DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 2 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 lines 10-11 recite, “an x-axis,” claim should be amended to recite –the x-axis--. Claim 2 line 8 has the same issue.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-10, 12-15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu [US 8,605,458] in view of Arts et al. US 2009/0137145.
Regarding claim 1, Liu discloses Liu discloses a plug connector assembly comprising: a housing component (fig. 5; 51, 52): a corresponding mating plug connector (fig. 2; 12); an electrical plug connector (fig. 5; 53, 54), which is electrically and mechanically connectable along a first degree of freedom of translation laterally along an x-axis (fig. 5; downward direction) to the corresponding mating plug connector (12); and at least one elastic element (fig. 5; 55), which connects the electrical plug connector (53, 54) indirectly or directly to the housing component (51, 52) and which allows movement of the electrical plug connector (53, 54) relative to the housing component (51, 52) along the first degree of freedom of translation laterally along an x-axis (downward direction); and at least one floating bearing assembly (fig. 5; 522, 513) for delimiting the movability of the electrical plug connector (53, 54) along at least one of the three degrees of freedom of translation (1st), the at least one floating bearing assembly (522, 513) having a bearing recess (513) and a bearing elevation (522) receivable in the bearing recess (513); and wherein the at least one elastic element (55) applies an elastic restoring force to the electrical plug connector (53, 54) to bring the electrical plug connector (53, 54), in an unplugged state (fig. 8), into a defined spatial starting position (position of 53, 54 in fig. 8).
Mark-up
Regarding claim 3, wherein the at least one elastic element (55) is functionally involved in the connection between the electrical plug connector (53, 54) and the housing component (51, 52).
Regarding claims 1 and 3, Liu does not disclose the elastic element allowing movement of the electrical plug connector relative to the housing component along the first degree of freedom of translation laterally along an x-axis, a second degree of freedom of translation laterally along a y-axis and a third degree of freedom of translation laterally along a z-axis [claim 1]; the at least one elastic component (6) is movable along the second degree of freedom of translation (laterally along the y-axis), and along the third degree of freedom of translation (laterally along the z-axis) [claim 3].
Regarding claims 1 and 3, Arts teaches the elastic element (fig. 2; 200) allowing movement of the electrical plug connector (fig. 2; 140) relative to the housing component (fig. 2; 110) along the first degree of freedom of translation laterally along an x-axis (Par [0034] Ln 8-13; x-axis), a second degree of freedom of translation laterally along a y-axis (Par [0034] Ln 8-13; y-axis) and a third degree of freedom of translation laterally along a z-axis (Par [0034] Ln 8-13; z-axis); the at least one elastic component (200) is movable (Par [0034] Ln 8-13; spring beams 280 allow 220 of 200 to move, see figs. 3 and 4 for 220) along the second degree of freedom of translation (laterally along the y-axis) (Par [0034] Ln 8-13; y-axis), and along the third degree of freedom of translation (laterally along the z-axis) (Par [0034] Ln 8-13; z-axis).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the elastic element allowing movement of the electrical plug connector relative to the housing component along the first degree of freedom of translation laterally along an x-axis, a second degree of freedom of translation laterally along a y-axis and a third degree of freedom of translation laterally along a z-axis and the at least one elastic component (6) being movable along the second degree of freedom of translation (laterally along the y-axis), and along the third degree of freedom of translation (laterally along the z-axis) as suggested by Arts for the benefit of providing improved flexibility of a connector in order greatly reduce the risk of damaging connectors during the mating process.
Regarding claim 2, Liu modified by Arts has been discussed above. Liu discloses wherein at least one elastic element (55), is functionally involved in the connection between the electrical plug connector (53, 54) and the housing component (51, 52); and the at least one elastic element (55), is or are arranged between the electrical plug connector (53, 54) and the housing component (51) in such a way that a primary elastic travel (downward) of the particular at least one elastic element (55) is effective substantially along the first degree of freedom of translation (laterally along an x-axis) (downward direction).
Regarding claim 4, Liu modified by Arts has been discussed above. Liu discloses wherein the bearing recess (513) is formed in the housing component (51, 52); the bearing elevation (522) is rigidly connected to the plug connector (53, 54; through screws 56, see fig. 5).
Regarding claim 7, Liu modified by Arts has been discussed above. Liu discloses an extension element (52), which is connected rigidly and directly to the electrical plug connector (53, 54); and to which there is fastened a plug-side end portion (portion of 55 adjacent to 52) of the at least one elastic element (55) is fastened to the extension element (52).
Regarding claim 8, Liu modified by Arts has been discussed above. Liu discloses wherein the at least one elastic element (55) is a torsion spring.
Regarding claim 9, Liu discloses at least one rotation center (see mark-up above; rotation center), about which the electrical plug connector (53, 54) is tiltable.
Liu does not disclose the rotation center allowing movement along the second degree of freedom of translation laterally along the y-axis and/or along the third degree of freedom of translation laterally along the z-axis.
However, Arts teaches the rotation center allowing movement along the second degree of freedom of translation laterally along the y-axis and along the third degree of freedom of translation laterally along the z-axis (Par [0034] Ln 8-13).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the rotation center allowing movement along the second degree of freedom of translation laterally along the y-axis and/or along the third degree of freedom of translation laterally along the z-axis as suggested by Arts for the benefit of providing improved flexibility of a connector in order greatly reduce the risk of damaging connectors during the mating process.
Regarding claim 10, Liu modified by Arts has been discussed above. Liu discloses wherein rotation center (rotation center) is formed by one of the at least one floating bearing assembly assemblies (513, 522).
Regarding claim 12, Liu modified by Arts has been discussed above. Liu discloses wherein the electrical plug connector (53, 54) and the housing component (51, 52) form a second positioning assembly (53, 52) from a first support element (52) and a second support element (53) for the first support element (52); and wherein the second support element (53) is displaced along the first degree of freedom of translation laterally along the x-axis (downward direction) relative to the first support element (52) by the elastic restoring force acting on the electrical plug connector (53, 54) in order to reach a defined supported position of the electrical plug connector (53, 54) relative to the housing component (51, 52).
Regarding claim 13, Liu modified by Arts has been discussed above. Liu discloses a battery-receiving container (fig. 2; 32, 32 receives 1 which has an internal battery) having at least one wall (wall of 32); and the housing component (51, 52) is a wall part (fig. 2; 51 and 32 are integral parts) of a battery-receiving container (32).
Regarding claim 14, Liu discloses Liu discloses a battery assembly comprising: a plug connector assembly (fig. 2; 5, 32), the plug connector assembly (5, 32) having a housing component (fig. 5; 51, 52): a corresponding mating plug connector (fig. 2; 12); an electrical plug connector (fig. 5; 53, 54), which is electrically and mechanically connectable along a first degree of freedom of translation laterally along an x-axis (fig. 5; downward direction) to the corresponding mating plug connector (12); and at least one elastic element (fig. 5; 55), which connects the electrical plug connector (53, 54) indirectly or directly to the housing component (51, 52) and which allows movement of the electrical plug connector (53, 54) relative to the housing component (51, 52) along the first degree of freedom of translation laterally along an x-axis (downward direction); and at least one floating bearing assembly (fig. 5; 522, 513) for delimiting the movability of the electrical plug connector (53, 54) along at least one of the three degrees of freedom of translation (1st), the at least one floating bearing assembly (522, 513) having a bearing recess (513) and a bearing elevation (522) receivable in the bearing recess (513); and wherein the at least one elastic element (55) applies an elastic restoring force to the electrical plug connector (53, 54) to bring the electrical plug connector (53, 54), in an unplugged state (fig. 8), into a defined spatial starting position (position of 53, 54 in fig. 8); and an electrical energy store (1), which comprises the corresponding mating plug connector (12).
Mark-up
Liu does not disclose the elastic element allowing movement of the electrical plug connector relative to the housing component along the first degree of freedom of translation laterally along an x-axis, a second degree of freedom of translation laterally along a y-axis and a third degree of freedom of translation laterally along a z-axis.
Arts teaches the elastic element (fig. 2; 200) allowing movement of the electrical plug connector (fig. 2; 140) relative to the housing component (fig. 2; 110) along the first degree of freedom of translation laterally along an x-axis (Par [0034] Ln 8-13; x-axis), a second degree of freedom of translation laterally along a y-axis (Par [0034] Ln 8-13; y-axis) and a third degree of freedom of translation laterally along a z-axis (Par [0034] Ln 8-13; z-axis). the at least one elastic component (200) is movable (Par [0034] Ln 8-13; spring beams 280 allow 220 of 200 to move, see figs. 3 and 4 for 220) along the second degree of freedom of translation (laterally along the y-axis) (Par [0034] Ln 8-13; y-axis), and along the third degree of freedom of translation (laterally along the z-axis) (Par [0034] Ln 8-13; z-axis).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the elastic element allowing movement of the electrical plug connector relative to the housing component along the first degree of freedom of translation laterally along an x-axis, a second degree of freedom of translation laterally along a y-axis and a third degree of freedom of translation laterally along a z-axis and the at least one elastic component (6) being movable along the second degree of freedom of translation (laterally along the y-axis), and along the third degree of freedom of translation (laterally along the z-axis) as suggested by Arts for the benefit of providing improved flexibility of a connector in order greatly reduce the risk of damaging connectors during the mating process.
Regarding claim 15, Liu modified by Arts has been discussed above. Liu discloses wherein the bearing recess (513) is formed as a slot oriented along the first degree of freedom of translation laterally along the x-axis (downward direction).
Regarding claim 17, Liu modified by Arts has been discussed above. Liu discloses a battery-receiving container (fig. 2; 31, 32) having at least one wall (32); and the housing component (51, 52) is fastenable to a wall part (51 is fastened to 31 by 514 of fig. 5) of a battery-receiving container (31, 32).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 is allowed.
Claims 5, 11 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reasons for Allowance
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: regarding claim 6, the prior art of record fails to disclose, teach, provide or suggest at least one fastening element (20); and the bearing elevation (19) extends fully through the bearing recess (18) and the bearing elevation (19) is held captively on an exiting side by the at least one fastening element (20); and wherein a height of the bearing elevation (19) is greater than a depth of the bearing recess (18) in order to allow a compensation movement of the at least one elastic element (6) along the third degree of freedom of translation (z) combined with the remaining limitations of the base claim.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: regarding claims 5 and 16, the prior art of record fails to disclose, teach, provide or suggest a first cross-sectional extent of the bearing recess (18) along the first degree of freedom of translation laterally along the x-axis is greater than a corresponding first cross-sectional extent of the bearing elevation (19); and a second cross-sectional extent of the bearing recess (18) along the second degree of freedom of translation laterally along the y-axis is greater than a corresponding second cross-sectional extent of the bearing elevation (19) combined with all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: regarding claim 11, the prior art of record fails to disclose, teach, provide or suggest at least one floating bearing assembly (17) is formed as a first positioning assembly (24); and wherein the bearing recess (18) has, on a plug-side end, a cross-sectionally reduced portion (25), so that the bearing elevation (19) is pressed into the cross-sectionally reduced portion (25) on account of the elastic restoring force combined with all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARCUS E HARCUM/ Examiner, Art Unit 2831