DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 3, 18-23, and 28 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 3, line 2, “wherein a sensing material is” should be changed to --wherein a sensing material is one of-- or similar language.
Regarding claim 18, the claim should be dependent on claim 17 instead of 16.
Regarding claim 19, the claim should be dependent on claim 18 instead of 16.
Regarding claim 20, the claim should be dependent on claim 19 instead of 18. It is noted that claim 20 recites both “first and second range of gas concentrations” and “the metal oxide semiconductor sensing material”, which leads to the conclusion that claim 20 should depend on both claims 18 and 19, thus why claim 19 should be dependent on claim 18.
Regarding claim 21, the claim should be dependent on claim 20 instead of 19.
Regarding claim 22, the claim should be dependent on claim 17 instead of 16.
Regarding claim 23, the claim should be dependent on claim 17 instead of 16.
Regarding claim 28, the claim should be dependent on claim 24 instead of 23.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 6-11, 17-20, and 22-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Potyrailo (US 2021/0109049 A1) (hereinafter Potyrailo) in view of Potyrailo et al. (US 2017/0138922 A1) (hereinafter Potyrailo 2017).
Regarding claim 1, Potyrailo teaches a gas sensor system providing extended dynamic range of measurements of gas concentrations [gas sensing assembly] (see Abstract), the gas sensor comprising:
a gas sensor [gas sensor 114] comprising:
a gas sensing element comprising at least two electrodes [sensing electrodes 310, 312], a dielectric substrate [substrate 302], and a sensing material coupled to the at least two electrodes and configured to be exposed to an analyte gas [sensing material 308] (Para [0046], see Fig. 4);
at least one heating element [heating elements 304] coupled to the sensing material, and the dielectric substrate and configured to heat the gas sensing element to an operation temperature based on a selected operation voltage [voltage to heating elements 304 to control a temperature] (Para [0046-0047], see Fig. 4);
at least one impedance detector configured to operate at two or more frequencies [first impedance system 314, second impedance system 316; at one or more different frequencies or frequency ranges] (Para [0051, 0053], see Fig. 4); and
control circuitry configured to: control a power supply of the at least one heating element, wherein the power supply is configured to select an operation voltage with which to heat the at least one heating element to reach an operation temperature based on the selected operation voltage [heater controller 306; conducts heater voltage to control a temperature of the substrate and sensing film] (Para [0047]);
adjust the two or more frequencies of the at least one impedance detector, wherein an alternating current excitation of the gas sensing element is provided at the two or more frequencies [one or more processors to apply an electric field to the sensing material via the electrodes at an alternating current frequency range] (Para [0053-0055, 0061]).
Potyrailo additionally teaches wherein the sensor comprises an LCR resonator (Para [0029]). Potyrailo fails to teach one or more tuning capacitors located in an electric circuit of the gas sensor system and parallel with the gas sensing element; and the control circuitry further configured to select the one or more tuning capacitors based on, at least in part, the selected operation voltage. Potyrailo 2017 teaches a resonant sensor comprising one or more pairs of electrodes and one or more tuning elements, e.g. a capacitor, to form an LCR resonant circuit operated at one or more resonant frequencies (Para [0127]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Potyrailo with Potyrailo 2017 such that the gas sensor further comprises one or more tuning capacitors located in an electric circuit of the gas sensor system and parallel with the gas sensing element; and the control circuitry is further configured to select the one or more tuning capacitors based on, at least in part, the selected operation voltage, in order to operate the LCR resonator of the gas sensor at a chosen resonant frequency.
Regarding claim 3, Potyrailo in view of Potyrailo 2017 as applied to claim 1 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein a sensing material is one of a metal oxide semiconductor material, dielectric polymer, conducting polymer, nanotube material, metal organic frameworks material, graphene, supramolecular compound material, two-dimensional transition metal carbide, and nitride material (Potyrailo Para [0035]).
Regarding claim 6, Potyrailo in view of Potyrailo 2017 as applied to claim 1 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein the two or more operation frequencies of the impedance detector are at a shoulder of a dielectric relaxation region of an impedance spectrum of the sensing material (Potyrailo Para [0060]).
Regarding claim 7, Potyrailo in view of Potyrailo 2017 as applied to claim 1 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein the gas sensor is a wearable device worn by an operator (Potyrailo Para [0044]).
Regarding claim 8, Potyrailo in view of Potyrailo 2017 as applied to claim 1 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein the gas sensor has a response speed [inherent property of a sensor]. Potyrailo in view of Potyrailo 2017 fails to teach wherein the response speed is one second at most; however, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Potyrailo in view of Potyrailo 2017 to design a response speed, such as one second at most, in order to accurately monitor a gas concentration in real time. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 9, Potyrailo in view of Potyrailo 2017 as applied to claim 1 above teaches the claimed invention, except for wherein the gas sensor is communicatively coupled to an alarm configured to provide an alert in response to the gas sensor detecting a concentration of gas exceeding a threshold. Potyrailo 2017 additionally teaches wherein the sensor system is communicatively coupled to an alarm configured to provide an alert in response to a determined value exceeding a threshold (Para [0272]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to further modify Potyrailo in view of Potyrailo 2017 such that the gas sensor is communicatively coupled to an alarm configured to provide an alert, in order to alert a user when an undesired concentration is reached.
Regarding claims 10-11, Potyrailo in view of Potyrailo 2017 as applied to claim 9 above teaches the claimed invention, except for wherein the gas sensor is configured to implement a decision-making purpose in response to the concentration of gas exceeding the threshold, wherein the purpose includes activation of an emergency response, activation of a particular treatment, decontamination of the subject having the gas sensor, optimization of logistics steps after the knowledge about the detected concentration of the gas, or minimization of logistics steps after the knowledge about the detected concentration of gas. Potyrailo 2017 additionally teaches wherein the sensor is configured to implement a decision-making purpose in response to the determined value exceeding the threshold, wherein the purpose includes scheduling maintenance (Para [0272]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to further modify Potyrailo in view of Potyrailo 2017 such that the gas sensor is configured to implement a decision-making purpose in response to the concentration of gas exceeding the threshold, wherein the purpose includes activation of an emergency response, activation of a particular treatment, decontamination of the subject having the gas sensor, optimization of logistics steps after the knowledge about the detected concentration of the gas, or minimization of logistics steps after the knowledge about the detected concentration of gas, in order to automate a response to reaching an undesired gas concentration.
Regarding claim 17, Potyrailo teaches a gas sensor providing extended dynamic range of measurements of gas concentrations [gas sensing assembly] (see Abstract),
comprising:
a gas sensing element comprising at least two electrodes [sensing electrodes 310, 312], a dielectric substrate [substrate 302], and a sensing material coupled to the at least two electrodes and configured to be exposed to an analyte gas [sensing material 308] (Para [0046], see Fig. 4);
at least one heating element [heating elements 304] coupled to the sensing material, and the dielectric substrate and configured to heat the gas sensing element to an operation temperature based on a selected operation voltage [voltage to heating elements 304 to control a temperature] (Para [0046-0047], see Fig. 4);
at least one impedance detector configured to operate at two or more frequencies [first impedance system 314, second impedance system 316; at one or more different frequencies or frequency ranges] (Para [0051, 0053], see Fig. 4); and
control circuitry comprising: a controller of a power supply of the at least one heating element, wherein the power supply is configured to select an operation voltage with which to heat the at least one heating element to reach an operation temperature based on the selected operation voltage [heater controller 306; conducts heater voltage to control a temperature of the substrate and sensing film] (Para [0047]);
a controller of the at least one impedance detector configured to adjust the two or more frequencies of the at least one impedance detector, wherein an alternating current excitation of the gas sensing element is provided at the two or more frequencies [one or more processors to apply an electric field to the sensing material via the electrodes at an alternating current frequency range] (Para [0053-0055, 0061]).
Potyrailo additionally teaches wherein the sensor comprises an LCR resonator (Para [0029]). Potyrailo fails to teach one or more tuning capacitors located in an electric circuit of the gas sensor system and parallel with the gas sensing element; and the control circuitry further configured to select the one or more tuning capacitors based on, at least in part, the selected operation voltage. Potyrailo 2017 teaches a resonant sensor comprising one or more pairs of electrodes and one or more tuning elements, e.g. a capacitor, to form an LCR resonant circuit operated at one or more resonant frequencies (Para [0127]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Potyrailo with Potyrailo 2017 such that the gas sensor further comprises one or more tuning capacitors located in an electric circuit of the gas sensor system and parallel with the gas sensing element; and the control circuitry is further configured to select the one or more tuning capacitors based on, at least in part, the selected operation voltage, in order to operate the LCR resonator of the gas sensor at a chosen resonant frequency.
Regarding claim 18, Potyrailo in view of Potyrailo 2017 as applied to claim 17 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein a sensing material comprises metal oxide semiconductor material (Potyrailo Para [0035]).
Regarding claim 19, Potyrailo in view of Potyrailo 2017 as applied to claim 17 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein the gas sensor is configured to detect a first range of gas concentrations corresponding to a first value of the one or more tuning capacitors, a first value of the selected operation voltage, and a first value of the selected operation frequency; and a second range of gas concentrations corresponding to a second value of the one or more tuning capacitors, a second value of the selected operation voltage, and a second value of the selected operation frequency [gas sensor configuration is capable of detecting a range of gas concentrations at chosen operating parameters, such as tuning capacitor value (which changes the resonant frequency), operation voltage (operating temperature) and operation frequency] (Potyrailo Para [0053]).
Regarding claim 20, Potyrailo in view of Potyrailo 2017 as applied to claim 19 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein the gas sensor is configured to detect the first and second range of gas concentrations via the at least one impedance detector operating at the two or more operation frequencies, wherein the at least one impedance detector detects one or more dielectric excitation response of the gas sensing element, and wherein the two or more frequencies are at a shoulder of a dielectric relaxation region of an impedance spectrum of the metal oxide semiconductor sensing material (Potyrailo Para [0031]). Regarding the limitation “to provide at least eight orders of magnitude of gas concentrations of the dynamic range of the gas sensor”, Potyrailo is silent as to the orders of magnitude provided; however, Potyrailo teaches that the gas sensor is configured to detect gas concentrations in the same manner claimed (Para [0031]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to further modify Potyrailo in view of Potyrailo 2017 such that the gas sensor is configured to provide a chosen order of magnitude of gas concentrations, such as at least eight orders of magnitude, in order to accurately monitor a gas concentration in real time. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 22, Potyrailo in view of Potyrailo 2017 as applied to claim 17 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein a sensing material comprises semiconductor material (Potyrailo Para [0035]).
Regarding claim 23, Potyrailo in view of Potyrailo 2017 as applied to claim 17 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein the gas sensor is a wearable device worn by an operator (Potyrailo Para [0044]).
Regarding claim 24, Potyrailo teaches a gas sensor system providing extended dynamic range of measurements of gas concentrations [gas sensing assembly] (see Abstract), the gas sensor comprising:
a gas sensor [gas sensor 114] comprising:
a gas sensing element comprising at least two electrodes [sensing electrodes 310, 312], a dielectric substrate [substrate 302], and a sensing material coupled to the at least two electrodes and configured to be exposed to an analyte gas [sensing material 308] (Para [0046], see Fig. 4);
at least one energy-delivering element [heating elements 304] coupled to the sensing material, and the dielectric substrate and configured to deliver energy to the gas sensing element to an operation energy level based on a selected energy level [voltage to heating elements 304 to control a temperature] (Para [0046-0047], see Fig. 4);
at least one impedance detector configured to operate at two or more frequencies [first impedance system 314, second impedance system 316; at one or more different frequencies or frequency ranges] (Para [0051, 0053], see Fig. 4); and
control circuitry configured to: control an energy source of the at least one energy-delivering element, wherein the energy source is configured to select an energy level with which to heat the at least one energy source element to reach an operation energy level based on the selected operation energy level [heater controller 306; conducts heater voltage to control a temperature of the substrate and sensing film] (Para [0047]);
adjust the two or more frequencies of the at least one impedance detector, wherein an alternating current excitation of the gas sensing element is provided at the two or more frequencies [one or more processors to apply an electric field to the sensing material via the electrodes at an alternating current frequency range] (Para [0053-0055, 0061]).
Potyrailo additionally teaches wherein the sensor comprises an LCR resonator (Para [0029]). Potyrailo fails to teach one or more tuning capacitors located in an electric circuit of the gas sensor system and parallel with the gas sensing element; and the control circuitry further configured to select the one or more tuning capacitors based on, at least in part, the selected operation voltage. Potyrailo 2017 teaches a resonant sensor comprising one or more pairs of electrodes and one or more tuning elements, e.g. a capacitor, to form an LCR resonant circuit operated at one or more resonant frequencies (Para [0127]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Potyrailo with Potyrailo 2017 such that the gas sensor further comprises one or more tuning capacitors located in an electric circuit of the gas sensor system and parallel with the gas sensing element; and the control circuitry is further configured to select the one or more tuning capacitors based on, at least in part, the selected operation voltage, in order to operate the LCR resonator of the gas sensor at a chosen resonant frequency.
Regarding claim 25, Potyrailo in view of Potyrailo 2017 as applied to claim 24 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein the energy source produces at least one of a combination of thermal, radiant, or acoustic types of energy [heating element] (Potyrailo Para [0046]).
Claims 2, 4-5, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Potyrailo in view of Potyrailo 2017, as applied to claims 1 and 20 above, and further in view of Sundaresan et al. (US 2017/0187541 A1) (hereinafter Sundaresan).
Regarding claim 2, Potyrailo in view of Potyrailo 2017 as applied to claim 1 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to comprising data acquisition circuitry configured to: receive one or more response signals from the gas sensing element upon the alternating current excitation of the gas sensing element (see Potyrailo Abstract). Potyrailo in view of Potyrailo 2017 fails to teach the data acquisition circuitry configured to compare the one or more response signals with values stored in a look-up table to determine a concentration of the analyte in an environment at a given time or over time. Sundaresan teaches a gas sensor system wherein an impedance response from a gas sensor is compared to a known impedance of the sensor in order to determine a concentration of gas of interest around the sensor (Para [0042]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to further modify Potyrailo in view of Potyrailo 2017 with Sundaresan such that the data acquisition circuitry is further configured to compare the one or more response signals with values stored in a look-up table to determine a concentration of the analyte in an environment at a given time or over time, in order to accurately determine a concentration of gas of interest in the environment around the sensor.
Regarding claim 4, Potyrailo in view of Potyrailo 2017 and Sundaresan as applied to claim 2 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein the gas sensor is configured to detect a first range of gas concentrations via measuring the one or more response signals upon dielectric excitation of the gas sensing element at a first value of the one or more tuning capacitors and at a first value of the selected operation voltage [concentration determined at chosen operating parameters] (Potyrailo Para [0053]).
Regarding claim 5, Potyrailo in view of Potyrailo 2017 and Sundaresan as applied to claim 2 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein the gas sensor is configured to detect a second range of gas concentrations via measuring the one or more response signals upon dielectric excitation of the gas sensing element at a second value of the one or more tuning capacitors and at a second value of the selected operation voltage [concentration determined at chosen operating parameters] (Potyrailo Para [0053]).
Regarding claim 21, Potyrailo in view of Potyrailo 2017 as applied to claim 20 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein the gas sensor is configured to detect the first and second range of gas concentrations via a processor configured to receive the detected one or more dielectric excitation responses of the gas sensing element (Potyrailo Para [0031]). Potyrailo in view of Potyrailo 2017 fails to teach the comparing the responses with values stored in a look-up table. Sundaresan teaches a gas sensor system wherein an impedance response from a gas sensor is compared to a known impedance of the sensor in order to determine a concentration of gas of interest around the sensor (Para [0042]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to further modify Potyrailo in view of Potyrailo 2017 with Sundaresan such that the gas sensor is further configured to compare the responses with values stored in a look-up table to determine a concentration of the analyte in an environment at a given time or over time, in order to accurately determine a concentration of gas of interest in the environment around the sensor.
Claims 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Potyrailo in view of Potyrailo 2017 and Sundaresan.
Regarding claim 12, Potyrailo teaches a method of operating a gas sensor system providing extended dynamic range of measurements of gas concentrations [gas sensing assembly] (see Abstract), comprising:
applying contextual inputs for selection of application scenarios with an extended dynamic range of measurements of gas concentrations [I/O interfaces for inputting configuration information] (Para [0043]);
preselecting operation parameters of the gas sensor system [application specific parameters] (Para [0040, 0052]);
exposing a gas sensing element of a gas sensor [114] to an environment comprising an analyte gas, wherein in the gas sensing element comprising at least two electrodes [sensing electrodes 310, 312], a dielectric substrate [substrate 302], and a sensing material coupled to the substrate and configured to be exposed to an analyte gas [sensing material 308] (Para [0046], see Fig. 4);
heating the sensing material to the preselected operation temperature via a heating element [voltage to heating elements 304 to control a temperature] (Para [0046-0047], see Fig. 4);
measuring one or more impedance outputs of the gas sensing element via an impedance detector at the preselected operation parameters [first impedance system 314, second impedance system 316; at one or more different frequencies or frequency ranges] (Para [0051, 0053], see Fig. 4);
determining a concentration of the measured gas at a given time or over a period of time (Para [0053]); and
displaying the determined concentration of measured gas at a given time or the determined concentrations of measured gas over time via an output device (Para [0075]).
Potyrailo additionally teaches wherein the sensor comprises an LCR resonator (Para [0029]). Potyrailo fails to teach providing a tuning capacitor in parallel to the gas sensing element. Potyrailo 2017 teaches a method of operating a resonant sensor comprising one or more pairs of electrodes and one or more tuning elements, e.g. a capacitor, to form an LCR resonant circuit operated at one or more resonant frequencies (Para [0127]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Potyrailo with Potyrailo 2017 such that the method further comprises providing a tuning capacitor in parallel with the gas sensing element, in order to operate the LCR resonator of the gas sensor at a chosen resonant frequency.
Potyrailo in view of Potyrailo 2017 fails to teach comparing the one or more impedance outputs at the preselected operation parameters to corresponding values stored in a look-up table and determining a concentration of measured gas at a given time or over a period of time based on the look-up table. Sundaresan teaches a method of operating a gas sensor system wherein an impedance response from a gas sensor is compared to a known impedance of the sensor in order to determine a concentration of gas of interest around the sensor (Para [0042]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to further modify Potyrailo in view of Potyrailo 2017 with Sundaresan such that the method further comprises comparing the one or more impedance outputs at the preselected operation parameters to corresponding values stored in a look-up table and determining a concentration of measured gas at a given time or over a period of time based on the look-up table, in order to accurately determine a concentration of gas of interest in the environment around the sensor.
Regarding claims 13-14, Potyrailo in view of Potyrailo 2017 and Sundaresan as applied to claim 12 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to comprising providing a linearity of sensor response over different ranges of gas concentrations via selection of the preselected operation parameters, wherein the preselected operation parameters comprise an operation frequency [first impedance system 314, second impedance system 316; at one or more different frequencies or frequency ranges] (Para [0051, 0053], see Fig. 4) and an operation voltage when measuring the one or more impedance outputs [voltage to heating elements 304 to control a temperature] (Para [0046-0047], see Fig. 4). Potyrailo in view of Potyrailo 2017 and Sundaresan fails to teach wherein the preselected operation parameters also comprise a value of a tuning capacitor. Potyrailo 2017 additionally teaches one or more tuning elements, e.g. a capacitor, to form an LCR resonant circuit operated at one or more resonant frequencies (Para [0127]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to further modify Potyrailo in view of Potyrailo 2017 and Sundaresan such that the preselected operation parameters further comprises a value of a tuning capacitor, in order to control the resonant frequency of the sensor.
Regarding claim 15, Potyrailo in view of Potyrailo 2017 and Sundaresan as applied to claim 12 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein the preselected operation parameters correspond to detecting a first range of concentrations of gas at a sensitivity [sensor inherently having a sensitivity based on operating parameters]. Potyrailo in view of Potyrailo 2017 and Sundarsean fails to teach wherein the preselected operation parameters correspond to detecting a first range of concentrations of gas down to 5 ppb. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to further modify Potyrailo in view of Potyrailo 2017 and Sundaresan such to choose a sensor sensitivity, such as being able to detect concentrations of gas down to 5 ppb, based on desired sensor applications and expected values. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 16, Potyrailo in view of Potyrailo 2017 and Sundaresan as applied to claim 12 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein the preselected operation parameters correspond to detecting a second range of concentrations of gas at a sensitivity [sensor inherently having a sensitivity based on operating parameters]. Potyrailo in view of Potyrailo 2017 and Sundarsean fails to teach wherein the preselected operation parameters correspond to detecting a second range of concentrations of gas up to 50% by volume. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to further modify Potyrailo in view of Potyrailo 2017 and Sundaresan such to choose a sensor sensitivity, such as being able to detect concentrations of gas up to 50% by volume, based on desired sensor applications and expected values. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955).
Conclusion
/DAVID Z HUANG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855