DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/2/23, 3/22/23, 10/18/23, 9/12/24, and 5/15/25 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, and 8-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh et al. (US 2017/0012311) in view of Larsson Anders et al. (SE 2150777).
Regarding claim 1,
Oh discloses (Fig. 3):
An energy management system for a vehicle (Fig. 3), comprising: a fuel cell system (Fig. 3, all elements) having at least one fuel cell (10, 12) with an anode side (10) and a cathode side (12, ¶0037-¶0038), an air inlet conduit (32, 34) connected to an inlet end of the cathode side (12) for supplying air to the cathode side of the at least one fuel cell (10, 12, ¶0038), and further having an air compressor (32) arrangement disposed in the air inlet conduit (input to 12) and in fluid communication with the cathode side (¶0038);
the controllable valve assembly (34) being arranged and configured to control supply of compressed air from the air compressor arrangement (32) to any one of the at least one fuel cell (10, 12)
and a second fluid conduit (12, 34, 28, 30, 36),
and the at least one fuel cell (10, 12) by operating the air compressor arrangement (32)
They do not disclose:
an air-cooled brake resistor in fluid communication with the air compressor arrangement; and a control system in communication with the air compressor arrangement and further in communication with a controllable valve assembly,
the controllable valve assembly being arranged and configured to control supply of compressed air from the air compressor arrangement to any one of the air-cooled brake resistor via a first fluid conduit
respectively; wherein the control system is configured to control distribution of compressed air to any one of the air-cooled brake resistor by operating the air compressor arrangement and controlling the controllable valve assembly responsive to a need for dissipating energy.
However, Larsson teaches (Fig. 2):
an air-cooled brake resistor (Fig. 2, 14) in fluid communication with the air compressor arrangement (20, Pg. 8:21-31 ); and a control system in communication with the air compressor arrangement (20) and further in communication with a controllable valve assembly (23, pg. 11:11-25),
and the controllable valve assembly (23, pg. 11:11-25) being arranged and configured to control supply of compressed air from the air compressor arrangement (20) to any one of the air-cooled brake resistor (14) via a first fluid conduit (22, pg. 8, 21-32)
respectively; wherein the control system is configured to control distribution of compressed air to any one of the air-cooled brake resistor (14, pg. 8, 21-32)
and controlling the controllable valve assembly (23) responsive to a need for dissipating energy (pg. 8, 13-30).
Regarding claim 1, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the fuel cell management system from Oh that uses a compressor to deliver air to the fuel cell for energy production (¶0038) and take the valve and air cooled resistor brake and add it to the exhaust line of the fuel cell in order to cool a brake resistor for slowing down a motor when electrical energy needs to be consumed as taught by Larsson (pg 10. 21-pg. 11:2). This would simplify the invention where a fuel cell vehicle could use the compressor for both cooling the resistor and operating the fuel cell which would reduce costs.
Regarding claim 2,
Oh discloses (Fig. 3):
and the at least one fuel cell (10, 12)
They do not disclose:
, wherein the control system is configured to control distribution of compressed air to any one of the air-cooled brake resistor
by controlling the controllable valve assembly in response to a control signal containing data indicative of a need for dissipating energy due to a braking demand of the vehicle.
However, Larsson teaches (Fig. 2):
,wherein the control system is configured to control distribution of compressed air to any one of the air-cooled brake resistor (14, pg. 8, 21-32)
by controlling the controllable valve (23) assembly in response to a control signal containing data indicative of a need for dissipating energy due to a braking demand of the vehicle (Pg. 10:21-31).
Regarding claim 2, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the fuel cell management system from Oh that uses a compressor to deliver air to the fuel cell for energy production (¶0038) and take the valve and air cooled resistor brake and add it to the exhaust line of the fuel cell in order to cool a brake resistor for slowing down a motor when electrical energy needs to be consumed as taught by Larsson (pg 10. 21-pg. 11:2). This would simplify the invention where a fuel cell vehicle could use the compressor for both cooling the resistor and operating the fuel cell which would reduce costs.
Regarding claim 3,
Oh discloses the above elements from claim 2.
They do not disclose:
, wherein the control system is configured to determine the need for dissipating energy due to the braking demand of the vehicle by determining an amount of possible energy from a regenerative braking event of the vehicle
However, Larsson teaches (Fig. 2):
wherein the control system is configured to determine the need for dissipating energy due to the braking demand of the vehicle by determining an amount of possible energy from a regenerative braking event of the vehicle (pg. 11:26-30)
Regarding claim 3, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the fuel cell management system from Oh that uses a compressor to deliver air to the fuel cell for energy production (¶0038) and take the valve and air cooled resistor brake and add it to the exhaust line of the fuel cell in order to cool a brake resistor for slowing down a motor when electrical energy needs to be consumed as taught by Larsson (pg 10. 21-pg. 11:2). This would simplify the invention where a fuel cell vehicle could use the compressor for both cooling the resistor and operating the fuel cell which would reduce costs.
Regarding claim 4,
Oh discloses (Fig. 3):
and the at least one fuel cell (10, 12) by controlling the controllable valve (Fig. 3, 34) assembly in response to a control signal further containing data indicative of a fuel cell system load (¶0038).
They do not disclose:
wherein the control system is configured to control distribution of compressed air to any one of the air-cooled brake resistor
However, Larsson teaches (Fig. 2):
wherein the control system is configured to control distribution of compressed air to any one of the air-cooled brake resistor (14, pg. 8, 21-32)
Regarding claim 4, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the fuel cell management system from Oh that uses a compressor to deliver air to the fuel cell for energy production (¶0038) and take the valve and air cooled resistor brake and add it to the exhaust line of the fuel cell in order to cool a brake resistor for slowing down a motor when electrical energy needs to be consumed as taught by Larsson (pg 10. 21-pg. 11:2). This would simplify the invention where a fuel cell vehicle could use the compressor for both cooling the resistor and operating the fuel cell which would reduce costs.
Regarding claim 5,
Oh discloses (Fig. 3):
and to control the controllable valve assembly (34) to vary the level of distribution of compressed air to the at least one fuel cell in response to a change in the fuel cell system load (Fig. 4, ¶0038-¶0040).
They do not disclose:
wherein the control system is configured to control the controllable valve assembly to direct compressed air to the air-cooled brake resistor in response to the need for dissipating energy
However, Larsson teaches (Fig. 2):
wherein the control system is configured to control the controllable valve assembly (Fig. 2, 23) to direct compressed air to the air-cooled brake resistor (14) in response to the need for dissipating energy (pg. 11, 26-30)
Regarding claim 5, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the fuel cell management system from Oh that uses a compressor to deliver air to the fuel cell for energy production (¶0038) and take the valve and air cooled resistor brake and add it to the exhaust line of the fuel cell in order to cool a brake resistor for slowing down a motor when electrical energy needs to be consumed as taught by Larsson (pg 10. 21-pg. 11:2). This would simplify the invention where a fuel cell vehicle could use the compressor for both cooling the resistor and operating the fuel cell which would reduce costs.
Regarding claim 6,
Oh discloses (Fig. 3):
wherein the control system is configured to prioritize distributing compressed air to the at least one fuel cell on the basis of the data indicating the fuel cell system load (Fig. 4, ¶0038-¶0040).
Regarding claim 8,
Oh discloses the above elements from claim 1.
They do not disclose:
wherein the control system is configured to determine a maximum operational state of the air compressor arrangement and control the controllable valve assembly to limit the distribution of compressed air to the air-cooled brake resistor if the air compressor arrangement reaches its maximum operational state.
However, Larsson teaches (Fig. 2):
wherein the control system is configured to determine a maximum operational state of the air compressor arrangement and control the controllable valve assembly to limit the distribution of compressed air to the air-cooled brake resistor if the air compressor arrangement reaches its maximum operational state (pg. 11:3-25).
Regarding claim 8, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the fuel cell management system from Oh that uses a compressor to deliver air to the fuel cell for energy production (¶0038) and take the valve and air cooled resistor brake and add it to the exhaust line of the fuel cell in order to cool a brake resistor for slowing down a motor when electrical energy needs to be consumed as taught by Larsson (pg 10. 21-pg. 11:2). This would simplify the invention where a fuel cell vehicle could use the compressor for both cooling the resistor and operating the fuel cell which would reduce costs.
Regarding claim 9,
Oh discloses (fig. 3):
wherein the control system is configured to deactivate the air compressor arrangement (fig. 3, 32)
no fuel cell system load (¶0038-¶0040).
They do not disclose:
in response to a non-braking demand
However, Larsson teaches (Fig. 2):
in response to a non-braking demand (pg. when either not braking or not needing to consume energy, pg. 10:5-20)
Regarding claim 9, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the fuel cell management system from Oh that uses a compressor to deliver air to the fuel cell for energy production (¶0038) and take the valve and air cooled resistor brake and add it to the exhaust line of the fuel cell in order to cool a brake resistor for slowing down a motor when electrical energy needs to be consumed as taught by Larsson (pg 10. 21-pg. 11:2). This would simplify the invention where a fuel cell vehicle could use the compressor for both cooling the resistor and operating the fuel cell which would reduce costs.
Regarding claim 10,
Oh discloses (fig. 3):
the at least one fuel cell (10, 12)
They do not disclose:
wherein the control system is configured to control distribution of compressed air to any one of the air-cooled brake resistor
by operating the air compressor arrangement and controlling the controllable valve assembly responsive to the need for dissipating energy and when the vehicle is at stand-still
However, Larsson teaches (Fig. 2):
wherein the control system is configured to control distribution of compressed air to any one of the air-cooled brake resistor (14, pg. 8, 21-32)
by operating the air compressor arrangement and controlling the controllable valve assembly responsive to the need for dissipating energy and when the vehicle is at stand-still (pg. 11:3-10, can be operated separately).
Regarding claim 10, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the fuel cell management system from Oh that uses a compressor to deliver air to the fuel cell for energy production (¶0038) and take the valve and air cooled resistor brake and add it to the exhaust line of the fuel cell in order to cool a brake resistor for slowing down a motor when electrical energy needs to be consumed as taught by Larsson (pg 10. 21-pg. 11:2). This would simplify the invention where a fuel cell vehicle could use the compressor for both cooling the resistor and operating the fuel cell which would reduce costs.
Regarding claim 11,
Oh discloses (fig. 3):
wherein the controllable valve assembly comprises a set of individual flow control valves (Fig. 3, 34, 36, 30), each one of the individual flow control valves being configured to regulate any one of a flow rate and pressure of the compressed air being supplied from the air compressor arrangement (¶0038).
Regarding claim 12,
Oh discloses (fig. 3):
wherein one of the individual flow control valves is disposed in the first fluid conduit (34) and arranged to regulate the flow rate or pressure of the compressed air to the at least one fuel cell (¶0038).
Regarding claim 13,
Oh discloses (fig. 3):
wherein one of the individual flow control valves is disposed in the second fluid conduit (fig. 2, 23) and arranged to regulate the flow rate or pressure of compressed air to the air-cooled brake resistor (14, pg. 8, 21-32).
Regarding claim 14,
Oh discloses (fig. 3):
wherein the controllable valve assembly is a three-way flow control valve device (Fig. 3, exhaust valve is 3 way).
Regarding claim 15,
Oh discloses (fig. 3):
A vehicle (¶0005) comprising the energy management system of claim 1.
Regarding claim 16,
Oh discloses (Fig. 3):
A method for controlling an energy management system of a vehicle, the energy management system comprising: a fuel cell system (Fig. 3, all elements) having at least one fuel cell (10, 12) with an anode side (10), an air compressor arrangement (32) in fluid communication with the cathode side (12) via a first fluid conduit (32, 34, ¶0038);
the at least one fuel cell (10, 12)
via the first fluid conduit (32, 34, ¶0038)
the at least one fuel cell (10, 12)
They do not disclose:
an air-cooled brake resistor in fluid communication with the air compressor arrangement via a second fluid conduit; and a control system having a controller in communication with the air compressor arrangement and further in communication with a controllable valve assembly for controlling supply of compressed air from the air compressor arrangement to any one of the air-cooled brake resistor via a second fluid conduit
the method comprising: receiving a control signal containing data indicative of need for dissipating energy; and in response to the received control signal, controlling distribution of compressed air to any one of the air-cooled brake resistor and
by controlling the air compressor arrangement and the controllable valve assembly.
However, Larsson teaches (Fig. 2):
an air-cooled brake resistor (Fig. 2, 14) in fluid communication with the air compressor arrangement (20, Pg. 8:21-31 ) via a second fluid conduit (22, pg. 8, 21-32) ; and a control system (30) having a controller in communication with the air compressor arrangement (20, Pg. 8:21-31 ) and further in communication with a controllable valve assembly (23, pg. 11:11-25), for controlling supply of compressed air from the air compressor arrangement (20) to any one of the air-cooled brake resistor (14) and a second fluid conduit (22, pg. 8, 21-32), respectively; he method comprising: receiving a control signal containing data indicative of need for dissipating energy; and in response to the received control signal, controlling distribution of compressed air to any one of the air-cooled brake resistor (14, Pg. 8:21-31 ) and by controlling the air compressor arrangement and the controllable valve assembly (pg. 8, 13-30).
Regarding claim 16, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the fuel cell management system from Oh that uses a compressor to deliver air to the fuel cell for energy production (¶0038) and take the valve and air cooled resistor brake and add it to the exhaust line of the fuel cell in order to cool a brake resistor for slowing down a motor when electrical energy needs to be consumed as taught by Larsson (pg 10. 21-pg. 11:2). This would simplify the invention where a fuel cell vehicle could use the compressor for both cooling the resistor and operating the fuel cell which would reduce costs.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zondler (US 11,949,132) – fuel cell system with compressor
/C.S.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2846 /KAWING CHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2846