DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments/Amendments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/24/26 have been fully considered but they are moot due to new ground rejections shown below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1,6-12,14-15,22-23 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites cites claim limitations “receiving, by a first device, from a second device, information for sidelink (SL) time difference of arrival (TDOA); obtaining, by the first device, information related to a synchronization time difference between the first device and the second device, from the information related to the SL TDOA, wherein the synchronization time difference is a difference between a first synchronization time used by the first device and a second synchronization time used by the second device”. Applicant stated that the support for the claim limitations is found in [271]-[272] of the specification in the interview dated on 08/13/26. [271]-[272] teaches that UE-A transmits a request to UE-B to participate in the SL positioning group; UE-B accepts the request and sends an accept back to UE-A only if its timing sync error (difference between GNSS-based and base station-based synchronizations) its timing sync error; UE-A receives the response from UE-B, allow UE-B to join SL positioning group only if timing sync error of UE-A is within the threshold; SL TDOA positioning is performed when UE-A and UE-B belong to the same SL positioning group. The information for SL TDOA does not appear playing any roles in obtaining a synchronization time difference between the first device and the second device because the synchronization time difference is determined regardless if the information for SL TDOA is presented or not. Therefore, the cited claim limitations appear contradicting to the specification.
Independent claims 14 and 15 are rejected because each of them has the same problem as claim 1.
Dependent claims are rejected because each of them depends on the corresponding independent claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,6-11,14-15,22-23 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thomas (US 20230296752 A1) in view of Jiang (US 20240295626 A1).
For claim 1, Thomas discloses a method (FIG. 7), comprising:
receiving, by a first device (FIG. 7, Target UE 705), from a second device (FIG. 7, UE-3 720, or any one of UE-1 710, UE-2 715 and UE-3 720), information related to sidelink (SL) time difference of arrival (TDOA) (FIG. 7 and the associated text, such as “[0135] FIG. 7 is a diagram illustrating an example scenario 700 with a mobile reference node 720 and two or more additional UEs UE-1 710 and UE-2 715 for SL-TDOA positioning of a target UE 705 …” or “[0004] … a target UE to be localized using sidelink (“SL”) timing-based positioning, the target UE … to cause the UE to receive SL positioning reference signals (“SL-PRS”) measurements from a reference node and two or more additional UEs, measure SL reference signal timing differences (“RSTDs”) between the two or more additional UEs with respect to the reference node, and determine an estimated location of the target UE based on a time-difference-of-arrival (“TDOA”) positioning technique using the SL RSTDs”; note that );
obtaining, by the first device, information related to synchronization between the first device and the second device, from the information related to the SL TDOA (FIG. 7 and the associated text, such as “[0145] … In some examples, the common synchronization source may be configured based on a priority index and network coverage. The status of network coverage may be in-coverage, partial coverage, out-of-coverage for the reference nodes 620, 720 and/or mobile anchor/non-anchor nodes 610, 615, 710, 715. Table 8 below shows exemplary details related to the priority-to-synchronization-source mapping to be implemented among UEs involved in performing SL-TDOA/SL timing-based positioning methods.” and “[0006] … The first sidelink timing-based positioning technique includes: receiving, from the target UE to be localized, a report comprising two or more sidelink (“SL”) reference signal timing differences (“RSTDs”) between the target UE and two or more additional UEs with respect to a reference node, the SL RSTDs based on SL positioning reference signals (“PRS”) from the reference node and the two or more additional UEs; and determining an estimated location of the target UE using a time-difference-of-arrival (“TDOA”) positioning technique using the SL RSTDs….” note that RSTDs is information related to synchronization time difference between the first device and the second device),
wherein the synchronization time difference is a relative time difference between a first synchronization time used by the first device and a second synchronization time used by the second device (FIG. 7 and the associated text, such as Abstract “One instance of a user equipment (UE) apparatus includes a target UE configured to receive sidelink (“SL”) positioning reference signals (“SL-PRS”) from a reference node and two or more additional UEs, measure SL reference signal timing differences (“RSTDs”) between the two or more additional UEs with respect to the reference node, and determine an estimated location of the target UE based on a time-difference-of-arrival (“TDOA”) positioning technique using the SL RSTDs …”); and
performing, by the first device, SL TDOA positioning based on the information related to the synchronization (FIG. 7 and the associated text, such as “[0144] ... In some embodiments of SL-TDOA positioning technique implementations, tight nano-second synchronization between the anchor/non-anchor nodes transmitting SL PRS 740 may be very important. [0145] … In some examples, the common synchronization source may be configured based on a priority index and network coverage. The status of network coverage may be in-coverage, partial coverage, out-of-coverage for the reference nodes 620, 720 and/or mobile anchor/non-anchor nodes 610, 615, 710, 715. Table 8 below shows exemplary details related to the priority-to-synchronization-source mapping to be implemented among UEs involved in performing SL-TDOA/SL timing-based positioning methods.”),
Thomas does not specifically state that the information related to synchronization between the first device and the second device is information related to synchronization time difference between the first device and the second device.
Jiang discloses information related to synchronization time difference between the first device and the second device (FIGs. 2-7 and the associated text, such as “[0246] … the second terminal to provide the first positioning assistance information to assist the first terminal in determining the position information of the second terminal. … [0251] In step 707, the second terminal sends the position information provision message including the measurement result to the first terminal. …[0252] In step 708, the first terminal determines the position information of the second terminal based on the first positioning assistance information and the measurement result.….” in view of “[0170] … positioning signal assistance information corresponding to the SL DL-TDOA”; note that there are two synchronization times from the second terminal: one is based on configured the capability provision and one is from measurement result, and the first terminal determines position/synchronization information base on the difference of the two). OOSA would have been motivated to apply the teaching of Jiang above to the synchronization by Thomas to yield a predictable result of establishing SL synchronization.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to OOSA before the effective filing date of the application to combine Thomas and Jiang for the benefit of establishing SL synchronization ([0252] of Jiang).
Claim 14 is rejected because it is a claim of a device that performs the method of claim 1 and has the same subject matter.
Claim 15 is rejected because it is a claim of a processing device that controls the device performing the method of claim 1 and has the same subject matter.
As to claims 6, 22 and 25, Thomas in view of Jiang discloses claims 1, 14 and 15, Thomas further discloses:
transmitting, to the second device, request information for performing the SL TDOA positioning (FIG. 4 and the associated text, such as (FIGs. 7-8 and the associated text, such as [0014]-[0015], [0135]-[0153]; FIG. 8 shows that SL PRS 840 is transmitted to UE1 or/and UE2 and “[0149] The round-trip time (RTT) of the SL-PRS 840 that form each SL beam 850 may also be used to determine the absolute and relative location of a SL UE with respect to another UE. …”; note that SL PRS includes request information for performing the SL TDOA positioning),
wherein the information related to the SL TDOA positioning is received in response to
the request information for performing the SL TDOA positioning (FIGs. 7-8 and the associated text, such as [0014]-[0015], [0135]-[0153]; e.g., FIG. 8 shows that requests and responses related to SL PRS 840 between target UE 805 and UE1 or/and UE2).
As to claims 7 and 23, Thomas in view of Jiang discloses claims 6 and 22, Thomas further discloses: wherein the information related to the synchronization time difference is based is requested from the second device, based on the request information for performing the SL TDOA positioning (FIGs. 7-8 and the associated text, such as [0014]-[0015], [0135]-[0153], i.e., “[0149] The round-trip time (RTT) of the SL-PRS 840 that form each SL beam 850 may also be used to determine the absolute and relative location of a SL UE with respect to another UE. …”; note that SL PRS includes request information for performing the SL TDOA positioning).
As to claim 8, Thomas in view of Jiang discloses claim 6, Thomas further discloses: wherein the request information for performing the SL TDOA positioning includes information requesting participation in a SL positioning group of the second device (FIGs. 7-8 and the associated text, such as [0014]-[0015], [0135]-[0153]; e.g., FIG. 8 shows that requests and responses related to SL PRS 840 between target UE 805 and UE1 or/and UE2 which belong to a SL positioning group of the second device).
As to claim 9, Thomas in view of Jiang discloses claim 8, Thomas further discloses: wherein the information related to the SL TDOA includes information related to acceptance of the second device in response to the information requesting participation in the SL positioning group of the second device (FIGs. 7-8 and the associated text, such as [0014]-[0015], [0135]-[0153]; e.g., FIG. 8 shows that requests and responses related to SL PRS 840 between target UE 805 and UE1 or/and UE2 which belong to a SL positioning group of the second device).
As to claim 10, Thomas in view of Jiang discloses claim 1, Thomas further discloses: wherein the SL TDOA positioning is performed based on the synchronization time difference between the first device and the second device being within a threshold (FIGs. 7-8 and the associated text, such as [0014]-[0015], [0135]-[0153]; e.g., “[0145] … In some examples, the common synchronization source may be configured based on a priority index and network coverage. The status of network coverage may be in-coverage, partial coverage, out-of-coverage for the reference nodes 620, 720 and/or mobile anchor/non-anchor nodes 610, 615, 710, 715. Table 8 below shows exemplary details related to the priority-to-synchronization-source mapping to be implemented among UEs involved in performing SL-TDOA/SL timing-based positioning methods.”).
As to claim 11, Thomas in view of Jiang discloses claim 1, Thomas further discloses: wherein a SL positioning group including the first device and the second device for performing the SL TDOA positioning is formed based on the synchronization time difference between the first device and the second device being within a threshold (FIGs. 7-8 and the associated text, such as [0014]-[0015], [0135]-[0153]; e.g., “[0145] … In some examples, the common synchronization source may be configured based on a priority index and network coverage. The status of network coverage may be in-coverage, partial coverage, out-of-coverage for the reference nodes 620, 720 and/or mobile anchor/non-anchor nodes 610, 615, 710, 715. Table 8 below shows exemplary details related to the priority-to-synchronization-source mapping to be implemented among UEs involved in performing SL-TDOA/SL timing-based positioning methods.”).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thomas (US 20230296752 A1) in view of Jiang (US 20240295626 A1), further in view of Goyal (US 20220295442 A1).
As to claim 12, Thomas in view of Jiang discloses claim 1, Thomas further discloses: wherein a SL positioning group including the first device and the second device for performing the SL TDOA positioning is formed based on that a number of devices (“[0135] FIG. 7 is a diagram illustrating an example scenario 700 with a mobile reference node 720 and two or more additional UEs UE-1 710 and UE-2 715 for SL-TDOA positioning of a target UE 705 …”).
Thomas does not state, but Goyal, in the same field of endeavor of sidelink communication, discloses that the number of devices including the first device and the second device is greater than or equal to a threshold (“[0004] A WTRU may indicate (e.g., to a network entity) that it is not capable of or no longer capable of serving as an anchor WTRU. The WTRU may determine that its location has changed significantly causing it to be unable to monitor target WTRU(s) and/or the WTRU may not be able to listen to a threshold number of network device(s) (e.g., such as gNB(s), eNB(s), base station(s), etc.). …”). OOSA would have been motivated to apply the teaching of Goyal above to the number of communication devices to yield a predictable result of ensuring function of anchor WTRU.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to OOSA before the effective filing date of the application to combine Thomas in view of Jiang and Goyal for the benefit of ensuring function of anchor WTRU ([0004] of Goyal).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JIANYE WU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462 3