode being configured to pressurize and contact an outer surface of the second panel;
a third electrode that is opposed to the second electrode coaxially, the third electrode being configured to pressurize and contact an outer surface of the third panel;
a first circuit configured to switch between (i) a current-carrying state between the first electrode and the second electrode and (ii) a non-current-carrying state between the first electrode and the second electrode;
a second circuit configured to switch between (i) a current-carrying state between the third electrode and the fourth electrode and (ii) a non-current-carrying state between the third electrode and the fourth electrode; and
a third circuit configured to switch between (i) a current-carrying state between the first electrode and the fourth electrode and (ii) a non-current-carrying state between the first electrode and the fourth electrode.
Barkhausen teaches a spot welding device (Barkhausen Fig.5):
a second electrode (electrode 25, Barkhausen Fig.5) disposed at a position deviating from a central axis of the first electrode (electrode 23, Barkhausen Fig.5), the second electrode (electrode 25, Barkhausen Fig.5) being configured to pressurize and contact an outer surface of the second panel (upper surface of the component 2, Barkhausen Fig.5)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the spot welding device of Kim, by adding second electrode disposed at a position deviating from a central axis of the first electrode, the second electrode being configured to pressurize and contact an outer surface of the second panel, as taught by Barkhausen, in order to provide electrical and mechanical engagement with the second panel, thereby completing the welding circuit and enabling controlled current flow and pressure at the intended weld interface for the indirect resistance welding configuration.
Kim in view of Barkhausen does not explicit teach:
a third electrode that is opposed to the second electrode coaxially, the third electrode being configured to pressurize and contact an outer surface of the third panel;
a first circuit configured to switch between (i) a current-carrying state between the first electrode and the second electrode and (ii) a non-current-carrying state between the first electrode and the second electrode;
a second circuit configured to switch between (i) a current-carrying state between the third electrode and the fourth electrode and (ii) a non-current-carrying state between the third electrode and the fourth electrode; and
a third circuit configured to switch between (i) a current-carrying state between the first electrode and the fourth electrode and (ii) a non-current-carrying state between the first electrode and the fourth electrode.
Tanigawa teaches a spot welding device (spot welding device 1, Tanigawa Fig.5):
a third electrode (electrode 22, Tanigawa Fig.5) that is opposed to the second electrode (electrode 21, Tanigawa Fig.5) coaxially (as shown in Tanigawa Fig.5), the third electrode (electrode 22, Tanigawa Fig.5) being configured to pressurize and contact an outer surface of the third panel (It is noted that since Kim in view of Barkhausen already teaches the conducting indirect spot welding for the first panel and the second panel and the conducting indirect spot welding for the third panel and the fourth panel, wherein the first panel and the second panel are welded to form a first component [see the upper component includes 210 and 220 in Kim Fig.3], and the third panel and the fourth panel are welded to form a second component [see the lower component includes 110 and 120 in Kim Fig.3], and further teaches the second electrode configured to pressurize and contact the second panel, as cited and incorporated above; therefore, by adding the electrode that is opposed coaxially with the electrode 25 taught by Barkhausen; in combination, Kim in view of Barkhausen and Tanigawa teaches third electrode configured to pressurize and contact with the third panel in the conducting indirect spot welding for the third panel and the fourth panel, and the two electrodes are opposed coaxially);
a first circuit (circuit 51, Tanigawa Fig.5) configured to switch between (i) a current-carrying state between the first electrode (electrode 11, Tanigawa Fig.5) and the second electrode (electrode 21, Tanigawa Fig.5) and (ii) a non-current-carrying state between the first electrode (electrode 11, Tanigawa Fig.5) and the second electrode (electrode 21, Tanigawa Fig.5) (Tanigawa Translated Document on page 4, paragraph 5 teaches: “Then, the spot welding device 1 includes a second circuit 51 that electrically connects the first electrode 11 and the third electrode 21 and grounds the first electrode 11. As shown in FIG. 5, the second power supply device 27 described above is also connected to the second circuit 51.”, and Tanigawa Translated Document on page 4, paragraph 6 teaches: “The spot welding device 1 includes a first switch 41 (switching device) capable of switching between a state in which the first electrode 11 is connected to the first circuit 16 and a state in which the first electrode 11 is connected to the second circuit 51. Further, the spot welding device 1 includes a second switch 42 (switching device) capable of switching between a state in which the third electrode 21 is connected to the third circuit 26 and a state in which the third electrode 21 is connected to the second circuit 51. The first switch 41 and the second switch 42 (hereinafter, these may be collectively referred to as “switches 41, 42”) have the first state shown in FIG. 4 and the second state shown in FIG. It is switchable. In the first state of FIG. 4, the second circuit 51 is disconnected and the first circuit 16 and the third circuit 26 can be energized. In the second state of FIG. 5, the first circuit 16 and the third circuit 26 are disconnected and the second circuit 51 can be energized. In the second state of FIG. 5, the second electrode 12 and the fourth electrode 22 are each insulated from the other electrodes. By providing the switches 41 and 42, direct spot welding and indirect spot welding can be performed by using a single spot welding device 1. The first spot welded portion 10 and the second spot welded portion 20 may or may not be physically integrated as long as they are electrically connected by the second circuit 51.”);
a third circuit (circuit 16, Tanigawa Fig.5) configured to switch between (i) a current-carrying state between the first electrode (electrode 11, Tanigawa Fig.5) and the fourth electrode (electrode 12, Tanigawa Fig.5) and (ii) a non-current-carrying state between the first electrode (electrode 11, Tanigawa Fig.5) and the fourth electrode (electrode 12, Tanigawa Fig.5) (Tanigawa Translated Document on page 4, paragraph 3 teaches: “the first spot welded portion 10 includes a first circuit 16 that electrically connects the first electrode 11 and the second electrode 12 and grounds the second electrode 12. The first power supply device 17 is connected to the first circuit 16.”, and Tanigawa Translated Document on page 4, paragraph 6 teaches: “The spot welding device 1 includes a first switch 41 (switching device) capable of switching between a state in which the first electrode 11 is connected to the first circuit 16 and a state in which the first electrode 11 is connected to the second circuit 51. Further, the spot welding device 1 includes a second switch 42 (switching device) capable of switching between a state in which the third electrode 21 is connected to the third circuit 26 and a state in which the third electrode 21 is connected to the second circuit 51. The first switch 41 and the second switch 42 (hereinafter, these may be collectively referred to as “switches 41, 42”) have the first state shown in FIG. 4 and the second state shown in FIG. It is switchable. In the first state of FIG. 4, the second circuit 51 is disconnected and the first circuit 16 and the third circuit 26 can be energized. In the second state of FIG. 5, the first circuit 16 and the third circuit 26 are disconnected and the second circuit 51 can be energized. In the second state of FIG. 5, the second electrode 12 and the fourth electrode 22 are each insulated from the other electrodes. By providing the switches 41 and 42, direct spot welding and indirect spot welding can be performed by using a single spot welding device 1. The first spot welded portion 10 and the second spot welded portion 20 may or may not be physically integrated as long as they are electrically connected by the second circuit 51.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the spot welding device of Kim in view of Barkhausen, by adding third electrode that is opposed to the second electrode coaxially, the third electrode being configured to pressurize and contact an outer surface of the third panel; first circuit configured to switch between (i) a current-carrying state between the first electrode and the second electrode and (ii) a non-current-carrying state between the first electrode and the second electrode; and a third circuit configured to switch between (i) a current-carrying state between the first electrode and the fourth electrode and (ii) a non-current-carrying state between the first electrode and the fourth electrode, as taught by Tanigawa, in order to provide electrical and mechanical engagement with the third panel, thereby completing the welding circuit and enabling controlled current flow and pressure at the intended weld interface for the indirect resistance welding configuration. Additionally, the modification also establishes a defined current path and balanced clamping forces across the workpiece stack, thereby concentrating heat at the intended interface between the third and the fourth panels; thus, improve weld strength. Furthermore, the modification also allows direct spot welding and indirect spot welding to be performed by a single spot welding device, as recognized by Tanigawa [Tanigawa, Translated Document on page 4, paragraph 6]. Therefore, increase flexibility and provide cost and space efficiency.
Kim in view of Barkhausen and Tanigawa does not explicit teach:
a second circuit configured to switch between (i) a current-carrying state between the third electrode and the fourth electrode and (ii) a non-current-carrying state between the third electrode and the fourth electrode.
However, the court has held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced (MPEP 2144.VI.B). In this case, since Tanigawa teaches a circuit that electrically connects the two upper electrodes and circuit is provided with switches so that the circuit configured to switch between a current-carrying state between the two upper electrodes and non-current-carrying state between the two upper electrodes (see the second circuit 51 that electrically connects the first electrode 11 and the third electrode 21 as shown in Tanigawa Fig.5 & Tanigawa Translated Document on page 4, paragraphs 5-6 and as cited and explained previously), therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the spot welding device of Kim in view of Barkhausen and Tanigawa, by adding the circuit that connects two lower electrodes so that the circuit configured to switch between a current-carrying state between the two lower electrodes and a non-current-carrying state between the two lower electrodes since the court has held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. See MPEP 2144.VI.B.
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (KR 102352109 B1, Translation is attached) in view of Barkhausen et al. (DE 102020108759 A1, Translation is attached), Gabbianelli et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2004/0065641 A1), Wang (U.S. Pub. No. 2010/0019785 A1), and further in view of Tanigawa et al. (JP 2021023945 A, Translation is attached).
Regarding claim 11, Kim in view of Barkhausen, Gabbianelli and Wang teaches a spot welding device (spot welding device includes upper electrode E and lower electrode E as shown in Kim Fig.3, and as modified by Barkhausen, Gabbianelli and Wang; as cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 3 above) for use in the spot welding method according to claim 3 (see the rejection of claim 3 above), the spot welding device (spot welding device includes upper electrode E and lower electrode E as shown in Kim Fig.3, and as modified by Barkhausen, Gabbianelli and Wang; as cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 3 above) comprising:
a first electrode (upper electrode E, Kim Fig.3) configured to pressure and contact an outer surface of the first panel (top surface of the material 210, Kim Fig.3);
a second electrode (electrode 25, Barkhausen Fig.5; as cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 3 above) disposed at a position deviating from a central axis of the first electrode (electrode 23, Barkhausen Fig.5), the second electrode (electrode 25, Barkhausen Fig.5; as cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 3 above) being configured to pressurize and contact an outer surface of the second panel (upper surface of the component 2, Barkhausen Fig.5);
a third electrode (second electrode 48, Gabbianelli Fig.1; as cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 3 above) that is opposed to the second electrode coaxially (first electrode 44 and second electrode 48 are opposed coaxially as shown in Gabbianelli Fig.1), the third electrode (second electrode 48, Gabbianelli Fig.1; as cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 3 above) being configured to pressurize and contact an outer surface of the third panel (as cited, explained and incorporated in the rejection of claim 3 above);
a fourth electrode (lower electrode E, Kim Fig.3) that is opposed to the first electrode (upper electrode E, Kim Fig.3) coaxially (as shown in Kim Fig.3), the fourth electrode (lower electrode E, Kim Fig.3) being configured to pressurize and contact an outer surface of the fourth panel (bottom surface of the material 110, Kim Fig.3);
Kim in view of Barkhausen, Gabbianelli and Wang does not teach:
a first circuit configured to switch between (i) a current-carrying state between the first electrode and the second electrode and (ii) a non-current-carrying state between the first electrode and the second electrode;
a second circuit configured to switch between (i) a current-carrying state between the third electrode and the fourth electrode and (ii) a non-current-carrying state between the third electrode and the fourth electrode; and
a third circuit configured to switch between (i) a current-carrying state between the first electrode and the fourth electrode and (ii) a non-current-carrying state between the first electrode and the fourth electrode.
Tanigawa teaches a spot welding device (spot welding device 1, Tanigawa Fig.5):
a first circuit (circuit 51, Tanigawa Fig.5) configured to switch between (i) a current-carrying state between the first electrode (electrode 11, Tanigawa Fig.5) and the second electrode (electrode 21, Tanigawa Fig.5) and (ii) a non-current-carrying state between the first electrode (electrode 11, Tanigawa Fig.5) and the second electrode (electrode 21, Tanigawa Fig.5) (Tanigawa Translated Document on page 4, paragraph 5 teaches: “Then, the spot welding device 1 includes a second circuit 51 that electrically connects the first electrode 11 and the third electrode 21 and grounds the first electrode 11. As shown in FIG. 5, the second power supply device 27 described above is also connected to the second circuit 51.”, and Tanigawa Translated Document on page 4, paragraph 6 teaches: “The spot welding device 1 includes a first switch 41 (switching device) capable of switching between a state in which the first electrode 11 is connected to the first circuit 16 and a state in which the first electrode 11 is connected to the second circuit 51. Further, the spot welding device 1 includes a second switch 42 (switching device) capable of switching between a state in which the third electrode 21 is connected to the third circuit 26 and a state in which the third electrode 21 is connected to the second circuit 51. The first switch 41 and the second switch 42 (hereinafter, these may be collectively referred to as “switches 41, 42”) have the first state shown in FIG. 4 and the second state shown in FIG. It is switchable. In the first state of FIG. 4, the second circuit 51 is disconnected and the first circuit 16 and the third circuit 26 can be energized. In the second state of FIG. 5, the first circuit 16 and the third circuit 26 are disconnected and the second circuit 51 can be energized. In the second state of FIG. 5, the second electrode 12 and the fourth electrode 22 are each insulated from the other electrodes. By providing the switches 41 and 42, direct spot welding and indirect spot welding can be performed by using a single spot welding device 1. The first spot welded portion 10 and the second spot welded portion 20 may or may not be physically integrated as long as they are electrically connected by the second circuit 51.”);
a third circuit (circuit 16, Tanigawa Fig.5) configured to switch between (i) a current-carrying state between the first electrode (electrode 11, Tanigawa Fig.5) and the fourth electrode (electrode 12, Tanigawa Fig.5) and (ii) a non-current-carrying state between the first electrode (electrode 11, Tanigawa Fig.5) and the fourth electrode (electrode 12, Tanigawa Fig.5) (Tanigawa Translated Document on page 4, paragraph 3 teaches: “the first spot welded portion 10 includes a first circuit 16 that electrically connects the first electrode 11 and the second electrode 12 and grounds the second electrode 12. The first power supply device 17 is connected to the first circuit 16.”, and Tanigawa Translated Document on page 4, paragraph 6 teaches: “The spot welding device 1 includes a first switch 41 (switching device) capable of switching between a state in which the first electrode 11 is connected to the first circuit 16 and a state in which the first electrode 11 is connected to the second circuit 51. Further, the spot welding device 1 includes a second switch 42 (switching device) capable of switching between a state in which the third electrode 21 is connected to the third circuit 26 and a state in which the third electrode 21 is connected to the second circuit 51. The first switch 41 and the second switch 42 (hereinafter, these may be collectively referred to as “switches 41, 42”) have the first state shown in FIG. 4 and the second state shown in FIG. It is switchable. In the first state of FIG. 4, the second circuit 51 is disconnected and the first circuit 16 and the third circuit 26 can be energized. In the second state of FIG. 5, the first circuit 16 and the third circuit 26 are disconnected and the second circuit 51 can be energized. In the second state of FIG. 5, the second electrode 12 and the fourth electrode 22 are each insulated from the other electrodes. By providing the switches 41 and 42, direct spot welding and indirect spot welding can be performed by using a single spot welding device 1. The first spot welded portion 10 and the second spot welded portion 20 may or may not be physically integrated as long as they are electrically connected by the second circuit 51.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the spot welding device of Kim in view of Barkhausen, Gabbianelli and Wang, by adding first circuit configured to switch between (i) a current-carrying state between the first electrode and the second electrode and (ii) a non-current-carrying state between the first electrode and the second electrode; and a third circuit configured to switch between (i) a current-carrying state between the first electrode and the fourth electrode and (ii) a non-current-carrying state between the first electrode and the fourth electrode, as taught by Tanigawa, in order to allow direct spot welding and indirect spot welding to be performed by a single spot welding device, as recognized by Tanigawa [Tanigawa, Translated Document on page 4, paragraph 6]. Therefore, increase flexibility and provide cost and space efficiency.
Kim in view of Barkhausen, Gabbianelli, Wang and Tanigawa does not explicit teach:
a second circuit configured to switch between (i) a current-carrying state between the third electrode and the fourth electrode and (ii) a non-current-carrying state between the third electrode and the fourth electrode.
However, the court has held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced (MPEP 2144.VI.B). In this case, since Tanigawa teaches a circuit that electrically connects the two upper electrodes and circuit is provided with switches so that the circuit configured to switch between a current-carrying state between the two upper electrodes and non-current-carrying state between the two upper electrodes (see the second circuit 51 that electrically connects the first electrode 11 and the third electrode 21 as shown in Tanigawa Fig.5 & Tanigawa Translated Document on page 4, paragraphs 5-6 and as cited and explained previously), therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the spot welding device of Kim in view of Barkhausen, Gabbianelli, Wang and Tanigawa, by adding the circuit that connects two lower electrodes so that the circuit configured to switch between a current-carrying state between the two lower electrodes and a non-current-carrying state between the two lower electrodes since the court has held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. See MPEP 2144.VI.B.
Regarding claim 12, Kim in view of Barkhausen, Gabbianelli and Wang teaches a spot welding device (spot welding device includes upper electrode E and lower electrode E as shown in Kim Fig.3, and as modified by Barkhausen, Gabbianelli and Wang; as cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 4 above) for use in the spot welding method according to claim 4 (see the rejection of claim 4 above), the spot welding device (spot welding device includes upper electrode E and lower electrode E as shown in Kim Fig.3, and as modified by Barkhausen, Gabbianelli and Wang; as cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 4 above) comprising:
a first electrode (upper electrode E, Kim Fig.3) configured to pressure and contact an outer surface of the first panel (top surface of the material 210, Kim Fig.3);
a second electrode (electrode 25, Barkhausen Fig.5; as cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 4 above) disposed at a position deviating from a central axis of the first electrode (electrode 23, Barkhausen Fig.5), the second electrode (electrode 25, Barkhausen Fig.5; as cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 4 above) being configured to pressurize and contact an outer surface of the second panel (upper surface of the component 2, Barkhausen Fig.5);
a third electrode (second electrode 48, Gabbianelli Fig.1; as cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 4 above) that is opposed to the second electrode coaxially (first electrode 44 and second electrode 48 are opposed coaxially as shown in Gabbianelli Fig.1), the third electrode (second electrode 48, Gabbianelli Fig.1; as cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 4 above) being configured to pressurize and contact an outer surface of the third panel (as cited, explained and incorporated in the rejection of claim 4 above);
a fourth electrode (lower electrode E, Kim Fig.3) that is opposed to the first electrode (upper electrode E, Kim Fig.3) coaxially (as shown in Kim Fig.3), the fourth electrode (lower electrode E, Kim Fig.3) being configured to pressurize and contact an outer surface of the fourth panel (bottom surface of the material 110, Kim Fig.3);
Kim in view of Barkhausen, Gabbianelli and Wang does not teach:
a first circuit configured to switch between (i) a current-carrying state between the first electrode and the second electrode and (ii) a non-current-carrying state between the first electrode and the second electrode;
a second circuit configured to switch between (i) a current-carrying state between the third electrode and the fourth electrode and (ii) a non-current-carrying state between the third electrode and the fourth electrode; and
a third circuit configured to switch between (i) a current-carrying state between the first electrode and the fourth electrode and (ii) a non-current-carrying state between the first electrode and the fourth electrode.
Tanigawa teaches a spot welding device (spot welding device 1, Tanigawa Fig.5):
a first circuit (circuit 51, Tanigawa Fig.5) configured to switch between (i) a current-carrying state between the first electrode (electrode 11, Tanigawa Fig.5) and the second electrode (electrode 21, Tanigawa Fig.5) and (ii) a non-current-carrying state between the first electrode (electrode 11, Tanigawa Fig.5) and the second electrode (electrode 21, Tanigawa Fig.5) (Tanigawa Translated Document on page 4, paragraph 5 teaches: “Then, the spot welding device 1 includes a second circuit 51 that electrically connects the first electrode 11 and the third electrode 21 and grounds the first electrode 11. As shown in FIG. 5, the second power supply device 27 described above is also connected to the second circuit 51.”, and Tanigawa Translated Document on page 4, paragraph 6 teaches: “The spot welding device 1 includes a first switch 41 (switching device) capable of switching between a state in which the first electrode 11 is connected to the first circuit 16 and a state in which the first electrode 11 is connected to the second circuit 51. Further, the spot welding device 1 includes a second switch 42 (switching device) capable of switching between a state in which the third electrode 21 is connected to the third circuit 26 and a state in which the third electrode 21 is connected to the second circuit 51. The first switch 41 and the second switch 42 (hereinafter, these may be collectively referred to as “switches 41, 42”) have the first state shown in FIG. 4 and the second state shown in FIG. It is switchable. In the first state of FIG. 4, the second circuit 51 is disconnected and the first circuit 16 and the third circuit 26 can be energized. In the second state of FIG. 5, the first circuit 16 and the third circuit 26 are disconnected and the second circuit 51 can be energized. In the second state of FIG. 5, the second electrode 12 and the fourth electrode 22 are each insulated from the other electrodes. By providing the switches 41 and 42, direct spot welding and indirect spot welding can be performed by using a single spot welding device 1. The first spot welded portion 10 and the second spot welded portion 20 may or may not be physically integrated as long as they are electrically connected by the second circuit 51.”);
a third circuit (circuit 16, Tanigawa Fig.5) configured to switch between (i) a current-carrying state between the first electrode (electrode 11, Tanigawa Fig.5) and the fourth electrode (electrode 12, Tanigawa Fig.5) and (ii) a non-current-carrying state between the first electrode (electrode 11, Tanigawa Fig.5) and the fourth electrode (electrode 12, Tanigawa Fig.5) (Tanigawa Translated Document on page 4, paragraph 3 teaches: “the first spot welded portion 10 includes a first circuit 16 that electrically connects the first electrode 11 and the second electrode 12 and grounds the second electrode 12. The first power supply device 17 is connected to the first circuit 16.”, and Tanigawa Translated Document on page 4, paragraph 6 teaches: “The spot welding device 1 includes a first switch 41 (switching device) capable of switching between a state in which the first electrode 11 is connected to the first circuit 16 and a state in which the first electrode 11 is connected to the second circuit 51. Further, the spot welding device 1 includes a second switch 42 (switching device) capable of switching between a state in which the third electrode 21 is connected to the third circuit 26 and a state in which the third electrode 21 is connected to the second circuit 51. The first switch 41 and the second switch 42 (hereinafter, these may be collectively referred to as “switches 41, 42”) have the first state shown in FIG. 4 and the second state shown in FIG. It is switchable. In the first state of FIG. 4, the second circuit 51 is disconnected and the first circuit 16 and the third circuit 26 can be energized. In the second state of FIG. 5, the first circuit 16 and the third circuit 26 are disconnected and the second circuit 51 can be energized. In the second state of FIG. 5, the second electrode 12 and the fourth electrode 22 are each insulated from the other electrodes. By providing the switches 41 and 42, direct spot welding and indirect spot welding can be performed by using a single spot welding device 1. The first spot welded portion 10 and the second spot welded portion 20 may or may not be physically integrated as long as they are electrically connected by the second circuit 51.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the spot welding device of Kim in view of Barkhausen, Gabbianelli and Wang, by adding first circuit configured to switch between (i) a current-carrying state between the first electrode and the second electrode and (ii) a non-current-carrying state between the first electrode and the second electrode; and a third circuit configured to switch between (i) a current-carrying state between the first electrode and the fourth electrode and (ii) a non-current-carrying state between the first electrode and the fourth electrode, as taught by Tanigawa, in order to allow direct spot welding and indirect spot welding to be performed by a single spot welding device, as recognized by Tanigawa [Tanigawa, Translated Document on page 4, paragraph 6]. Therefore, increase flexibility and provide cost and space efficiency.
Kim in view of Barkhausen, Gabbianelli, Wang and Tanigawa does not explicit teach:
a second circuit configured to switch between (i) a current-carrying state between the third electrode and the fourth electrode and (ii) a non-current-carrying state between the third electrode and the fourth electrode.
However, the court has held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced (MPEP 2144.VI.B). In this case, since Tanigawa teaches a circuit that electrically connects the two upper electrodes and circuit is provided with switches so that the circuit configured to switch between a current-carrying state between the two upper electrodes and non-current-carrying state between the two upper electrodes (see the second circuit 51 that electrically connects the first electrode 11 and the third electrode 21 as shown in Tanigawa Fig.5 & Tanigawa Translated Document on page 4, paragraphs 5-6 and as cited and explained previously), therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the spot welding device of Kim in view of Barkhausen, Gabbianelli, Wang and Tanigawa, by adding the circuit that connects two lower electrodes so that the circuit configured to switch between a current-carrying state between the two lower electrodes and a non-current-carrying state between the two lower electrodes since the court has held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. See MPEP 2144.VI.B.
Conclusion
The following prior art(s) made of record and not relied upon is/are considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure.
Petrucci et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0222150 A1) discloses a method for joining two dissimilar metals that are subjected to a bimetallic joining process and spot welded together to form a joint.
Matsushita et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0045976 A1) discloses an indirect spot welding method of welding a member composed of two overlapping metal sheets by holding a spot welding electrode against the metal sheet at one side while applying pressure with the spot welding electrode, attaching a feeding point to the metal sheet at the other side at a location remote from the spot welding electrode, and allowing current to flow between the spot welding electrode and the feeding point.
/THAO UYEN TRAN-LE/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 04/26/2026