DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s corrections filed 05/11/2026 with respect to claim rejection under 112(b) for claim(s) 17 made on 02/11/2026 have been considered and the claim rejection under 112(b) to the claims are withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 05/11/2026 with respect to claim(s) 1 and 11 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s argument: Applicant argues “Truong's periodic approach is structurally and operationally distinct from the claimed dynamic determination of interference between a first transmission and a second transmission and the dynamic generation of mitigation parameters specific to those transmissions.” (pg. 12 of the remark). Examiner’s response: The Examiner respectfully disagrees. It appears the Examiner interprets the limitations “dynamically determine, based on the first and second spectrum usage data, that interference will occur between the first transmission and the second transmission” and “in response to dynamically determining that interference will occur between the first transmission and the second transmission, generate spectrum control information” and the reference to Truong et al. (US 2014/0328331 A1) differently than the Applicant. First, it is not clear how the spectrum controller dynamically determines interference based on first and second spectrum usage data. Dynamically typically refers to actions or processes that are continuously changing. To determine something dynamically implies that the outcome (i.e., interference) is not static but depends on current conditions. Truong discloses the coexistence apparatus 350 uses instantaneous collocated and non-collocated radio usage information to predict future usage pattern including interference. This process is repeated as shown in Fig. 6 after step 670 and discussed in [0055] “the flow returns to step 620 to re-evaluate the collocated and non-collocated radio inputs and update the time and frequency mask as needed.” Note that new instantaneous information from collocated and non-collocated radios may or may not be available. Therefore, the prediction and eventually the adjustment are continuously changing; and therefore, the coexistence apparatus 350 is dynamically predicting the change. Furthermore, the claim requires that both the first and second spectrum usage data are received and used to determine the interference. The claim does not require both data to be received at the same time. Thus, one data may be received before the other data, and the spectrum controller waits for reception of both data before making the determination as indicated by the determination is “based on the first and second spectrum usage data.” Therefore, the dynamic determination is not in real-time. Similarly, Truong’s coexistence apparatus 350 may receive the collocated or non-collocated radio usage information first, as taught in Fig. 6 and [0053], and the prediction is made after collecting both radio usage information. Second, Truong discloses in [0027]: “One of the connections 312, 322, 332 from the radios carries instantaneous (or near-instantaneous) collocated-radio usage information and the other of the connections 314, 324, 334 carries instantaneous (or near-instantaneous) non-collocated-radio usage information” and in [0028]: “The coexistence apparatus 350 collects and analyses the collocated-radio usage information from connections 312, 322, 332 and the non-collocated-radio usage information from connections 314, 324, 334 to create historical time and frequency usage information and uses extrapolation to predict future usage patterns with respect to both time and frequency.” Instantaneous means occurring / happening without any perceptible delay; therefore, instantaneous collocated and non-collocated radio usage information is real-time data that is collected and analyzed by the coexistence apparatus 350 to create historical usage information and to predict future usage patterns. Then, Truong discloses in [0030]: “The mask generator 360 uses historical and current usage pattern information to predict future usage patterns which are then used to create a time and frequency mask 355” and in [0033]: “the coexistence apparatus 350 collects instantaneous usage patterns and uses historical and current usage pattern information to predict future usage patterns which are then used to create a time and frequency mask 355” which means that the real-time data (instantaneous collocated and non-collocated radio usage information) are analyzed to predict the future usage patterns. Third, Truong discloses in [0034]: The usage information can generally be classified into … MAC-level timing information 414 [which] allows the radios to share high-granularity timing and frequency usage information about their current and future activity cycles. [0030]: one or more radios is performing/scheduling future … data transmissions. [0025]: A coexistence apparatus in accordance with an embodiment helps to reduce interference caused by both collocated and non-collocated radios. The coexistence predictor determines repeating transmission and reception patterns in both time and frequency to create a time and frequency mask. Therefore, the collocated and non-collocated radio usage information are information used by the collocated and non-collocated radios to transmit and receive transmissions in the future, and interference is predicted in for the same future transmissions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 21-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 21 recites “generating RF spectrum context information for the co-site RF environment by aggregating the contextual radio data received for the plurality of radio devices with additional contextual data pertaining to management of the co-site RF environment, wherein the RF spectrum context information comprises: RF parameter data associated with one or more of transmission or reception of RF signals for each of the plurality of radio devices, control action status for control actions executed by the spectrum controller for the co-site RF environment, and data associated with a site mapping for the co-site RF environment.” But there appears to be no support for generated RF spectrum context information comprising RF parameter data associated with “control action status for control actions executed by the spectrum controller for the co-site RF environment, and data associated with a site mapping for the co-site RF environment.” Claim 26 recites “wherein the data associated with a site mapping for the co-site RF environment comprises: radio location data for the plurality of radio devices in the co-site RF environment, and interference vulnerability data identifying vulnerabilities for a creation of interference based on the configuration the plurality of radio devices in the co-site RF environment including the radio location data.” But there appears to be no support for “interference vulnerability data identifying vulnerabilities for a creation of interference based on the configuration the plurality of radio devices in the co-site RF environment including the radio location data.” Claims 22-28 are rejected based on their dependency to claim 21.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-6, 10-12, 14, 17, and 21-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Truong et al. (US 2014/0328331 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Truong discloses A radio frequency (RF) communications platform comprising (Fig. 3: mobile device 300):
a plurality of co-sited antennas (Fig. 3: antennas);
a first group of one or more radio elements coupled to at least a first one of the plurality of co-sited antennas (Fig. 3: WLAN radio 330 connected to a first antenna);
a second group of one or more radio elements coupled to at least a second one of the plurality of co-sited antennas (Fig. 3: WiMAX radio 310 connected to a second antenna); and
a spectrum controller coupled to at least one of the radio elements of the first group or the second group, the spectrum controller configured to (Fig. 3: co-existence apparatus 350 connects to WLAN radio 330 via connections 332 and 334, and WiMAX radio 310 via connections 312 and 314):
receive first spectrum usage data indicating parameters to be used by the first group of one or more radio elements to send or receive a first transmission (Fig. 3, [0028]: The coexistence apparatus 350 collects and analyses the collocated-radio usage information from connections 332 and the non-collocated-radio usage information from connections 334 to create historical time and frequency usage information and uses extrapolation to predict future usage patterns with respect to both time and frequency. Fig. 4, [0034]: The usage information can generally be classified into … MAC-level timing information 414 [which] allows the radios to share high-granularity timing and frequency usage information about their current and future activity cycles. [0030]: one or more radios is performing/scheduling future scans or data transmissions);
receive second spectrum usage data indicating parameters to be used by the second group of one or more radio elements to send or receive a second transmission (Fig. 3, [0028]: The coexistence apparatus 350 collects and analyses the collocated-radio usage information from connections … 312 and the non-collocated-radio usage information from connections 314 to create historical time and frequency usage information and uses extrapolation to predict future usage patterns with respect to both time and frequency. Fig. 4, [0034]: The usage information can generally be classified into … MAC-level timing information 414 [which] allows the radios to share high-granularity timing and frequency usage information about their current and future activity cycles. [0030]: one or more radios is performing/scheduling future scans or data transmissions);
dynamically determine, based on the first and second spectrum usage data, that interference will occur between the first transmission and the second transmission (Fig. 3, [0028]: The coexistence apparatus 350 collects and analyses the collocated-radio usage information from connections … 312… and the non-collocated-radio usage information from connections 314… to create historical time and frequency usage information and uses extrapolation to predict future usage patterns with respect to both time and frequency. [0039]: The time and frequency information aggregator 440 [comprised by the time and frequency mask generator 360 in the coexistence apparatus 350] masks off time and frequencies in the future where at least one interferer is predicted. Thus, while the scheduler 370 masks out all frequencies at times when interference is predicted, and while the AFH sequence generator 380 masks out all times at frequencies where interference is predicted, the time and frequency mask generator 360 can mask out only certain frequencies (not all frequencies) at certain times (not all times) when interference is predicted. [0030]: one or more radios is performing/scheduling future scans or data transmissions);
in response to dynamically determining that interference will occur between the first transmission and the second transmission, generate spectrum control information indicating parameters for mitigating the interference between the first transmission and the second transmission (Fig. 3, [0030]: time and frequency mask generator 360 within the coexistence apparatus 350 collects the instantaneous usage patterns from all the input connections 312, 314, 332, 334, the timing-only information from the scheduler 370, and the frequency-only information from the AFH sequence generator 380. The mask generator 360 uses historical and current usage pattern information to predict future usage patterns which are then used to create a time and frequency mask 355. When one or more of the radios is performing scanning or data transmission, the lowest priority radio uses the time and frequency mask 355 when scheduling future scans or data transmissions to reduce interference); and
send the spectrum control information to the at least one of the radio elements of the first group or the second group to which the spectrum controller is coupled (Fig. 3: co-existence apparatus 350 transmits the time and frequency mask 355 to the WLAN radio 330 and WiMAX radio 310);
the at least one of the radio elements of the first group or the second group to which the spectrum controller is coupled and the at least the first one or the second one of the plurality of co-sited antennas further configured to send or receive at least one of the first transmission or the second transmission in accordance with the spectrum control information sent by the spectrum controller (Fig. 3, [0030]: When one or more of the radios [with their respective antennas] is performing scanning or data transmission, the lowest priority radio uses the time and frequency mask 355 when scheduling future scans or data transmissions to reduce interference).
Regarding claim(s) 4, Truong discloses all features of claim(s) 1 as outlined above.
Truong does not disclose, but Khoshnevisan discloses wherein the first group of one or more radio elements is configured to send or receive the first transmission using a first frequency hopping pattern, and wherein the second group of one or more radio elements is configured to send or receive the second transmission using a second frequency hopping pattern (Fig. 3, [0034]: The input block 410 for collocated-radio usage information receives data from all active collocated radios within the same device as the coexistence apparatus 350, such as through connections 312, 322, 332 … The usage information can generally be classified into frequency usage information 412 [which] can include: (1) an AFH channel map with a particular hopping sequence and (2) an AFH switch instant, which tells the slave the time instant when the master will switch to the new hopping sequence).
Regarding claim(s) 5, Truong discloses all features of claim(s) 4 as outlined above.
Truong discloses wherein the parameters for mitigating the interference between the first transmission and the second transmission include one or more of: filtering parameters, attenuation parameters, transmit blanking parameters, receive blanking parameters, channel assignment parameters, interference cancellation parameters, or timing parameters (Fig. 3, [0030]: The mask generator 360 uses historical and current usage pattern information to predict future usage patterns which are then used to create a time and frequency mask 355. When one or more of the radios is performing scanning or data transmission, the lowest priority radio uses the time and frequency mask 355 when scheduling future scans or data transmissions to reduce interference. [0031]: the time and frequency mask allows simultaneous transmission/receptions in situations when not all frequency channels are affected by interference [and] allows time-sharing of the wireless medium in situations where all frequency channels are affected by interference. [0039]: The time and frequency information aggregator 440 masks off time and frequencies in the future where at least one interferer is predicted).
Regarding claim(s) 6, Truong in view of Khoshnevisan discloses all features of claim(s) 4 as outlined above.
Truong discloses wherein the spectrum controller is configured to send the spectrum control information indicating parameters for mitigating interference directly to the at least one of the radio elements of the first group or the second group (Fig. 3: co-existence apparatus 350 transmits the time and frequency mask 355 to the WLAN radio 330 and WiMAX radio 310. [0030]: When one or more of the radios is performing scanning or data transmission, the lowest priority radio uses the time and frequency mask 355 when scheduling future scans or data transmissions to reduce interference).
Regarding claim(s) 10, Truong discloses all features of claim(s) 1 as outlined above.
Truong discloses the spectrum controller configured to receive configuration information from a configuration terminal indicating one or more of: a priority level associated with at least one of the radio elements of the first group or the second group, channel assignment information, channel restriction information, or hop-set information (Fig. 3, [0028]: The coexistence apparatus 350 collects and analyses the collocated-radio usage information from connections 312, 332 and the non-collocated-radio usage information from connections 314, 334 to create historical time and frequency usage information and uses extrapolation to predict future usage patterns with respect to both time and frequency. Fig. 4, [0034]: The input block 410 for collocated-radio usage information receives data from all active collocated radios within the same device as the coexistence apparatus 350 … The usage information can generally be classified into frequency usage information 412 … and hardware interface information 416. Frequency usage information 412 can include: (1) an AFH channel map with a particular hopping sequence. Hardware interface information 416 allows the radios to … provide priority information for a given transmission burst. [0054]-[0055]: the mask may be normalized to the time and frequency units of the lowest priority radio [and] the lowest priority radio receives the time and frequency mask and adjusts its scheduling timing and transmission frequencies based on the time and frequency mask).
Regarding claim 11, Truong discloses A spectrum controller comprising (Fig. 3: mobile device 300):
a processor (Fig. 3: co-existence apparatus 350);
a memory device ([0081]: computer-readable storage medium);
and one or more data interfaces (Fig. 3: connections 312, 314, 332, 334);
the processor configured to receive, via the one or more data interfaces, first radio output data associated with a first radio stack (Fig. 3: co-existence apparatus 350 connects to WLAN radio 330 via connections 332, 334. Fig. 3, [0027]-[0028]: The coexistence apparatus 350 collects and analyses the instantaneous collocated-radio usage information from connections 332 and the instantaneous non-collocated-radio usage information from connections 334 to create historical time and frequency usage information and uses extrapolation to predict future usage patterns with respect to both time and frequency. Fig. 4, [0034]: The usage information can generally be classified into … MAC-level timing information 414 [which] allows the radios to share high-granularity timing and frequency usage information about their current and future activity cycles);
the processor configured to receive, via the one or more data interfaces, second radio output data associated with a second radio stack (Fig. 3: co-existence apparatus 350 connects to WiMAX radio 310 via connections 312, 314. Fig. 3, [0027]-[0028]: The coexistence apparatus 350 collects and analyses the instantaneous collocated-radio usage information from connections … 312 and the instantaneous non-collocated-radio usage information from connections 314 to create historical time and frequency usage information and uses extrapolation to predict future usage patterns with respect to both time and frequency. Fig. 4, [0034]: The usage information can generally be classified into … MAC-level timing information 414 [which] allows the radios to share high-granularity timing and frequency usage information about their current and future activity cycles);
the processor and the memory device configured to store the first radio output data and the second radio output data ([0050]: coexistence apparatus 350 stores the instantaneous information from the collocated radios);
the processor configured to determine, based on the first radio output data and the second radio output data, that interference will occur between a first transmission to be sent or received by one or more radio elements of the radio stack and a second transmission to be sent or received by one or more radio elements of the second radio stack (Fig. 3, [0028]: The coexistence apparatus 350 collects and analyses the collocated-radio usage information from connections … 312… and the non-collocated-radio usage information from connections 314… to create historical time and frequency usage information and uses extrapolation to predict future usage patterns with respect to both time and frequency. [0039]: The time and frequency information aggregator 440 [comprised by the time and frequency mask generator 360 in the coexistence apparatus 350] masks off time and frequencies in the future where at least one interferer is predicted. Thus, while the scheduler 370 masks out all frequencies at times when interference is predicted, and while the AFH sequence generator 380 masks out all times at frequencies where interference is predicted, the time and frequency mask generator 360 can mask out only certain frequencies (not all frequencies) at certain times (not all times) when interference is predicted. [0030]: one or more radios is performing/scheduling future scans or data transmissions);
in response to dynamically determining that interference will occur between the first transmission and the second transmission, generate spectrum control information indicating parameters for mitigating the interference between the first transmission and the second transmission (Fig. 3, [0030]: time and frequency mask generator 360 within the coexistence apparatus 350 collects the instantaneous usage patterns from all the input connections 312, 314, 332, 334, the timing-only information from the scheduler 370, and the frequency-only information from the AFH sequence generator 380. The mask generator 360 uses historical and current usage pattern information to predict future usage patterns which are then used to create a time and frequency mask 355. When one or more of the radios is performing scanning or data transmission, the lowest priority radio uses the time and frequency mask 355 when scheduling future scans or data transmissions to reduce interference); and
the processor configured to send, via the one or more data interfaces, the spectrum control information indicating the parameters for mitigating the interference between the first transmission and the second transmission (Fig. 3: co-existence apparatus 350 transmits the time and frequency mask 355 to the WLAN radio 330 and WiMAX radio 310. [0030]: When one or more of the radios is performing scanning or data transmission, the lowest priority radio uses the time and frequency mask 355 when scheduling future scans or data transmissions to reduce interference).
Regarding claim(s) 12, Truong discloses all features of claim(s) 11 as outlined above.
Truong discloses wherein the spectrum control information indicating parameters for mitigating the interference between the first transmission and the second transmission is sent, via one of the one or more data interfaces, to the one or more radio elements of the first radio stack (Fig. 3: co-existence apparatus 350 transmits the time and frequency mask 355 to the WLAN radio 330. [0030]: When one or more of the radios is performing scanning or data transmission, the lowest priority radio uses the time and frequency mask 355 when scheduling future scans or data transmissions to reduce interference).
Regarding claim(s) 14, Truong discloses all features of claim(s) 11 as outlined above.
Truong discloses wherein the processor is configured to receive, via the one or more data interfaces, the first radio output data by harvesting data transmitted between at least one of the one or more radio elements of the first radio stack and an external device or a multicoupler (Fig. 1, [0017]: a WiMAX radio communicates with a WiMAX AP. Fig. 2, [0024]: WiMAX transmitter and receiver may interfere with collocated and/or non-collocated radios. [0027]-[0028]: the mobile device includes the WiMAX radio 310 with connections 312, 314, where the coexistence apparatus 300 collects collocated-radio usage information from connections 312 and the non-collocated-radio usage information from connection 314).
Regarding claim(s) 17, Truong discloses all features of claim(s) 11 as outlined above.
Truong discloses wherein the first radio output data is received via a dedicated spectrum control output interface of one of the one or more radio elements of the first radio stack (Fig. 3: co-existence apparatus 350 connects to WLAN radio 330 via connections 332, 334. Fig. 3, [0027]-[0028]: The coexistence apparatus 350 collects and analyses the instantaneous collocated-radio usage information from connections 332 and the instantaneous non-collocated-radio usage information from connections 334).
Regarding claim(s) 21, Truong discloses A spectrum controller for management of a co-site radio frequency (RF) environment comprising a plurality of radio devices in proximity within the co-site RF environment, comprising (Fig. 3: mobile device 300. Fig. 1: system diagram 100 depicts a room 190 that comprises at least non-collocated radios 120, 130):
at least one processor (Fig. 3: co-existence apparatus 350);
a memory, operatively connected with the at least one processor, storing computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, causes the at least one processor to execute a method that comprises ([0081]: computer-readable storage medium):
receiving contextual radio data for the plurality of radio devices in the co-site RF environment (Fig. 3, [0028]: The coexistence apparatus 350 collects and analyses the collocated-radio usage information from connections 312, 332 and the non-collocated-radio usage information from connections 314, 334 to create historical time and frequency usage information and uses extrapolation to predict future usage patterns with respect to both time and frequency. Fig. 4, [0034]: The usage information can generally be classified into … MAC-level timing information 414 [which] allows the radios to share high-granularity timing and frequency usage information about their current and future activity cycles. [0030]: one or more radios is performing/scheduling future scans or data transmissions),
generating RF spectrum context information for the co-site RF environment by aggregating the contextual radio data received for the plurality of radio devices with additional contextual data pertaining to management of the co-site RF environment, wherein the RF spectrum context information comprises: RF parameter data associated with one or more of transmission or reception of RF signals for each of the plurality of radio devices, control action status for control actions executed by the spectrum controller for the co-site RF environment, and data associated with a site mapping for the co-site RF environment (Fig. 3, [0028]: The coexistence apparatus 350 collects and analyses the collocated-radio usage information from connections … 312, 332 and the non-collocated-radio usage information from connections 314, 334 to create historical time and frequency usage information and uses extrapolation to predict future usage patterns with respect to both time and frequency. [0039]: The time and frequency information aggregator 440 [comprised by the time and frequency mask generator 360 in the coexistence apparatus 350] masks off time and frequencies in the future where at least one interferer is predicted. Thus, while the scheduler 370 masks out all frequencies at times when interference is predicted, and while the AFH sequence generator 380 masks out all times at frequencies where interference is predicted, the time and frequency mask generator 360 can mask out only certain frequencies (not all frequencies) at certain times (not all times) when interference is predicted. [0030]: one or more radios is performing/scheduling future scans or data transmissions. [0025]: A coexistence apparatus in accordance with an embodiment helps to reduce interference caused by both collocated and non-collocated radios. The coexistence predictor determines repeating transmission and reception patterns in both time and frequency to create a time and frequency mask),
analyzing the RF spectrum context information for the co-site RF environment ([0025]: A coexistence apparatus in accordance with an embodiment helps to reduce interference caused by both collocated and non-collocated radios. The coexistence predictor determines repeating transmission and reception patterns in both time and frequency to create a time and frequency mask. The time and frequency mask is used to schedule transmissions in both time and frequency for a particular protocol (e.g., Bluetooth) to reduce radio frequency interference yet allow more transmission opportunities than only scheduling with respect to time. Fig. 1, [0017]: system diagram 100 depicts a room 190 having a communication device 110 with collocated Bluetooth and WiMAX radios as well as two additional, non-collocated radios 120, 130), and
generating, based on an analysis of the RF spectrum context information for the co-site RF environment, a control action to mitigate RF interference in the co-site RF environment, where the control action is directed to a control operation for one or more radio devices of the plurality of radio devices (Fig. 3, [0030]: time and frequency mask generator 360 within the coexistence apparatus 350 collects the instantaneous usage patterns from all the input connections 312, 314, 332, 334, the timing-only information from the scheduler 370, and the frequency-only information from the AFH sequence generator 380. The mask generator 360 uses historical and current usage pattern information to predict future usage patterns which are then used to create a time and frequency mask 355. When one or more of the radios is performing scanning or data transmission, the lowest priority radio uses the time and frequency mask 355 when scheduling future scans or data transmissions to reduce interference. Fig. 3: co-existence apparatus 350 transmits the time and frequency mask 355 to the WLAN radio 330 and WiMAX radio 310).
Regarding claim(s) 22, Truong discloses all features of claim(s) 21 as outlined above.
Truong discloses wherein the method, executed by the at least one processor, further comprises: outputting the control action to the one or more radio devices of the plurality of radio devices (Fig. 3: co-existence apparatus 350 transmits the time and frequency mask 355 to the WLAN radio 330 and WiMAX radio 310. [0030]: The mask generator 360 uses historical and current usage pattern information to predict future usage patterns which are then used to create a time and frequency mask 355. When one or more of the radios is performing scanning or data transmission, the lowest priority radio uses the time and frequency mask 355 when scheduling future scans or data transmissions to reduce interference).
Regarding claim(s) 23, Truong discloses all features of claim(s) 21 as outlined above.
Truong discloses wherein the method, executed by the at least one processor, further comprises: updating one or more data points for the RF spectrum context information to include the generated control action as a data point for continued dynamic evaluation of the co-site RF environment ([0045]: The time and frequency mask 500 should be updated periodically based on information regarding collocated and non-collocated time and frequency usage of the wireless resources. [0053]: the various types of information 412, 414, 416, 422, 424 can be updated in a different sequence. Fig. 6, [0055]: the flow returns to step 620 to re-evaluate the collocated and non-collocated radio inputs and update the time and frequency mask as needed. Fig. 3, [0028]: The coexistence apparatus 350 collects and analyses the collocated-radio usage information from connections … 312, 332… and the non-collocated-radio usage information from connections 314, 334… to create historical time and frequency usage information and uses extrapolation to predict future usage patterns with respect to both time and frequency. Fig. 3, [0030]: co-existence apparatus 350 transmits the time and frequency mask 355 to the WLAN radio 330 and WiMAX radio 310. When one or more of the radios is performing scanning or data transmission, the lowest priority radio uses the time and frequency mask 355 when scheduling future scans or data transmissions to reduce interference).
Regarding claim(s) 24, Truong discloses all features of claim(s) 21 as outlined above.
Truong discloses wherein the RF parameter data associated with one or more of transmission or reception of RF signals for each of the plurality of radio devices comprises two or more of: signal modulation data, received signal strength, signal bandwidth data, and signal frequency data ([0029]: an advanced frequency hopping (AFH) sequence generator 380 determines available frequency usage information from non-collocated radios via input connections 314, 324, 334. [0034]: Frequency usage information 412 can include: (1) an AFH channel map with a particular hopping sequence and (2) an AFH switch instant, which tells the slave the time instant when the master will switch to the new hopping sequence. [0070]: implementations of AFH use received signal strength indication (RSSI) measurements and Packet Error Rate (PER) statistics to identify interference and remove affected channels from the AFH map).
Regarding claim(s) 25, Truong discloses all features of claim(s) 24 as outlined above.
Truong discloses wherein the RF parameter data associated with one or more of transmission or reception of RF signals for each of the plurality of radio devices further comprises one or more of: a duration of a transmission or reception operation for a radio device of the plurality of radio devices, and a time window associated with the transmission or reception operation of the radio device (Fig. 5, [0045]: the mask could contain: a start time 512, the length of the repeating time period 515 considered, and the start and end times of each masked interval for each Bluetooth frequency channel within that repeating time period 515... The time and frequency mask 500 should be updated periodically based on information regarding collocated and non-collocated time and frequency usage of the wireless resources. Fig. 2, [0024]: transmitters and receivers 232, 234, 252, 254, 282, 284 operate between 2.30 and 2.69 GHz, interference [occurs] between a transmitter of one radio and a receiver of another radio [during different time periods in the time axis]).
Regarding claim(s) 26, Truong discloses all features of claim(s) 21 as outlined above.
Truong discloses wherein the data associated with a site mapping for the co-site RF environment comprises: radio location data for the plurality of radio devices in the co-site RF environment, and interference vulnerability data identifying vulnerabilities for a creation of interference based on the configuration the plurality of radio devices in the co-site RF environment including the radio location data (claim 21 requires “RF parameter data associated with one or more of transmission or reception of RF signals for each of the plurality of radio devices, control action status for control actions executed by the spectrum controller for the co-site RF environment, and data associated with a site mapping for the co-site RF environment.” Examiner considers “one” of “transmission or reception of RF signals for each of the plurality of radio devices,” and does not consider the other options of “more” including “control action status for control actions executed by the spectrum controller for the co-site RF environment, and data associated with a site mapping for the co-site RF environment.” Claim 26 further limits “data associated with a site mapping for the co-site RF environment” which was not given patentable weight. Applicant may want to make “RF parameter data associated with” this limitation a requirement).
Regarding claim(s) 27, Truong discloses all features of claim(s) 21 as outlined above.
Truong discloses where the control action is a blanking signal for transmission to the one or more radio devices (Fig. 3: co-existence apparatus 350 transmits the time and frequency mask 355 to the WLAN radio 330 and WiMAX radio 310. [0039]: The time and frequency information aggregator 440 masks off time and frequencies in the future where at least one interferer is predicted. Thus, while the scheduler 370 masks out all frequencies at times when interference is predicted, and while the AFH sequence generator 380 masks out all times at frequencies where interference is predicted, the time and frequency mask generator 360 can mask out only certain frequencies (not all frequencies) at certain times (not all times) when interference is predicted).
Regarding claim(s) 28, Truong discloses all features of claim(s) 21 as outlined above.
Truong discloses where the contextual radio data for the plurality of radio devices is received in a plurality of dynamic data packets, and wherein the generating of the RF spectrum context information comprises aggregating the contextual radio data retrieved from the plurality of dynamic data packets with the additional contextual data pertaining to management of the co-site RF environment (Fig. 3, [0028]: The coexistence apparatus 350 collects and analyses the collocated-radio usage information from connections 312, 332 and the non-collocated-radio usage information from connections 314, 334 to create historical time and frequency usage information and uses extrapolation to predict future usage patterns with respect to both time and frequency. [0039]: The time and frequency information aggregator 440 [comprised by the time and frequency mask generator 360 in the coexistence apparatus 350] masks off time and frequencies in the future where at least one interferer is predicted. Thus, while the scheduler 370 masks out all frequencies at times when interference is predicted, and while the AFH sequence generator 380 masks out all times at frequencies where interference is predicted, the time and frequency mask generator 360 can mask out only certain frequencies (not all frequencies) at certain times (not all times) when interference is predicted. [0030]: one or more radios is performing/scheduling future scans or data transmissions. [0025]: A coexistence apparatus in accordance with an embodiment helps to reduce interference caused by both collocated and non-collocated radios. The coexistence predictor determines repeating transmission and reception patterns in both time and frequency to create a time and frequency mask. Fig. 4, [0034]: The usage information can generally be classified into … MAC-level timing information 414 [which] allows the radios to share high-granularity timing and frequency usage information about their current and future activity cycles).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Truong et al. (US 2014/0328331 A1) in view of Sternowski et al. (US 6,998,908 B1) and Uchida et al. (US 2002/0054028 A1).
Regarding claim(s) 8, Truong discloses all features of claim(s) 1 as outlined above.
Truong does not disclose, but Sternowski discloses comprising a multicoupler coupled to at least one of the first or second group of radio elements (col. 3 ll. 42-44: the received signals are passed to a receive multicoupler 35, where they are split and passed to receivers 40), wherein the multicoupler is configured to provide spectrum usage data to the spectrum controller (col. 6 ll. 49-58: a received signal is passed from a multicoupler 35 to the AIC controller 405 that generates cancellation feedback signal to cancel the undesired transmit signal in summing circuit 30. The AIC controller 405 generates cancellation feedback signals to multiple AIC modules 405 by switching between them)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the mobile device 300, as taught by Truong, to receive a signal passed from a multicoupler to a AIC controller, as taught by Sternowski.
Doing so allows the multicoupler to sample the received signals to measure possible interference and generate cancellation feedback to cancel the undesired transmit signal (Sternowski: col. 6 ll. 49-58).
Truong in view of Sternowski does not disclose, but Uchida discloses and wherein the multicoupler is configured to condition signals transmitted by at least one of the first or second group of radio elements (Fig. 2, [0044]: a multicoupler 102 is provided to prevent potential interference between a transmission signal and a reception signal. The multicoupler receives a predetermined protocol used to effect radio communication between the display apparatus 100 and the base apparatus 200).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the mobile device 300, as taught by Truong, to include a multicoupler to prevent potential interference between a transmission signal and a reception signal, as taught by Uchida.
Doing so prevents potential interference between a transmission signal and a reception signal (Uchida: [0044]).).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Truong et al. (US 2014/0328331 A1) in view of and Uchida et al. (US 2002/0054028 A1).
Regarding claim(s) 13, Truong discloses all features of claim(s) 11 as outlined above.
Truong discloses wherein the spectrum control information indicating parameters for mitigating the interference between the first transmission and the second transmission is sent, via one of the one or more data interfaces (Fig. 3: co-existence apparatus 350 transmits the time and frequency mask 355 to the WLAN radio 330 and WiMAX radio 310. [0030]: When one or more of the radios is performing scanning or data transmission, the lowest priority radio uses the time and frequency mask 355 when scheduling future scans or data transmissions to reduce interference).
Truong does not disclose, but Uchida discloses the spectrum control information is sent to a multicoupler coupled to the one or more radio elements of the first radio stack (Fig. 2, [0044]: a multicoupler 102 is provided to prevent potential interference between a transmission signal and a reception signal, and is coupled to the transmission/reception antenna 101, the transmission processing section 112 and the reception processing section 103. The multicoupler receives a predetermined protocol used to effect radio communication between the display apparatus 100 and the base apparatus 200).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the mobile device 300, as taught by Truong, to include a multicoupler, as taught by Uchida.
Doing so prevents potential interference between a transmission signal and a reception signal (Uchida: [0044]).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Truong et al. (US 2014/0328331 A1) in view of Elshafie et al. (US 2022/0385109 A1).
Regarding claim(s) 15, Truong discloses all features of claim(s) 14 as outlined above.
Truong discloses wherein the harvested data comprises a blanking signal, a transmit (TX) or receive (RX) indicator signal, or a radio status and tune data signal ([0088]: UE 115 receives an indication of one or more characteristics, e.g. power levels, of the energy harvesting circuit 106 in device 103. The UE may attempt to transmit signals having sufficient radio frequency power to ensure that a radio frequency power of signals received by the signal decoding circuit 106 of the device 103 are associated with a desired QoS. [0089]: device 103 may be a base station 105).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the mobile device 300, as taught by Truong, to receive an indication of one or more characteristics, e.g. power levels, of the energy harvesting circuit 106 in device 103 so that the UE may attempt to transmit signals having sufficient radio frequency power to ensure that a radio frequency power of signals received by the signal decoding circuit 106 of the device 103 are associated with a desired QoS, as taught by Elshafie.
Doing so allows the UE to transmit signals based on the determined radio frequency power which may result in power savings, extended battery life, and reliable communications (Elshafie: [0088]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action.
/THE HY NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478
TheHy.Nguyen@USPTO.gov