DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This action is responsive to the amendments filed 03/02/2026. Claims 1-11, 13, 15-21 are pending in this application. As directed, claims 1-2, 4-5, 7, 10-11, 13, 15-16 have been amended; claims 12 and 14 cancelled; claim 21 have been newly added.
With respect to Claim Objections: Applicant’s amendments to the Claims have overcome the Claim Objections set forth in the Non-Final Office Action dated 01/14/2026.
With respect to 35 U.S.C. 112 Claim Rejections: Applicant’s amendments to the Claims have overcome the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) Claim Rejections set forth in the Non-Final Office Action dated 01/14/2026, except the limitation “further comprising: the sensor” as recited in claim 17; furthermore, Applicant’s amendments to the Claims filed 03/02/2026 have created another 35 U.S.C. 112(b) Claim Rejections, see details in the 35 U.S.C. 112 Claim Rejections section below.
Response to Arguments
With respect to 35 U.S.C. 102 & 103 Claim Rejections: Applicant(s)’ arguments filed 03/02/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for the following reasons:
Applicant(s)’ Arguments: (Regarding the independent claims 1 and 5 – see details on pages 12-15 of the Remarks dated 03/02/2026)
Applicant alleged that the prior art on record Clothier (U.S. Pub. No. 2005/0247696 A1) does not disclose the newly added limitations: “using the event detection signal to monitor execution of a cooking recipe by determining that the one or more food items have been inserted into or manipulated within the item of cookware” as recited in the independent claim 1, and “use the event detection signal to monitor execution of a cooking recipe by determining that the one or more food items have been inserted into or manipulated within the item of cookware” as recited in the independent claim 5. Specifically, Applicant alleged that Clothier has no concept of a recipe, and that detecting that water has boiled is not the same as monitoring execution of a cooking recipe by determining that food has been inserted or manipulated – see details on pages 12-15 of the Remarks dated 03/02/2026.
Examiner’s Response:
In response to Applicant’s arguments that Clothier does not disclose the newly added limitations: “using the event detection signal to monitor execution of a cooking recipe by determining that the one or more food items have been inserted into or manipulated within the item of cookware” as recited in the independent claim 1, Examiner respectfully disagrees because it is noted that the limitation “inserted into or manipulated within the item of cookware” is in alternative form; therefore, only one of these was required during examination; in this case, Clothier discloses using the event detection signal to monitor execution of a cooking recipe by determining that the water have been manipulated within the item of cookware. Applicant’s arguments that “detecting that water has boiled is not the same as monitoring execution of a cooking recipe by determining that food has been inserted or manipulated” is not persuasive because the claims do not require the “food” or “food item(s)” to be a solid ingredient, and the claimed “manipulated” language is broad and does not require explicit recognition of a utensil or a user physically flipping a food item. In this case, a food item can be a liquid. From a nutritional and practical standpoint, any substance consumed to provide nutritional support or hydration, such as water, milk, soup, broth, or juice, is classified as a food. Under the ordinary and customary meaning of the term, heating or boiling water used in culinary preparation reasonably constitutes manipulation or processing of a food-related item. Applying heat to water changes its physical condition and temperature for preparation of a consumable product. The prior art Clothier repeatedly measures vessel temperature over time and analyzes the temperature versus time behavior to determine when the contents within the vessel undergo a physical state transition associated with boiling and convection activity. Clothier explains that the “pre-boil inflection point” corresponds to the pan temperature at the time when full convection of the liquid within the pan begins, and that above this point “the liquid within the pan becomes a significant energy sink due to convective activity”, as indicated by Clothier Par.0037. Thus, the system determines that the contents of the vessel have been manipulated by the cooking process itself, because the liquid/food item undergoes measurable cooking-related physical changes, including: initiation of convection, transition to boiling behavior, vapor generation, changes in heat transfer characteristics, and changes in slope behavior of the temperature curve. In this case, the claim does not require “manipulated” includes manual stirring, cutting, or direct user handling of the food item. Heating the contents such that the contents transition from a non-boiling state to a boiling/convection state constitutes manipulation of the food item by the cooking process. Water is a food item or cooking ingredient being processed within the vessel. Clothier explicitly states that “A pan or other cooking vessel 12 is first filled with water or other liquid or liquid/food mixture and placed on the cooking device 10” in Par.0050. Furthermore, Clothier discloses the system as cooking control and recipe rather than mere temperature sensing because Clothier discloses “Food preparers often desire to detect when liquids such as water or water combined with food items first begin to boil and to then maintain a controlled or “soft boil” for the duration of a cooking period.” in Par.0007, and the system also detects additions of food/liquid during the cooking process in Pars.0074-0075 & 0077. Accordingly, the Clothier discloses monitoring execution of a cooking recipe by determining that the food item within the vessel has been manipulated, because the system monitors thermally induced physical transformations of the vessel contents during cooking and uses those determinations to control subsequent cooking operations. Detecting boiling is therefore not merely detecting a temperature threshold, but detecting a cooking-state change of the food item/liquid within the vessel. Therefore, Clothier properly discloses all limitations recited in the independent claim 1, see details in the 35 U.S.C. 102 Claim Rejections section below.
Applicant’s arguments regarding the independent claim 5 are same as provided for the independent claim 1. Therefore, the Examiner’s response to the arguments regarding the independent claim 1 generally applies to the independent claim 5.
Applicant(s)’ Arguments: (Regarding claim 4 – see details on page 14 of the Remarks dated 03/02/2026)
Applicant alleged that the prior art Stipe does not teach or suggest using temperature derivative analysis to determine that food has been inserted into or manipulated within cookware for the purpose of monitoring recipe execution, and thus, “the person of ordinary skill in the art, starting with CLOTHIER, would find no guidance in STIPE to repurpose CLOTHIER'S derivative-based food detection-which is used solely for boil detection recalibration-for recipe monitoring” – see details on page 14 of the Remarks dated 03/02/2026.
Examiner’s Response:
In response to Applicant’s arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). In this case, the secondary reference Stipe is only applied to teach connecting a tablet or a smartphone to an interface, the secondary reference Stipe is not applied to teach using temperature derivative analysis to determine that food has been inserted into or manipulated within cookware for the purpose of monitoring recipe execution since the primary reference Clothier already discloses using temperature derivative analysis to determine that food has been inserted into or manipulated within cookware for the purpose of monitoring recipe execution, as cited and explained in the rejections of the independent claim 1. The secondary reference Stipe is only applied to add more features to the cooking system that is already disclosed by the primary reference Clothier. Examiner would like to further note that Examiner does not incorporate the principle of cooking process or temperature determination method of the secondary reference Stipe into the method of controlling the cooking system disclosed by Clothier, in contrast, Examiner only modifies the method of Clothier by incorporating the teaching of connecting a tablet or a smartphone to the interface, as taught by Stipe. Additionally, both Clothier and Stipe are directed to the same field of induction cooking system, therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine them.
Furthermore, in response to Applicant’s arguments that there is no reason to combine Clothier and Stipe, Examiner respectfully disagrees because in the instant case, the purpose of combining Clothier and Stipe is not defeated, for, at least, the benefit of offering remote monitoring and controlling of the cooking process and cooking appliance; additionally, the modification can also indicate user when user is in far distance; thus, increase convenience and enhance safety. As the obviousness can be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so. In re Kahn, 441 F.3d 977, 986, 78 USPQ2d 1329, 1335 (Fed. Cir. 2006). Moreover, MPEP § 2144.01, suggests that “[I]n considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom.” In re Preda, 401 F.2d 825, 826, 159 USPQ 342, 344 (CCPA 1968); In re Lamberti, 545 F.2d 747, 750, 192 USPQ 278, 280 (CCPA 1976)”. As such, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Applicant(s)’ Arguments: (Regarding the independent claim 11 – see details on pages 15-16 of the Remarks dated 03/02/2026)
Applicant alleged that the prior art on record Clothier (U.S. Pub. No. 2005/0247696 A1) does not disclose the newly added limitations: “to estimate, as a function of the comparison, that the food has been flipped or otherwise manipulated within the item of cookware” as recited in the independent claim 11. Specifically, Applicant alleged that detecting a flat plateau to determine that water is about to boil is not the same as estimating that food has been flipped or otherwise manipulated within the cookware and that Clothier does not teach or suggest using derivative analysis to estimate that food has been flipped or otherwise manipulated within the item of cookware – see details on pages 15-16 of the Remarks dated 03/02/2026.
Examiner’s Response:
In response to Applicant’s argument that the prior art Clothier does not disclose the newly added limitations: “to estimate, as a function of the comparison, that the food has been flipped or otherwise manipulated within the item of cookware” as recited in the independent claim 11, Examiner respectfully disagrees because the limitation “the food has been flipped or otherwise manipulated within the item of cookware” is in alternative form; therefore, only one of these was required during examination. In this case, Clothier discloses that estimate, as a function of the comparison, that the food has been manipulated within the item of cookware because estimating that the food has been manipulated within the item of cookware encompasses estimating that the contents within the cookware have undergone a physical disturbance, movement, addition, redistribution, or cooking-state transition based on sensed thermal behavior. Clothier explicitly discloses monitoring successive pan temperatures over time, calculating slope and second derivative values of the pan-temperature-versus-time (PTT) curve, and analyzing the characteristic changes in the PTT curve to determine events occurring within the cookware. To be more specific, Clothier discloses that the processor detects characteristic curve behaviors, including the “flat plateau” region that occurs when convective activity and boiling behavior of the contents within the vessel changes the thermal response of the cookware. Clothier Pars.0035-0044 explain that the pre-boil and boiling inflection points correspond to changes in heat transfer caused by convection and boiling activity of the liquid contents within the cookware. Clothier further discloses that detecting additions of food or liquid based on temperature drops, slope changes, and large negative slopes in the PTT curve in Pars.0074-0075 & 0077. Thus, Clothier does not merely detect temperature, but instead uses derivative/slope analysis of cookware thermal behavior to estimate changes occurring within the contents of the cookware. The claimed “otherwise manipulated” language is broad and does not require explicit recognition of a utensil or a user physically flipping a food item. Estimating that the contents have transitioned into a boiling/convection state, or have been disturbed by food/liquid addition, reasonably constitutes estimating that the food contents within the cookware have been manipulated. Therefore, Clothier properly discloses all limitations recited in the independent claim 11, see details in the 35 U.S.C. 102 Claim Rejections section below.
Furthermore, Examiner would like to note that regarding the new dependent claim 21, the newly cited prior art Lile (U.S. Pub. No. 2003/0127451 A1) is applied to teach the limitation recited in the new dependent claim 21, see details in the 35 U.S.C. 103 Claim Rejections section below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-10, 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 is rejected as failing to define the invention in the manner required by 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph because claim 5 does not have a period at the end of the claim. The claim(s) must be in one sentence form only. Each claim begins with a capital letter and ends with a period. See MPEP 608.01(m).
Claims 6-10 are rejected by virtue of their dependence on claim 5.
Claim 17 recites “The induction cooktop of claim 11 further comprising: the sensor from which the controller is configured to receive data.” in lines 1-2. It is unclear what is meant by this limitation because claim 17 depends on claim 11. Claim 11 already recites the limitation “a sensor” in line 10; however, claim 17 recites “further comprising: the sensor” in lines 1-2. Therefore, it is unclear if the “sensor” recited in claim 17 means an additional sensor. To be more specific, it is unclear if “the sensor” recited in claim 17 refers to “a sensor” recited in claim 11, or refers to a new sensor. For examination purposes, the limitation “the sensor” as recited in claim 17 (line 2) will be interpreted as to refer to the “sensor” previously recited in claim 11 (line 10). It is noted that if the limitation “the sensor” as recited in claim 17 (line 2) refers to the “sensor” previously recited in claim 11 (line 10), claim 17 is suggested to change to “The induction cooktop of claim 11 [[further comprising]], wherein: the sensor from which the controller is configured to receive data.”
Claims 18-20 are rejected by virtue of their dependence on claim 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5-6, 9, 11, 13, 15, 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Clothier (U.S. Pub. No. 2005/0247696 A1, previously cited).
Regarding claim 1, Clothier discloses a method of controlling a cooking system (cooking system as shown in Clothier Fig.1), wherein the cooking system (cooking system as shown in Clothier Fig.1) comprises:
an induction cooktop (cooking device 10, Clothier Fig.1; Clothier Par.0026 discloses the cooking device 10 is induction cooking appliance) (Clothier Par.0026 discloses: “FIG. 1 illustrates an exemplary cooking device 10 and cooking vessel 12. The preferred cooking device is an induction cooking appliance also called a "cooktop" or "range."”) comprising: an induction power converter (rectifier 14, Clothier Fig.1) (Clothier Par.0027 discloses: “the rectifier 14 first converts alternating current into direct current.”), a controller (processor 20, Clothier Fig.1), at least one cooking zone (cooking zone is zone of the vessel support mechanism 22 that is above the work coil 18 and configured to receive the vessel 12, Clothier annotated Fig.1 below & Par.0027), and an interface (user interface 32 includes display 34, other indicator and input mechanism 36, Clothier Fig.1 & Par.0026) functionally connected with the induction power converter (rectifier 14, Clothier Fig.1);
an item of cookware (vessel 12, Clothier Fig.1); and
at least one sensor (temperature sensor 40, Clothier Fig.1), wherein the at least one sensor is configured to sense a temperature of (i) the item of cookware (vessel 12, Clothier Fig.1) (Clothier Par.0051 discloses: “The temperature sensor 40 within the vessel measures the vessel's temperature the entire time the cooking vessel is on the cooking device, as depicted by box 66. The RFID reader 24 preferably reads the temperature measurements from the RFID tag 38 every second and stores at least some of the measurements, as well as the time they were recorded, in the memory 30 or other memory accessible by the processor 20.”), (ii) one or more food items contained in the item of cookware, or (iii) both (i) and (ii), or a power absorbed by the item of cookware when the item of cookware is placed on the at least one cooking zone (it is noted that the limitation “(i) the item of cookware, (ii) one or more food items contained in the item of cookware, or (iii) both (i) and (ii), or a power absorbed by the item of cookware” is in alternative form; therefore, only one of these was required during examination. In this case, Clothier discloses (i), as explained above.),
wherein the controller (processor 20, Clothier Fig.1) is configured to adjust power delivered by the induction power converter (rectifier 14, Clothier Fig.1) to the item of cookware (vessel 12, Clothier Fig.1) based upon information received from the at least one sensor (temperature sensor 40, Clothier Fig.1) in order to control the temperature of the item of cookware (vessel 12, Clothier Fig.1) or of the one or more food items contained in the item of cookware (it is noted that the limitation “of the item of cookware or of a food contained in the item of cookware” is in alternative form; therefore, only one of these was required during examination) (Clothier discloses the processor 20 is configured to control the rectifier 14 to adjust the heating power delivered by the rectifier 14 to the vessel 12 based upon information received from the temperature sensor 40 in order to control temperature of the vessel 12 because Clothier Par.0059 discloses: “the processor 20 evaluates the calculated PTT curve slopes and looks for a region of slopes essentially equal to zero followed immediately by a very large slope value. Applicant has discovered that such a behavior 30 indicates a rapid boil which, if left unchecked, results in liquid boilover. If a boilover is detected in box 82, the processor 20 sends a signal to the cooking device 10 to reduce the cooking power as depicted in box 84. The processor 20 then sets one of the trigger counts to a level that immediately triggers the boil annunciator as depicted in boxes 86 and 88. The processor 20 then sends a signal to the cooking device 10 that adjusts the power level of the cooking device to maintain a soft boil as depicted in box 90.”, it is noted that the PTT curve slopes are obtained by data received from the temperature sensor 40 because Clothier Par.0051 discloses: “The temperature sensor 40 within the vessel measures the vessel's temperature the entire time the cooking vessel is on the cooking device, as depicted by box 66. The RFID reader 24 preferably reads the temperature measurements from the RFID tag 38 every second and stores at least some of the measurements, as well as the time they were recorded, in the memory 30 or other memory accessible by the processor 20.” and Clothier Figs.2-5 show temperature vs. time curves);
the method comprising:
controlling, via the controller (processor 20, Clothier Fig.1), the power that the induction power converter (rectifier 14, Clothier Fig.1) delivers to the item of cookware (vessel 12, Clothier Fig.1) in order to control the temperature of the item of cookware (vessel 12, Clothier Fig.1) or of the one or more food items contained in the item of cookware (It is noted that the limitation “of the item of cookware or of the one or more food items contained in the item of cookware” is in alternative form; therefore, only one of these was required during examination. In this case, Clothier discloses the processor 20 is configured to control the rectifier 14 to adjust the heating power delivered by the rectifier 14 to the vessel 12 based upon information received from the temperature sensor 40 in order to control temperature of the vessel 12 because Clothier Par.0059 discloses: “the processor 20 evaluates the calculated PTT curve slopes and looks for a region of slopes essentially equal to zero followed immediately by a very large slope value. Applicant has discovered that such a behavior 30 indicates a rapid boil which, if left unchecked, results in liquid boilover. If a boilover is detected in box 82, the processor 20 sends a signal to the cooking device 10 to reduce the cooking power as depicted in box 84. The processor 20 then sets one of the trigger counts to a level that immediately triggers the boil annunciator as depicted in boxes 86 and 88. The processor 20 then sends a signal to the cooking device 10 that adjusts the power level of the cooking device to maintain a soft boil as depicted in box 90.”, it is noted that the PTT curve slopes are obtained by data received from the temperature sensor 40 because Clothier Par.0051 discloses: “The temperature sensor 40 within the vessel measures the vessel's temperature the entire time the cooking vessel is on the cooking device, as depicted by box 66. The RFID reader 24 preferably reads the temperature measurements from the RFID tag 38 every second and stores at least some of the measurements, as well as the time they were recorded, in the memory 30 or other memory accessible by the processor 20.” and Clothier Figs.2-5 show temperature vs. time curves);
determining, with the at least one sensor (temperature sensor 40, Clothier Fig.1), the temperature or the power absorbed by the item of cookware (vessel 12, Clothier Fig.1) (it is noted that the limitation “the temperature or the power absorbed by the item of cookware” is in alternative form; therefore, only one of these was required during examination; in this case, Clothier discloses determining with the temperature sensor 40, the temperature because Clothier Par.0051 discloses: “The temperature sensor 40 within the vessel measures the vessel's temperature the entire time the cooking vessel is on the cooking device, as depicted by box 66. The RFID reader 24 preferably reads the temperature measurements from the RFID tag 38 every second and stores at least some of the measurements, as well as the time they were recorded, in the memory 30 or other memory accessible by the processor 20. The time that a particular temperature was recorded may simply be reflected in its sequence position within the stored memory. For instance, in the preferred embodiment of this software, the last four temperature measurements (from 3 seconds ago, 2 seconds ago, 1 second ago, and the current value) are stored in memory, and thus we know the time when each was stored.” and Clothier Figs.2-5 show temperature vs. time curves);
determining a time rate of change of the temperature (Clothier Par.0052 discloses: “The processor periodically calculates the current slope and second derivative of the PTT curve, as depicted in box 68. The measurements and calculations of boxes 66 and 68 are repeated every second, or some other time interval, so as to create a stored succession of calculated slope and second derivative values.”; it is noted that Clothier Par.0035 discloses the PTT is pan temperature versus time (i.e., temperature versus time of the vessel 12); it is noted that slope is the derivative, thus, time rate of change of the current value of temperature; thus, the slope of PTT curve means time rate of change of the current value of temperature; therefore, Clothier discloses the processor 20 is configured to determine a time rate of change of the temperature) or the power absorbed by the item of cookware (vessel 12, Clothier Fig.1) (it is noted that the limitation “the temperature or the power absorbed by the item of cookware” is in alternative form; therefore, only one of these was required during examination);
comparing the time rate of change (“the PTT curve Slope”, Clothier Par.0095 and as cited and explained previously; it is noted that slope is the time rate of change) with a threshold value (“threshold value for Slope”, Clothier Par.0095; it is noted that slope is derivative) (Clothier discloses comparing the Slope of the PTT curve to the threshold value for Slope because Clothier Par.0093 discloses: “Two measured parameters are used (due to noise) to determine whether and when the Flat Plateau exists: 1) the "quantity" of the average of the previous seven temperatures minus the most recently measured Pan temperature (this is the same quantity used in the Boil Trigger 2 function) and, 2) the PTT curve "Slope", where "Slope" is the average of the last four values (to include the current Measured Pan Temperature) of Measured Pan Temperature minus the average of the previous four Measured Pan Temperatures (to exclude the current Measured Pan Temperature but include the previous four temperatures before it)”, and Clothier Par.0095 discloses: “The Boil Trigger 3 function also compares the two measured parameters discussed above to threshold values to ensure that the pan is experiencing the "FLAT" Plateau and thus to begin incrementing the Trigger 3 counter called "BoilData.Trigger3Count". The threshold value for Slope is a the same percentage of the Boil Slope that is used in Trigger 1 to determine the inflection point--that percentage being a Pan Tag value called PanTag.BOLTRIGGER1PCTf. The threshold value for the quantity (AverageLast7Temperatures-BoilData.LastMeasuredTemperatures[0]) is also a percentage of the measured Boil Slope that is a Pan Tag Value called PanTag.BOILTRIGGER3DELTAf.”);
generating, with the induction cooktop (cooking device 10, Clothier Fig.1), an event detection signal when the threshold value (“threshold value for Slope”, Clothier Par.0095; it is noted that slope is derivative) is overcome (Clothier discloses generate an event detection signal when the determined time rate of change exceeds the threshold value because Clothier Par.0093 discloses: “Two measured parameters are used (due to noise) to determine whether and when the Flat Plateau exists: 1) the "quantity" of the average of the previous seven temperatures minus the most recently measured Pan temperature (this is the same quantity used in the Boil Trigger 2 function) and, 2) the PTT curve "Slope", where "Slope" is the average of the last four values (to include the current Measured Pan Temperature) of Measured Pan Temperature minus the average of the previous four Measured Pan Temperatures (to exclude the current Measured Pan Temperature but include the previous four temperatures before it)”, and Clothier Par.0095 discloses: “The Boil Trigger 3 function also compares the two measured parameters discussed above to threshold values to ensure that the pan is experiencing the "FLAT" Plateau and thus to begin incrementing the Trigger 3 counter called "BoilData.Trigger3Count". The threshold value for Slope is a the same percentage of the Boil Slope that is used in Trigger 1 to determine the inflection point--that percentage being a Pan Tag value called PanTag.BOLTRIGGER1PCTf. The threshold value for the quantity (AverageLast7Temperatures-BoilData.LastMeasuredTemperatures[0]) is also a percentage of the measured Boil Slope that is a Pan Tag Value called PanTag.BOILTRIGGER3DELTAf.”, Clothier Par.0040 discloses: “Another characteristic of the PTT curve A is that the ratio or quotient of the PTT curve slope above the pre-boil inflection point A4 (called the “BoilSlope”) divided by the curve slope below the pre-boil inflection point A4 (called the “OffsetBoilSlope”) is directly correlated to the pan temperature at which boiling occurs. As explained in more detail below, the quotient of these two slopes can be used to determine how many Trigger 3 counts to wait after the near-boiling pan inflection point is detected to signal when boiling has occurred. The higher the value of this ratio or quotient, the longer the count, as described in more detail below.”; and Clothier Par.0058 further discloses: “As is depicted in Box 80, the value of each counter assigned to a specific boil trigger (and indicative of a particular PTT curve behavior) is compared each second to its respective total trigger threshold value. Once a trigger count exceeds its total trigger threshold, the processor 20 determines that boiling has occurred. This determination results in the boil annunciation as shown in Box 88 and reduction of heating unit power to maintain a soft boil as depicted in Box 90.”); and
using the event detection signal to monitor execution of a cooking recipe by determining that the one or more food items have been inserted into or manipulated within the item of cookware (vessel 12, Clothier Fig.1) (it is noted that the limitation “one or more food items have been inserted into or manipulated within the item of cookware” is in alternative form; therefore, only one of these was required during examination. In this case, Clothier discloses using the event detection signal to monitor execution of cooking recipe by determining that the water has been manipulated (i.e., bring to boil and being boil) within the item of cooking because Clothier Par.0041 discloses: “if liquid is added to the cooking vessel 12 after an initial boil, the temperature of the cooking vessel 12 when it reaches a second boil will always exceed the temperature of the cooking vessel 12 at the initial boil. For example, if the cooking vessel 12 is initially filled with water and then heated by the induction range, the water will begin to boil at a pan temperature of T1. After the first boil, additional water may be added to the pan and then brought to a second boil. At the time of the second boil, the cooking vessel temperature will be T2. T1 will always be slightly greater than T2. Similarly, if more water is added to the cooking vessel after the second boil, the water will reach a third boil at a pan temperature of T3. T3 will always be slightly greater than T2, which will be slightly greater than T1.”, and Clothier Par.0076 discloses: “The Boil Monitor Function also continuously compares the trigger counts from Triggers 2, 3, 4, and 5 to the total trigger threshold counts for each respective trigger. Once any one of the Boil Trigger's incremental counts exceeds the respective total threshold value, the Boil Monitor function causes the boil to be annunciated and the power to be reduced so as to achieve a soft boil. After detecting a boil, the Boil Monitor Function triggers an annunciator or indicator. The alert or indicator may be visual, audible or vibratory in nature, but is preferably a visual indicator such as a blinking red light or text message.”, and Clothier Par.0059 discloses: “the processor 20 first must have recorded a very small value of BOILSLOP, which represents a large amount of water in the pan. Then, the processor 20 evaluates the calculated PTT curve slopes and looks for a region of slopes essentially equal to zero followed immediately by a very large slope value. Applicant has discovered that such a behavior 30 indicates a rapid boil which, if left unchecked, results in liquid boilover. If a boilover is detected in box 82, the processor 20 sends a signal to the cooking device 10 to reduce the cooking power as depicted in box 84. The processor 20 then sets one of the trigger counts to a level that immediately triggers the boil annunciator as depicted in boxes 86 and 88. The processor 20 then sends a signal to the cooking device 10 that adjusts the power level of the cooking device to maintain a soft boil as depicted in box 90.”).
Regarding claim 2, Clothier discloses the method set forth in claim 1, Clothier also discloses wherein generating the event detection signal (as cited and explained in the rejection of claim 1 above) comprises:
outputting a first logic signal for flagging an end of a pre-heating phase when the at least one sensor (temperature sensor 40, Clothier Fig.1) has sensed for a first time a target cooking temperature (it is noted that the “pre-heating phase” is interpreted to be initial boil or first boil, in this case, Clothier discloses outputting signal when the initial boil has occurred, thus, an end of the pre-heating phase, specifically Clothier Par.0040 discloses: “Another characteristic of the PTT curve A is that the ratio or quotient of the PTT curve slope above the pre-boil inflection point A4 (called the “BoilSlope”) divided by the curve slope below the pre-boil inflection point A4 (called the “OffsetBoilSlope”) is directly correlated to the pan temperature at which boiling occurs. As explained in more detail below, the quotient of these two slopes can be used to determine how many Trigger 3 counts to wait after the near-boiling pan inflection point is detected to signal when boiling has occurred. The higher the value of this ratio or quotient, the longer the count, as described in more detail below.”, it is noted that the PTT curve are obtained by the temperature sensor 40 because Clothier Par.0051 discloses: “The temperature sensor 40 within the vessel measures the vessel's temperature the entire time the cooking vessel is on the cooking device, as depicted by box 66. The RFID reader 24 preferably reads the temperature measurements from the RFID tag 38 every second and stores at least some of the measurements, as well as the time they were recorded, in the memory 30 or other memory accessible by the processor 20.” and Clothier Figs.2-5 show temperature vs. time curves); and
outputting a second logic signal for signaling that the one or more food items have been inserted into or manipulated within (it is noted that the limitation “the one or more food items have been inserted into or manipulated within” is in alternative form; therefore, only one of these was required during examination) the item of cookware (vessel 12, Clothier Fig.1) when the event detection signal is generated after the end of the pre-heating phase (it is noted that the “pre-heating phase” is interpreted to be initial boil or first boil, as explained above) (Clothier discloses outputting signal that signaling food has been manipulate (i.e., bring to boil and being boil) within the item of cookware after the initial boil because Clothier Par.0041 discloses: “if liquid is added to the cooking vessel 12 after an initial boil, the temperature of the cooking vessel 12 when it reaches a second boil will always exceed the temperature of the cooking vessel 12 at the initial boil. For example, if the cooking vessel 12 is initially filled with water and then heated by the induction range, the water will begin to boil at a pan temperature of T1. After the first boil, additional water may be added to the pan and then brought to a second boil. At the time of the second boil, the cooking vessel temperature will be T2. T1 will always be slightly greater than T2. Similarly, if more water is added to the cooking vessel after the second boil, the water will reach a third boil at a pan temperature of T3. T3 will always be slightly greater than T2, which will be slightly greater than T1.”, and Clothier Par.0076 discloses: “The Boil Monitor Function also continuously compares the trigger counts from Triggers 2, 3, 4, and 5 to the total trigger threshold counts for each respective trigger. Once any one of the Boil Trigger's incremental counts exceeds the respective total threshold value, the Boil Monitor function causes the boil to be annunciated and the power to be reduced so as to achieve a soft boil. After detecting a boil, the Boil Monitor Function triggers an annunciator or indicator. The alert or indicator may be visual, audible or vibratory in nature, but is preferably a visual indicator such as a blinking red light or text message.”, and Clothier Par.0059 discloses: “the processor 20 first must have recorded a very small value of BOILSLOP, which represents a large amount of water in the pan. Then, the processor 20 evaluates the calculated PTT curve slopes and looks for a region of slopes essentially equal to zero followed immediately by a very large slope value. Applicant has discovered that such a behavior 30 indicates a rapid boil which, if left unchecked, results in liquid boilover. If a boilover is detected in box 82, the processor 20 sends a signal to the cooking device 10 to reduce the cooking power as depicted in box 84. The processor 20 then sets one of the trigger counts to a level that immediately triggers the boil annunciator as depicted in boxes 86 and 88. The processor 20 then sends a signal to the cooking device 10 that adjusts the power level of the cooking device to maintain a soft boil as depicted in box 90.”).
Regarding claim 5, Clothier discloses a cooking system (cooking system as shown in Clothier Fig.1) comprising:
an induction cooktop comprising (cooking device 10, Clothier Fig.1; Clothier Par.0026 discloses the cooking device 10 is induction cooking appliance) (Clothier Par.0026 discloses: “FIG. 1 illustrates an exemplary cooking device 10 and cooking vessel 12. The preferred cooking device is an induction cooking appliance also called a "cooktop" or "range."”): an induction power converter (rectifier 14, Clothier Fig.1) (Clothier Par.0027 discloses: “the rectifier 14 first converts alternating current into direct current.”), a controller (processor 20, Clothier Fig.1), at least one cooking zone (cooking zone is zone of the vessel support mechanism 22 that is above the work coil 18 and configured to receive the vessel 12, Clothier annotated Fig.1 below & Par.0027), and an interface (user interface 32 includes display 34, other indicator and input mechanism 36, Clothier Fig.1 & Par.0026) functionally connected with the induction power converter (rectifier 14, Clothier Fig.1);
an item of cookware (vessel 12, Clothier Fig.1), and
at least one sensor (temperature sensor 40, Clothier Fig.1) configured to sense (i) a temperature of the item of cookware (vessel 12, Clothier Fig.1) or one or more food items contained in the item of cookware (it is noted that the limitation “the item of cookware or one or more food items contained in the item of cookware” is in alternative form; therefore, only one of these was required during examination) when the item of cookware (vessel 12, Clothier Fig.1) is placed on the at least one cooking zone (cooking zone, Clothier annotated Fig.1 below) (Clothier discloses the temperature sensor 40 configured to sense a temperature of the item of cookware when the item of cookware is placed on the at least one cooking zone because Clothier Par.0051 discloses: “The temperature sensor 40 within the vessel measures the vessel's temperature the entire time the cooking vessel is on the cooking device, as depicted by box 66. The RFID reader 24 preferably reads the temperature measurements from the RFID tag 38 every second and stores at least some of the measurements, as well as the time they were recorded, in the memory 30 or other memory accessible by the processor 20.”) or (ii) a power absorbed by the item of cookware (it is noted that the limitation “(i) a temperature of the item of cookware or one or more food items contained in the item of cookware when the item of cookware is placed on the at least one cooking zone or (ii) a power absorbed by the item of cookware” is in alternative form; therefore, only one of these was required during examination; in this case, Clothier discloses the temperature sensor 40 configured to sense a temperature of the item of cookware when the item of cookware is placed on the at least one cooking zone as explained above),
wherein the controller (processor 20, Clothier Fig.1) is configured to:
control the induction power converter (rectifier 14, Clothier Fig.1) to adjust the power delivered by the induction power converter (rectifier 14, Clothier Fig.1) to the item of cookware (vessel 12, Clothier Fig.1) based upon information received from the at least one sensor (temperature sensor 40, Clothier Fig.1) in order to achieve and maintain a cooking temperature of the item of cookware (vessel 12, Clothier Fig.1) or of the one or more food items contained in the item of cookware (it is noted that the limitation “of the item of cookware or of the one or more food items contained in the item of cookware” is in alternative form; therefore, only one of these was required during examination) (Clothier discloses the processor 20 is configured to control the rectifier 14 to adjust the heating power delivered by the rectifier 14 to the vessel 12 based upon information received from the temperature sensor 40 in order to achieve and maintain a cooking temperature of the vessel 12 because Clothier Par.0059 discloses: “the processor 20 evaluates the calculated PTT curve slopes and looks for a region of slopes essentially equal to zero followed immediately by a very large slope value. Applicant has discovered that such a behavior 30 indicates a rapid boil which, if left unchecked, results in liquid boilover. If a boilover is detected in box 82, the processor 20 sends a signal to the cooking device 10 to reduce the cooking power as depicted in box 84. The processor 20 then sets one of the trigger counts to a level that immediately triggers the boil annunciator as depicted in boxes 86 and 88. The processor 20 then sends a signal to the cooking device 10 that adjusts the power level of the cooking device to maintain a soft boil as depicted in box 90.”, it is noted that the PTT curve slopes are obtained by data received from the temperature sensor 40 because Clothier Par.0051 discloses: “The temperature sensor 40 within the vessel measures the vessel's temperature the entire time the cooking vessel is on the cooking device, as depicted by box 66. The RFID reader 24 preferably reads the temperature measurements from the RFID tag 38 every second and stores at least some of the measurements, as well as the time they were recorded, in the memory 30 or other memory accessible by the processor 20.” and Clothier Figs.2-5 show temperature vs. time curves),
determine with the at least one sensor (temperature sensor 40, Clothier Fig.1) a current value of the temperature or a current value of the power absorbed by the item of cookware (it is noted that the limitation “a current value of temperature or a current value of heating power absorbed by the item of cookware” is in alternative form; therefore, only one of these was required during examination; in this case, Clothier discloses the processor 20 is configured to determine with the temperature sensor 40 a current value of temperature because Clothier Par.0051 discloses: “The temperature sensor 40 within the vessel measures the vessel's temperature the entire time the cooking vessel is on the cooking device, as depicted by box 66. The RFID reader 24 preferably reads the temperature measurements from the RFID tag 38 every second and stores at least some of the measurements, as well as the time they were recorded, in the memory 30 or other memory accessible by the processor 20. The time that a particular temperature was recorded may simply be reflected in its sequence position within the stored memory. For instance, in the preferred embodiment of this software, the last four temperature measurements (from 3 seconds ago, 2 seconds ago, 1 second ago, and the current value) are stored in memory, and thus we know the time when each was stored.” and Clothier Figs.2-5 show temperature vs. time curves);
determine a time rate of change of the current value of the temperature (Clothier Par.0052 discloses: “The processor periodically calculates the current slope and second derivative of the PTT curve, as depicted in box 68. The measurements and calculations of boxes 66 and 68 are repeated every second, or some other time interval, so as to create a stored succession of calculated slope and second derivative values.”; it is noted that Clothier Par.0035 discloses the PTT is pan temperature versus time (i.e., temperature versus time of the vessel 12); it is noted that slope is the derivative, thus, time rate of change of the current value of temperature; thus, the slope of PTT curve means time rate of change of the current value of temperature; therefore, Clothier discloses the processor 20 is configured to determine a time rate of change of the current value of temperature) or of the current value of the power absorbed by the item of cookware (it is noted that the limitation “a time rate of change of the current value of temperature or of the current value of heating power absorbed by the item of cookware” is in alternative form; therefore, only one of these was required during examination);
compare the time rate of change (“the PTT curve Slope”, Clothier Par.0095 and as cited and explained previously above; it is noted that slope is the time rate of change) with a threshold value (“threshold value for Slope”, Clothier Par.0095; it is noted that slope is derivative) (Clothier discloses comparing the Slope of the PTT curve to the threshold value for Slope because Clothier Par.0093 discloses: “Two measured parameters are used (due to noise) to determine whether and when the Flat Plateau exists: 1) the "quantity" of the average of the previous seven temperatures minus the most recently measured Pan temperature (this is the same quantity used in the Boil Trigger 2 function) and, 2) the PTT curve "Slope", where "Slope" is the average of the last four values (to include the current Measured Pan Temperature) of Measured Pan Temperature minus the average of the previous four Measured Pan Temperatures (to exclude the current Measured Pan Temperature but include the previous four temperatures before it)”, and Clothier Par.0095 discloses: “The Boil Trigger 3 function also compares the two measured parameters discussed above to threshold values to ensure that the pan is experiencing the "FLAT" Plateau and thus to begin incrementing the Trigger 3 counter called "BoilData.Trigger3Count". The threshold value for Slope is a the same percentage of the Boil Slope that is used in Trigger 1 to determine the inflection point--that percentage being a Pan Tag value called PanTag.BOLTRIGGER1PCTf. The threshold value for the quantity (AverageLast7Temperatures-BoilData.LastMeasuredTemperatures[0]) is also a percentage of the measured Boil Slope that is a Pan Tag Value called PanTag.BOILTRIGGER3DELTAf.”);
generate an event detection signal when the time rate of change exceeds the threshold value in either a positive or negative direction (Clothier discloses generate an event detection signal when the determined time rate of change exceeds the threshold value in either a positive or negative direction because Clothier Par.0093 discloses: “Two measured parameters are used (due to noise) to determine whether and when the Flat Plateau exists: 1) the "quantity" of the average of the previous seven temperatures minus the most recently measured Pan temperature (this is the same quantity used in the Boil Trigger 2 function) and, 2) the PTT curve "Slope", where "Slope" is the average of the last four values (to include the current Measured Pan Temperature) of Measured Pan Temperature minus the average of the previous four Measured Pan Temperatures (to exclude the current Measured Pan Temperature but include the previous four temperatures before it)”, and Clothier Par.0095 discloses: “The Boil Trigger 3 function also compares the two measured parameters discussed above to threshold values to ensure that the pan is experiencing the "FLAT" Plateau and thus to begin incrementing the Trigger 3 counter called "BoilData.Trigger3Count". The threshold value for Slope is a the same percentage of the Boil Slope that is used in Trigger 1 to determine the inflection point--that percentage being a Pan Tag value called PanTag.BOLTRIGGER1PCTf. The threshold value for the quantity (AverageLast7Temperatures-BoilData.LastMeasuredTemperatures[0]) is also a percentage of the measured Boil Slope that is a Pan Tag Value called PanTag.BOILTRIGGER3DELTAf.”, Clothier Par.0040 discloses: “Another characteristic of the PTT curve A is that the ratio or quotient of the PTT curve slope above the pre-boil inflection point A4 (called the “BoilSlope”) divided by the curve slope below the pre-boil inflection point A4 (called the “OffsetBoilSlope”) is directly correlated to the pan temperature at which boiling occurs. As explained in more detail below, the quotient of these two slopes can be used to determine how many Trigger 3 counts to wait after the near-boiling pan inflection point is detected to signal when boiling has occurred. The higher the value of this ratio or quotient, the longer the count, as described in more detail below.”; and Clothier Par.0058 further discloses: “As is depicted in Box 80, the value of each counter assigned to a specific boil trigger (and indicative of a particular PTT curve behavior) is compared each second to its respective total trigger threshold value. Once a trigger count exceeds its total trigger threshold, the processor 20 determines that boiling has occurred. This determination results in the boil annunciation as shown in Box 88 and reduction of heating unit power to maintain a soft boil as depicted in Box 90.”; it is further noted that since the determined time rate of change exceeds the threshold value, it exceeds in either a positive or negative direction), and
use the event detection signal to monitor execution of a cooking recipe by determining that the one or more food items have been inserted into or manipulated within the item of cookware (vessel 12, Clothier Fig.1) (it is noted that the limitation “one or more food items have been inserted into or manipulated within the item of cookware” is in alternative form; therefore, only one of these was required during examination. In this case, Clothier discloses using the event detection signal to monitor execution of cooking recipe by determining that the water has been manipulated (i.e., bring to boil and being boil) within the item of cooking because Clothier Par.0041 discloses: “if liquid is added to the cooking vessel 12 after an initial boil, the temperature of the cooking vessel 12 when it reaches a second boil will always exceed the temperature of the cooking vessel 12 at the initial boil. For example, if the cooking vessel 12 is initially filled with water and then heated by the induction range, the water will begin to boil at a pan temperature of T1. After the first boil, additional water may be added to the pan and then brought to a second boil. At the time of the second boil, the cooking vessel temperature will be T2. T1 will always be slightly greater than T2. Similarly, if more water is added to the cooking vessel after the second boil, the water will reach a third boil at a pan temperature of T3. T3 will always be slightly greater than T2, which will be slightly greater than T1.”, and Clothier Par.0076 discloses: “The Boil Monitor Function also continuously compares the trigger counts from Triggers 2, 3, 4, and 5 to the total trigger threshold counts for each respective trigger. Once any one of the Boil Trigger's incremental counts exceeds the respective total threshold value, the Boil Monitor function causes the boil to be annunciated and the power to be reduced so as to achieve a soft boil. After detecting a boil, the Boil Monitor Function triggers an annunciator or indicator. The alert or indicator may be visual, audible or vibratory in nature, but is preferably a visual indicator such as a blinking red light or text message.”, and Clothier Par.0059 discloses: “the processor 20 first must have recorded a very small value of BOILSLOP, which represents a large amount of water in the pan. Then, the processor 20 evaluates the calculated PTT curve slopes and looks for a region of slopes essentially equal to zero followed immediately by a very large slope value. Applicant has discovered that such a behavior 30 indicates a rapid boil which, if left unchecked, results in liquid boilover. If a boilover is detected in box 82, the processor 20 sends a signal to the cooking device 10 to reduce the cooking power as depicted in box 84. The processor 20 then sets one of the trigger counts to a level that immediately triggers the boil annunciator as depicted in boxes 86 and 88. The processor 20 then sends a signal to the cooking device 10 that adjusts the power level of the cooking device to maintain a soft boil as depicted in box 90.”)
Regarding claim 6, Clothier discloses the apparatus set forth in claim 5, Clothier also discloses:
wherein the at least one sensor (temperature sensor 40, Clothier Fig.1) is installed in a bulk portion (bulk portion, Clothier annotated Fig.1 below) of the item of cookware (vessel 12, Clothier Fig.1).
Regarding claim 9, Clothier discloses the apparatus set forth in claim 5, Clothier also discloses:
wherein the at least one sensor (temperature sensor 40, Clothier Fig.1) is a temperature sensor (sensor 40 is temperature sensor, Clothier Par.0029) configured to sense a temperature of the item of cookware (vessel 12, Clothier Fig.1) (Clothier Par.0051 discloses: “The temperature sensor 40 within the vessel measures the vessel's temperature the entire time the cooking vessel is on the cooking device, as depicted by box 66.”).
Regarding claim 11, Clothier discloses an induction cooktop (cooking device 10, Clothier Fig.1; Clothier Par.0026 discloses the cooking device 10 is induction cooking appliance) (Clothier Par.0026 discloses: “FIG. 1 illustrates an exemplary cooking device 10 and cooking vessel 12. The preferred cooking device is an induction cooking appliance also called a "cooktop" or "range."”) comprising:
a cooking zone (cooking zone is zone of the vessel support mechanism 22 that is above the work coil 18 and configured to receive the vessel 12, Clothier annotated Fig.1 below & Par.0027) positioned to accept an item of cookware (vessel 12, Clothier Fig.1) upon the cooking zone (cooking zone is zone of the vessel support mechanism 22 that is above the work coil 18 and configured to receive the vessel 12, Clothier annotated Fig.1 below & Par.0027) (Clothier Par.0027 discloses: “The vessel support mechanism 22 is positioned adjacent the work coil 18 so that the vessel 12, resting on the vessel support mechanism 22, is exposed to the changing magnetic field.”);
an induction power converter (rectifier 14, Clothier Fig.1) (Clothier Par.0027 discloses: “the rectifier 14 first converts alternating current into direct current.”) configured to deliver power to the item of cookware (vessel 12, Clothier Fig.1) (Clothier discloses the rectifier 14 configured to deliver power to the vessel 12 because Clothier Par.0027 discloses: “The range 10 accomplishes induction heating in a substantially conventional manner. Briefly, the rectifier 14 first converts alternating current into direct current. The solid state inverter 16 then converts the direct current into ultrasonic current, having a frequency of preferably approximately between 20 kHz and 100 kHz. This ultrasonic frequency current is passed through the work coil 18 to produce a changing magnetic field. The control circuit controls the inverter 16 and may also control various other internal and user-interface functions of the range, and includes appropriate sensors for providing relevant input. The vessel support mechanism 22 is positioned adjacent the work coil 18 so that the vessel 12, resting on the vessel support mechanism 22, is exposed to the changing magnetic field.”); and
a controller (processor 20, Clothier Fig.1) in communication with the induction power converter (rectifier 14, Clothier Fig.1), the controller (processor 20, Clothier Fig.1) configured:
to control the power that the induction power converter (rectifier 14, Clothier Fig.1) delivers to the item of cookware (vessel 12, Clothier Fig.1) (Clothier discloses the processor 20 is configured to control power that the rectifier 14 delivers to the vessel 12 because Clothier Par.0059 discloses: “the processor 20 sends a signal to the cooking device 10 to reduce the cooking power as depicted in box 84… The processor 20 then sends a signal to the cooking device 10 that adjusts the power level of the cooking device to maintain a soft boil as depicted in box 90.”, and Clothier Par.0027 discloses: “The range 10 accomplishes induction heating in a substantially conventional manner. Briefly, the rectifier 14 first converts alternating current into direct current. The solid state inverter 16 then converts the direct current into ultrasonic current, having a frequency of preferably approximately between 20 kHz and 100 kHz. This ultrasonic frequency current is passed through the work coil 18 to produce a changing magnetic field. The control circuit controls the inverter 16 and may also control various other internal and user-interface functions of the range, and includes appropriate sensors for providing relevant input. The vessel support mechanism 22 is positioned adjacent the work coil 18 so that the vessel 12, resting on the vessel support mechanism 22, is exposed to the changing magnetic field.”);
to determine a temperature as a function of time (see temperature vs. time curves in Clothier Figs.2-5) of the item of cookware (vessel 12, Clothier Fig.1) or a food contained in the item of cookware (it is noted that the limitation “the item of cookware or a food contained in the item of cookware” is in alternative form; therefore, only one of these was required during examination) as a function of data received from a sensor (temperature sensor 40, Clothier Fig.1) (in this case, Clothier discloses determine a temperature as a function of time of the vessel 12 as a function of data received from the temperature sensor 40 because Clothier Par.0051 discloses: “The temperature sensor 40 within the vessel measures the vessel's temperature the entire time the cooking vessel is on the cooking device, as depicted by box 66. The RFID reader 24 preferably reads the temperature measurements from the RFID tag 38 every second and stores at least some of the measurements, as well as the time they were recorded, in the memory 30 or other memory accessible by the processor 20.” and Clothier Figs.2-5 show temperature vs. time curves); and
to determine a derivative of the temperature as a function of time (slope of PTT curve, Clothier Par.0052; it is noted that Clothier Par.0035 discloses the PTT is pan temperature versus time (i.e., temperature versus time of the vessel 12); it is further noted that slope is the derivative) from the temperature as a function of time (see temperature vs. time curves in Clothier Figs.2-5) (Clothier Par.0052 discloses: “The processor periodically calculates the current slope and second derivative of the PTT curve, as depicted in box 68. The measurements and calculations of boxes 66 and 68 are repeated every second, or some other time interval, so as to create a stored succession of calculated slope and second derivative values.”; it is noted that Clothier Par.0035 discloses the PTT is pan temperature versus time (i.e., temperature versus time of the vessel 12); it is noted that slope is the derivative; thus, the slope of PTT curve means the derivative of the temperature as a function of time from the determined temperature as a function of time; therefore, Clothier discloses the processor 20 is configured to determine a derivative of the temperature as a function of time from the determined temperature as a function of time);
to compare the derivative of the temperature as a function of time (“the PTT curve Slope”, Clothier Par.0095 and as cited and explained previously above; it is noted that slope is derivative) to a predetermined threshold derivative (“threshold value for Slope”, Clothier Par.0095; it is noted that slope is derivative) (Clothier discloses comparing the Slope of the PTT curve to the threshold value for Slope because Par.0093 discloses: “Two measured parameters are used (due to noise) to determine whether and when the Flat Plateau exists: 1) the "quantity" of the average of the previous seven temperatures minus the most recently measured Pan temperature (this is the same quantity used in the Boil Trigger 2 function) and, 2) the PTT curve "Slope", where "Slope" is the average of the last four values (to include the current Measured Pan Temperature) of Measured Pan Temperature minus the average of the previous four Measured Pan Temperatures (to exclude the current Measured Pan Temperature but include the previous four temperatures before it)”, and Clothier Par.0095 discloses: “The Boil Trigger 3 function also compares the two measured parameters discussed above to threshold values to ensure that the pan is experiencing the "FLAT" Plateau and thus to begin incrementing the Trigger 3 counter called "BoilData.Trigger3Count". The threshold value for Slope is a the same percentage of the Boil Slope that is used in Trigger 1 to determine the inflection point--that percentage being a Pan Tag value called PanTag.BOLTRIGGER1PCTf. The threshold value for the quantity (AverageLast7Temperatures-BoilData.LastMeasuredTemperatures[0]) is also a percentage of the measured Boil Slope that is a Pan Tag Value called PanTag.BOILTRIGGER3DELTAf.”); and
to estimate, as a function of the comparison (compare the the PTT curve Slope to the threshold value for Slope, as cited and explained above), that the food has been flipped or otherwise manipulated within the item of cookware (It is noted that the limitation “the food has been flipped or otherwise manipulated within the item of cookware” is in alternative form; therefore, only one of these was required during examination. In this case, Clothier discloses the processor 20 is configured to estimate the food has been manipulated within the vessel 12 because Clothier Par.0095 discloses: “The Boil Trigger 3 function also compares the two measured parameters discussed above to threshold values to ensure that the pan is experiencing the "FLAT" Plateau”, and Clothier Par.0055 discloses: “This means, for instance, that, once a flat plateau X is detected, there is a very small delay until the water in the pan is boiling. Alternatively, large total trigger threshold values mean that the flat plateau X, for instance, occurs well before the water in the pan boils.”; therefore, the comparison of the Slope of the PTT curve to the threshold value for Slope is to ensure that the vessel 12 is experiencing the flat plateau right before the food inside the vessel 12 boils; thus, Clothier discloses the processor 20 is configured to estimate the food has been manipulated within the vessel 12).
Regarding claim 13, Clothier discloses the apparatus set forth in claim 11, Clothier also discloses:
wherein the controller (processor 20, Clothier Fig.1) is further configured to estimate, as a function of the comparison of the derivative of the temperature as a function of time (“the PTT curve Slope”, Clothier Par.0095 and as cited and explained previously in the rejection of claim 11 above; it is noted that slope is derivative) to the predetermined threshold derivative (“threshold value for Slope”, Clothier Par.0095; it is noted that slope is derivative) (the comparison of the Slope of the PTT curve to the threshold value for Slope, as cited and explained previously in the rejection of claim 12 above) both (i) that the food has been added to the item of cookware (vessel 12, Clothier Fig.1) (Clothier discloses the processor 20 is configured to estimate that the food has been added to the vessel 12 because Clothier Par.0078 discloses: “The second condition is looking for a very large drop in temperature or a very large negative slope, which is indicative of a large addition of liquid or food. In this case, the value of Boil Slope is recalculated. In these subsequent boil situations, if a new boil slope calculation has been required because we have detected a "big drop" within the Boil Monitor Function, then we will wait to calculate the new value of boil slope until just after the boil slope has stabilized. This stabilization occurs after the turbulence of adding food or water to the pan has ceased. This occurs when the slope of the pan temperature vs. time curve stabilizes at a value smaller than the previously calculated BoilSlope (which is stored as the value LastBoilSlope). If the slope of the pan temperature vs. time curve never stabilizes prior to reaching a value of temperature equal to the LastBoilTemperature minus 3 C, then the stored value of LastBoilSlope is used for Trigger functions.”, Clothier Par.0129 discloses: “17. PanTag.TRIG3MEDDROPMULTI--A multiplier value of the total Trigger 3 Threshold value for secondary boils where a medium amount of food has been added to an already boiling amount of liquid.”, and Clothier Par.0130 discloses: “18. PanTag.TRIG3LGDROPMULTI--A multiplier value of the total Trigger 3 Threshold value for secondary boils where a large amount of food has been added to an already boiling amount of liquid.”) and (ii) that the food has been flipped or otherwise manipulated within the item of cookware (vessel 12, Clothier Fig.1) (It is noted that the limitation “the food has been flipped or otherwise manipulated within the item of cookware” is in alternative form; therefore, only one of these was required during examination. In this case, Clothier discloses the processor 20 is configured to estimate the food has been manipulated within the vessel 12 because Clothier Par.0095 discloses: “The Boil Trigger 3 function also compares the two measured parameters discussed above to threshold values to ensure that the pan is experiencing the "FLAT" Plateau”, and Clothier Par.0055 discloses: “This means, for instance, that, once a flat plateau X is detected, there is a very small delay until the water in the pan is boiling. Alternatively, large total trigger threshold values mean that the flat plateau X, for instance, occurs well before the water in the pan boils.”; therefore, the comparison of the Slope of the PTT curve to the threshold value for Slope is to ensure that the vessel 12 is experiencing the flat plateau right before the food inside the vessel 12 boils; thus, Clothier discloses the processor 20 is configured to estimate the food has been manipulated within the vessel 12).
Regarding claim 15, Clothier discloses the apparatus set forth in claim 11, Clothier also discloses:
wherein the controller (processor 20, Clothier Fig.1) is further configured to estimate, as a function of the comparison of the derivative of the temperature as a function of time (“the PTT curve Slope”, Clothier Par.0095 and as cited and explained previously in the rejection of claim 11 above; it is noted that slope is derivative) to the predetermined threshold derivative (“threshold value for Slope”, Clothier Par.0095; it is noted that slope is derivative) (the comparison of the Slope of the PTT curve to the threshold value for Slope, as cited and explained previously in the rejection of claim 12 above), that a step of a cooking recipe has been executed (Clothier discloses a step of cooking recipe has been executed because Clothier Par.0094 discloses: “This function also sets the minimum pan temperature that is allowed for the counter BoilData.Trigger3Count to be incremented. For initial boils, this minimum temperature at which the Trigger 3 Function Becomes active is a Pan Tag Value called PanTag..BOILTRIGTEMPf. For subsequent boils, the minimum temperature is the last detected boiling temperature (the pan measured temperature of the internal sensor) minus 2 C, where the last detected boiling temperature is stored in memory as LastBoilTemp.”, Clothier Par.0095 discloses: “The Boil Trigger 3 function also compares the two measured parameters discussed above to threshold values to ensure that the pan is experiencing the "FLAT" Plateau and thus to begin incrementing the Trigger 3 counter called "BoilData.Trigger3Count". The threshold value for Slope is a the same percentage of the Boil Slope that is used in Trigger 1 to determine the inflection point--that percentage being a Pan Tag value called PanTag.BOLTRIGGER1PCTf. The threshold value for the quantity (AverageLast7Temperatures-BoilData.LastMeasuredTemperatures[0]) is also a percentage of the measured Boil Slope that is a Pan Tag Value called PanTag.BOILTRIGGER3DELTAf.”, and Clothier Par.0096 discloses: “The Trigger 3 Function also looks to detect a region of Steep Rise Z. It does so by looking to see when the Trigger 3 counter value has stalled at a high percentage of its total Trigger 3 threshold value. If so, it means that the flat plateau has existed and then a steady steep climb is occurring (because the Trigger 3 counts cannot increment any longer due to having a slope value greater than the threshold values set forth in the Pan Tag). When a Steep Rise is detected, a boil annunciation is initiated after a short interval that is based upon the Pan Tag value called PanTag.TRIG5NOISECOUNTER.”).
Regarding claim 17, Clothier discloses the apparatus set forth in claim 11, Clothier also discloses further comprising (see the 35 U.S.C. 112 Claim Rejections section above for the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections of this claim 17):
the sensor (temperature sensor 40, Clothier Fig.1) from which the controller (processor 20, Clothier Fig.1) is configured to receive data (Clothier Par.0051 discloses: “The temperature sensor 40 within the vessel measures the vessel's temperature the entire time the cooking vessel is on the cooking device, as depicted by box 66. The RFID reader 24 preferably reads the temperature measurements from the RFID tag 38 every second and stores at least some of the measurements, as well as the time they were recorded, in the memory 30 or other memory accessible by the processor 20.”).
Regarding claim 18, Clothier discloses the apparatus set forth in claim 17, Clothier also discloses:
wherein the sensor (temperature sensor 40, Clothier Fig.1) is a component of the item of cookware (vessel 12, Clothier Fig.1) (Clothier discloses the temperature sensor 40 is a component of the vessel 12 because Clothier Par.0029 discloses: “The cooking vessel 12 may be a pot, a pan, a baking dish, a bowl or any other device capable of holding liquids. An RFID tag 38 and a temperature sensor 40 are attached to, embedded in, or otherwise coupled with the cooking vessel.”) or a probe that is inserted into a cavity of the item of cookware or the food is a component of the item of cookware (it is noted that the limitation “the sensor is a component of the item of cookware or a probe that is inserted into a cavity of the item of cookware or the food” is in alternative form; therefore, only one of these was required during examination; in this case, Clothier discloses the temperature sensor 40 is a component of the vessel 12 as explained previously).
Regarding claim 19, Clothier discloses the apparatus set forth in claim 17, Clothier also discloses:
wherein the controller (processor 20, Clothier Fig.1) is further configured to control the power that the induction power converter (rectifier 14, Clothier Fig.1) delivers to the item of cookware (vessel 12, Clothier Fig.1) as a function of data received from the sensor (temperature sensor 40, Clothier Fig.1) (it is noted that the processor 20 configured to control power that the rectifier 14 delivers to the vessel 12, as cited and explained previously in the rejection of claim 11 above; in this case, Clothier discloses the processor 20 is configured to control power that the rectifier 14 delivers to the vessel 12 as function received from the temperature sensor 40 because Clothier Par.0059 discloses: “the processor 20 evaluates the calculated PTT curve slopes and looks for a region of slopes essentially equal to zero followed immediately by a very large slope value. Applicant has discovered that such a behavior 30 indicates a rapid boil which, if left unchecked, results in liquid boilover. If a boilover is detected in box 82, the processor 20 sends a signal to the cooking device 10 to reduce the cooking power as depicted in box 84. The processor 20 then sets one of the trigger counts to a level that immediately triggers the boil annunciator as depicted in boxes 86 and 88. The processor 20 then sends a signal to the cooking device 10 that adjusts the power level of the cooking device to maintain a soft boil as depicted in box 90.”, it is noted that the PTT curve slopes are obtained by data received from the temperature sensor 40 because Clothier Par.0051 discloses: “The temperature sensor 40 within the vessel measures the vessel's temperature the entire time the cooking vessel is on the cooking device, as depicted by box 66. The RFID reader 24 preferably reads the temperature measurements from the RFID tag 38 every second and stores at least some of the measurements, as well as the time they were recorded, in the memory 30 or other memory accessible by the processor 20.” and Clothier Figs.2-5 show temperature vs. time curves).
Regarding claim 20, Clothier discloses the apparatus set forth in claim 17, Clothier also discloses:
wherein the controller (processor 20, Clothier Fig.1) is further configured to control the power that the induction power converter (rectifier 14, Clothier Fig.1) delivers to the item of cookware (vessel 12, Clothier Fig.1) as a function of data received from the sensor (temperature sensor 40, Clothier Fig.1) in order to achieve and maintain a cooking temperature for the food (it is noted that the processor 20 configured to control power that the rectifier 14 delivers to the vessel 12, as cited and explained previously in the rejection of claim 11 above; in this case, Clothier discloses the processor 20 is configured to control power that the rectifier 14 delivers to the vessel 12 as function received from the temperature sensor 40 in order to achieve and maintain a cooking temperature for the food because Clothier Par.0059 discloses: “the processor 20 evaluates the calculated PTT curve slopes and looks for a region of slopes essentially equal to zero followed immediately by a very large slope value. Applicant has discovered that such a behavior 30 indicates a rapid boil which, if left unchecked, results in liquid boilover. If a boilover is detected in box 82, the processor 20 sends a signal to the cooking device 10 to reduce the cooking power as depicted in box 84. The processor 20 then sets one of the trigger counts to a level that immediately triggers the boil annunciator as depicted in boxes 86 and 88. The processor 20 then sends a signal to the cooking device 10 that adjusts the power level of the cooking device to maintain a soft boil as depicted in box 90.”, it is noted that the PTT curve slopes are obtained by data received from the temperature sensor 40 because Clothier Par.0051 discloses: “The temperature sensor 40 within the vessel measures the vessel's temperature the entire time the cooking vessel is on the cooking device, as depicted by box 66. The RFID reader 24 preferably reads the temperature measurements from the RFID tag 38 every second and stores at least some of the measurements, as well as the time they were recorded, in the memory 30 or other memory accessible by the processor 20.” and Clothier Figs.2-5 show temperature vs. time curves).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clothier (U.S. Pub. No. 2005/0247696 A1, previously cited) in view of Wilkins et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2005/0016990 A1, previously cited).
Regarding claim 3, Clothier discloses the method set forth in claim 1, Clothier also discloses
the time rate of change (slope of PTT curve, as cited and explained previously in the rejection of claim 1) (it is noted that Clothier Par.0035 discloses the PTT is pan temperature versus time (i.e., temperature versus time of the vessel 12); it is further noted that slope is the derivative, thus, time rate of change of the temperature; thus, the slope of PTT curve means time rate of change of the current value of temperature) is either positive or negative (Clothier discloses the time rate of change is either positive or negative because Clothier Par.0070 discloses: “the slope of the PTT curve is a steady, positive one”, and Clothier Par.0078 discloses: “The second condition is looking for a very large drop in temperature or a very large negative slope”; furthermore, the slope of PTT curve can be either positive or negative, see temperature vs. time curves in Clothier Figs.2-5, the slope of PTT is positive when the temperature is increasing as time increasing, and the slope of PTT is negative when the temperature is decreasing as time increasing).
Clothier does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the threshold value is either positive or negative
Wilkins teaches a method of controlling a cooking system (Wilkins Fig.1):
wherein the threshold value is either positive or negative (Wilkins teaches threshold value is negative because Wilkins Par.0041 discloses: “the temperature sensed by the second temperature-responsive device 26 must not decrease by more than a predetermined amount to the extent that negative threshold limit values, specified for the first and second derivatives D1 and D2, are exceeded.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Clothier, by adding the teachings of the threshold value is negative, as taught by Wilkins, in order to compare the threshold value and the rate of change of temperature over time to ensure stabilization of the rate of change of temperature over time and avoid an abnormal rise in temperature, as recognized by Wilkins [Wilkins, Pars.0012, 0040-0041], thus, ensuring uniform cooking process.
Claims 4 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clothier (U.S. Pub. No. 2005/0247696 A1, previously cited) in view of Stipe et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0367692 A1, previously cited).
Regarding claim 4, Clothier discloses the method set forth in claim 1, Clothier does not discloses further comprising:
connecting a tablet or a smartphone to the interface;
receiving with the tablet or smartphone the event detection signal, and
checking execution of the cooking recipe with the tablet or smartphone using the event detection signal.
Stipe teaches a method of controlling a cooking system (Stipe Fig.34):
connecting a tablet or a smartphone (“smartphone”, Stipe Par.0158) to the interface (interface portion 546, Stipe Fig.34) (Stipe Par.0158 teaches: “the interface portion 546 can include a connection element, permitting the physical connection of a mobile device, such as a smartphone, such that the user can plug in the mobile device and utilize the mobile device as the user interface to interact with the cooking assistance appliance 540 and the stovetop 542.”);
Therefore, by adding the teachings of connecting smartphone to the interface, as taught by Stipe to Clothier’s induction cooktop, in combination, Clothier in view of Stipe teaches:
receiving with the tablet or smartphone the event detection signal (it is noted that the prior art Clothier already discloses receiving the event detection signal, as cited and explained in the rejection of claim 1; and Stipe Par.0158 teaches: “the interface portion 546 can include a connection element, permitting the physical connection of a mobile device, such as a smartphone, such that the user can plug in the mobile device and utilize the mobile device as the user interface to interact with the cooking assistance appliance 540 and the stovetop 542.”; therefore, in combination, Clothier in view of Stipe teaches receiving with the smartphone the event detection signal), and
checking execution of the cooking recipe with the tablet or smartphone using the event detection signal (it is noted that the prior art Clothier already discloses checking execution of a cooking recipe (i.e., first and second boils) using the event detection signal, as cited and explained in the rejection of claims 1 and 2 above; and Stipe Par.0158 teaches: “the interface portion 546 can include a connection element, permitting the physical connection of a mobile device, such as a smartphone, such that the user can plug in the mobile device and utilize the mobile device as the user interface to interact with the cooking assistance appliance 540 and the stovetop 542.”; therefore, in combination, Clothier in view of Stipe teaches checking execution of a cooking recipe with smartphone using the event detection signal).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Clothier, by adding the teachings of connecting smartphone to the interface of the cooktop, as taught by Stipe, in order to offer remote monitoring and controlling of the cooking process and cooking appliance; additionally, the modification can also indicate user when user is in far distance; thus, increase convenience and enhance safety.
Regarding claim 10, Clothier discloses the apparatus set forth in claim 5, Clothier does not disclose further comprising:
a tablet or a smartphone connected to the interface of the induction cooktop, wherein the tablet or smartphone is configured to receive the event detection signal as a feedback for checking execution of the cooking recipe.
Stipe teaches a cooking system (Stipe Fig.34):
a tablet or a smartphone (“smartphone”, Stipe Par.0158) connected to the interface (interface portion 546, Stipe Fig.34) of the induction cooktop (stovetop 542, Stipe Fig.34) (Stipe Par.0158 teaches: “the interface portion 546 can include a connection element, permitting the physical connection of a mobile device, such as a smartphone, such that the user can plug in the mobile device and utilize the mobile device as the user interface to interact with the cooking assistance appliance 540 and the stovetop 542.”),
Therefore, by adding the teachings of connecting smartphone to the interface, as taught by Stipe to Clothier’s induction cooktop, in combination, Clothier in view of Stipe teaches:
wherein the tablet or smartphone is configured to receive the event detection signal as a feedback for checking execution of the cooking recipe (it is noted that the prior art Clothier already discloses receive the event detection signal as a feedback for checking execution of a cooking recipe (i.e., boiling water), as cited and explained in the rejection of claim 5 above; and Stipe Par.0158 teaches: “the interface portion 546 can include a connection element, permitting the physical connection of a mobile device, such as a smartphone, such that the user can plug in the mobile device and utilize the mobile device as the user interface to interact with the cooking assistance appliance 540 and the stovetop 542.”; therefore, in combination, Clothier in view of Stipe teaches checking execution of a cooking recipe with smartphone using the event detection signal).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the induction cooker of Clothier, by adding the teachings of connecting smartphone to the interface of the cooktop, as taught by Stipe, in order to offer remote monitoring and controlling of the cooking process and cooking appliance; additionally, the modification can also indicate user when user is in far distance; thus, increase convenience and enhance safety.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clothier (U.S. Pub. No. 2005/0247696 A1, previously cited) in view of Davenport et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0279422 A1, previously cited).
Regarding claim 7, Clothier discloses the apparatus set forth in claim 5, Clothier does not disclose:
wherein the at least one sensor is a probe configured to be inserted into the one or more food items or into a cavity of the item of cookware.
Davenport teaches a cooking system (Davenport Fig.1) comprising an induction cooker (induction cooker 100, Davenport Fig.1) and a sensor (temperature sensor 120, Davenport Fig.1):
wherein the at least one sensor (temperature sensor 120, Davenport Fig.1) is a probe (Davenport Par.0028 teaches: “temperature probe 120”) configured to be inserted into the one or more food items or into a cavity of the item of cookware (cavity of the cooking vessel 106, Davenport Fig.1) (Davenport Abstract teaches: “The induction cooker (100) also has a temperature sensor (120) for measuring a temperature of the cooking vessel (106)”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the Clothier temperature sensor (see Clothier temperature sensor 40 in Clothier Fig.1) with the Davenport temperature sensor (see the Davenport temperature sensor 120 in Davenport Fig.1), because the substitution of one known element for another with no change in their respective functions, and the modification would yield a predictable result of measuring temperature of the cooking vessel. MPEP 2143 I (B).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clothier (U.S. Pub. No. 2005/0247696 A1, previously cited) in view of Iordanoglou et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0245796 A1, previously cited).
Regarding claim 8, Clothier discloses the apparatus set forth in claim 5, Clothier does not disclose:
wherein the at least one sensor is installed in the induction cooktop.
Iordanoglou teaches a cooking system (Iordanoglou Fig.1) comprising an induction cooker (induction cooktop 100, Iordanoglou Fig.1) and a sensor (temperature sensor 220, Iordanoglou Fig.2):
wherein the at least one sensor (temperature sensor 220, Iordanoglou Fig.2) is installed in the induction cooktop (induction cooktop 100, Iordanoglou Fig.1) (Iordanoglou Par.0024 teaches: “Temperature sensor 220 is positioned proximate a bottom surface 112 of ceramic plate 110 above heating assembly 122. A signal(s) from temperature sensor 220 corresponds to a temperature of ceramic plate 110 and/or to a temperature of a cooking utensil on ceramic plate 110 above heating assembly 122.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the Clothier temperature sensor (see Clothier temperature sensor 40 in Clothier Fig.1) with the Iordanoglou temperature sensor (see the Iordanoglou temperature sensor 220 in Iordanoglou Fig.2), because the substitution of one known element for another with no change in their respective functions, and the modification would yield a predictable result of measuring temperature of the cooking vessel. MPEP 2143 I (B).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clothier (U.S. Pub. No. 2005/0247696 A1, previously cited) in view of Kovach (U.S. Pub. No. 2017/0322632 A1, previously cited).
Regarding claim 16, Clothier discloses the apparatus set forth in claim 11, Clothier also discloses:
an interface (interface 32, Clothier Fig.1) in communication with the controller (processor 20, Clothier Fig.1);
wherein, after comparing the derivative of the temperature as a function of time (“the PTT curve Slope”, Clothier Par.0095 and as cited and explained previously in the rejection of claim 11 above; it is noted that slope is derivative) to the predetermined threshold derivative (“threshold value for Slope”, Clothier Par.0095; it is noted that slope is derivative) (the comparison of the Slope of the PTT curve to the threshold value for Slope, as cited and explained previously in the rejection of claim 12 above), the controller (processor 20, Clothier Fig.1) is configured to cause the interface (interface 32, Clothier Fig.1) to communicate with an indicator (display 34, Clothier Fig.1) a result of the comparison (Clothier Par.0076 discloses: “The Boil Monitor Function also continuously compares the trigger counts from Triggers 2, 3, 4, and 5 to the total trigger threshold counts for each respective trigger. Once any one of the Boil Trigger's incremental counts exceeds the respective total threshold value, the Boil Monitor function causes the boil to be annunciated and the power to be reduced so as to achieve a soft boil. After detecting a boil, the Boil Monitor Function triggers an annunciator or indicator. The alert or indicator may be visual, audible or vibratory in nature, but is preferably a visual indicator such as a blinking red light or text message.”).
Clothier does not explicitly disclose:
the interface being configured to communicate with a smartphone or tablet;
the controller is configured to cause the interface to communicate with the smartphone or tablet a result of the comparison.
Kovach teaches a cooktop (appliance 100, Kovach Fig.1 & Par.0019) comprising a controller (processor 102, Kovach Fig.1) and an interface (interface 112, Kovach Fig.1), wherein:
the interface (interface 112, Kovach Fig.1) being configured to communicate with a smartphone or tablet (remote device 118, Kovach Fig.1) (Kovach Par.0023 teaches: “The appliance 100 may include one or more network interfaces 112 to facilitate communication with one or more remote devices 118 … remote devices 118 may include, for example, smartphones, tablets, laptops, netbooks, desktops, augmented-reality glasses or other head-worn devices, PDA, or any other computing device”);
the controller (processor 102, Kovach Fig.1) is configured to cause the interface (interface 112, Kovach Fig.1) to communicate with the smartphone or tablet (remote device 118, Kovach Fig.1) a result of the comparison (Kovach Par.0040 teaches data regarding food preparation may be communicated between an appliance and remote device 118, and Kovach Claim 19 teaches instructions that cause the processor to transmit cooking instruction data to the user device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the induction cooker of Clothier, by adding the teachings of the interface being configured to communicate with a smartphone or tablet; and the controller is configured to cause the interface to communicate with the smartphone or tablet a result of the comparison, as taught by Kovach, in order to offer remote monitoring and controlling of the cooking process and cooking appliance; additionally, the modification can also indicate user when user is in far distance; thus, increase convenience and enhance safety.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clothier (U.S. Pub. No. 2005/0247696 A1, previously cited) in view of Lile (U.S. Pub. No. 2003/0127451 A1, newly cited).
Regarding claim 21, Clothier discloses the apparatus set forth in claim 11, Clothier also discloses that the controller is configured to estimate, as a function of the comparison, that the food has been manipulated within the item of cookware (as cited and explained in details in the rejection of claim 11 above); however, Clothier does not disclose:
wherein the controller is configured to estimate, as a function of the comparison, that the food has been flipped within the item of cookware.
Lile teaches a cooking system (cooking apparatus 100, Lile Fig.1) comprising a controller (microprocessor 302, Lile Fig.3):
wherein the controller (microprocessor 302, Lile Fig.3) is configured to estimate, as a function of the comparison, that the food has been flipped within the item of cookware (Lile Par.0052 teaches: “During the determining cycle, as described in detail with respect to FIGS. 6 and 7, the microprocessor periodically senses and compares temperatures until the food item is ready to be flipped or is done (see FIGS. 6 and 7). Depending upon the food item and/or heating medium, there may be only one determination (e.g., where the food is not flipped at all) per cooking event, or there may be more than one determining cycle (e.g., the food is flipped one or more times, and/or there is more than one side of a food item to be cooked) per cooking event.”, and Lile Par.0059 teaches: “The maximum calculated food delta value may then be compared to predetermined delta data (referred to as delta setpoints) to determine the status of the food item (e.g., whether a food item has been introduced to the heating medium or flipped)”; therefore, Lile teaches the microprocessor is configured to estimate, as a function of the comparison, that the food has been flipped within the item of cookware).
Conclusion
The following prior art(s) made of record and not relied upon is/are considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure.
Akamatsu et al. (U.S. Patent No. 5,310,110 A) discloses a cooking apparatus which automatically evaluates the quantity and content of cooking material containing moisture and controls the heat amount applied to the cooking material. Using the change in temperature slope, the threshold temperature can be provided for the boiling determination.
Lambert et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0224127 A1) discloses a cook top assembly includes a cooking surface, and a monitoring system is configured to monitor and control a cooking process on the cooking surface, wherein a controller of the monitoring system receives from the associated temperature sensor a signal indicating a second temperature change at the cooking surface indicating, for example, that the food item has been flipped or turned to a second side.
Applicant’s amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THAO UYEN TRAN-LE/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 05/23/2026
/STEVEN W CRABB/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761