Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues that Takatsuka does not disclose or suggest the amended limitations dated 2/23/2026. The applicant argues that the disclosure provides a case “… wherein the key without the transform is inoperable to perform transposing.” The applicant points to the specification, page 6 lines 31-35. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. First, it is noted that page 6 only includes lines 1-33. The disclosure is silent in the aforementioned portion of the disclosure supporting the applicant’s argument. The disclose does not discuss a condition where the generated key is not affiliated with a generated transform for decrypting the data. As with any encryption/decryption process, the point of a key is to properly allow access to the encrypted information. Although the claim language above is found in paragraph 0061 (shown below), it is not disclosed in the context as implied in the presently amended claims, i.e., that somehow the key is capable of any function in itself. The passage as provided in paragraph 0061, merely provides the intended result of the encryption/decryption process provided by access to the key. According to the disclosure with relevant paragraphs shown below that state:
[0059] For the or each identified portion, pixels of said portion may then be modified using a key for producing an updated image in which the at least one image portion is obfuscated. The key may be a received seed or may be generated based on a received seed. Use of the key makes it possible to undo the modification by means of the key. The term obfuscated has the above meaning but the term “encrypted” may also be used because the pixel information is transformed based on a key and can be un-transformed also based on the key.
[0060] The key may be associated with the or each identified portion. Where there are multiple identified portions, each portion may have its own respective key. An access profile may be created for the or each identified portion and the key for that portion may be stored in the access profile or a link may be provided to a repository storing keys for different image portions. Where there are multiple identified portions which at least partially overlap, it may be appropriate to store or otherwise record an order of obfuscation operations to enable reversal of the obfuscation operations. For example, a first identified portion which is overlaid by a second identified portion may require reversal of the obfuscation operation on the second identified portion to be performed prior to that on the first identified portion. The access profile may comprise metadata associated with the image or image file, for example stored in a so-called sidecar file. In some embodiments, the metadata may comprise a part of the image itself, e.g. embedded in the image data using any suitable and known process. The access profile may also store or otherwise identify the associated image portion, e.g. the bounding box co-ordinates or similar. It will therefore be appreciated that some images may have multiple access profiles, one for each identified image portion, each access profile storing a different key. Alternatively, one access profile may store one key for multiple image portions.
[0061] Permissions may be allocated for one or more users, that is users who may need to view the updated image. These users may be a subset of a larger group of users. Permissions may define if said users can view the identified one or more image portions. If a requesting user opens the image, they may see the updated image in which the one or more identified image portions are obfuscated. Based on their permissions, they may or may not be able to decrypt the obfuscated portions so that they can view the original content for those portion(s). This may or may not involve the users having access to the relevant key(s); for example it may be an application or platform providing such obfuscation functionality that checks permissions for the user and, if permitted, accesses the key in the relevant access profile to decrypt the image portion for the user. This may involve using the key as a seed and running it through a transform which generates resources for decryption, e.g. a swap list to be described below. In this way, without the transform, users cannot decrypt the encrypted data. Permissions may be allocated in a number of different ways. For example, creating an access profile for the identified one or more image portions may involve creating a license which may be allocated or distributed to one or multiple users, e.g. linked or associated with user identifiers within an organization's permissioning system. Licenses may be allocated to users within certain workgroups or having certain titles or work functions within the organization. Licenses may be allocated on a more granular basis if need be. Licenses may be revoked in certain situations. As a consequence, some users may be able to reverse the obfuscation process for only some obfuscated image portions, all obfuscated image portions or no obfuscated image portions, depending on allocated permissions. Licenses may be limited in one or more ways. For example, a license may be rate-limited, e.g., permitting only a predetermined number of obfuscation reversals, possibly within a predetermined timeframe. Additionally, or alternatively, licenses may be linked to a particular required purpose or purposes, and users may need to specify via input an intended purpose which should match that given in the relevant license. The user's intended purpose may be logged and made auditable.
…
[0093] Encryption may be by means of any suitable transform operation. The key may map to a particular transform operation and/or parameters thereof. According to one or more example embodiments, the transform may be a reversible transform that retains all image information within the obfuscated image portion. In this way, there is no need to keep the original image which can be subsequently deleted, e.g. from the images repository 310. This results in security benefits and data storage efficiencies. All that is required for undoing or reversing the transform, i.e. decryption, is provided in the access profile of the encryption channel; namely the image portion or portions (specifically pixel positions or coordinates) and the key used to perform encryption. Example encryption transforms are described further below, including one or both of pixel swapping within a given image portion and color channel rotation.
…
[0102] The decrypting module 308 may be configured, responsive to the abovementioned signal from the permissioning module 306, i.e. that a requesting user is permitted to view an obfuscated image portion, to access the key from the relevant access profile and perform a reverse transform based on said key. This enables the requesting user to see the updated image with the (unmodified) image portion, although other image portions may remain obfuscated. The requesting user may see the unmodified image portion temporarily, e.g. for only a predetermined amount of time and/or until the updated image is closed. In this case, the same requesting user may subsequently have to go through the same selection process described above in order to see the same unmodified image portion. Additionally, or alternatively, the requesting user may save the updated image with the unmodified image portion in local or cloud storage; the same user may thereafter open the saved updated image, which may show the unmodified image portion with other image portions still obfuscated.
…
[0116] FIGS. 7A-7C are useful for understanding one reversible transform method that may be used to encrypt one or more image portions according to example embodiments. FIG. 7A shows, by way of a simple example, a small rectangular image portion 700 comprising sixteen pixel positions arranged in a 4×4 grid. We may assume that the first user mentioned above has identified this image portion 700 because it shows sensitive information. Upon creation of an encryption channel, a key is generated as above. We may assume has the example value K0PQ74hU098.
[0117] FIG. 7B shows how encryption may be performed based on this key. At a first level, the key may be used to swap pixel information (i.e. pixel values) between pairs of pixels within the image portion. A plurality of unique swap lists 702 may be provided for use by a reversible transform (encryption algorithm) and the key may point to one of them, in this case a selected swap list 704. The swap lists 702 may be pre-provided or may be generated on the fly using the seed—in effect the seed transforms via a transform algorithm to a key which can be considered the unique swap list. A first part 710 of the swap list comprises different pairwise combinations of pixel positions within the at least one image portion for which respective pixel information will be swapped by the transform; the length of the pixel list will depend on the resolution and format of the image. The seed or key may for example be used to generate the swap positions. Here, a length sixteen swap list is used, but in some embodiments, the length of the swap list need not be the same as the number of pixels. For example, the swap list may comprise a greater number of pairwise positions to swap than the number of pixels, e.g. whereby a first pixel is swapped from position “1” to position “4” and then swapped again from position “4” to position “12”. The swap list length may for example be proportional to the pixel number, such as length of the image portion multiplied by width multiplied by an integer such as ten. The rationale here is that more swaps mean a more scrambled image. As mentioned, the process is reversible so long as the swap list can be identified. A second, optional, part 720 may modify color channel information for each pixel using respective change amounts for the different color channels, e.g. R, G, B. Again, the seed or key may be used to generate the different change amounts.
Further, as disclosed above, the generated key is obtained through a permission system. A user obtains a key discussed above, that’s had used at step 406 of Figure 4 as discussed above at paragraph 0093, to transform the obscured information back to its original form as discussed at in paragraph 0102 above and at step 408 of Figure 4 (see paragraphs 0103-0107). As disclosed, an obtained key necessarily points to the transform algorithm to decode the image data. Again, there is no disclosure where the key is obtained other than through the permission system and therefore, inherently links to the necessary transform.
Takatsuka discloses generating an encryption key. Takatsuka discloses the weakness utilizing a RNG algorithm for potential deciphering and replication of the encryption key. To overcome this weakness, Takatsuka discloses utilizing a photoelectric random number as the “seed frame” for the encryption key generation (p0102-0103 & p0141). Until this seed frame’s pixel values are used to affect pixel assignment at different positions, i.e., a pixel transposition function, the key is does nothing – it’s merely luminance values of a still image frame with no inherent functionality (p0102) until the electrical signal values of the “seed frame” are utilized as the function to shuffle the pixel positions, i.e., pixel transposition function (p0104). Takatsuka discloses where the encryption key must have the “seed frame” in which the photoelectric random number is obtained for subsequent pixel shuffling (p0103). Without this seed frame, the generation of the encryption key is not possible as disclosed (p0149). The encryption key is shown in Figure 2 of Takatsuka analogous to Figure 7C of the instant application. The instant application defines a key in paragraph 0059: “The key may be a received seed or may be generated based on a received seed” which is analogously taught by Takatsuka. Therefore, Takatsuka is found to teach the amended language as argued.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8, 11-16 and 19-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites “… wherein the key without the transform is inoperable to perform transposing … wherein the key without the decryption function is inoperable to perform the decryption.” There appears to be disclosure of a case where a generated key that corresponds to an encryption channel is so generated and not associated with a transposition function. There also appears to be no disclosure where the key performs any action, i.e., the pixel transposition function. The disclosure appears to only discuss where the key is utilized in some type transform which affects the pixel transpositions. Nothing in the paragraphs 0059-0061, from which the above limitation appears to have been taken from, discusses a case where the key is accomplishing any action, i.e., the transformation or transpositioning, as appears the intent of claim 1.
Independent claims 19 and 20 are similarly rejected as claim 1 above. Dependent claims 2-8, 11-16 and 21-23 are rejected for failing to remedy their respective independent claim.
Claims 1-8, 11-16 and 19-23 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “… generating a key … based on the key, generating a pixel transposition function … wherein the key without the transform is inoperable to perform transposing … wherein the key without the decryption function is inoperable to perform the decryption.” It is indefinite how the key is performing any function or inoperable to perform any function. The key is defined as a seed or is data generated based on the seed (specification paragraphs 0059 & 0093). It in itself is not disclosed as a function, transform or any other operable means to accomplish the claimed pixel transposition function in either the encryption or decryption actions. How is the key performing or not performing any transposing? For purposes of examination, the Examiner interprets the limitation to be intended to mean that a transposition function is inoperable without the key.
Independent claims 19 and 20 are similarly rejected as claim 1 above. Dependent claims 2-8, 11-16 and 21-23 are rejected for failing to remedy their respective independent claim.
Claims 1, 19 and 21 recite the limitation "the identified first portion." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Dependent claims 2-8, 11-16 and 21-23 are rejected for failing to remedy their respective independent claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 14 and 19-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takatsuka et al., (PCT/JP2020/002121 corresponding to WO 2020158540 published 6/8/2020).
NOTE: The Examiner has used US Pub No. 20220028302 to Takatsuka as an equivalent English translation
Claim 1: Takatsuka discloses a computer-implemented method [Abstract], wherein the method is performed using one or more processors, the method comprising:
identifying at least a first one portion of an original image to be obfuscated, the first portion of the original image comprising pixels [object region recognition unit 82 detects a region of an object which is a detection candidate in the frame of the image signal, p0086-0089];
generating an encryption channel corresponding to the identified first portion of the original image [encryption control unit 85 performs control such that the image signal obtained through imaging in the array sensor 2 is encrypted … an encryption key [i.e., channel] is generated, p0094 & p0104];
generating a key corresponding to the encryption channel [a frame image captured to obtain a photoelectric random number, in other words, a frame image which is an origin of the photoelectric random number, is referred to as a “seed frame” here, p0103-0104 & p0141];
based on the key, generating, a pixel transposition function that transposes first pixels within the first portion from first original pixel locations to first transposed pixel locations compared to the original image [a frame image captured to obtain a photoelectric random number, in other words, a frame image which is an origin of the photoelectric random number, is referred to as a “seed frame” here … an encryption key is generated [i.e., transposition function] in a format in which at least some of the values of the electrical signals of the pixels are assigned to pixel positions different from pixel positions at which the values of the electrical signals are obtained, p0102-0104 & p0141 – see definition of the key in specification para. 0059], wherein the key without the transform is inoperable to perform transposing [each pixel value (luminance value) of an image (a still image) obtained through imaging in the array sensor 2 is used as a photoelectric random number [e.g., seed frame], p0102-0104 & p0141 – claim interpretation above];
transposing the first pixels of the first portion to the first transposed pixel locations based on the transform to generate an updated image [encryption control unit 85 that generates an encryption key based on the photoelectric random number and causes the encryption unit to perform encryption based on the encryption key … the coefficient of each pixel based on the stored encryption key is set in each amplifier in the amplitude control circuit 10 (or 10A) and the encryption based on the encryption key stored in the image signal obtained through the imaging in the array sensor 2 is performed, p0130 & p0157];
storing relative changes, at each of the first original pixel locations, between the updated image and the original image [the calculation unit 8 performs the object detection or analysis process while decoding the encrypted image data stored in the memory 6 in the on-the-fly scheme, p0168 – the Examiner notes that Takatsuka does not explicitly disclose storing changes. However, the disclosed encrypted data would necessarily include such changes and is thus interpreted to adequately meet the limitation];
mapping the relative changes to the key [the coefficient of each pixel based on the stored encryption key is set in each amplifier in the amplitude control circuit 10 (or 10A) and the encryption based on the encryption key stored in the image signal obtained through the imaging in the array sensor 2 is performed … the encryption is performed at the time of the read signal, p0157 & p0168];
providing the key, or a link to the key, in an access profile for the identified at least one image portion [the image receiver side generates a public key and a private key and delivers the public key to a camera device 100 including the sensor device 1 … side of the camera device 100 acquiring the public key sets an encryption key generated based on the above-described photoelectric random number as a common key, encrypts the common key with the public key, and transmits the encrypted common key to the image receiver side, p0172-0173];
generating, based on the key, a decryption function [example of a scheme of securely delivering a decoding key to an image receiver side will be described with reference to FIG. 10. The scheme is a scheme of delivering a common key using encryption of a public key … camera device 100 acquiring the public key sets an encryption key generated based on the above-described photoelectric random number as a common key, encrypts the common key with the public key, and transmits the encrypted common key to the image receiver side … the image receiver side decodes the transmitted common key (a decoded key) using the private key generated in FIG. 10A … thereafter, the image receiver side can decode the encrypted moving-image data, p0171-0176], wherein the key without the decryption function is inoperable to perform the decryption [each pixel value (luminance value) of an image (a still image) obtained through imaging in the array sensor 2 is used as a photoelectric random number [e.g., seed frame], p0102-0104 & p0173 – claim interpretation above];
allocating permissions to one or more users for enabling the one or more users them to view the updated image based on one or more access permissions encoded at least one image portion, by use of the key, when viewing the updated image [the image receiver side [interpreted as allocating permission because the necessary information to decode the data is provided] decodes the transmitted common key (a decoded key) using the private key generated in FIG. 10A, p0173-0174];
and in response to a request to transform the updated image back to the original image, transforming the updated image based on the relative changes mapped to the key [the image receiver side can decode the encrypted moving-image data received from the camera device 100 using the decoded common key at a high speed … image data encrypted with the common key is decoded using the common key on the image receiver side, p0175].
Claim 2: Takatsuka discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the at first portion is a sub-portion of the original image [the object region recognition unit 82 performs a process of calculating a region of interest (ROI) which is region information indicating a processing target region (a region of interest) based on the bounding box, p0086-0089].
Claim 3: Takatsuka discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 2, comprising: identifying a plurality of sub-portions of the original image to be modified [as shown in at least Figures 11-13]; and for each sub-portion: modifying sub-portion pixels of the sub-portion using a different respective key [encryption based on an encryption key different between an entire image and a target region is performed. By performing encryption based on an encryption key different between a region of a specific portion and the other region of the target region, a concealing level of information is changed step by step separately in accordance with a decoding key retained on the image receiver side, p0180]; and storing the different respective key in a different respective access profile [By performing the foregoing stepwise encryption, it is possible to change the concealing level of information separately in accordance with the decoding key retained on the image receiver side [interpreted to be representative of some type access profile], p0199 – The Examiner notes that although Takatsuka does not explicitly disclose storing the key, in order for the key as disclosed to be provided to a receiver, its storage in some manner would necessarily be required].
Claim 4: Takatsuka discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein transposing the first pixels of the first portion comprises retaining pixel information of the first portion is retained within the reversibly transformed image [key as shown in Figure 2 … the calculation unit 8 performs the object detection or analysis process while decoding the encrypted image data stored in the memory … the image receiver side can decode the encrypted moving-image data received from the camera device 100 using the decoded common key, p0168, p0175].
Claim 5: Takatsuka discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 4, wherein the reversible transform corresponds to the pixel transposition function [an encryption key is generated in a format in which at least some of the values of the electrical signals of the pixels are assigned to pixel positions different from pixel positions at which the values of the electrical signals are obtained as shown in Figure 2, p0104].
Claim 6: Takatsuka discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 5, wherein the key maps to a swap list comprising a mapping among the first original pixel locations and the first transposed pixel locations [an encryption key is generated in a format in which at least some of the values of the electrical signals of the pixels are assigned to pixel positions different from pixel positions at which the values of the electrical signals are obtained as shown in Figure 2, p0104].
Claim 14: Takatsuka discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, performed by a computer system comprising the one or more processors, the method further comprising storing the original image on one or more memories of the computer system [When the still image capturing process is performed in step S101, image data is stored as the seed frame in the memory 6, p0141-0142] and deleting the original image after generating the updated image [the encryption unit erases an image signal which is an origin of the photoelectric random number from a memory in response to generation of the encryption key … the process proceeds to step S104 and the calculation unit 8 performs a process of erasing the seed frame, that is, a process of erasing the image data which is the seed frame stored in the memory 6, p0024 & p0146].
Claims 19 and 20: the medium comprising instructions and apparatus herein have been executed or performed by the method of claim 1 and are therefore likewise rejected.
Claim 21: Takatsuka discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1,
wherein the encryption channel comprises a first encryption channel, the key comprises a first key [without separately encrypting a target image based on the first, second, and third encryption keys, the target image is encrypted based on a combined key in which the plurality of encryption keys are combined, p0192 & 0196], the computer-implemented method further comprising:
identifying at least a second portion of the original image to be obfuscated [as shown in at least Figures 11-13];
generating a second encryption channel corresponding to the identified at least the second portion of the original image [the third encryption key for encrypting the specific region AT, the second encryption key for encrypting the entire region of the target region AT, and the first encryption key for encrypting the entire region of the image are each prepared … second encryption key is generated as an encryption key in which a numerical value of each pixel of the target region AT is extracted among numerical values of the second random number, p0193 & p0195];
generating a second key corresponding to the second encryption channel, wherein the second key comprises a second pixel transposition function that transposes second pixels within the second portion from second original pixel locations to second transposed pixel locations compared to the original image [the third encryption key for encrypting the specific region AT, the second encryption key for encrypting the entire region of the target region AT, and the first encryption key for encrypting the entire region of the image are each prepared. When the three kinds of encryption keys are generated, three kinds of photoelectric random numbers may be obtained (that is, three kinds of seed frames may be imaged). In this example, however, the three kinds of encryption keys are generated from a common photoelectric random number to shorten a time necessary to generate the encryption keys. Specifically, in this example, to generate the three kinds of encryption keys, three kinds of random numbers (referred to as first, second, and third random numbers) in which disposition of a numeral value of each pixel is different in the common photoelectric random number are generated … By performing the foregoing stepwise encryption, it is possible to change the concealing level of information separately in accordance with the decoding key retained on the image receiver side and as demonstrated in at least Figures 13 & 14, p0193, p0199 & p0201-0204], wherein the first key or the second key stores or encodes a sequential order of transposition based on the first portion and the second portion being at least partially overlapping [the third encryption key for encrypting the specific region AT, the second encryption key for encrypting the entire region of the target region AT, and the first encryption key for encrypting the entire region of the image are each prepared. When the three kinds of encryption keys are generated, three kinds of photoelectric random numbers may be obtained (that is, three kinds of seed frames may be imaged). In this example, however, the three kinds of encryption keys are generated from a common photoelectric random number to shorten a time necessary to generate the encryption keys. Specifically, in this example, to generate the three kinds of encryption keys, three kinds of random numbers (referred to as first, second, and third random numbers) in which disposition of a numeral value of each pixel is different in the common photoelectric random number are generated … By performing the foregoing stepwise encryption, it is possible to change the concealing level of information separately in accordance with the decoding key retained on the image receiver side, p0193, p0199 & p0201-0204]; and
transposing the second pixels of the second portion to the second transposed pixel locations based on the second key [as demonstrated in at least Figures 13 & 14].
Claim 22: Takatsuka discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 22, wherein the second portion is at least partially overlaid onto the first portion [as demonstrated in at least Figures 13 & 14], wherein the sequential order of transposition comprises the first pixel transposition function being performed prior to the second pixel transposition function in response to the second portion being at least partially overlaid onto the first portion [the third encryption key for encrypting the specific region AT, the second encryption key for encrypting the entire region of the target region AT, and the first encryption key for encrypting the entire region of the image are each prepared. When the three kinds of encryption keys are generated, three kinds of photoelectric random numbers may be obtained (that is, three kinds of seed frames may be imaged). In this example, however, the three kinds of encryption keys are generated from a common photoelectric random number to shorten a time necessary to generate the encryption keys. Specifically, in this example, to generate the three kinds of encryption keys, three kinds of random numbers (referred to as first, second, and third random numbers) in which disposition of a numeral value of each pixel is different in the common photoelectric random number are generated … By performing the foregoing stepwise encryption, it is possible to change the concealing level of information separately in accordance with the decoding key retained on the image receiver side, p0193, p0199 & p0201-0204].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7, 8 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takatsuka as applied above in view of Japanese Pub No. 2004529565.
Claim 7: Takatsuka discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 6, wherein the reversible transform modifies the first pixels by changing color channel information, wherein the relative changes comprise change amounts of color channel information to apply for each first original pixel location of the first original pixel locations [each pixel value (luminance value) of an image (a still image) obtained through imaging in the array sensor 2 is used as a photoelectric random number … the values of the electrical signals of the pixels are not used as an encryption key, but an encryption key is generated in a format in which at least some of the values of the electrical signals of the pixels are assigned to pixel positions different from pixel positions at which the values of the electrical signals are obtained, p0102-0104].
Takatsuka does not appear to disclose wherein the reversible transform modifies the first pixels by changing color channel information, wherein the relative changes comprise change amounts of color channel information to apply for each first original pixel location of the first original pixel locations.
JP2004529565 discloses in a related system from the same field of endeavor [Abstract] wherein the reversible transform modifies the first pixels by changing color channel information, wherein the relative changes comprise change amounts of color channel information to apply for each first original pixel location of the first original pixel locations [encryption apparatus and method for decomposing input information into basic elements of pixels, mapping the information into a gradation map, forming a puzzle, and changing the hue and position irregularly to perform multi-step encryption … the encryption / decryption device of the present invention is an encryption / decryption device using a basic element of a pixel, wherein input means for inputting information for encryption and encrypted information are provided; Security code input means for inputting the security code, and information for encryption inputted via the input means is decomposed into basic elements of pixels, and the positions of the basic elements of the decomposed pixels. Is changed using a random number map, and a multi-step encryption means for changing a hue of a basic element of a pixel using a gradation map to perform multi-step encryption and a security code for decryption are obtained, p0013 & p0024].
It would have been obvious to persons of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have included in Takatsuka the support wherein the reversible transform further modifies the pixels of the at least one image portion by changing color channel information, wherein the key maps to change amounts of color channel information to apply for each pixel position as taught by JP2004529565 because it provides a high security algorithm in the multi-stage encryption process for data security.
Claim 8: Takatsuka discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 7, wherein the swap list and the change amounts mapped to the key are different from other swap lists and other change amounts mapped to other keys [at least three kinds of encryption keys, a first encryption key corresponding to the encryption of the entire region of the image, a second encryption key corresponding to the encryption of only the target region AT, and a third encryption key corresponding to the encryption of only the specific region AS, are generated as the encryption keys, p0178 & p0190].
Takatsuka does not appear to disclose change amounts.
JP2004529565 discloses wherein the key maps to a swap list comprising (i) a unique pairwise combination of pixel positions and (ii) a unique set of change color change amounts to apply for each pixel position [decomposing input information into basic elements of pixels, mapping the information into a gradation map, forming a puzzle, and changing the hue and position irregularly to perform multi-step encryption, p0013 & p0108].
It would have been obvious to persons of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have included in Takatsuka the support wherein the key maps to a swap list comprising (i) a unique pairwise combination of pixel positions and (ii) a unique set of change color change amounts to apply for each pixel position as disclosed by JP2004529565 because it provides a high security algorithm in the multi-stage encryption process for data security.
Claim 23: the method herein has been executed or performed by the method of claim 7 and is therefore likewise rejected.
Claim(s) 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takatsuka as applied above in view of Balzer et al., (US Pub No. 20190377901).
Claim 11: Takatsuka discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1.
Takatsuka discloses utilizing an artificial intelligence processor [sensor device 1 includes units configured as an image sensor device, a memory device such as a dynamic random access memory (DRAM), and an artificial intelligence (AI) function processor as hardware … calculation unit 8 is configured as, for example, a single AI processor, p0066 & p0084].
Takatsuka does not appear to disclose inputting the original image to a machine-learned model trained to identify portions of images representing sensitive information, wherein the identified first portion is identified by the machine-learned model.
Balzer discloses in a related system from the same field of endeavor [Abstract] inputting the original image to a machine-learned model trained to identify portions of images representing sensitive information, wherein the identified first portion is identified by the machine-learned model [programs capable of processing still images and determining whether images that include personally identifiable information … e.g., faces can be matched against a database of known faces using machine learning or other means to find the person corresponding to the face, p0033-0035].
It would have been obvious to persons of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have included in Takatsuka to further support inputting the original image to a machine-learned model trained to identify portions of images representing sensitive information, wherein the identified first portion is identified by the machine-learned model as disclosed by Balzer because it could improve feature recognition for prevention of unauthorized access though obfuscating sensitive portions.
Claim 12: Takatsuka discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the access profile is stored as metadata associated with the original provided image [the interface unit 7 can output the analyzed result data as metadata of the encrypted moving-image data … By performing the foregoing stepwise encryption, it is possible to change the concealing level of information separately in accordance with the decoding key retained on the image receiver side [interpreted to be representative of some type access profile], p0166 & p0199 – The Examiner notes that although Takatsuka does not explicitly disclose storing the key, in order for the key as disclosed to be provided to a receiver, its storage in some manner would necessarily be required].
Takatsuka does not appear to disclose the access profile is stored as metadata associated with the original provided image.
Balzer discloses wherein the access profile is stored as metadata associated with the original provided image [an element of metadata is stored for each PII region, allowing different individuals to be stored in different parts of the image with retrieval corresponding to whether the user has authorization to view each individual in question … the metadata associated with the file may include information on the encrypted region, p0036].
It would have been obvious to persons of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have included in Takatsuka to further support the access profile is stored as metadata associated with the original provided image as disclosed by Balzer because it may allow authorized users to decrypt the region using the metadata associated with the file may include information on the encrypted region (for example, the coordinates of the top left and bottom right corners where the region is rectangular) and an identifier that can be sent to the server 104 for requesting access as discussed by Balzer in at least paragraph 0036.
Claim 13: Takatsuka in view of Balzer discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 12.
Takatsuka appears to fail to disclose wherein the metadata comprises an indication of the key, or a link to the key, and location information for the at least one image portion modified by the key.
Balzer discloses wherein the metadata comprises an indication of the key, or a link to the key, and location information for the first portion modified by the key [the metadata associated with the file may include information on the encrypted region (for example, the coordinates of the top left and bottom right corners where the region is rectangular) and an identifier that can be sent to the server 104, p0036 & p0038-0039].
It would have been obvious to persons of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have included in Takatuska in view of Balzer to further support wherein the metadata comprises an indication of the key, or a link to the key, and location information for the first portion modified by the key as disclosed by Balzer because it may allow authorized users to decrypt the region using the metadata associated with the file may include information on the encrypted region (for example, the coordinates of the top left and bottom right corners where the region is rectangular) and an identifier that can be sent to the server 104 for requesting access as discussed by Balzer in at least paragraph 0036.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takatsuka as applied above in view of Galligan et al., (US Pub No. 20210126774).
Claim 15: Takatsuka discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, providing the updated image for display to a requesting user; receiving selection of the first portion by the requesting user; determining, based on the allocated permissions, that the requesting user [e.g., receiver] is permitted to access the key for the selected first portion; accessing the key in the access profile for the selected first portion; and reversing the modification of pixels of the selected first portion using the accessed key [securely delivering a decoding key to an image receiver side … the image receiver side can decode the encrypted moving-image data received from the camera device 100 using the decoded common key, p0171-0175 & p0201-0204].
Takatsuka does not appear to disclose providing the updated image for display to a requesting user; receiving selection of the first portion by the requesting user.
Galligan discloses in a related system from a related field of endeavor [Abstract] providing the updated image for display to a requesting user [user 502 open updated encrypted data file 154 by way of an application, wherein updated encrypted data file 154 is displayed on a display as image 320 having data fields 318, 310 and 322, p0061]; receiving selection of the first portion by the requesting user [the encryption component within user workstation 504 may instruct the display to display prompt asking user 502 if either or both of data field 318 and data field 322 should be decrypted, p0062]; determining, based on the allocated permissions, that the requesting user is permitted to access the key for the selected first portion [Should the user choose to decrypt either or both of data field 318 and data field 322, encryption component within user workstation 504 would send the corresponding key identifiers to OB encryption component 506, p0063]; accessing the key in the access profile for the selected first portion [OB encryption component 506 would then check to see if it has stored therein, the keys identified by the key identifiers provided by workstation 504 by way of a protocol communication … e.g., user 502 is a human resource employee that has privileges to view the data in encrypted data field 318, but does not have privileges to view the data in encrypted data field 322, p0063-0064]; and reversing the modification of pixels of the selected first portion using the accessed key [OB encryption component 506 then decrypts the data of encrypted data field 318 and provides the decrypted data to user workstation 504, p0065].
It would have been obvious to persons of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have included in Takatsuka the support for providing the updated image for display to a requesting user; receiving selection of the first portion by the requesting user and to further include determining, based on the allocated permissions, that the requesting user is permitted to access the key for the selected first portion; accessing the key in the access profile for the selected first portion; and reversing the modification of pixels of the selected first portion using the accessed key as disclosed by Galligan because it allows a user viewing an encrypted image to selective regions of interest to decrypt as needed thereby maintaining its security.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takatsuka as applied above in view of Galligan et al., (US Pub No. 20210126774) and in further view of Hinckley et al., (US Pub No. 20120240043).
Claim 16: Takatsuka in view of Galligan discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 15.
Neither Takatsuka nor Galligan appear to disclose wherein selection of the first portion is received at least by means of hovering a movable pointer over the first portion.
Hinckley discloses in a related user interface system [Abstract] where it is known that selection of the at least one image portion is received at least by means of hovering a movable pointer over the at least one image portion [the interface component 102 can obtain input information signifying that the user is hovering over an element of the search panel. The resolution component 406 can settle the apparent conflict by suggesting a subset of the tip collection associated with the search panel and, in particular, the subset can include tips relevant to the portion of the search panel occupying the user's focus, p0038].
It would have been obvious to persons of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have included in Takatsuka in view of Galligan the support wherein selection of the at least one image portion is received at least by means of hovering a movable pointer over the at least one image portion as disclosed by Hinckley because it assist the user in their possible selection as further discussed by Hinckley in paragraph 0042.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Boult, US Pub No.20080267403, discloses enhancing privacy and security by determining parts of a data stream that should not be publicly available and doing in-place encryption of that data while leaving the remaining data unencrypted for direct usage in security and where protected data, and any necessary keys, can then be supplied to a separate recovery program to decrypt the protected region.
/BARBARA D REINIER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2682