DETAILED ACTION
This communication is an office action on the merits. Claims 1-22, as filed are currently pending and have been considered below.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the spring fingers being able to maintain spring engagement must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). The structure of the spring fingers is not shown in a manner that would indicate these fingers to exhibit any elasticity or springiness. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 3 objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 3, line 2 the phrase “as the tub is inserted into the rib” should be deleted.
In claim 17, line 9, the term “tab” should be replaced by --wings--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims are 17-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 17-22, in Claim 17, second to last line, wherein the tub is inserted into a rib appears to be misdescriptive since the blade instead appears to be inserted into the tub. Claims 18-22 depending from claim 17 inherit these issues under 112.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, 10-15 and 17-20 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Okada (US 4,865,505).
Regarding claim 1, Okada discloses an apparatus comprising:
a single piece tub (3) engages and is secured to a slot (5) in a chassis (4), comprising:
at least two wings (13) having a top portion (Fig. 2A shows wherein the portion from which wings 13 emerge from the sidewalls of the tub form a top portion) and a bottom portion (13a), wherein the at least two wings are attached to the tub along a top portion of each of the wings (Fig. 2A as shown), on opposite sides of the tub, wherein the bottom portions of the wings engage the chassis to secure the tub to the slot (Fig. 3A as shown), and
at least two hooks (9) on opposite sides of the tub located on a different axis laterally to the wings wherein the wings are configured to bend in response to the tub being inserted into the slot (Column 3, lines 39-47 describe wherein the legs 13 are elastic and engage with the sides of the hole, Fig. 3A shows wherein the legs 13 are dimensioned such that they are bent as the tub is inserted into the hole), wherein a rib (2) has tabs (6) with outside edges to engage the hooks (Fig. 3B as shown).
Regarding claims 2, 11 and 18, Okada further discloses wherein each of the tabs on the rib is tapered to form tapered tabs (Fig. 1 and 3B show wherein the tabs narrow in width from the centerline towards the U-shaped base of the rib 2), and at the end of each tab a retention notch engages the hook on the tub (Fig. 3B shows a bent end portion of the tabs forms a notch that is engaged with the hooks 9).
Regarding claims 3, 12 and 19, Okada further discloses wherein as the tub is inserted into the rib the hooks on the tub slide along the tabs in an X direction and snap on each side to engage the retention notch (Fig. 3b as shown) on the rib (the device shown in Figs. 1-3B operates as herein described).
Regarding claim 4, Okada further discloses wherein the tub further comprises a pair of feet (end surfaces of 10) correspondingly coupled to a pair of legs at the ends of the pair of legs (10) opposite the top portion.
Regarding claims 5 and 13, Okada further discloses wherein the fastener clip is configured to couple the chassis to the panel based at least upon the fastener being configured to be secured to the rib and to the slot in the chassis (Fig. 3B as shown).
Regarding claim 6, Okada further discloses wherein the rib comprises one or more flanges that are configured to add rigidity to the rib, and wherein the flanges are configured to guide the clip onto the rib (as noted above this limitation regarding the structure of the rib is considered intended use).
Regarding claims 7, 14 and 20, Okada further discloses wherein the wings are configured to move in a Z direction substantially independently from sides of the tub (the structure of the wings as shown in Fig. 2A would behave in this claimed manner and move in a direction that can be described as a Z direction).
Regarding claims 8 and 15, Okada further discloses wherein the wings are configured to bend in response to the tub being inserted into the slot and to then bend back to original positions of the wings (the structure of the wings as shown in Figs. 2A and 3A would behave in this claimed manner).
Regarding claim 10, Okada discloses an apparatus comprising:
a chassis (4) comprising a slot (5);
a panel (1) comprising a rib (1a, 2);
a fastener clip comprising:
a single piece tub (3) configured to engage and be secured to the slot (5) in the chassis (4, Figs. 3A-3B), wherein the tub is configured to be secured to the slot based at least the tub comprising:
at least two wings (13) attached to the tub along a top portion of each of the wings on opposite sides of the tub (Fig. 2A shows wherein the portion from which wings 13 emerge from the sidewalls of the tub form a top portion), wherein bottom portions (13A) of the wings engage the chassis to secure the tub to the slot (Fig. 3A shows the top of the wings are engaged with the edges of the slot), and
at least two hooks (9) on opposite sides the tub located on a different axis laterally to the wings wherein the wings are configured to bend in response to the tub being inserted into the slot (Column 3, lines 39-47 describe wherein the legs 13 are elastic and engage with the sides of the hole, Fig. 3A shows wherein the legs 13 are dimensioned such that they are bent as the tub is inserted into the hole), wherein a rib has tabs (6) with outside edges to engage the hooks (Fig. 3B as shown);
wherein the fastener clip engages the panel to the slot in the chassis (Figs. 3A-3B as shown).
Regarding claim 17, Okada discloses an apparatus comprising:
a single piece tub (3) configured to engage and be secured to a slot in a chassis (Figs. 3A-3B), wherein the tub is configured to be secured to the slot based at least the tub comprising:
a front wing (13) on a front side (Fig. 2A as shown);
a back wing (13) on a back side (Fig. 2A as shown);
wherein the front wing and back wings are configured to bend in response to the tub being inserted into the slot (Column 3, lines 39-47 describe wherein the legs 13 are elastic and engage with the sides of the hole, Fig. 3A shows wherein the legs 13 are dimensioned such that they are bent as the tub is inserted into the hole), wherein bottom portions of the tabs engage the chassis to secure the tub to the slot (as best understood the usage of the term “tab” in claim 17 is in reference to end surfaces of the wings),
a left hook (9) on a left side;
a right hook (9) on a right side;
wherein the tub being inserted into a blade having a right tab (6) to engage the right hook and a left tab (6) to engage the left hook.
Regarding claim 22, wherein the front side and the back side, are perpendicular to, the left side and the right side, such that the front wing and the back wing move in an x direction along an x axis and the right hook and the left hook move in a z direction along a z axis (Figs. 2A and 2B as shown).
Claim(s) 1, 2, 9, 10, 16, 17 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ikeda et al. (US 7,374,200).
Regarding claim 1, Ikeda et al. disclose an apparatus comprising:
a single piece tub (30a) engages and is secured to a slot (2a) in a chassis (2), comprising:
at least two wings (41) having a top portion (Fig. 7 as shown) and a bottom portion (41a), wherein the at least two wings are attached to the tub along a top portion of each of the wings (Figs. 6 and 7 as shown), on opposite sides of the tub, wherein the bottom portions of the wings engage the chassis to secure the tub to the slot (Figs. 16A-17 as shown), and
at least two hooks (35) on opposite sides of the tub located on a different axis laterally to the wings wherein the wings are configured to bend in response to the tub being inserted into the slot, wherein a rib (59) has tabs (protrusions above areas 60 shown in Fig. 12) with outside edges to engage the hooks (Fig. 18 as shown).
Regarding claim 2, Ikeda et al. further discloses wherein each of the tabs on the rib is tapered to form tapered tabs (Fig. 12 shows wherein the protrusions are tapered), and at the end of each tab a retention notch (60) engages the hook on the tub (inset of Fig. 18 as shown).
Regarding claim 9, Ikeda et al. further discloses wherein the wings on the tub are connected by a bridge (32), the bridge further comprising at least one spring finger (34a) where as the tub engages the rib, the spring finger engages a top portion (57a) of the rib to maintain spring engagement.
Regarding claim 10, Ikeda et al. disclose an apparatus comprising:
a chassis (2) comprising a slot (2a);
a panel (56) comprising a rib (59);
a fastener clip comprising:
a single piece tub (30a) configured to engage and be secured to the slot in the chassis (Fig. 3 as shown), wherein the tub is configured to be secured to the slot based at least the tub comprising:
at least two wings (41) attached to the tub along a top portion of each of the wings on opposite sides of the tub (Fig. 7 as shown), wherein bottom portions (41A) of the wings engage the chassis to secure the tub to the slot (Figs. 16A-17 as shown), and
at least two hooks (35) on opposite sides the tub located on a different axis laterally to the wings wherein the wings are configured to bend in response to the tub being inserted into the slot, wherein a rib has tabs (60) with outside edges to engage the hooks (Fig. 18 as shown);
wherein the fastener clip engages the panel to the slot in the chassis (Figs. 3 as shown).
Regarding claim 16, Ikeda et al. further discloses wherein the wings on the tub are connected by a bridge (32), the bridge further comprising at least one spring finger (34a) where as the tub engages the rib, the spring finger engages a top portion (57a) of the rib to maintain spring engagement.
Regarding claim 17, Ikeda et al. discloses an apparatus comprising:
a single piece tub (30a) configured to engage and be secured to a slot in a chassis (Figs. 3 as shown), wherein the tub is configured to be secured to the slot based at least the tub comprising:
a front wing (41) on a front side (Figs. 16A-16C as shown);
a back wing (41) on a back side (Figs. 16A-16C as shown);
wherein the front wing and back wings are configured to bend in response to the tub being inserted into the slot (Figs. 15A-16C as shown), wherein bottom portions of the tabs engage the chassis to secure the tub to the slot,
a left hook (35) on a left side;
a right hook (35) on a right side;
wherein the tub being inserted into a blade having a right tab to engage the right hook and a left tab to engage the left hook (Figs. 15A-16C as shown).
Regarding claim 21, Ikeda et al. further discloses wherein the wings on the tub are connected by a bridge (32), the bridge further comprising at least one spring finger (34a) where as the tub engages the rib, the spring finger engages a top portion (57a) of the rib to maintain spring engagement.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 27 October 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Drawing Objections: Applicant remarks about the spring fingers are noted. While the figures may show two states of the fingers the actual mechanism is not clear. Applicant notes Fig. 28 as being a depiction of the spring fingers in a compressed state. However, Fig. 25 appears to also be an equivalent depiction of the blade being fully inserted into the tub. However, a comparison of Fig. 25 (with blade fully engaged) and Fig. 26 (without the blade) appears to reveal no difference in the state of the fingers. The actual manner in which the spring fingers are attached within the tub is not clear. They might be hinged. They might be attached along three sides of the tub and flex like a thin membrane. No clear depiction or descriptions of the fingers is provided.
Rejections under 35 USC § 112: The term “inserted” implies placement within the interior of another object. As currently used in claim 17 the originally noted issued persists and have not been sufficiently addressed.
Rejections under 35 USC § 102:
Applicant has argued the hooks (9) mapped from Okada engage a spring member and not a rib. However, as noted above, the spring member (2) reads upon on all the claimed limitations of the rib. Applicant has further argued that Okada does not disclose the hooks and wings are on a different axis from each other. However, the hooks (9) and wings (13) on the tub appear to be on a different axis from each other in the same manner as Applicant’s hooks and wings shown in Fig. 25.
Applicant has further argued Ikeda et al. and the usage of the claim term “engages”. Applicant cites scraping is avoided in Ikeda et al. However, “engaging” does not directly suggest the parts are in direct contact with each other. The closest dictionary definition to Applicant’s implied meaning within the arguments provided by Merriam Webster is “to come together and interlock”. This appears to be met by the arrangement shown in Figs. 33A and 33B.
Applicant further provides arguments to whether Ikeda et al. also discloses a different axis between the wings and hooks. Fig. 4 of Ikeda et al. appears to show precisely the claimed relationship. Instead, Applicant somehow argues that if 35 and 34 are orthogonal then 41 can not be orthogonal to 35. This logic does not appear to make sense in light of the clear positioning of 41 and 35 being orthogonal as shown in Fig. 4 of Ikeda et al. 34 being orthogonal to 35 does not limit 41 being orthogonal from 35. Applicant appears to imply Ikeda requires 41 is orthogonal to 34 but provides no evidence of this teaching. Furthermore, Examiner notes, being on a different axis is not equate to being orthogonal as Applicant appears to be implying.
Applicant’s comments are not persuasive.
Conclusion
/M.S.L/Examiner, Art Unit 3677
/JASON W SAN/ SPE, Art Unit 3677